Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 and 21-33 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xie et al. (CN 112 504 515).
Regarding claim 1, Xie discloses a bifurcated thermocouple substrate, comprising:
a primary substrate (5) (designated as component under test, shown as substrate [e.g. of component] with aperture for thermocouple, measuring heated surface 6) having a substrate aperture (4 through hole) disposed therethrough;
a secondary substrate (3) disposed within the substrate aperture (4); and
a thermocouple (1) embedded within a thermocouple aperture (2) extending partially into a thickness of the secondary substrate (shown in figs. 1 and 2) (see para [0035]-[0038]).
Note: The substrate (5) has an aperture matching the secondary substrate (3), therefore, as substrate (5) is dedicated to receiving the secondary substrate (3), the substrate is accurately considered a thermocouple primary substrate.
Regarding claim 21, Xie discloses a bifurcated thermocouple substrate of claim 1, wherein the secondary substrate extends through the substrate aperture (shown in fig. 2, see para [0035]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 22, Xie discloses a bifurcated thermocouple substrate of claim 1, wherein the thermocouple is embedded in a top surface of the secondary substrate disposed along a top surface of the primary substrate, and a bottom surface of the secondary substrate extends beyond a bottom surface of the primary substrate opposite the top surface of the primary substrate (shown in fig. 2, see para [0035]-[0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further as follows:
Regarding claim 2, Xie discloses a bifurcated thermocouple substrate of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the thickness the secondary substrate comprises a thickness that is greater than a thickness of the primary substrate by at least 5%.
Xie discloses the thickness of substrate (3) and location of the bottom of said substrate is a result effective variable (see para [0039]-[0050]).
The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a result effective variable for the intended use of the device. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 5, Xie discloses a bifurcated thermocouple substrate of claim 1, wherein the secondary substrate has a diameter that is smaller than a diameter of the substrate aperture (see figure 2 and para [0035]-[0039]). Although specifically not stated, the limitation is inherent as the secondary is inserted in the primary. See MPEP § 2112.
Chen does not disclose the difference in diameter is by about 1% to about 3%. As the fit determines the location of the thermocouples, the difference in diameter is a result effective variable.
The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a result effective variable for the intended use of the device. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (CN 11174944).
Regarding claim 4, Xie et al. discloses a bifurcated thermocouple substrate of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the thermocouple and the secondary substrate comprise a strain relief mechanism.
Chen is analogous art to Xie as Chen is directed to a thermocouple located in a bifurcated substrate (see figure, abstract).
Chen discloses wherein the thermocouple and the secondary substrate comprise a strain relief mechanism (see Chen figure). Specifically, applicant points to bend (234) in thermocouple wire (see fig. 2). Chen clearly shows flexibility and bending of wires (see figure). The court has held drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). However, the picture must show all the claimed structural features and how they are put together. Jockmus v. Leviton, 28 F.2d 812 (2d Cir. 1928). (See MPEP § 2125).
The court has held it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine prior art elements (i.e., the thermocouple wire of Xie with the stress relief bend in a thermocouple wire of Chen) according to known methods (i.e., disclosed by Chen), wherein the result is predictable.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. as applied to claim 1 above, as evidenced by Yamazaki et al. (US 2021/0116309).
Regarding claim 6, Xie discloses a bifurcated thermocouple substrate of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the thermocouple and the secondary substrate are calibrated such that an accuracy of the bifurcated thermocouple substrate is about +/-0.40C or less at 400C.
Calibration of thermocouples are known in the art (see MPEP 2144.03) as evidenced by Yamazaki (entire document). It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to calibrate the thermocouple of Xie to assure accuracy of the measurement.
In regards to the limitation that the thermocouple is calibrated “such that” an accuracy of the bifurcated thermocouple substrate is +/_ 0,049 degree C or less at 400 C is a result effective variable.
The court has held that absent criticality or unexpected results, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a result effective variable for the intended use of the device. Differences in said result effective variable will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See also MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, modified Xie discloses a bifurcated thermocouple substrate of claim 6.
The limitation wherein the thermocouple and the secondary substrate are calibrated prior to being disposed within the substrate aperture is a product by process limitation and is given weight to the extent that the prior art is able to be formed by the process recited. It is the examiner’s position that the prior art of modified Chen is able to be formed by the process recited.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose the accumulative eliminations of claim 1 and 3. Specifically the prior art discloses the bifurcated thermocouple substrate of claim 1, and wherein the primary substrate and the secondary substrate comprise matching bonding apertures (see rejections above).
The prior art does not disclose wherein the bifurcated thermocouple is configured to bond the secondary substrate to the primary substrate using wire bonding.
Claims 23-33 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art does not disclose the accumulative eliminations of either claim 23 and 30. Specifically the prior art discloses a bifurcated thermocouple substrate wherein the primary substrate and the secondary substrate comprise matching bonding apertures (see rejections above).
The prior art does not disclose wherein the bifurcated thermocouple is configured to bond the secondary substrate to the primary substrate using wire bonding.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAYNE L. MERSHON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1721
/JAYNE L MERSHON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721