DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I in the reply filed on 10/12/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 13 should be examined together with claims 1-12. Examiner agreed with the applicant and claim 13 is now examined with claims 1-12. Regarding restriction between groups I and III, there would be a serious search and examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
(a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
(b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
(c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries);
(d) the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention;
(e) the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the at least one outer skin layer" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites “the second, core layer”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Similar rejection applied to claim 6 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Steiner et al. (EP 3838587).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Steiner discloses multilayer film comprising first layer, i.e. skin layer, comprising LDPE or LLDPE having a density from 0.87 to 0.94 g/cc and a melt index of 0.3 to 10 g/10 min at 190 C/2.16 kg (0018, 0026, 0028, 0030-0031) and a core layer comprising PCR LDPE (0018, 0019) wherein the multilayer film comprising at least 20 wt% of PCR (abstract) and wherein the total thickness of the multilayer film is 1 to 200 microns (0036, 0043-0044).
Regarding claim 4, Steiner discloses the multilayer film of claim 1, wherein Steiner discloses at least one core layer, i.e. two core layer, is between the first layer and a second layer, i.e. third skin layer and the first and third skin layers surround and enclose a second core layer, (0018).
Regarding claim 5, Steiner discloses the multilayer film of claim 3, wherein the second core layer comprises 50 wt% PCR content (0019).
Regarding claim 13, Steiner discloses the multilayer film of claim 1, wherein the film is used in packaging silage as bales, i.e. agricultural film, (0050).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Donnell et al. (US 2015/0104627) in view of Weisman et al. (US 2012/0263924).
Regarding claim 1, O’Donnell discloses multilayer film comprising A layer, i.e. a skin layer, comprising a polyolefin having a density of 0.87 to about 0.91 g/cc and melt index of 0.5 to 10 (0047, 0052-0053) or 0.90 to 0.95 g/cc (0094) and melt index of from 0.8 to 20 g/10 min at 190 C/2.16 kg (0094) and a C layer or bulk layer, i.e. core layer, comprising post consumer recycled polyolefin (0074, 0075, 0078) wherein total thickness of the multilayer film is less than 250 microns (0006).
O’Donnell does not specifically disclose PCR polyolefin being LLDPE or LDPE. However, O’Donnell discloses PCR material is based in Weisman reference (0078). Weisman discloses renewable polyolefin such as LDPE and LLDPE (0043). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific amount of PCR in the multilayer film is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the desire properties are a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the total amount of PCR material, the precise amount would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the total amount of PCR material in the multilayer film to obtain the desired properties (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 2, O’Donnell in view of Weisman discloses the multilayer of claim 1, wherein the materials used to form the multilayer film are LLDPE (0047, 0052-0053), another LLDPE having melt index of from 0.8 to 20 g/10 min at 190 C/2.16 kg, i.e. LLDPE having a HMFI (0094), slip agent (table 1) and PCR plastic as explained above.
Although O’Donnell in view of Weisman does not disclose PCR from white pigmented plastics and unpigmented plastics, it is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed process and given that O’Donnell in view of Weisman meets the requirements of the claimed PCR plastics, O’Donnell in view of Weisman clearly meets the requirements of the present claims
Regarding claim 3, O’Donnell in view of Weisman discloses the multilayer of claim 1, wherein the skin layer of the multilayer film comprises LLDPE or LDPE (0049).
Regarding claim 4, O’Donnell in view of Weisman discloses the multilayer of claim 1, wherein first and third skin layers surround and enclose a second bulk layer, i.e. second core layer, (0084).
Regarding claim 5, O’Donnell in view of Weisman discloses the multilayer of claim 3, wherein the second core layer comprises PCR (0074).
O’Donnell does not specifically disclose PCR polyolefin being LLDPE or LDPE. However, O’Donnell discloses PCR material is based in Weisman reference (0078). Weisman discloses renewable polyolefin such as LDPE and LLDPE (0043). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Given that O’Donnell in view of Weisman discloses PCR LLDPE the same as presently claimed, it is clear that the PCR LLDPE of O’Donnell in view of Weisman would inherently have the same property as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 6, O’Donnell in view of Weisman discloses the multilayer film of claim 3, wherein the first and third skin layers are each greater than or equal to 0.05 microns and any layer between them that comprises PCR including another A or B layer can have thickness greater than or equal to 0.05 microns (0061, 0074, 0084) which meets the presently claimed limitation of the multilayer film is 1 mils in thickness.
Regarding claim 7, O’Donnell in view of Weisman discloses the multilayer of claim 3, wherein the second core layer comprises PCR (0074). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use any amount of PCR polymer including that presently claimed to meet end users requirements.
Regarding claim 8, O’Donnell in view of Weisman discloses the multilayer of claim 7, wherein the multilayer of O’Donnell in view of Weisman does not specifically disclose PCR content based on a whole multilayer film.
Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific amount of PCR in the multilayer film is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the desire properties are a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the total amount of PCR material, the precise amount would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the total amount of PCR material in the multilayer film to obtain the desired properties (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claims 9-10, O’Donnell in view of Weisman discloses the multilayer of claim 7, wherein O’Donnell in view of Weisman does not disclose the core layer comprises mixture of PCR from white pigmented plastics and unpigmented plastics.
Although O’Donnell in view of Weisman does not disclose PCR from white pigmented plastics and unpigmented plastics, it is noted that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Further, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed process and given that O’Donnell in view of Weisman meets the requirements of the claimed PCR plastics, O’Donnell in view of Weisman clearly meets the requirements of the present claims. When faced with a mixture, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by common sense to select a 1:1 ratio, a ratio that falls within the presently claimed amount, absent evidence of unexpected or surprising results. Case law holds that "[h]aving established that this knowledge was in the art, the examiner could then properly rely... on a conclusion of obviousness, 'from common knowledge and common sense of the person of ordinary skill in the art within any specific hint or suggestion in a particular reference.'" In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Regarding claims 11-12, O’Donnell in view of Weisman discloses the multilayer of claim 1, wherein O’Donnell discloses multilayer with several layers configuration such as S/(A/B/A/C/A/B/A)n/S wherein any or all layers can comprise PCR polyolefin such as PCR LLDPE (as explained above) (0074) which meets the presently claimed limitations in claims 11-12.
Regarding claim 13, O’Donnell in view of Weisman discloses the multilayer of claim 1, wherein the multilayer film is used in trash bag or packaging material (0002).
Conclusion
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787