Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.02, 502.03.
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statement has not been received. If the applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a).The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “an external circulation system”, “a heat dissipation system” and “a plate heat exchanger” in Claim 1 must be shown or the features canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1-3 and 5-10 are objected to because of extensive mechanical and design details and implied language. The Examiner suggest deleting reference characters and eliminating implied language.
Claim 3 objected to because of the following lack of antecedent informalities:
● In Claim 3, Line 5, “or server container liquid-outlet port” should be changed to read - - or the server container liquid-outlet port - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Heydari (US 2022/0104403) in view of Chen et al (US 2023/0413493) and further in view of Varela Benitez et al (Us 2021/0352830).
Regarding Claim 1, Heydari (In Figs 1-2) discloses a liquid cooling heat exchange device (100) for a data room (102), comprising a server container (202), an external circulation system (250), a pipeline system (260/262), a sensor (temperature sensors, ¶ 58, II. 24-29), a control system (112), and a structural member (side walls of 202); wherein
the server container (202) comprises a server container liquid-outlet port (206A/206B/208A/208b) and a server container liquid-inlet port (206A/206B/208A/208b);
the external circulation system comprises an external circulation coolant (liquid, ¶ 79, II. 1-3) and a heat dissipation system (250), the external circulation coolant (liquid, ¶ 79, II. 1-3) enters a plate heat exchanger (268) to participate in heat exchange after the coolant (liquid, ¶ 79, II. 1-3) is subjected to outdoor heat dissipation by means of the heat dissipation system (250), and the external circulation system is configured to cool the coolant (liquid, ¶ 79, II. 1-3) in the server container (202) by means of the plate heat exchanger (268), and the pipeline system (260/262) is configured to guide the coolant in the server container (202) into the plate heat exchanger (268), and guide the coolant cooled (liquid, ¶ 79, II. 1-3) by the plate heat exchanger (268) back to the server container (202), (Fig 2), however Hydari does not discloses where the server container liquid-outlet port is connected to a coolant outlet inside the server container, and the server container liquid-inlet port is connected to a coolant inlet inside the server container; and the sensor is mounted in a key pipeline to monitor a parameter of a liquid inside the pipeline in real time; and the control system is connected to the sensor and an actuator, and is configured to control the actuator by calculating a control instruction according to data collected by the sensor, to regulate a flow rate and a temperature of the coolant in the server container, thereby accurately controlling the temperature of a server.
Instead, Chen (In Fig 1) teaches where the server container liquid-outlet port (port connected to 34) is connected to a coolant outlet inside the server container (1), and the server container liquid-inlet port (port connected to 32) is connected to a coolant inlet inside the server container (1), (Fig 1); and the sensor (4) is mounted in a key pipeline (34/22), (¶ 39, II.1-12) to monitor a parameter of a liquid (water, ¶ 39, II.1-12) inside the pipeline (34/22) in real time (Fig 1); and the control system (5) is connected to the sensor (4) and an actuator (33), and is configured to control the actuator (33) by calculating a control instruction according to data collected by the sensor (4), to regulate a flow rate and a temperature of the coolant (water, ¶ 39, II.1-12) in the server container (1), thereby accurately controlling the temperature of a server (server, ¶ 16, II. 1-10).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heydari with Chen the server container liquid-outlet port being connected to a coolant outlet inside the server container, and the server container liquid-inlet port being connected to a coolant inlet inside the server container; and the sensor being mounted in a key pipeline to monitor a parameter of a liquid inside the pipeline in real time; and the control system being connected to the sensor and an actuator being configured to control the actuator by calculating a control instruction according to data collected by the sensor, regulating a flow rate and a temperature of the coolant in the server container, thereby accurately controlling the temperature of a server to benefit from dissipating heat from within the datacenter (Chen ¶ 58, II. 9-11), however Heydari as modified does not disclose wherein the pipeline system adopts a stainless steel pipeline.
Instead Varela Benitez (In Fig 3) teaches wherein the pipeline system (412) adopts a stainless steel pipeline (¶ 96, II. 6-9).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heydari with Chen and further with Varela Benitez with the pipeline system adopting a stainless steel pipeline to benefit from superior corrosion resistance, ability to withstand high pressure without leaking, providing critical durability and thermal stability required to safely cool high-density computing hardware.
Regarding Claim 10, Heydari in view of Chen and further in view of Benitez discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Heydari (In Figs 1-2) further discloses wherein the plate heat exchanger (268) is configured to cool the coolant in the server container (202) by means of the external circulation coolant (278), (¶ 70, II. 22-26), and precisely regulate a parameter of the coolant (liquid, ¶ 79, II. 1-3) by means of the sensor (temperature sensors, ¶ 58, II. 24-29) and the control system (112), to accurately control the temperature of the server (servers, ¶ 58, II. 1-6), (Fig 2).
Claims 2-3, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Heydari in view of Chen further in view of Varela Benitez and further in view of Zhang et al (US 2024/0334647).
Regarding Claim 2, Heydari in view of Chen and further in view of Benitez discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Heydari as modified does not disclose wherein the pipeline system further comprises a right-angle filter, and the right-angle filter is arranged on a pipeline of the server container liquid-inlet port.
Instead, Zhang (In Figs 1-2) teaches wherein the pipeline system (40/50) further comprises a right-angle filter (30), and the right-angle filter (30) is arranged on a pipeline (50) of the server container liquid-inlet port (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heydari with Chen further with Varela Benitez and further with Zhang with the pipeline system further comprising a right-angle filter, and the right-angle filter being arranged on a pipeline of the server container liquid-inlet port to benefit from ensuring that the coolant liquid remains in a pollution-free state after heat exchange, thereby avoiding adversely affecting operation of the device due to impurities brought in by the coolant liquid reentering the liquid-cooling server container (Zhang ¶ 6, II. 2-8).
Regarding Claim 3, Heydari in view of Chen and further in view of Benitez discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Heydari as modified does not disclose wherein the sensor comprises a flowmeter, a temperature sensor, and a pressure sensor; the flowmeter is arranged on a pipeline of the server container liquid-outlet port, the temperature sensor is arranged on a pipeline of the server container liquid-inlet port or server container liquid-outlet port, and the pressure sensor is arranged on a pipeline of the external circulation system.
Instead, Zhang (In Figs 1-2) teaches wherein the sensor comprises a flowmeter (¶ 55, II. 1-8), a temperature sensor (¶ 50, II. 1-7), and a pressure sensor (¶ 53, II. 1-6); the flowmeter is arranged on a pipeline (401) of the server container liquid-outlet port (¶ 55, II. 1-8), the temperature sensor is arranged on a pipeline (402) of the server container liquid-inlet port or server container liquid-outlet port (¶ 50, II. 1-7), and the pressure sensor is arranged on a pipeline (501) of the external circulation system (¶ 53, 1-6).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heydari with Chen further with Varela Benitez and further with Zhang with the sensor comprising a flowmeter, a temperature sensor, and a pressure sensor; the flowmeter being arranged on a pipeline of the server container liquid-outlet port, the temperature sensor being arranged on a pipeline of the server container liquid-inlet port or server container liquid-outlet port, and the pressure sensor being arranged on a pipeline of the external circulation system to benefit from effective heat dissipation of high power density servers which may otherwise damage to server device, furthermore reduce energy consumption of the data center (Zhang ¶ 3, II. 1-12).
Regarding Claim 5, Heydari in view of Chen and further in view of Benitez discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Heydari as modified does not disclose wherein the actuator comprises a pump and an electric regulating valve; the pump is arranged on a pipeline of the server container liquid-outlet port, and the electric regulating valve is arranged on a pipeline of the external circulation system.
Instead Zhang (In Figs 1-2) teaches wherein the actuator comprises a pump (4011) and an electric regulating valve (regulating valve, ¶ 15, II. 12-14); the pump (4011) is arranged on a pipeline (40/50) of the server container liquid-outlet port (402), and the electric regulating valve (regulating valve, ¶ 15, II. 12-14) is arranged on a pipeline (501) of the external circulation system (¶ 38, II. 1-11), (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heydari with Chen further with Varela Benitez and further with Zhang with the actuator comprising a pump and an electric regulating valve; the pump being arranged on a pipeline of the server container liquid-outlet port, and the electric regulating valve being arranged on a pipeline of the external circulation system to benefit from effective heat dissipation of high power density servers which may otherwise damage to server device, furthermore reduce energy consumption of the data center (Zhang ¶ 3, II. 1-12).
Regarding Claim 7, Heydari in view of Chen and further in view of Benitez discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Heydari as modified does not disclose wherein the pipeline system is further provided with a liquid filling/discharging port, and the liquid filling/discharging port is arranged on a pipeline of the pump.
Instead, Zhang (In Figs 1-2) teaches wherein the pipeline system is further provided with a liquid filling/discharging port (filling/discharge port adjacent 4011), (Fig 2), and the liquid filling/discharging port (filling/discharge port adjacent 4011) is arranged on a pipeline of the pump (4011), (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heydari with Chen further with Varela Benitez and further with Zhang with the pipeline system being provided with a liquid filling/discharging port, and the liquid filling/discharging port being arranged on a pipeline of the pump to benefit from effective heat dissipation of high power density servers which may otherwise damage to server device, furthermore reduce energy consumption of the data center (Zhang ¶ 3, II. 1-12).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Heydari in view of Chen further in view of Varela Benitez and further in view of Sun et al (2024/0349464).
Regarding Claim 4, Heydari in view of Chen and further in view of Benitez discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Heydari as modified does not disclose wherein the control system is a PLC control system or a DCS control system.
Instead, Sun (In Fig 2) teaches wherein the control system is a PLC control system (¶ 21, II. 1-4) or a DCS control system.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heydari with Chen further with Varela Benitez and further with Sun with the control system being a PLC control system or a DCS control system to benefit from monitoring temperature of cooling water and a system pressure, locally displaying that the parameters of the liquid cooling system being out of limit timely, and turning on an error signal light; the parameters seriously out of limit that possibly affecting safe operation of a cooled device, and alerting signal light being on to automatically give an alert; and a control cabinet unit performing formal debugging according to the alert to realize optimization and improvement (Sun ¶ 20, II. 1-14).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Heydari in view of Chen further in view of Varela Benitez and further in view of Chen et al (US 2024/0389276 “Lin”).
Regarding Claim 6, Heydari in view of Chen and further in view of Benitez discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Heydari as modified does not disclose wherein the pipeline system is further provided with a manual valve, the manual valve comprises one or more of a ball valve, a butterfly valve, and a stop valve.
Instead, Lin (In Fig 1) teaches wherein the pipeline system (106/108) is further provided with a manual valve (), the manual valve (manual valve, ¶ 36, II. 9-14) comprises one or more of a ball valve (¶ 36, II. 9-14), a butterfly valve, and a stop valve.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heydari with Chen further with Varela Benitez and further with Lin with the pipeline system being further provided with a manual valve and the manual valve comprising one or more of a ball valve, a butterfly valve, and a stop valve to benefit from allowing or preventing liquid flow through the pipe line system (Lin ¶ 36, II. 9-14).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Heydari in view of Chen further in view of Varela Benitez and further in view of Yamatani et al (US 2005/0141196)
Regarding Claim 8, Heydari in view of Chen and further in view of Benitez discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Heydari as modified does not discloses wherein the pipeline system is further provided with a flexible pipe section, and the flexible pipe section is arranged on a pipeline of the pump.
Instead, Yamatani (In Fig 10) teaches wherein the pipeline system (17a/17b) is further provided with a flexible pipe section (¶ 37, II. ), and the flexible pipe section (17a/17b) is arranged on a pipeline of the pump (14), (Fig 10).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heydari with Chen further with Varela Benitez and further with Gao with the structural member being made of stainless steel to benefit from superior corrosion resistance, ability to withstand high pressure without leaking, providing critical durability and thermal stability required to safely cool high-density computing hardware.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Heydari in view of Chen further in view of Varela Benitez and further in view of Gao (US 2022/0408613)
Regarding Claim 9, Heydari in view of Chen and further in view of Benitez discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however where Heydari (In Figs 1-2) further discloses wherein the structural member (side walls of 202) is configured to fix the server container port (202), the plate heat exchanger (268), the pipeline system (260/262), the sensor (temperature sensors, ¶ 58, II. 24-29), and the actuator (266) together (Fig 2), however Heydari as modified does not disclose wherein the structural member (side walls of 202) is made of stainless steel.
Instead, Gao (In Figs 1,7) teaches wherein the structural member (side 132/116) is made of stainless steel (¶ 20, II. 8-10).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Heydari with Chen further with Varela Benitez and further with Gao with the structural member being made of stainless steel to benefit from superior corrosion resistance, ability to withstand high pressure without leaking, providing critical durability and thermal stability required to safely cool high-density computing hardware.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; Integrated Cabinet and Data Center Computer Room US 2025/0048599, Cooling Dispensing Unit for Data Center and Data Center Machine Room US 2023/0413492, Liquid-Cooling Heat Exchange Device and Control Method Thereof US 2024/0334656, Liquid-Cooling Heat Exchange Device US 2024/0334647. Other pertinent art made of record are on form PTO-892 notice of reference cited.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMIR JALALI whose telephone number is (303)297-4308. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm, Mountain Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash Gandhi can be reached on 571-272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMIR A JALALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841