DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 06/26/2026, which has
been entered and made of record. Claim 2, 4, 6, and 7 are amended. Claim 8 is cancelled. Claims 1-7, 9-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
The 112(b) rejection is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Applicant arguments regarding claim rejections under 103 are considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
Examiner disagrees: Applicant argues that Ryland and the application are fundamental architecture difference. However, the examination is based on the claim limitation and based on the broadest interpretation. Furthermore, Ryland is a second references. The citation of Ryland is for teaching a specific limitation feature. After a raw synthetic image is inputted, Ryland teaches determining and complex interactions with lighting, color matching with similar objects and also details associated with real sensing data; and accordingly considering these factors/conditions when generating the processed synthetic images to make them more realistic in the scenes.
Applicant argues:
Examiner disagrees: Applicant argues that Chai contradicts with the claimed requirement for physical plausibility. This arguments’ basis are “the claimed method utilizes an automated calculation where the distance and size of an object are determined by querying the depth map and semantic label map of the source image….” However, claims do not have this feature, nor the claims define what is the physical plausibility. The features upon which applicant relies (above) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues:
Examiner disagrees: Chai teaches generating intermediate images for synthetic scenes based on layout information of input images. Ryland also teaches steps of generating a synthetic scene. In Ryland’s teaching, condition data are determined for an input image and a final synthetic scene is generated based on the determined condition data. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Chai with the image condition aware image enhance step of Ryland to generate a more real scene image.
Applicant argues:
Examiner disagrees: Chai teaches generating synthetic images. Ryland teaches generating synthetic images too. Furthermore, Ryland teaches enhance the synthetic images by considering conditions of the images and generating a final synthetic image based on the conditions to make the image more real. The combination of Chai with the specific enhance feature of Ryland would be permissible change, since it would enable the generated synthetic images in Chai be further enhanced to be more physical plausible by considering other conditions.
Applicant argues:
Examiner disagrees: Chai teaches generating synthetic images by a neural rendering pipeline. Modifying Chai to include the enhance step of Ryland (see answers to previous arguments), would enhance the generated synthetic images of Chai to consider conditions that would make the final enhanced synthetic image physical plausible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai et al. (US 2025/0391108 A1) in view of Ryland et al. (US 2024/0256866 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chai teaches:
A method for an automated generation of synthetic scenes, (Abstract: “A 3D-aware generative model for high-quality and controllable scene synthesis uses an abstract object-level representation”) comprising the following steps:
- providing scene data representing a plurality of template scenes, (FIG. 3, [0039], “the user provides a layout prior 110”)
- providing object data specifying various objects for insertion into the synthetic scene, (FIG. 3, [0040], “generate an object for each 3D bounding box 132 at 310.”)
- providing at least one scene parameter for the template scenes, which describes at least one characteristic of the template scenes, ([0029], “Similar to NeRF, a pinhole camera model may be used to perform ray casting. For each object, the points on the rays can be sampled at adaptive depths rather than fixed ones since the bounding box provides clues about where the object locates. Specifically, the cast rays R={r.sub.j|j ∈[1, S.sup.2]} in a resolution S are transformed into the canonical object coordinate system. Then, a Ray-AABB (axis-aligned bounding box) intersection algorithm may be applied to calculate the adaptive near and far depth (d.sub.j,l,n, d.sub.j,l,f) of the intersected segment between the ray r.sub.j and the l-th box B.sub.l. After that, N.sub.d points are sampled equidistantly in the interval [d.sub.j,l,n, d.sub.j,l,f]. An intersection matrix M is maintained of size N×S.sup.2, whose elements indicate if this ray intersects with the box. With M, valid points are selected to infer, which can greatly reduce the rendering cost. Different background sampling strategies are adopted depending on the dataset. In general, fixed depth sampling is performed for bounded backgrounds in indoor scenes and the inverse parametrization of NeRF++ is inherited for complex and unbounded outdoor scenes, which uniformly samples background points in an inverse depth range..”)
- generating intermediate representations for the synthetic scenes, [0037], “receives a layout prior 110 of scenes in the input images that is used by the object generator 120 to generate an object for each 3D bounding box 132. At 230, the background of the scenes is separately generated. The volume renderer 152 of the neural rendering pipeline 150 generates a low resolution version of the scene from the objects for each 3D bounding box and the background of the scenes at 240.”) wherein, regarding the intermediate representations, at least one selected object is in each case inserted into a selected template scene, ([0021], “As shown, conditioned by the layout prior 110, the object generator 120 generates spatially disentangled generative radiance fields 130 of individual objects. For example, bounding boxes 132 may be placed around respective vehicles in a scene as shown. The scene layout is defined and the coordinates of the bounding boxes are identified to determine the absolute positions in the scene.”) wherein the insertion of the at least one selected object is parameterized based on the provided scene parameter in order to account for physical plausibility in the respective intermediate representation,([0022], “layout of the scene is provided as an explicit layout prior 110 to disentangle objects. Based on the layout prior 110, spatially disentangled radiance fields 130 and a neural rendering pipeline 150 achieve controllable 3D-aware scene generation.” In order to generate a 3D-aware scene, the depth information is calculated and considered in the intermediate image generation process. [0031], “In the methods described herein, objects are always assumed to be in front of the background. So objects and background can be rendered independently first and composited thereafter. For a ray r.sub.j intersecting with n.sub.j(n.sub.j≥1) boxes, its sample points X.sub.j={x.sub.j,k|k ∈[1, n.sub.jN.sub.d]} can be easily obtained from the depth range and the intersection matrix M. Since rendering should consider inter-object occlusions, the points X are sorted by depth, resulting in an ordered point set X.sub.j.sup.s={x.sub.j,sk|s.sub.k ∈[1, n.sub.jN.sub.d], d.sub.j,sk≤d.sub.j,sk+1}, where d.sub.j,sk denotes the depth of point x.sub.j,sk. With color c(x.sub.j,s.sub.k) and density σ(x.sub.j,s.sub.k) of the ordered set inferred with G.sub.obj(.Math.) by Equation (5), the corresponding pixel f(r.sub.j) may be calculated as:”)
However, Chai does not explicitly, but Ryland teaches:
- determining conditioning data from the generated intermediate representations in order to also account for physical plausibility in the synthetic scenes,- initiating the generation of the synthetic scenes based on the determined conditioning data. ([0013], “These raw synthetic images can be processed by a generative NN, such as a cycle generative adversarial network (CycleGAN). The generative NN can remove typical image artifacts associated with the fake objects and the real objects over real backgrounds. For example, the generative network adds and adjusts complex interactions with lighting, color matching with similar objects, decals and weathering, and edge clarity for the fake objects, among other more subtle tells of fakery. The generative network also adds details associated with sensor characteristics like dynamic range, signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), and blur. These sensor characteristics are effects that can be compensated by the generative model. This processing by the generative model (sometimes called a “generative model”) provides tailored forgeries based on real-world sensing data that is more convincing to a human and machine analyst than an image generated by a 3D editor.”)
Chai teaches steps of generating a synthetic scene. Ryland also teaches steps of generating a synthetic scene. In Ryland’s method, the computer-generated intermediate image is further enhanced by considering the data from intermediate image, so as to generate a final real scene image.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Chai with the image condition aware image enhance step of Ryland to generate a more real scene image.
Regarding claim 2, Chai in view of Ryland teaches:
The method according to claim 1, characterized in that the synthetic scenes are generated by a generative model, wherein the generation is conditioned by the conditioning data. (Ryland [0013], “These raw synthetic images can be processed by a generative NN, such as a cycle generative adversarial network (CycleGAN). The generative NN can remove typical image artifacts associated with the fake objects and the real objects over real backgrounds. For example, the generative network adds and adjusts complex interactions with lighting, color matching with similar objects, decals and weathering, and edge clarity for the fake objects, among other more subtle tells of fakery. The generative network also adds details associated with sensor characteristics like dynamic range, signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), and blur. These sensor characteristics are effects that can be compensated by the generative model. This processing by the generative model (sometimes called a “generative model”) provides tailored forgeries based on real-world sensing data that is more convincing to a human and machine analyst than an image generated by a 3D editor.” The combination of claim 1 is incorporated here.)
Regarding claim 3, Chai in view of Ryland teaches:
The method according to claim 1, characterized in that the provided scene parameter comprises at least depth map, and/or semantic labelmap, and/or Canny edge representation for use in automatically determining a position, and/or orientation, and/or size of the objects for insertion into the template scenes. (Chai, [0029], “Similar to NeRF, a pinhole camera model may be used to perform ray casting. For each object, the points on the rays can be sampled at adaptive depths rather than fixed ones since the bounding box provides clues about where the object locates. Specifically, the cast rays R={r.sub.j|j ∈[1, S.sup.2]} in a resolution S are transformed into the canonical object coordinate system. Then, a Ray-AABB (axis-aligned bounding box) intersection algorithm may be applied to calculate the adaptive near and far depth (d.sub.j,l,n, d.sub.j,l,f) of the intersected segment between the ray r.sub.j and the l-th box B.sub.l. After that, N.sub.d points are sampled equidistantly in the interval [d.sub.j,l,n, d.sub.j,l,f]. An intersection matrix M is maintained of size N×S.sup.2, whose elements indicate if this ray intersects with the box. With M, valid points are selected to infer, which can greatly reduce the rendering cost. Different background sampling strategies are adopted depending on the dataset. In general, fixed depth sampling is performed for bounded backgrounds in indoor scenes and the inverse parametrization of NeRF++ is inherited for complex and unbounded outdoor scenes, which uniformly samples background points in an inverse depth range..”)
Regarding claim 4, Chai in view of Ryland teaches:
The method according to claim 1, characterized in that the physical plausibility for the intermediate representation is taken into account and maintained at least in that the insertion of the at least one selected object is parameterized with respect to a position of the object using the provided scene parameter. (Chai, [0029], “Similar to NeRF, a pinhole camera model may be used to perform ray casting. For each object, the points on the rays can be sampled at adaptive depths rather than fixed ones since the bounding box provides clues about where the object locates. Specifically, the cast rays R={r.sub.j|j ∈[1, S.sup.2]} in a resolution S are transformed into the canonical object coordinate system. Then, a Ray-AABB (axis-aligned bounding box) intersection algorithm may be applied to calculate the adaptive near and far depth (d.sub.j,l,n, d.sub.j,l,f) of the intersected segment between the ray r.sub.j and the l-th box B.sub.l. After that, N.sub.d points are sampled equidistantly in the interval [d.sub.j,l,n, d.sub.j,l,f]. An intersection matrix M is maintained of size N×S.sup.2, whose elements indicate if this ray intersects with the box. With M, valid points are selected to infer, which can greatly reduce the rendering cost. Different background sampling strategies are adopted depending on the dataset. In general, fixed depth sampling is performed for bounded backgrounds in indoor scenes and the inverse parametrization of NeRF++ is inherited for complex and unbounded outdoor scenes, which uniformly samples background points in an inverse depth range..”)
Regarding claim 5, Chai in view of Ryland teaches:
The method according to claim 1, characterized in that the object data comprise at least one dataset having the various objects, wherein the objects comprise at least tires and motorcycles, wherein the at least one dataset provides each of the objects in two-dimensional form as a 2D image and/or in three-dimensional form as a 3D model, wherein the 3D models differ from one another with respect to their parameterization of a dimension, and/or an angle, and/or a pose, and/or an orientation. (Chai FIG. 3, [0040], “generate an object for each 3D bounding box 132 at 310.” FIG. 1 shows that objects are cars, which have tires. FIG. 1 also shows different orientation.)
Regarding claim 6, Chai in view of Ryland teaches:
Chai teaches:
The method according to claim 1, characterized in that the template scenes comprise multiple artificial and/or real driving scenes for autonomous driving, wherein the synthetic scenes comprise multiple artificial driving scenes (Chai, FIG. 1, an generated driving scene.) …such that information about the inserted object is taken into account, wherein training data are provided in order to train a machine learning model for autonomous driving based on the generated synthetic scenes. ([0041], “WAYMO® is a large-scale autonomous driving dataset with 1K video sequences of outdoor scenes.” FIG. 1 shows the objects are considered in the scene generation process. FIG. 2 shows the training process.)
On the other hand, Ryland teaches:
the synthetic scenes … which are generated in reference to the determined conditioning data,(Chai, FIG. 1, an generated driving scene. The synthetic image can be generated based on conditioning data as shown in Claim 1 by Ryland.) in particular by an influence on weighting parameters of a generative model, (Ryland, FIG. 6, the generative model has weighted parameters in the neural network.)
Chai teaches steps of generating a synthetic scene. Ryland also teaches steps of generating a synthetic scene. In Ryland’s method, the computer-generated intermediate image is further enhanced by considering the data from intermediate image, so as to generate a final real scene image.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Chai with the image condition aware image enhance step of Ryland to generate a more real scene image.
Regarding claim 7, Chai in view of Ryland teaches:
The method according to claim 1, characterized in that the determination of the conditioning data based on the generated intermediate representations comprises at least the following step: - extracting at least one scene parameter from the respective intermediate representation, which comprises edges from the template scene and the inserted object. (Ryland, [0013], “The generative NN can remove typical image artifacts associated with the fake objects and the real objects over real backgrounds. For example, the generative network adds and adjusts complex interactions with lighting, color matching with similar objects, decals and weathering, and edge clarity for the fake objects, among other more subtle tells of fakery.” The combination of claim 1 is incorporated here.)
Claims 9 and 10 recite similar limitations of claim 1, in a form of device and medium respectively, thus are rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YANNA WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615