DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: cutting mechanism in claim 5, disclosed as a roller die cutter 114 in ¶51 and Fig. 5A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marcuse (US 2309469).
As to claim 1, Marcuse discloses a method of associating the edged of two paper board web sections (Title). The splicing method comprises of: aligning and partially overlapping a first sheet 1 of generally rigid material with a second sheet 2 of generally rigid material; cutting a pattern of interlocking segments 5, 5a through the first and second sheets and along an axis spanning between opposing sides of the first and second sheets; removing an excess portion 6, 7 of material from the first and second sheets, such that the interlocking segments of each sheet are exposed; connecting the exposed interlocking segments of the first sheet to the exposed interlocking segments of the second sheet to create a seam; and securing the seam such that the interlocking segments remain connected under tension (Fig 1-6 below; C1, 42 - C2, L55).
As to claim 2, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Marcuse discloses that cutting pattern of interlocking staggered segments are cut into an asymmetrical pattern around a cutting axis which spans from opposing sides of the first and second sheets (Fig. 5).
As to claim 5, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. The method of Marcuse uses a single cutter to cut an interlocking pattern into the first and second sheets simultaneously.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcuse (US 2309469) in view of Abreu (US 5092573).
As to claim 3, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Marcuse fails to specifically teach or disclose that apparatus has a reference wall to guide the material to be spliced. It is the position of the Examiner that utilizing a reference wall is known and conventional in the art and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to incorporate into the method of Marcuse. Abreu discloses a paper processing method/device with splicer (Abstract). Abreu discloses that it is advantageous to utilize a reference guide/wall 90 to keep a paper web into a desired position in the apparatus (Fig. 3; C8, L42-67). It would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of Marcuse to include a reference guide/wall for the web material to be processed and would have been motivated to do so because Abreu discloses that using such a reference guide/wall helps keep the web material in a desired position in the apparatus.
As to claim 4, the method of claim 3 is taught as seen above. It would have been obvious to employ a pressing action to the side of the web in contact with the reference wall in order to enjoy the alignment benefits that the wall has to offer since alignment could not be ensured if the material is not in contact with the reference wall.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER C CAILLOUET/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/MICHAEL A TOLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745