DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0137663 to Vaught (hereinafter referred to as Vaught).
In regard to claim 1, as shown in figures 1B and 1F, Vaught can be considered to disclose a flow divider (10) with a flow divider main body (1, 1a) having a guide flow path (5a, 5b). An inlet (2a) is provided through which a liquid can be guided into the guide flow path. A first outlet (2c) and a second outlet (2b) can discharge the liquid to an outside from the guide flow path. As shown in figures 1B and 1F, the first outlet (2c) is located above the second outlet (2b). The flow divider of Vaught discloses all of the claimed structural features and is capable of operating such that when a bubble exists in the liquid within the guide flow path, a volume of the bubble flowing out to the outside along with the liquid through the second outlet (2b) is smaller than the volume of the bubble flowing to the outside along with the liquid through the first outlet (2c).
In regard to claim 2, the guide flow path (5a, 5b) can be considered to comprise an inflow guideway into which the liquid from the inlet (2a) is introduced, a first outflow guideway located between the inflow guideway and the first outlet (2c), and a second outflow guideway located between the inflow guideway and the second outlet (2b). The flow divider main body (1, 1a) comprises a guide partition (250, 250a) configured to partition at least a part of the inflow guideway. The inlet (2a) discharges the liquid into the inflow guideway toward the guide partition (250, 250a).
In regard to claim 8, The flow divider of Vaught discloses all of the claimed structural features and is capable of operating such that a flow rate of the liquid flowing out to the outside from the guide flow path through the first outlet (2c) is less than a flow rate of the liquid flowing out to the outside from the guide flow path through the second outlet (2b).
In regard to claim 10, as shown in the embodiment of figure 1B, the flow divider main body can be considered to comprise a first divided main body (1a) and a second divided main body (250) configured to be detachably attached to each other.
In regard to claim 11, as shown in figures 1G and 1H, Vaught can be considered to disclose a liquid processing system. The system includes a flow divider (10) as claimed in claim 1 of the present application, as discussed above. The flow divider can allow a processing liquid to be guided into the guide flow path though the inlet and be flown out from the guide flow path through the first outlet and the second outlet. As shown in figures 1G and 1H, lines are connected to the first outlet and the second outlet. As discussed in paragraph [0002], the liquid can be used in various processes, such as being sent to an engine. In this case, the engine can be considered a processor, as broadly recited in the claim, that receives a supply of the liquid from the second outlet to perform a process with the liquid.
In regard to claim 14, as shown in figures 1G and 1H, the system can include a plurality of flow dividers (10).
Claims 1 – 3, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 10-1652375 (hereinafter referred to as KR ‘375).
In regard to claim 1, as shown in figures 2 – 6, KR ‘375 discloses a flow divider (200) having a flow divider main body (210, 220)with a guide flow path. An inlet (110) can allow a liquid to be guided into the guide flow path. A first outlet (203) and a second outlet (201) can discharge the liquid to an outside from the guide flow path. As shown in figures 2, 4, and 6, the first outlet (203) is located above the second outlet (201). The flow divider (200) of KR ‘375 discloses all of the claimed structural features and is capable of operating such that when a bubble exists in the liquid within the guide flow path, a volume of the bubble flowing out to the outside along with the liquid through the second outlet (201) is smaller than the volume of the bubble flowing to the outside along with the liquid through the first outlet (203).
In regard to claim 2, the guide flow path can be considered to comprise an inflow guideway into which the liquid from the inlet (110) is introduced, a first outflow guideway located between the inflow guideway and the first outlet (203), and a second outflow guideway located between the inflow guideway and the second outlet (201). The flow divider main body (210, 220) comprises a guide partition (230) configured to partition at least a part of the inflow guideway. The inlet (110) discharges the liquid into the inflow guideway toward the guide partition (230).
In regard to claim 3, the inflow guideway extends in a first (horizontal) direction, the first outflow guideway and the second outflow guideway are located deviated from the inflow guideway in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and the liquid is guided in the second direction after being guided in the first direction in the inflow guideway.
In regard to claim 6, the guide flow path can be considered to comprise an inflow guideway into which the liquid from the inlet (110) is introduced, a first outflow guideway located between the inflow guideway and the first outlet (203), and a second outflow guideway located between the inflow guideway and the second outlet (201). As shown in figures 2, 4, and 6, the liquid can head towards the first outlet (203) in a swirling flow in at least a part of the first outflow guideway.
In regard to claim 9, the guide flow path can be considered to comprise an inflow guideway into which the liquid from the inlet (110) is introduced, a first outflow guideway located between the inflow guideway and the first outlet (203), and a second outflow guideway located between the inflow guideway and the second outlet (201). As shown in figures 2, 4, and 6, the overflow finder (230) can be considered to form a protrusion protruding downwards from an inner wall surface of the flow divider main body that defines at least one of the inflow guideway or the first outflow guideway.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 7, 12, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Other prior art references listed on the PTO-892 (Notice of References Cited) are considered to be of interest disclosing similar devices.
/ROBERT CLEMENTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773