DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This Continued Examination Office Action is in reply to the Request for Continued Examination filed on 20 July 2026 and supplemental response/amendment filed 21 August 2026.
For the claim set filed 20 July 2026, Claims 1, 21 have been amended. For the claim set filed 21 August 2026, Claims, 1, 21 have been amended.
Broadly recited Claims 1-18, 21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendment
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 20 July 2026, 21 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks regarding the 35 USC § 101 rejection for broadly recited Claims 1-18, 21, Applicants argue that: (1) the claims are not directed to an abstract idea, and even if they were, they would amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Commensurate with the 2019 revised patent subject matter eligibility guidance (2019 PEG), the October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility (“October 2019 Update”) and updated with the addition of new Examples 47-49 published July 2024, the claims are continued analyzed based on these new guidelines and is detailed below in the maintained rejection under 35 USC 101. As applicant relies on the recent In re Desjardins decision, the Examiner maintains that for the court decision of In re Desjardins the claims as currently recited do not recite any recitations of artificial intelligence, machine learning, or deep neural network configurations for improvements to computing technology. Thus the instant claimed subject matter is not analogous to this court decision without any recitation of “ignoring…benefits or improvements”. The below steps focus on collecting data, applying probability analysis, and selecting combinations based on availability. This describes the process of modeling, optimization, and risk analysis. In summary as indicated below and further clarified through Steps 1-2B, the recitation of a computer to perform the claim limitations amount to no more than mere instruction to apply the exception using generic computer components. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. For at least these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
In the remarks and amendments regarding the previous prior art rejection under Sustaeta, as new grounds of rejection is introduced. Broadly recited Claims 1-18, 21 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sustaeta et al. (Sustaeta) (US 2017/0359418) in view of Burke (US 2016/0324019) and the arguments are moot. It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, paragraphs, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123. The Examiner has a duty and responsibility to the public and to Applicant to interpret the claims as broadly as reasonably possible during prosecution. In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1 393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-51 (CCPA 1969).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Broadly recited Claims 1-18, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claims as a whole recite certain groupings of an abstract idea and are analyzed in the following step process:
Step 1: Claims 1-18, 21 are focused to a statutory category of invention, namely “system; method” sets.
Step 2A: Prong One: Broadly Claims 1-18, 21 recite limitations that set forth the abstract ideas, namely, the claims as a whole recite the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The below steps focus on collecting data, applying probability analysis, and selecting combinations based on availability. for evaluating alternative architectures (specifically mechanical systems) under supply chain or technology uncertainty. The claims recite steps for:
“1) identifying a plurality of feasible architectures, wherein the feasible architectures are proposed architectures to be evaluated to determine the best architecture with a number of distinct elements;
2) identifying a plurality of uncertain elements that will go into each said feasible architecture, the uncertain elements may be based upon electronic chips, technologies, suppliers and/or manufacturing methods which may not be available for production due to supply chain disruptions, or unproven technologies under development which may not become available or a particular procedure might be identified which is ultimately not achieved;
3) identifying, for each of the uncertain elements, a probability that the uncertain element will not be available;
4) identifying a plurality of candidate contingency architectures replacement for each combination of the uncertain elements for each of the feasible architectures, and identifying a contingency architecture for that architecture and each combination of the uncertain elements not being available, identify an expected value of each said feasible architecture, wherein the expected value of the feasible architecture is less than its optimum value and is a probability weighted value; and
wherein steps 1)-4) are performed by a computer; and
wherein the architecture is a mechanical system having a number of interacting component, wherein the mechanical system is then manufactured, after step 4)”
These abstract idea limitations identified above under their broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims as a whole, cover performance of their limitations as: The 2019 PEG explains that the abstract idea exception includes the following groupings (emphasis bolded, highlighted) of subject matter:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations. The claim recites "identifying... a probability," calculating a "combination of the uncertain elements," and calculating an "expected value of each said feasible architecture, wherein the expected value... is a probability weighted value." These are mathematical algorithms, relationships, and formulas used to calculate a statistical risk profile.
Mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion). The steps of "identifying" architectures and elements, which could (in theory) be performed by a human analyzing data on paper, i.e., (identifying; identify). Steps 1 through 4 describe concepts that can be (and historically have been) performed in the human mind or with the aid of pen and paper. "Identifying" architectures, "identifying" uncertain elements, assigning probabilities, and evaluating expected values are cognitive acts of engineering evaluation, data gathering, and risk analysis.
Methods of Organizing Human Activity (Fundamental Economic Practices/Risk Management): Identifying contingency architectures for uncertain elements is a form of risk management and business planning, which are often considered fundamental economic practices.
When looking strictly at what the claim recites, the core steps (1 through 4) are directed to a method of risk assessment and mathematical modeling. Steps 1–3 involve collecting data points (architectures, uncertain elements, and their respective probabilities). Step 4 performs a probability-weighted expected value calculation (a mathematical formula/concept) based on those inputs. The inclusion of generic computer hardware ("performed by a computer") does not alter the fact that the underlying steps recite these abstract categories. Under Prong 1, the claim is flagged as reciting an abstract idea because it relies on mathematical computations, organizing human activity, and analytical mental steps to reach a design conclusion. See MPEP § 2106.04(a) II C. Hence, the claims are ineligible under Step 2A Prong one. Furthermore, the dependent claims are merely directed to the particulars of the abstract idea and likewise do not add significantly more to the above-identified judicial exception.
Prong Two: Claims 1-18, 21: With regard to this step of the analysis (as explained in MPEP § 2106.04(d)), the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite additional elements directed to “one or more processors coupled to memory…operable to execute instructions stored in memory to perform…” (e.g., see Applicants’ published Specification ¶’s 34-47). Therefore, the claims contain computer components that are cited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Simply implementing an abstract idea on a computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Furthermore, the dependent claims are merely directed to the particulars of the abstract idea and likewise do not add significantly more to the above-identified judicial exception. The limitations of the claims do not transform the abstract idea that they recite into patent-eligible subject matter because the claims simply instruct the practitioner to implement the abstract idea using generally-recited computer components, and furthermore do not amount to an improvement to a computer or any other technology, and thus are ineligible. See MPEP § 2106.05(f) (h).
Step 2B: As explained in MPEP § 2106.05, Claims 1-18, 21 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea nor recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The additional elements of “one or more processors coupled to memory…operable to execute instructions stored in memory to perform…”, etc. are generically-recited computer-related elements that amount to a mere instruction to “apply it” (the abstract idea) on the computer-related elements (see MPEP § 2106.05 (f) – Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception). These additional elements in the claims are recited at a high level of generality and are merely limiting the field of use of the judicial exception (see MPEP §2106.05 (h) – Field of Use and Technological Environment). There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the function of a computer or improves any other technology. Furthermore, the dependent claims are merely directed to the particulars of the abstract idea and likewise do not add significantly more to the above-identified judicial exception. The limitations of the claims do not transform the abstract idea that they recite into patent-eligible subject matter because the claims simply instruct the practitioner to implement the abstract idea using generally-recited computer components, and furthermore do not amount to an improvement to a computer or any other technology, and thus are ineligible.
The Examiner interprets that the steps of the claimed invention both individually and as an ordered combination result in Mere Instructions to Apply a Judicial Exception (see MPEP §2106.05 (f)). These claims recite only the idea of a solution or outcome with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism used for accomplishing the result. Here, the claims utilize a computer or other machinery (e.g., see Applicants’ published Specification ¶’s 34-47) regarding using existing computer processors as well as program products comprising machine-readable media for carrying or having machine-executable instructions or data structures stored. “Mechanical system 90” in its ordinary capacity for performing tasks (e.g., to receive, analyze, transmit and display data) and/or use computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice and certain methods of organization human activities) and does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016)). Software implementations are accomplished with standard programming techniques with logic to perform connection steps, processing steps, comparison steps and decisions steps. These claims are directed to being a commonplace business method being applied on a general-purpose computer (see Alice Corp. Pty, Ltd. V. CLS Bank Int’l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 1357, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983 (2014)); Versata Dev. Group, Inc., v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 D.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015)) and require the use of software such as via a server to tailor information and provide it to the user on a generic computer. Based on all these, Examiner finds that when viewed either individually or in combination, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) that raise to the high standards of eligibility to transform the abstract idea(s) into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea(s) such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea(s) itself. Accordingly, Claims 1-18, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. abstract idea exception) without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sustaeta et al. (Sustaeta) (US 2017/0359418) in view of Burke (US 2016/0324019).
With regard to Claims 1, 21, Sustaeta teaches a method/system of developing an architecture (developments have resulted in an Open Systems Architecture for Condition-Based Maintenance that provides a framework for real-time integration of machinery health and prognostic information with decision support activities; New developments in condition based monitoring algorithms, sensors, communications, and architectures promise to provide new opportunities for diagnostics and prognostics; employs a performance driven approach to leverage off developments in diagnostic and prognostic algorithms, smart machines and components, new sensor technologies, smart sensors, and integrate these technologies among others in a framework of an enterprise-wide asset management (EAM) system. The combination of optimizing methods and processes in the framework of an EAM system comprise an Asset Optimization System; systems, system or process; production scenario; framework; prognostics system 100, machinery) (see at least paragraphs 2, 62-68); one or more processors coupled to memory, the one or more processors collectively operable to execute instructions stored in memory to perform the following (“component” and “system” are intended to refer to a computer-related entity, either hardware, a combination of hardware and software, software, or software in execution. For example, a component may be, but is not limited to being, a process running on a processor, a processor, an object, an executable, a thread of execution, a program, and/or a computer. By way of illustration, both an application running on a server and the server can be a component. One or more components may reside within a process and/or thread of execution and a component may be localized on one computer and/or distributed between two or more computers) (see at least paragraphs 62-64, 71, 93, 131, 136, 230: comprising the steps of:
identifying a plurality of feasible (data relating to various business concerns (e.g., inventory, revenue, marketing, accounting, utilities, cash flow, mission statements, manufacturing, logistics, asset management, layout, processes . . . ) is received and/or generated) architectures (architectures; diagnostics data; the data is analyzed in connection with optimization software that analyzes the machine data as well as the business concern data. Such analysis can include searching for and identifying correlations amongst the data, trend analysis, inference analysis, data mining, data fusion analysis, etc. in an effort to identify schemes for reorganizing, restructuring, modifying, adding and/or deleting the various machine and business components so as to facilitate optimizing the overall business system or method in accordance with identified business objective(s); generative and search methods such as genetic algorithms may be used to search the space of feasible scenarios to identify an optimal production scenario), wherein the feasible architectures are proposed architectures to be evaluated to determine the best architecture with a number of distinct elements (optimization engine 2210 in concert with radio frequency identification (RFID) tags can be utilized to determine how best to load or unload a container with product or raw materials. Similarly, optimization engine 2210 can further be utilized to best utilize empty space (e.g., shop floor space, office space, placement of raw material bins, hazardous material handling, . . . ). These facilities of optimization engine 2210 can be effectuated through use of linear-regression modalities and/or techniques (e.g., traveling salesmen type algorithms)) (see at least paragraphs 131, 136, 161-163, 230, 236);
(2) identifying (a representative belief network 500 that can be are used to model uncertainty in a domain in connection with the subject invention. The term “belief networks” as employed herein is intended to encompass a whole range of different but related techniques which deal with reasoning under uncertainty. Both quantitative (mainly using Bayesian probabilistic methods) and qualitative techniques are used. Influence diagrams are an extension to belief networks; they are used when working with decision making) a plurality of uncertain (uncertainty; uncertain quantity) elements (Diagnostic information as employed by the subject invention can be information regarding a condition of system components or operating conditions that will accelerate wear and hasten failure of critical system elements. For example, information which identifies a level of degradation of a bearing element, the degree of insulation capability lost, the amount of time motor windings were operated at elevated temperature or that cavitation is occurring is useful diagnostic information; A probabilistic determination model and analysis can be performed at various levels of data to factor the probabilistic effect of an event on various business concerns given various levels of uncertainty as well as the costs associated with an making an incorrect inference as to prognosing an event and its associated weight with respect to the overall business concern) that will go into each said feasible architecture (the proliferation of distributed computing systems and enhanced prognostic, control, and optimization techniques provides via the subject invention for changing the landscape of industrial automation systems. The aforementioned framework complements technical capabilities for asset optimization via an agent based representation), the uncertain elements include at least one based upon electronic chips, technologies, suppliers and/or manufacturing methods (provides for employment of prognostics/diagnostics to optimize quality control of products to be manufactured and/or delivered. For example, inference as to future state of a component and effect of such future state on production of a product can be employed as part of a closed-loop system that provides for adjusting processing parameters in situ so as to dynamically correct for variances associated with the inferred state that could impact quality and/or quantity of the product. It is to be appreciated that such techniques can be applied as part of an enterprise resource planning (ERP) system to facilitate forecasting events/parameters (e.g., capacity, supplier throughput, inventory, production, logistics, billing, design, . . . ) that might impact an enterprise. As will be discussed in greater detail infra, one particular aspect of the invention can employ technologies such as radio frequency identification (RFID) tags in connection with failure prediction, product throughput analysis, line diagnosis, inventory management, and production control) which may not be available for production due to supply chain disruptions ( to assist agents and agent clusters in negotiation and action planning to address future possible scenarios. For example, the registry may be used to establish a future configuration and operating scenario from a set of possible contingency plans that will provide a less disruptive or dangerous configuration in the event a recently detected weakened component should fail), or unproven technologies under development which may not become available or a particular procedure might be identified which is ultimately not achieved (as illustrated in FIG. 22, enterprise resource planning (ERP) component 184 can include visualization component 2212 that provides visualizations of its results (e.g., by way of automatically and/or dynamically in real-time updateable virtual instrumentation projection that allows user interaction). Visualization component 2212 can present information in a new way, providing users the ability to look into the prognosticative future and/or to proactively adjust context. For example, a production facility engineer can reconfigure a production facility (e.g., plant or factory floor) to ensure that end-product output is maximized from every aspect of production. By employing the claimed matter, and in particular, aspects of visualization component 2212, multiple dimensions involved in the production of a final product can be analyzed and negative factors mitigated and positive factors enhanced in order to ensure maximum efficiency and maximum profitability thereby minimizing inefficiencies and loss) (see at least paragraphs 16, 79, 105, 131, 136, 148-150, 237);
(3) identifying, for each of the uncertain elements, a probability that the uncertain element (Diagnostic information as employed by the subject invention can be information regarding a condition of system components or operating conditions that will accelerate wear and hasten failure of critical system elements. For example, information which identifies a level of degradation of a bearing element, the degree of insulation capability lost, the amount of time motor windings were operated at elevated temperature or that cavitation is occurring is useful diagnostic information; A probabilistic determination model and analysis can be performed at various levels of data to factor the probabilistic effect of an event on various business concerns given various levels of uncertainty as well as the costs associated with an making an incorrect inference as to prognosing an event and its associated weight with respect to the overall business concern) that will go into each said feasible architecture (the proliferation of distributed computing systems and enhanced prognostic, control, and optimization techniques provides via the subject invention for changing the landscape of industrial automation systems. The aforementioned framework complements technical capabilities for asset optimization via an agent based representation) will not be available (The data fusion system may be employed to derive system attribute information relating to any number of attributes according to measured attribute information (e.g., from the sensors) in accordance with the present invention. In this regard, the available attribute information may be employed by the data fusion system to derive attributes related to failed sensors, and/or to other performance characteristics of the machine(s) 110 and/or system 100 for which sensors are not available) (see at least paragraphs 105, 141);
identifying a plurality of candidate contingency architectures replacement for each combination of the uncertain elements for each of the feasible architectures (information from the initial CBM system can enable other operational investments that otherwise would not be available. For example, a CBM system may provide a basis for accelerating periodic maintenance, or may prescribe replacing equipment just before failure and minimizing the amount of remaining useful life that is discarded. Information from the CBM system may also provide valuable information on when to exercise the upgrade or replacement option), and identifying a contingency architecture for that architecture and each combination of the uncertain elements not being available (A more comprehensive operational model and objective function may incorporate these additional parameters if required. Additional parameters may include information such as expected failure rate and failure cost for different operating modes, machinery lifetime and capital replacement costs, and the impact on other connected machines and processes such as valves, piping, and other process machines), identify an expected value of each said feasible architecture, wherein the expected value of the feasible architecture is less than its optimum value and is a probability (probabilistic determination model) weighted value (Asset Optimization; the correlation engine 1110 may compute, predict, or derive correlated system efficiency information 1112 from the correlation of one or more of the pump efficiency information 1100 related to the pump 1104, motor efficiency information 1102 related to the motor 906, and motor drive efficiency information 904 related to the motor drive 960. The correlation may be accomplished in the correlation engine 1110 through appropriate mathematical operations, for example, in software executing on a microprocessor within the controller 966. Appropriate weighting factors may be assigned to the relevant information being correlated (e.g., 1100, 1102, and 1104), for instance, whereby the efficiency of the pump 904 may be given more weight than that of the motor drive 960. The invention can also be employed to provide near-optimal operation to enhance robustness (e.g., to reduce sensitivity), in order to provide better overall optimization) (see at least paragraphs 16, 87, 124, 130-136, 138, 155-156, 186);
Sustaeta does not specifically teach wherein the architecture is a mechanical system having a number of interacting components, wherein the mechanical system is then manufactured, after step 4)/ at least one of a flight plan made uncertain due to hostile activity, bad weather, or a geographic obstacle.
Burke teaches wherein the architecture is a mechanical system (The use of the architecture described in the common bus structure for avionics and satellites 10 when applied to a stand-alone complete satellite system 64 will dominate and change the satellite industry by providing the capability to build satellites) having a number of interacting components (provides for all components and capabilities within stackable modules 12 to be instantly accessible for any reason), wherein the mechanical system is then manufactured, after step 4) (the combining of all these functions to comprise the common bus structure for avionics and satellites 10 allows for unprecedented efficiencies in design, manufacture and space qualification testing to occur on a one-box system level, and provides for all components and capabilities within stackable modules 12 to be instantly accessible for any reason)/ at least one of a flight plan made uncertain due to hostile activity, bad weather, or a geographic obstacle (Whenever any external events may trigger a change in flight planning or deployment, the system quickly and efficiently is capable of instantly adopting all new requirements and manifesting them into a newly defined set of parameters resulting in a redefined system in real-time which is capable of meeting all newly defined mission criteria and needs) in analogous art of the use of architecture for the purposes of: “The open architecture and commonality of this system for an avionics or satellite application drives the use of the lightest and most state-of-the-art components to be employed within the modules, whether the upgrade is as simple as replacing an internal component, or if a more rapid scenario is desired, a separate substitute module can be prepared independent of the existing module desired to be replaced, and then replaced into the consolidated stack of modules on a timeline that best suits the integrator” (see at least paragraphs 51-, 118-125, 129).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include common bus structure for avionics and satellites (CBSAS) as taught by Burke in the system of Sustaeta, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
With regard to Claim 2, Sustaeta teaches wherein the method relies on a database of computed information for each of the optimum and contingent architectures (see at least paragraphs 131, 136, 184-186).
With regard to Claim 3, Sustaeta teaches wherein a summation is made for each combination of the uncertain elements in the final architecture, including the product of the optimum value of the best candidate contingency architecture and the probability that the associated combination of uncertain elements is unavailable (see at least paragraphs 131, 136, 140-142, 216).
With regard to Claim 4, Sustaeta teaches wherein the probability of each of the combinations of uncertain elements is also considered in the summation (see at least paragraphs140-142, 216).
With regard to Claim 5, Sustaeta teaches wherein said first feasible architecture having a lower optimum value than a second said feasible architecture having a higher optimum value may be selected based upon the higher expected value of the said first feasible architecture (see at least paragraphs 67, 76, 131, 136, 233).
With regard to Claim 6, Sustaeta teaches wherein the architecture is a mechanical system having a number of interacting components (see at least paragraphs 4, 131, 136,).
With regard to Claim 7, Sustaeta teaches wherein the mechanical system is part of an aerospace system (see at least paragraphs 4, 202).
With regard to Claim 8, Sustaeta teaches the system includes a plurality of components and interconnecting flow lines (see at least paragraphs 5-6).
With regard to Claim 9, Sustaeta teaches wherein the interconnecting flow lines include at least a fluid flow line and an electrical or control flow line (see at least paragraph 100).
With regard to Claim 10, Sustaeta teaches wherein the uncertain elements include a component in the mechanical system, but the contingency architecture includes a change in one of the interconnecting flow lines (see at least paragraphs 100, 131, 136).
With regard to Claim 11, Sustaeta teaches wherein the mechanical system is then manufactured (see at least paragraphs 7, 14).
With regard to Claim 12, Sustaeta teaches wherein the architecture is a mission plan (see at least paragraph 11).
With regard to Claim 13, Sustaeta teaches wherein the mission plan is for a military mission, and the mission plan is then performed (see at least paragraph 11.
With regard to Claim 14, Sustaeta teaches further including the steps of displaying information indicative of the expected value and the optimum value for each said feasible architecture (see at least paragraphs 243-244).
With regard to Claim 15, Sustaeta teaches wherein a first said feasible architecture having a lower optimum value than a second said feasible architecture having a higher optimum value may be selected based upon the higher expected value of the said first feasible architecture (see at least paragraphs 191, 221, 233).
With regard to Claim 16, Sustaeta teaches wherein the architecture is a mechanical system having a number of interacting components (see at least paragraphs 4-9).
With regard to Claim 17, Sustaeta teaches wherein the mechanical system is then manufactured (see at least paragraphs 4-9).
With regard to Claim 18, Sustaeta teaches wherein the architecture is a mission plan, which is then performed (see at least paragraph 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure:
Spira et al. (US 2003/0172002)
Szabo et al. (WO 2021/073732 A1)
THOMAS L. MANSFIELD
Examiner
Art Unit 3623
/THOMAS L MANSFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624