DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
At least claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12078399. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12078399.
At least claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12078399. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least claim 9 is anticipated by claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12078399.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the at least one air-liquid heat exchanger (e.g. heat exchanger 34), the at least one air-liquid regeneration heat exchanger (e.g. heat exchanger 48), and the air-air regeneration heat exchanger (e.g. heat exchanger 36) must be shown (e.g. in a single embodiment as claimed in at least claim 2) or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “at in a heat transfer relationship” should be changed to --in a heat transfer relationship--.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “connected the second liquid loop” should be changed to –connected to the second liquid loop--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-8, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites wherein an outlet of the at least one air-liquid regeneration heat exchanger “relative to a flow of another medium” but it is unclear how, if said at least one air-liquid regeneration heat exchanger and air-air regeneration heat exchanger are arranged in series (see claim 2) that said heat exchangers can also be arranged in series “relative to a flow of another medium”.
Claim 3 is interpreted such that heat exchangers are arranged in series.
Further, the recitation “another medium” is indefinite as it is not clear if said medium refers to the liquid (medium) of claim 1. Clam 3 is interpreted to refer to the liquid (medium) of claim 1.
Claims 4-8 are similarly rejected and interpreted.
Claim 4 is similarly rejected as it is unclear if the recitation “another medium” refers to the “another medium” of claim 3. Claim 4 is interpreted to refer to a diverted airflow medium.
Claims 13-16 are similarly rejected and interpreted as claims 3-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Warner (US 4430867).
Regarding claim 1,
Referring to Fig. 1, Warner teaches an environmental control system 10 comprising: an inlet 20 configured to receive a medium (e.g. a bleed air); a compressing device (e.g. the device comprising at least compressor 53) fluidly connected to the inlet, the compressing device including a compressor 53 operably coupled to a turbine 80, wherein an outlet of the compressor is fluidly connected to an inlet of the turbine such that the medium is provided to the compressor and the turbine in series (e.g. via line 60); at least one air-liquid heat exchanger 95 arranged in fluid communication with the outlet of the compressor and the inlet of the turbine of the compressing device (e.g. via line 110), the at least one air-liquid heat exchanger 95 also being connected to a liquid loop 100 containing a liquid; and at least one air-liquid regeneration heat exchanger 120 fluidly connected to the liquid loop 100 at a location upstream from the at least one air -liquid heat exchanger (e.g. depending on a given reference point within loop 100).
Regarding claims 17-18,
If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warner in view of Shea (US 20190300181).
Regarding claim 2,
Warner does not teach an air-air regeneration heat exchanger, the air-air regeneration heat exchanger being positioned upstream from and fluidly coupled to the at least one air-liquid heat exchanger relative to a flow of the medium.
Shea, directed to an environmental control system, teaches an air-air regeneration heat exchanger 38, the air-air regeneration heat exchanger being positioned upstream from and fluidly coupled to the at least one heat exchanger 36 relative to a flow of the medium.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Warner by Shea with the motivation of utilizing excess cooling capacity of further cool the medium (see Shea par. 24).
Regarding claim 3,
Warner as modified above teaches wherein the air-air regeneration heat exchanger is arranged downstream from and in fluid communication with an outlet of the at least one air-liquid regeneration heat exchanger relative to a flow of another medium (e.g. the liquid of the liquid loop).
Regarding claim 4,
Warner as modified above teaches wherein the flow of another medium (e.g. a diverted air flow) is configured as a heat sink to cool the medium at a location downstream from the outlet of the compressor and upstream from the inlet of the turbine.
Regarding claim 5,
Warner as modified above teaches an outlet (e.g. at cabin), wherein a conditioned form of the medium is provided to the outlet and a portion of the conditioned form of the medium is used as the flow of another medium (e.g. at the regenerative heat exchanger, see Shea Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6,
Warner does not specifically teach wherein the portion of the conditioned form of the medium has a temperature between zero and thirty five degrees Fahrenheit at the at least one-air liquid regeneration heat exchanger.
Warner does, however, disclose that a portion of the conditioned form of the medium has some temperature at the at least one-air liquid regeneration heat exchanger.
Therefore, the temperature of a portion of the conditioned form of the medium is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is that the air from the compressor will be conditioned to a desired temperature. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that a portion of the conditioned form of the medium has some temperature at the at least one-air liquid regeneration heat exchanger was disclosed in the prior art by Warner, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention such that the portion of the conditioned form of the medium has a temperature between zero and thirty five degrees Fahrenheit at the at least one-air liquid regeneration heat exchanger.
Regarding claim 7,
The subject matter of claim 7 is directed towards essentially the same subject matter as claim 6 and has been addressed in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 19,
If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Claim(s) 8-16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warner in view of Shea and Zywiak (US 6615606).
Regarding claim 8,
Warner does not teach another air-liquid heat exchanger arranged downstream from and in fluid communication with an outlet of the turbine; wherein another liquid from another liquid loop is arranged at in a heat transfer relationship with the medium at the second air-liquid heat exchanger.
Zywiak, directed to an environmental control system, teaches another air-liquid heat exchanger 58 (e.g. wherein exchanger 44 is a first exchanger and exchanger 58 is a second exchanger) arranged downstream from and in fluid communication with an outlet of a turbine 24; wherein another liquid from another liquid loop 14b is arranged at in a heat transfer relationship with the medium at the second air-liquid heat exchanger.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Warner by Zywiak with the motivation of further controlling the temperature of the medium at an outlet of the turbine while also enabling the liquid to control the temperature of a second component of the control system.
Regarding claim 9,
The subject matter of claim 9 is directed towards essentially the same subject matter as claim 8 and has been addressed in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 10,
Warner as modified above teaches wherein the second liquid loop is distinct from the first liquid loop (see Zywiak Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11,
The subject matter of claim 11 is directed towards essentially the same subject matter as claim 1 and has been addressed in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12-16,
The subject matter of claims 12-16 are directed towards essentially the same subject matter as claims 2-6 and has been addressed in the rejection of claims 2-6.
Regarding claim 20,
If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated or rendered obvious by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. Thus, the method, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus. See MPEP 2112.02.
Conclusion
/Steve S TANENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763