DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of claims 1-21 are not shown, they must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. That is, claim 1-21 recites specific structures that need to be shown via drawings. The current drawings do no depict the limitations. Applicant is advised to include drawings depicting the limitations.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-21 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims pages include line numbers that should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation: “wherein the GaN epitaxial substrate includes a point A and a point B positioned on a straight line parallel to a [0001] axis passing through the point A, the point B being present in a [0001] axis direction relative to the point A” is not clear because point A.B are not defined and the drawings are silent pertaining to describing the points. Also, Mn is not defined and its ratio is not clear.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation: “wherein the GaN epitaxial substrate includes a point A’ and a point B’ positioned on a straight line parallel to a [0001] axis passing through the point A, the point B being present in a [0001] axis direction relative to the point A” is not clear because point A’B’ are not defined and the drawings are silent pertaining to describing the points. Also, Mn is not defined and its ratio is not clear.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation: “wherein the GaN epitaxial substrate includes a point A” and a point B” positioned on a straight line parallel to a [0001] axis passing through the point A, the point B being present in a [0001] axis direction relative to the point A” is not clear because point A”B” are not defined and the drawings are silent pertaining to describing the points. Also, Mn is not defined and its ratio is not clear.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation: “wherein the GaN epitaxial substrate includes a point A’’’ and a point B’’’ positioned on a straight line parallel to a [0001] axis passing through the point A’’’, the point B’’’ being present in a [0001] axis direction relative to the point A”’ is not clear because point A’’’B’’’ are not defined and the drawings are silent pertaining to describing the points. Also, Mn is not defined and its ratio is not clear.
Regarding claim 12, Mn is not defined and its ratio is not clear. The C-containing layer is not defined.
Regarding claim 19, the GaN epitaxial substrate includes a point A and a point B positioned on a straight line parallel to a [0001] axis passing through the point A, the point B being present in a [0001] axis direction relative to the point A is not clear because point A B are not defined and the drawings are silent pertaining to describing the points. Also, Mn is not defined and its ratio is not clear.
Claims 5-11,13-18,21 will inherit the 112 deficiencies and are rejected under 112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEONE STEFANO ET AL: "Suppression of Iron Memory Effect in GaN Epitaxial Layers", PHYSICA STATUS SOLIDI B, vol. 255, no. 5, 18 October 2017, XP093269413 in view of IWINSKA MALGORZATA ET AL: "Iron and manganese as dopants used in the crystallization of highly resistive HVPE-GaN on native seeds", JAPANESE JOURNAL OF APPLIED PHYSICS, vol. 58, no. SC, 22 May 2019, page SC1047, XP093087275.
Regarding claim 1,2,3,4, Stephano discloses (see in particular section "Results", figure 1, 2): a GaN epitaxial substrate comprising: a GaN substrate (u-GaN); and
a GaN buffer layer (Fe doped GaN) epitaxially grown on the GaN substrate,
wherein the GaN epitaxial substrate includes a point A and a point B positioned on a straight line parallel to a [0001] axis passing through the point A, the point B being present in a [0001] axis direction relative to the point A, the point A is present in the GaN substrate or the GaN buffer layer, the point B is present in the GaN buffer layer, a ratio ([FeMn /[FeMn ]A) is 1/100, [FeMn]A being a FeMn concentration of the point A
and [FeMn]B being a FeMn concentration of the point B, and a distance between the point A and the point B is 0.7 µm or less (see figure 2 and associated text: drop in Fe concentration [Fe] from ~ 10¹⁸ cm⁻³ to below the detection limit (1-2 X 10¹⁶ cm⁻³) in
700 nm), wherein the GaN epitaxial substrate includes a point A' and a point B' positioned on a straight line parallel to a [0001] axis passing through the point A', the point B' being present in a [0001] axis direction relative to the point A', the point A' is
present in the GaN substrate or the GaN buffer layer, the point B' is present in the GaN buffer layer, a ratio is 1/10, [FeMn]A being a FeMn concentration of the point A'
and [FeMn]B, being a FeMn concentration of the point B', and a distance between the point A' and the point B' is 0.4 µm or less (see figure 2 and associated text: drop in Fe concentration [Fe] from ~ ~10¹⁸ cm⁻³ to below the detection limit (1-2 X 10¹⁶
cm⁻³) in 400 nm), a distance between the point A and the point B.
Stefano differs from the claimed invention because he does not explicitly disclose a device wherein the GaN epitaxial substrate is compensation doped with Mn.
Malgorzata, see in particular the abstract, reports a comparison of Fe and Mn as compensation dopants to obtain SI GaN. Malgorzata teaches than Mn doping results in better structural quality and higher resistivity than Fe doping of GaN. Since the purpose of compensation doping is to increase resistivity, and the skilled person always attempts to increase structural quality of epitaxial layers, the skilled person will not hesitate to apply the teachings of Malgorzata to the disclosure of Stefano, replacing Fe by Mn (SC1047-1[2]). Since Fe and Mn, being neighboring elements in the periodic table, have similar size, the skilled person will realize that they will exhibit similar diffusion behaviour. Therefore, the suppression of outward diffusion by means of a C-doped GaN layer, as taught by D1, will hold equally for Mn doped Si GaN (SC1047-1[2]).
Malgorzata is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Stefano. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Malgorzata in the device of Stefano because it will increase sensitivity and provide a device with high resistance (SC1047-2, [1]); a ratio can also be calculated (Table II, SC1047-5) discloses different Mn concentrations.
As for the distance between the point A and the point B being 0.7,0.4, μm or less, Applicant did not show criticality of the particular value of the distance. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range or optimum value, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claims 5-11, Stefano in view of Malgorzata discloses an GaN epitaxial substrate wherein the [Mn].sub.A is 1×10.sup.17 atoms/cm.sup.3 or more (SC1047-5); wherein the point A is present in the GaN substrate; wherein the GaN buffer layer includes a C-containing region having a C concentration of 1×10.sup.16 atoms/cm.sup.3 or more (SC1047-5), and the point B is present in the C-containing region; wherein at least one of the GaN substrate or the GaN buffer layer includes a Mn-doped layer; wherein the GaN substrate includes the Mn-doped layer, and the point A is present in the Mn-doped layer (SC1047-5); wherein the GaN buffer layer has an i-GaN layer in the [0001] axis direction relative to the C-containing region (SC1047-1, [1]); further comprising: a nitride semiconductor barrier layer on the GaN buffer layer (SC1047-5).
As for the particular value of the concentration, Applicant did not show criticality of the particular value of the distance. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range or optimum value, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 12, Stefano in view of Malgorzata discloses (SC1047-1, [1,2]) a GaN epitaxial substrate comprising: a GaN substrate (SC1047-1, [1,2]); and a GaN buffer layer epitaxially grown on the GaN substrate (SC1047-1, [1,2]), wherein at least one of the GaN substrate or the GaN buffer layer includes a Mn-doped layer obtained by doping with Mn (SC1047-1, [1,2]), the GaN buffer layer includes a C-containing layer (SC1047-1, [1,2]), and the C-containing layer is present in a [0001] axis direction relative to the Mn-doped layer, and has a C concentration of 1×10.sup.16 atoms/cm.sup.3 or more (SC1047-1, [1,2]).
Malgorzata is evidence that ordinary workers skilled in the art would find reasons, suggestions or motivations to modify the device of Stefano. Therefore, at the time the invention was made; It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Malgorzata in the device of Stefano because it will increase sensitivity and provide a device with high resistance (SC1047-2, [1]); a ratio can also be calculated (Table II, SC1047-5) discloses different Mn concentrations.
As for the particular value of the concentration, Applicant did not show criticality of the particular value of the distance. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range or optimum value, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claims 13-21, Stefano in view of Malgorzata discloses (SC1047-1, [1,2]) a GaN epitaxial substrate wherein the GaN substrate includes the Mn-doped layer; wherein the Mn-doped layer has a Mn concentration of 1×10.sup.17 atoms/cm.sup.3 or more (SC1047-5, [1,2]); wherein the C-containing layer is a layer doped with C (SC1047-1, [1,2]); wherein the C-containing layer has a C concentration of less than 1×10.sup.18 atoms/cm.sup.3; wherein a GaN region present in the C-containing layer or in the [0001] axis direction relative to the C-containing layer in the GaN buffer layer has a Mn concentration of less than 1×10.sup.17 atoms/cm.sup.3 (SC1047-1, [1,2]); wherein the GaN region has a Mn concentration of 1×10.sup.16 atoms/cm.sup.3 or less (SC1047-1, [1,2]); wherein the GaN substrate or the GaN buffer layer includes a point A, the GaN buffer layer includes a point B positioned on a straight line parallel to a [0001] axis passing through the point A, and the point B being present in the [0001] axis direction relative to the point A (SC1047-1, [1,2]), a ratio ([Mn].sub.B/[Mn].sub.A) is 1/100, [Mn].sub.A being a Mn concentration of the point A, and [Mn].sub.B being a Mn concentration of the point B, and a distance between the point A and the point B is 0.7 μm or less (SC1047-1, [1,2]); wherein the GaN buffer layer has an i-GaN layer in the [0001] axis direction relative to the C-containing layer; further comprising: a nitride semiconductor barrier layer on the GaN buffer layer (SC1047-1, SC1047-5 [1,2]).
As for the particular value of the concentration, Applicant did not show criticality of the particular value of the distance. To establish unexpected results over a claimed range or optimum value, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
MARC - ANTHONY ARMAND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2813
/MARC-ANTHONY ARMAND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813