CTNF 18/811,362 CTNF 80196 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1 – 7, 9, 11 – 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lam et al. (US 2020/0252080) . Regarding Claim 1, Lam teaches a receiver comprising a plurality of decoders, the receiver being configured to: receive an encoded input signal, y, at each of the plurality of decoders (base station (Figure 2, Section 0028) is the receiver, LDPC parallel decoder active portions for the encoded signal inputs (Figure 2, Section 0008), active portions of the decoder logic read on the plurality of decoders); decode, at each of the plurality of decoders, the input signal by processing check nodes in a respective order to obtain a plurality of decoded signals, x1, . . . , xL, the respective orders being different for the plurality of decoders (Figure 3A, Section 0033, there will be a processing order based on the sequence of active portions of the decoder logic); determine a plurality of valid codewords from the plurality of decoded signals (Sections 0007, 0038); and determine an output codeword as an estimate of the input signal from the plurality of valid codewords (Section 0038, the valid codeword is the output codeword). Regarding Claim 3, Lam teaches a receiver comprising a plurality of decoders, the receiver being configured to: receive an encoded input signal, y, at a first decoder of the plurality of decoders (base station (Figure 2, Section 0028) is the receiver, LDPC parallel decoder active portions for the encoded signal inputs (Figure 2, Section 0008), active portions of the decoder logic read on the plurality of decoders); decode, at the first decoder, the input signal by processing check nodes in a first order to obtain a first decoded signal, x1 (Figure 3A, Section 0033, there will be a processing order based on the sequence of active portions of the decoder logic); and determine whether to trigger a second decoder of the plurality of decoders to decode the encoded input signal based on a determination of whether the first decoded signal, x1 is a valid codeword as an estimate of the input signal (Figure 2, Section 0029, no second input renders a scenario wherein a second active portion of the decoder logic (second decoder) is not activated or triggered thus rendering the scenario of a determination to not trigger said second decoder when the first signal is a valid codeword (Section 0038)). Regarding Claim 13, Lam teaches a method for decoding an encoded input signal at a receiver comprising a plurality of decoders, the method comprising: receiving an encoded input signal, y, at each of the plurality of decoders (base station (Figure 2, Section 0028) is the receiver, LDPC parallel decoder active portions for the encoded signal inputs (Figure 2, Section 0008), active portions of the decoder logic read on the plurality of decoders); decoding, at each of the plurality of decoders, the input signal by processing check nodes in a respective order to obtain a plurality of decoded signals, x1, . . . , xL, the respective orders being different for the plurality of decoders (Figure 3A, Section 0033, there will be a processing order based on the sequence of active portions of the decoder logic); determining a plurality of valid codewords from the plurality of decoded signals (Sections 0007, 0038); and determining an output codeword as an estimate of the input signal from the plurality of valid codewords (Section 0038, the valid codeword is the output codeword). Regarding Claim 2, Lam teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Lam further teaches wherein at least part of the decoding at the plurality of decoders is performed simultaneously (Section 0008, a parallel decoder renders active portions operating simultaneously). Regarding Claim 4, Lam teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 3. Lam further teaches in response to determining to trigger the second decoder, trigger the second decoder to decode the input signal by processing check nodes in a second order to obtain a second decoded signal, x2, the second order being different to the first order; and determine whether the second decoded signal, x2 is a valid codeword as an estimate of the input signal (Figure 2, Section 0029, a second input renders a scenario wherein a second active portion of the decoder logic (second decoder) is activated or triggered thus rendering the scenario of a determination to trigger said second decoder when the first signal is a valid codeword (Section 0038), check nodes (Section 0033)). Regarding Claim 5, Lam teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 3. Lam further teaches the receiver being further configured to: abstain from sending a trigger to the second decoder to decode the input encoded signal by processing check nodes in a second order when it is determined that the first decoded signal is a valid codeword (Figure 2, Section 0029, no second input renders a scenario wherein a second active portion of the decoder logic (second decoder) is not activated or triggered thus rendering the scenario of a determination to not trigger said second decoder when the first signal is a valid codeword (Section 0038)). Regarding Claim 6, Lam teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 5. Lam further teaches the receiver being further configured to: in response to determining that the second decoded signal is an invalid codeword, trigger a third decoder to decode the input signal by processing check nodes in a third order to obtain a third decoded signal, x3, the third order being different to the first order and the second order; and determine whether the third decoded signal, x3 is a valid codeword as an estimate of the input signal (Figure 2, Section 0029, a third input renders a scenario wherein a third active portion of the decoder logic (third decoder) is activated or triggered thus rendering the scenario of a determination to trigger said third decoder when the third signal is a valid codeword (Section 0038), check nodes (Section 0033)). Regarding Claim 7, Lam teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 3. Lam further teaches generate at least one of the first or second orders randomly or pseudorandomly (Figure 2, first order generated when there is 1 input). Regarding Claim 9, Lam teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 3. Lam further teaches decode another input encoded signal at least one of the first decoder or the second decoder by processing check node(s) in the first and/or second order to obtain at least one other decoded signal, xL′ (Section 0033); determine another valid codeword from the at least one other decoded signal, xL′ (Section 0038); and determine another output codeword as an estimate of the another input signal from the another valid codeword, wherein the output codeword is based on a first code, and the another output codeword is based on a second code (Section 0007, there are a plurality of codewords and thus a plurality of codes). Regarding Claim 11, Lam teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1, Lam further teaches wherein the valid codeword comprises a codeword of a linear block code (Section 0031). Regarding Claim 12, Lam teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1, Lam further teaches wherein the receiver is comprised in a user equipment, or wherein the receiver is comprised in an access network node (Section 0028, access point) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lam et al. (US 2020/0252080) in view of Hoydis et al. (US 2022/0191079) . Regarding Claim 8, Lam teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Lam does not teach wherein the plurality of decoders comprises at least one of: a flooding belief propagation decoder, a row-layered belief propagation decoder, or a column-layered belief propagation decoder. Hoydis, which also teaches decoding, teaches a flooding belief propagation (FBP) decoder (Section 0133). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lam with the above features of Hoydis for the purpose of providing high throughput, which is a benefit of FBP decoding. as taught by Hoydis . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lam et al. (US 2020/0252080) in view of Noh et al. (US 2020/0186284) Regarding Claim 10, Lam teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 9, Lam further teaches wherein the first code comprises a low-density parity-check code (Section 0007, LDPC decoder thus there will be LDPC encoding). Lam does not teach the second code comprises a polar code. Noh, which also teaches decoding, teaches a polar code (Section 0077). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Lam with the above features of Noh for the purpose of providing simplified modeling for analyzing noise, which is a benefit of the capacity of binary discrete memoryless channel provided by polar codes. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RAYMOND S DEAN whose telephone number is (571)272-7877. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 6:00-2:30, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Anthony S Addy can be reached at 571-272-7795. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /RAYMOND S DEAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean May 10, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/811,362 Page 2 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/811,362 Page 3 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/811,362 Page 4 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/811,362 Page 5 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/811,362 Page 6 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/811,362 Page 7 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/811,362 Page 8 Art Unit: 2645 Application/Control Number: 18/811,362 Page 9 Art Unit: 2645