DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group II (includes claims 8-16 and 20) in the reply filed on 14 January 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that that it would not be a significant burden on the Office to search and examine each of the identified inventions. This is not found persuasive because the inventions of groups I and II require a different field of search and have separate classification. The conveying roller cleaning method process of group I can be used practiced by another and materially different apparatus, such as with an apparatus that does not require a support, an unwinding reel, or a winding reel. The roller cleaning device apparatus of group II can be used in methods that do not require a material tape.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a transmission mechanism” in claim 9 and “an operating part” in claims 11 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 11, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al., WO 2018/216949 A1 (see English translation).
Regarding claim 8, Park et al. disclose a cleaning device comprising a support (support is the surface of 730 shown in Figure 1 from which reels of 200, 310, 410, 420, 430 extend); an unwinding reel rotatably arranged on the support (200) and configured to unwind an adhesive tape wound on the unwinding reel (tape 100); and a winding reel rotatably arranged on the support and configured to wind a release film separated from the adhesive tape (410, winds film 130, see Figure 1), wherein the unwinding reel and the winding reel are arranged in parallel to each other (Figure 1). Regarding claim 11, the conveying roller cleaning device further comprises an operating part (motors that drive the rollers, not shown, see English translation wherein “drive 730 may include a plurality of motors for driving the transfer unit 710 and each roll…”) wherein the operating part is arranged at one end of the winding reel to drive the winding reel to rotate (see English translation, motors at each roll). Regarding claim 13, the conveying roller cleaning device further comprises a guide roller (310, Figure 1), wherein the guide roller is rotatably arranged on the support to change a direction of movement of the adhesive tape (at 310 in Figure 1, the adhesive tape changes its direction in the path), and the guide roller is parallel to the unwinding reel (Figure 1). Regarding claim 14, the unwinding reel is located between the guide roller and the winding reel (Figure 1).
Claim(s) 8-9, 11, 13-14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okeyui et al., WO 2008/041445 A1 (see English translation).
Regarding claim 8, Okeyui et al. disclose a cleaning device comprising a support (housing 19 of taper cartridge 16, Figures 3-4); an unwinding reel rotatably arranged on the support (29) and configured to unwind an adhesive tape wound on the unwinding reel (tape T, English translation paragraph [0038]); and a winding reel rotatably arranged on the support and configured to wind a release film separated from the adhesive tape (30, Figure 3, release film s), wherein the unwinding reel and the winding reel are arranged in parallel to each other (Figure 3). Regarding claim 9, the cleaning device further comprises a transmission mechanism (37, see English translation at paragraphs [0040]-[0043], and Figures 4-5), connecting the unwinding reel and the winding reel (Figures 4-5). Regarding claims 11 and 20, the conveying roller cleaning device further comprises an operating part (motor 41) wherein the operating part is arranged at one end of the winding reel to drive the winding reel to rotate (at one end via gear 38, Figure 5). Regarding claim 13, the conveying roller cleaning device further comprises a guide roller (310, Figure 1), wherein the guide roller is rotatably arranged on the support to change a direction of movement of the adhesive tape (guide roller is any one of 32 or 33 where the direction of movement of the tape changes, alternatively 28; Figure 3), and the guide roller is parallel to the unwinding reel (Figure 3). Regarding claim 14, the unwinding reel is located between the guide roller and the winding reel (Figure 3).
Claim(s) 8-9, 11-14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liang et al., CN 108238483 A (see English translation).
Regarding claim 8, Liang et al. disclose a cleaning device comprising a support (frame 100); an unwinding reel rotatably arranged on the support (600) and configured to unwind an adhesive tape wound on the unwinding reel (double faced adhesive tape on 600, see English translation); and a winding reel rotatably arranged on the support and configured to wind a release film separated from the adhesive tape (200, release paper), wherein the unwinding reel and the winding reel are arranged in parallel to each other (Figures 1-2). Regarding claim 9, the cleaning device further comprises a transmission mechanism (includes 700, 800, 900; Figure 2), connecting the unwinding reel and the winding reel (Figure 2, see also English translation). Regarding claims 11 and 20, the conveying roller cleaning device further comprises an operating part (motor, unlabeled, see English translation) wherein the operating part is arranged at one end of the winding reel to drive the winding reel to rotate (not shown, see English translation discussion relating to the reels being driven). Regarding claim 12, the conveying roller cleaning device further comprises a damper (damping rotating shaft, see English translation), wherein the unwinding reel is rotatably connected to the support through the damper (see English translation, unwinding reel 600 and pulley are “connected with a damping rotating shaft”). Regarding claim 13, the conveying roller cleaning device further comprises a guide roller (400), wherein the guide roller is rotatably arranged on the support to change a direction of movement of the adhesive tape (roller 400 guides the tape through a changed direction), and the guide roller is parallel to the unwinding reel (Figure 1). Regarding claim 14, the unwinding reel is located between the guide roller and the winding reel (Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al., CN 108238483 A (see English translation).
Liang et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above. Regarding claim 10, the transmission mechanism comprises a first belt pulley connected to the unwinding reel (900), a second belt pulley connected to the winding reel (700), wherein a diameter of the first belt pulley is smaller than that of the second belt pulley (Figure 2). In the English translation Liang et al. discusses the transmission ratio of the pulleys and setting them accordingly to allow for an appropriate amount of stretching of the tape. It is well known to adjust pulley size to accommodate different needs in transmitting motion.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diameter of the first belt pulley to be larger than the second belt pulley of Liang et al. in order to optimize the transmission motion of the pulleys based on the needs of the system of reels.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art made of record discloses, teaches, or suggests the invention recited in claims 15-16. None of the prior art discloses that the conveying roller device is arranged at a tape connecting platform that is arranged upstream of multiple conveying rollers that are configured to convey a material tape, the tape connecting platform being configured to achieve a connection between two segments of the material tape.
Conclusion
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
lcg