DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended independent claim 1 and persuasively argued that the amended limitation is the same limitation of cancelled and previously objected to claim 6. Regarding independent claims 7 & 11, there are neither amendments made or arguments provided. Because independent claims 7 & 11 have not been amended and no arguments have been made addressing the 103 rejections, Examiner maintains the previous 103 rejections to independent claims 7 & 11 and all subsequent dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jamaludin et al (Jamaludin, Wan Shahmisufi Wan, et al. "Cost-effective microcontroller-based hardware-in-the-loop test equipment for testing vehicle instrument panel." 2017 IEEE 4th International Conference on Smart Instrumentation, Measurement and Application (ICSIMA). IEEE, 2017.) in view of Weiss et al (Weiss, Kevin, et al. "PHiLIP on the HiL: Automated multi-platform OS testing with external reference devices." ACM Transactions on Embedded Computing Systems (TECS) 20.5s (2021): 1-26.).
Regarding Independent claim 7, Jamaludin teaches:
A method of testing hardware devices using an integrated Hardware-In-the-Loop (HIL) system, the method comprising:
receiving, by a microcontroller unit of the integrated HIL system (See Examiner amended Fig. 2 below wherein a microcontroller is mapped and indicated. See Section II.), test parameters required for testing a Device Under Test (DUT) (See Fig. 2 Element DUT. See Section II.) through a front panel of the integrated HIL system (See Examiner amended Fig. 2 below wherein the input is shown and highlighted.);
decoding, by the microcontroller unit (See Examiner amended Fig. 2 below wherein there is a data path depicted from the PC through the HiL to the DUT with data transitions and transformations. See Section II.), the test parameters for determining a test functionality to be performed on the DUT (See Examiner amended Fig. 2 below. See Title, Abstract and body of paper wherein it discloses a test setup to determine the functionality of an instrument panel.);
performing, by the microcontroller unit, the test functionality on the DUT (See Examiner amended Fig. 2 below. See Title, Abstract and body of paper wherein it discloses a test setup to determine the functionality of an instrument panel.) and generate a test outcome corresponding to the test functionality (See Examiner amended Fig. 2 below. See Table 2.); and
output, by the microcontroller unit (See Examiner amended Fig. 2 below. See Table 2.), the test outcome on a display interface of the front panel (See Examiner amended Fig. 2 below. See title, Abstract and body of the paper. See PC display in figure 2. See Section II & V. See Table 2.).
Jamaludin does not explicitly teach:
using one of a plurality of hardware abstraction layers, comprised in an automated test application interface of the microcontroller unit.
Weiss teaches:
using one of a plurality of hardware abstraction layers, comprised in an automated test application interface of the microcontroller unit (Title; Abstract; Introduction page 91:2 Step 1; Table 3 & elsewhere.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Weiss to the teachings of Jamaludin such that one would use one of a plurality of hardware abstraction layers, comprised in an automated test application interface of the microcontroller unit because developers “of IoT systems can easily access various hardware features and specific functions when relying on the hardware abstraction layer (HAL) and APIs of an OS for embedded devices. See Section 2.1 paragraph 1 lines 1-2 on page 91:4 of Weiss.
Regarding claim 8, Jamaludin & Weiss teach all elements of claim 7, upon which this claim depends.
Jamaludin teaches configuring a plurality of test modules in the microcontroller unit, wherein the plurality of test modules includes at least one of a DUT-specific evaluation board (See Examiner amended Fig. 2 below Element signal conditioning circuit.), an ethernet module, a Controller Area Network (CAN) module, an Analog-to-Digital Converter (ADC) module, a Digital-to-Analog Converter (DAC) module, a Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) module, a resistor bank module, Local Interconnect Network (LIN) module, a relay module and a digital I/O module in the, wherein the plurality of hardware abstraction layers of the automated test application interface is configured to correspond to the plurality of test modules.
Regarding claim 9, Jamaludin & Weiss teach all elements of claim 8, upon which this claim depends.
Jamaludin does not explicitly teach the plurality of hardware abstraction layers communicates with corresponding plurality of test modules through an abstract interface configured in the automated test application interface.
Weiss teaches the plurality of hardware abstraction layers communicates with corresponding plurality of test modules through an abstract interface configured in the automated test application interface (Section 2.1 paragraph 1; Section 3.1 paragraph 1; & Table 3.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Weiss to the teachings of Jamaludin such that the plurality of hardware abstraction layers communicates with corresponding plurality of test modules through an abstract interface configured in the automated test application interface because developers “of IoT systems can easily access various hardware features and specific functions when relying on the hardware abstraction layer (HAL) and APIs of an OS for embedded devices. See Section 2.1 paragraph 1 lines 1-2 on page 91:4 of Weiss.
Regarding claim 10, Jamaludin & Weiss teach all elements of claim 7, upon which this claim depends.
Jamaludin does not explicitly teach the test outcome comprises a plurality of log files generated while performing the test functionality and an indication of completion of testing of the DUT.
Weiss teaches the test outcome comprises a plurality of log files generated while performing the test functionality and an indication of completion of testing of the DUT (Section 4.1 step 8 of list on page 91:6 & Section 6.2 paragraph 1 second to last line.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Weiss to the teachings of Jamaludin such that the test outcome comprises a plurality of log files generated while performing the test functionality and an indication of completion of testing of the DUT because this is how most systems work. A program runs and directs measurements and outputs of sensors to be logged into files for analysis either later or in real time.
Regarding Independent claim 11, Jamaludin teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions for testing hardware devices using an integrated Hardware-In-the-Loop (HIL) system, comprising:
receiving test parameters required for testing a Device Under Test (DUT) through a front panel of the integrated HIL system (See Examiner amended Fig. 2 below wherein an Input is depicted and highlighted.);
decoding the test parameters for determining a test functionality to be performed on the DUT (See Examiner amended Fig. 2 below wherein there is a data path depicted from the PC through the HiL to the DUT with data transitions and transformations. See Section II.);
performing the test functionality on the DUT (See Examiner amended Fig. 2 below. See Title, Abstract and body of paper wherein it discloses a test setup to determine the functionality of an instrument panel.) and generate a test outcome corresponding to the test functionality (See Examiner amended Fig. 2 below. See Table 2 and Sections II & V.); and
outputting the test outcome on a display interface of the front panel (See Examiner amended Fig. 2 below. See title, Abstract and body of the paper. See PC display in figure 2. See Section II & V. See Table 2.).
Jamaludin does not explicitly teach:
using one of a plurality of hardware abstraction layers, comprised in an automated test application interface of the microcontroller unit.
Weiss teaches:
using one of a plurality of hardware abstraction layers, comprised in an automated test application interface of the microcontroller unit (Title; Abstract; Introduction page 91:2 Step 1; Table 3 & elsewhere.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Weiss to the teachings of Jamaludin such that one would use one of a plurality of hardware abstraction layers, comprised in an automated test application interface of the microcontroller unit because developers “of IoT systems can easily access various hardware features and specific functions when relying on the hardware abstraction layer (HAL) and APIs of an OS for embedded devices. See Section 2.1 paragraph 1 lines 1-2 on page 91:4 of Weiss.
Regarding claim 12, Jamaludin & Weiss teach all elements of claim 11, upon which this claim depends.
Jamaludin teaches the computer-executable instructions are further configured for configuring a plurality of test modules in the microcontroller unit, wherein the plurality of test modules includes at least one of a DUT-specific evaluation board (See Examiner amended Fig. 2 below Element signal conditioning circuit.), an ethernet module, a Controller Area Network (CAN) module, an Analog-to-Digital Converter (ADC) module, a Digital-to-Analog Converter (DAC) module, a Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) module, a resistor bank module, Local Interconnect Network (LIN) module, a relay module and a digital I/O module in the, wherein the plurality of hardware abstraction layers of the automated test application interface is configured to correspond to the plurality of test modules.
Regarding claim 13, Jamaludin & Weiss teach all elements of claim 12, upon which this claim depends.
Jamaludin does not explicitly teach the plurality of hardware abstraction layers communicates with corresponding plurality of test modules through an abstract interface configured in the automated test application interface.
Weiss teaches the plurality of hardware abstraction layers communicates with corresponding plurality of test modules through an abstract interface configured in the automated test application interface (Section 2.1 paragraph 1; Section 3.1 paragraph 1; & Table 3.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Weiss to the teachings of Jamaludin such that the plurality of hardware abstraction layers communicates with corresponding plurality of test modules through an abstract interface configured in the automated test application interface because developers “of IoT systems can easily access various hardware features and specific functions when relying on the hardware abstraction layer (HAL) and APIs of an OS for embedded devices. See Section 2.1 paragraph 1 lines 1-2 on page 91:4 of Weiss.
Regarding claim 14, Jamaludin & Weiss teach all elements of claim 11, upon which this claim depends.
Jamaludin teaches the test outcome comprises a plurality of log files generated while performing the test functionality and an indication of completion of testing of the DUT.
Weiss teaches the test outcome comprises a plurality of log files generated while performing the test functionality and an indication of completion of testing of the DUT (Section 4.1 step 8 of list on page 91:6 & Section 6.2 paragraph 1 second to last line.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Weiss to the teachings of Jamaludin such that the test outcome comprises a plurality of log files generated while performing the test functionality and an indication of completion of testing of the DUT because this is how most systems work. A program runs and directs measurements and outputs of sensors to be logged into files for analysis either later or in real time.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art does not anticipate alone or combine in an obvious manner to teach the invention claimed by Applicant.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858