Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a as being anticipated by Edwin et al (US 20220091427)
Regarding Claim 1,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) an optical device, comprising: one or more spatial light modulators (1030a,1030b,1030c), each spatial light modulator comprising an array of pixels that are individually controllable to output visible light (1032a,1032b,1032c); a surface defining an exit pupil (eyepiece (1020) defines exit pupils that direct the image lights in a viewers eye) that is arranged to allow the visible light to exit the optical device via the exit pupil; and one or more metasurfaces (1080a,1080c) disposed between the one or more spatial light modulators (1030a,1030b,1030c), and the exit pupil, the one or more metasurfaces to focus the visible light [0116],[0197],[0213],[0215][0323], and see Claim 1) that is output by the one or more spatial light modulators.
Regarding Claim 2,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) the one or more spatial light modulators (1030a,1030b,1030c) comprise a single spatial light modulator; and the one or more metasurfaces comprise a single metasurface (1080a,1080c)[0212].
Regarding Claim 3,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) wherein the single spatial light modulator (1030a,1030b,1030c), the surface, and the single metasurface (1080a,1080c)[0212] are substantially parallel.
Regarding Claim 4,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) wherein the single spatial light modulator (1030a,1030b,1030c) is controllable to output monochromatic light [0197].
Regarding Claim 5,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) wherein the single spatial light modulator (1030a,1030b,1030c) is controllable to output multichromatic light and the single metasurface (1080a,1080c)[0212] is to focus the multichromatic light.
Regarding Claim 6,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) an optical combiner (1050) to combine a first beam of visible light (1032a) that is generated by a first spatial light modulator (1030a) of the one or more spatial light modulators (1030a,1030b,1030c) and a second beam of visible light (1032c) that is generated by a second spatial light modulator (1030c) of the one or more spatial light modulators, and to direct the combination of the first beam and the second beam toward the exit pupil )[0197][0215] Fig. 13a).
Regarding Claim 7,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) wherein the one or more metasurfaces comprise: a first metasurface (1080a,1080c)[0212] associated with the first spatial light modulator (1030a), wherein the first beam of visible light traverses the first metasurface prior to entering the optical combiner (1050); and a second metasurface (1080c) associated with the second spatial light modulator (1030c), wherein the second beam of visible light traverses the second metasurface prior to entering the optical combiner.
Regarding Claim 8,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) wherein the one or more metasurfaces comprise a multichromatic metasurface [0193][0216] disposed between the optical combiner (1050) and the surface defining the exit pupil (1020), wherein the first beam and the second beam traverse the optical combiner before traversing the multichromatic metasurface.
Regarding Claim 9,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) wherein each metasurface [0193][0216] of the one or more metasurfaces comprises a nanopillar metalens (512,514), a Huygens metalens, or a combination thereof [00077-0078].
Regarding Claim 10,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) wherein each spatial light modulator (1030a,1030b,1030c) of the one or more spatial light modulators comprises a micro-light emitting diode array, a liquid crystal on silicon array, or a digital light processing array [0116].
Regarding Claim 11,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) a wearable support (show in Figure 9E,10,11A,12)[0066-0070]; a first optical device retained by the wearable support (display 70 can go inside frame 80) and positioned to be viewed by a first eye of a user of the wearable display; and a second optical device retained by the wearable support and positioned to be viewed by a second eye of the user [0185], wherein each optical device of the first optical device and the second optical device comprise: one or more spatial light modulators (1030a,1030b,1030c), each spatial light modulator comprising an array of pixels that are individually controllable to output visible light; a surface defining an exit pupil (eyepiece (1020) defines exit pupils that direct the image lights in a viewers eye) that is arranged to allow the visible light to exit the optical device via the exit pupil; and one or more metasurfaces (1080a,1080c) disposed between the one or more spatial light modulators and the surface defining the exit pupil, the one or more metasurfaces to focus the visible light that is output by the one or more spatial light modulators.
Regarding Claim 12,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) the one or more spatial light modulators (1030a,1030b,1030c) comprise a single spatial light modulator; the one or more metasurfaces (1080a,1080c) comprise a single metasurface; and the single spatial light modulator (1030a), the surface, and the single metasurface (1080a,1080c) are substantially parallel.
Regarding Claim 13,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) the one or more spatial light modulators (1030a,1030b,1030c) comprise a single spatial light modulator that is controllable to output multichromatic light; and the one or more metasurfaces comprise a single metasurface (1080a,1080c) to focus the multichromatic light.
Regarding Claim 14,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) an optical combiner (1050) to combine a first beam of visible light that is generated by a first spatial light modulator (1030a) of the one or more spatial light modulators and a second beam of visible light (1032c) ( that is generated by a second spatial light modulator (1030c) of the one or more spatial light modulators, and to direct the combination of the first beam and the second beam (1032c) toward the exit pupil, wherein the one or more metasurfaces comprise: a first metasurface (1080a) associated with the first spatial light modulator, wherein the first beam of visible light traverses the first metasurface prior to entering the optical combiner (1050); and a second metasurface (1080c) associated with the second spatial light modulator, wherein the second beam of visible light traverses the second metasurface prior to entering the optical combiner (1050).
Regarding Claim 15,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) an optical combiner (1050) to combine a first beam of visible light that is generated by a first spatial light modulator (1030a) of the one or more spatial light modulators and a second beam of visible light that is generated by a second spatial light modulator (1030c) of the one or more spatial light modulators, and to direct the combination of the first beam and the second beam toward the exit pupil, wherein the one or more metasurfaces (1080a,1080c) comprise a multichromatic metasurface disposed between the optical combiner (1050) and the surface defining the exit pupil, wherein the first beam and the second beam traverse the optical combiner before traversing the multichromatic metasurface.
Regarding Claim 16,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) generating, from each spatial light modulator (1030a,1030b,1030c) of one or more spatial light modulators of an optical device, visible light using an array of pixels that are individually controllable; focusing the visible light that is output using one or more metasurfaces (1080a,1080c) of the optical device; and directing the visible light to exit the optical device using a surface defining an exit pupil of the optical device, wherein the exit pupil (eyepiece (1020) defines exit pupils that direct the image lights in a viewers eye) is arranged to allow the output visible light to exit the optical device via the exit pupil, and the one or more metasurfaces (1080a,1080c) are disposed between the one or more spatial light modulators (1030a,1030b,1030c) and the exit pupil.
Regarding Claim 17,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) the one or more spatial light modulators comprise a single spatial light modulator (1030a,1030b,1030c); the one or more metasurfaces (1080a,1080c) comprise a single metasurface; and the single spatial light modulator, the surface, and the single metasurface are substantially parallel.
Regarding Claim 18,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) the one or more spatial light modulators (1030a,1030b,1030c) comprise a single spatial light modulator that is controllable to output multichromatic light; and the one or more metasurfaces (1080a,1080c) comprise a single metasurface to focus the multichromatic light.
Regarding Claim 19,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) combining a first beam of visible light that is generated by a first spatial light modulator (1030a) of the one or more spatial light modulators and a second beam of visible light that is generated by a second spatial light modulator (1030c) of the one or more spatial light modulators; directing the combination of the first beam and the second beam toward the exit pupil (eyepiece (1020) defines exit pupils that direct the image lights in a viewers eye), wherein the one or more metasurfaces comprises: a first metasurface (1080a,1080c) associated with the first spatial light modulator, wherein the first beam of visible light traverses the first metasurface (1080a) prior to being combined with the second beam of visible light, and a second metasurface (1080c) associated with the second spatial light modulator, wherein the second beam of visible light traverses the second metasurface (1080c) prior to being combined with the first beam of visible light.
Regarding Claim 20,
Edwin et al discloses (Fig. 12) combining a first beam of visible light that is generated by a first spatial light modulator (1030a) of the one or more spatial light modulators and a second beam of visible light that is generated by a second spatial light modulator (1030c) of the one or more spatial light modulators; directing the combination of the first beam and the second beam toward the exit pupil (eyepiece (1020) defines exit pupils that direct the image lights in a viewers eye), wherein the one or more metasurfaces (1080c) comprises a multichromatic metasurface, and wherein the combination of the first beam and the second beam traverses the multichromatic metasurface (1080c) prior to exiting the optical device via the exit pupil.
Conclusion
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871