Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “climbing means” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, it is unclear if “a load handling device” is the same as previously introduced in claim 1 or if a new element is being introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansl (WO 2012/103566), cited by Applicant, in view of DeWitt (WO 2017/123678), cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Hansl discloses a storage system (Figs.3-4), comprising:
a frame structure (Figs.3-4),
wherein the frame structure includes:
a plurality of upright members defining a plurality of storage columns (Figs.3-4) for storing storage containers (2) arranged in stacks and further defining a plurality of output columns arranged in a row (Figs.4-5),
a horizontal grid structure supported by the plurality of upright members from below (Figs.3-4), the horizontal grid structure including a plurality of rails or tracks arranged in a grid pattern over the plurality of storage columns and the plurality of output columns
for allowing a load handling device (10, 39) operating on the plurality of rails or tracks to move a storage container from a storage column of the plurality of storage columns to an output column of the plurality of output columns (Fig..4).
Hansl does not further specifically disclose a shuttle device configured to move horizontally between the plurality of output columns and vertically within each output column, and further configured to receive a storage container lowered into an output column of the plurality of output columns.
DeWitt teaches a method and apparatus (10) are provided for sorting items to a plurality of sort destinations wherein items are loaded onto one of a plurality of independently controlled delivery vehicles (200) driven to sort destinations (Abstract, Fig.7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified Hansl in view of DeWitt to have a shuttle device configured to move horizontally between the plurality of output columns and vertically within each output column, and further configured to receive a storage container lowered into an output column of the plurality of output columns in order to further mechanically move packages for the purpose of easing the burden of the user.
Regarding claim 2, Hansl further suggests by the taught combination a frame interposed between the plurality of upright members of the plurality of output columns (Hansl, Fig.4), wherein the frame includes: a substantially horizontal first track portion extending along a base of the plurality of output columns, a substantially horizontal second track portion extending along an underside of the plurality of rails or tracks, and a plurality of substantially vertical track sections linking the first track portion and the second track portion, wherein a pitch of the plurality of vertical track sections substantially matches a pitch of the plurality of upright members of the plurality of output columns (Hansl, Fig.4), wherein the shuttle device (DeWitt, Fig.7) is configured to move along the first track portion or the second track portion to move horizontally between the plurality of output columns and configured to move along the plurality of vertical track sections to move vertically within each output column (DeWitt, Fig.4, Hansl Fig.3).
Regarding claim 3, Hansl further teaches the shuttle device includes a moving mechanism configured to be moveable along and captive within or on the first track portion, the second track portion and the plurality of vertical track sections (DeWitt, 200, Fig.4 and Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Hansl further discloses the first track portion and the second track portion are linked to the plurality of vertical track sections by joints, and the joints are configured to allow the moving mechanism of the shuttle device to move from a vertical track section of the plurality of vertical track sections to the first track portion, and vice versa, and to move from a vertical track section of the plurality of vertical track sections to the second track portion, and vice versa (DeWitt, Fig.4 at 410, Hansl Fig.3 at 47).
Regarding claim 5, Hansl further teaches a substantially horizontal first shuttle rail or track extending along a base of the plurality of upright members of the plurality of output columns, wherein the shuttle device is configured to move along the first shuttle rail or track to move horizontally between the plurality of output columns (DeWitt, Para.102+); and climbing means configured to allow the shuttle device to move vertically within each output column (DeWitt, Para.106).
Regarding claim 6, Hansl further discloses substantially horizontal second shuttle rails or tracks extending along a top of the plurality of output columns and below an underside of the plurality of rails or tracks, wherein the shuttle device is configured to move along the second shuttle rails or tracks to move horizontally between the plurality of output columns (Fig.4).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Hansl further teaches the shuttle device includes the climbing means, and the climbing means is configured to engage the plurality of upright members of the plurality of output columns to move the shuttle device vertically within each output column (DeWitt, vertically, Para.106).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Hansl further discloses the climbing means includes a lift device in each output column, the shuttle device is configured to manoeuvre onto each lift device, and the lift device is configured to move the shuttle device vertically within each output column (Para.50-51).
Regarding claims 9, 16, 17, Hansl further discloses the shuttle device includes a section of conveyor for receiving a storage container lowered into an output column of the plurality of output columns (Para.52).
Regarding claims 10, 18, 19, Hansl further suggests by the taught combination each output column includes a plurality of presentation positions for presenting a storage container to allow items stored in the storage container to be accessible to an item picker (Hansl, presentation position, 44, Fig.4), and the shuttle device (DeWitt, 200) is configured to pause at a level corresponding with any one of the plurality of presentation positions to allow the shuttle device to move a storage container received on the shuttle device to any one of the plurality of presentation positions of a particular output column of the plurality of output columns (DeWitt, Fig.7).
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Hansl further teaches the shuttle device is a plurality of shuttle devices (DeWitt, Para.102+).
Regarding claim 12, Hansl further teaches a number of the plurality of shuttle devices is fewer than a number of the plurality of output columns (DeWitt, Fig.6).
Regarding claim 13, Hansl further discloses a load handling device (10, 39), wherein the load handling device includes: drive means for driving the load handling device from a first position above a storage column of the plurality of storage columns to a second position above an output column of the plurality of output columns (Fig.4), and a lifting mechanism configured to, at the first position, engage and lift a storage container from a stack in a storage column of the plurality of storage columns (35), and configured to, at the second position, lower and disengage a storage container into an output column of the plurality of output columns (Fig.4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lindbo, Bastian II, Lynch, Bates, Austreim, Fjeldheim further disclose elements of a storage system.
/ASHLEY K ROMANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/MARK C HAGEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652