DETAILED ACTION
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner believes that the title of the invention is imprecise. A descriptive title indicative of the invention will help in proper indexing, classifying, searching, etc. See MPEP 606.01. However, the title of the invention should be limited to 500 characters. Examiner suggests including the aspect(s) of the claims which Applicant believes to be novel or nonobvious over the prior art.
Claim Interpretation
Method claim 1 recites the following contingent limitation(s): wherein if the weights have not converged after K iterations have been performed, then looping back to said performing the nested iterative process in which N new input prompts are sampled randomly from the P input prompts, wherein K is at least 2. The limitation(s) is/are contingent because the weights could have converged resulting in no looping back. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires the weights converging. Since it can be interpreted to not activate one (or more) condition(s), the method claim thereby represents a broader scope than other identical claims from different statutory categories. See MPEP 2111.04(II) for more information.
Method claim 3 recites the following contingent limitation(s): wherein if t < T then the reward Ri,t is the KL reward, and wherein if t = T then the reward Ri,t is a sum of the KL reward and the similarity-based reward. The limitation(s) is/are contingent because t is either going to be less than T or equal to T, but not both. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires one or the other limitation to be true, but not both. Since it can be interpreted to not activate one (or more) condition(s), the method claim thereby represents a broader scope than other identical claims from different statutory categories. See MPEP 2111.04(II) for more information.
Method claim 5 recites the following contingent limitation(s): determining whether ║∇L║2 ≤ ε at each node for a specified tolerance ε, and if so or if not then determining that the iterative process has converged or has not converged, respectively. The limitation(s) is/are contingent because either ║∇L║2 ≤ ε or ║∇L║2
>
ε will be true but not both. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires one of these to be true, so a determination will be made that the iterative process has converged or has not converged. Since it can be interpreted to not activate one (or more) condition(s), the method claim thereby represents a broader scope than other identical claims from different statutory categories. See MPEP 2111.04(II) for more information.
Method claim 7 recites the following contingent limitation(s): ascertaining whether a ground truth pointing to at least one choice of the G positive choices for the metadata exists, and if so then selecting the best choice as being one choice of the at least one choice, and if not selecting the best choice as being the NOTA choice. The limitation(s) is/are contingent because at least one choice will exist or will not exist. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires selecting the best choice as being one choice of the at least one choice, or selecting the best choice as being the NOTA choice. Since it can be interpreted to not activate one (or more) condition(s), the method claim thereby represents a broader scope than other identical claims from different statutory categories. See MPEP 2111.04(II) for more information.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 line 8 appears as if it should be indented similarly to the other limitations of the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1:
The preamble introduces metadata, multiple choices, and a best choice, but the claim later introduces a metadata, multiple choices, and a best choice. It is unclear if this is the same element, a different element, or related elements.
Line 8 recites the GM however two difference generative models had been previous introduced: a fine-tuned generative model (GM) and a pre-trained GM. It is unclear which model the GM is referencing.
Line 14 recites the weights without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 2:
Line 7 recites the GM’s without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 4:
Lines 2 and 3 recite the GM’s without proper antecedent basis.
Claim 5:
Line 1 recites wherein said determining whether the iterative process has converged lacks proper antecedent basis. No such determination was previously recited.
Claim 6:
Line 3 recites a ground truth however this element was previously introduced. It is unclear if this is the same element, a different element, or related elements.
Line 6 recites the metadata but it is unclear if this is referring to each metadata in the previous line or a metadata from claim 1.
Line 11 recites the variable S but does not define the variable.
Line 13 recites a best choice however this element was previously introduced. It is unclear if this is the same element, a different element, or related elements.
Claim 7:
Line 2 recites a ground truth however this element was previously introduced. It is unclear if this is the same element, a different element, or related elements.
Claims 9-14 contain the same issues as claims 1-6 respectively.
Claims 15-20 contain the same issues as claims 1-6 respectively.
For this reason, the above listed claims are rejected for containing this language or being dependent on a claim that contains this language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 3, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Exemplary claim 3 recites wherein if t < T then the reward Ri,t is the KL reward, and wherein if t = T then the reward Ri,t is a sum of the KL reward and the similarity-based reward. However, claim 2 on which claim 3 depends recites for each output token t (t = 0, ..., T) of input prompt i, computing a reward (Ri,t) that combines a Kullback–Leibler (KL) reward with a similarity-based reward that depends on a similarity score between the GM’s output and the multiple choices of input prompt i. Claim 2 recites the reward combines a KL reward with a similarity-based reward, but claim 3 broadens that by permitting only a KL reward in some circumstances. Claims 11 and 17 contain the same issue. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claim 1 is a method claim. Claim 9 is a CRM claim. Claim 15 is a system claim. Therefore, claims 1, 9, and 15 are directed to either a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
With respect to Claim 1:
Step 2A Prong 1:
generating, by one or more processors of a computer system, training data as input for training a pre-trained GM to become the fine-tuned GM, said training data comprising P input prompts, wherein P is at least 4, wherein each input prompt of the P input prompts comprises a metadata, multiple choices comprising positive choices and a negative choice, and a best choice of the multiple choices for describing the metadata, and wherein the GM is a neural network of interconnected nodes with each node having an associated weight (mental process – user can manually generate training data as input for training a pre-trained GM to become the fine-tuned GM, said training data comprising P input prompts, wherein P is at least 4, wherein each input prompt of the P input prompts comprises a metadata, multiple choices comprising positive choices and a negative choice, and a best choice of the multiple choices for describing the metadata, and wherein the GM is a neural network of interconnected nodes with each node having an associated weight)
wherein the training comprises: performing a nested iterative process in which N input prompts are sampled randomly from the P input prompts subject to N < P, followed by iteratively using the N input prompts to dynamically update the weights for a maximum of K iterations (mental process – user can sample randomly N input prompts which are from the P input prompts subject to N < P)
wherein if the weights have not converged after K iterations have been performed, then looping back to said performing the nested iterative process in which N new input prompts are sampled randomly from the P input prompts, wherein K is at least (mental process – user can manually randomly sample N new input prompts from the P input prompts)
Step 2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Additional elements:
by one or more processors of a computer system (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
training, by the one or more processors, the pre-trained GM to become the fine-tuned GM, using reinforcement learning and using the training data as input to the training (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
wherein the training comprises: performing a nested iterative process in which N input prompts are sampled randomly from the P input prompts subject to N < P, followed by iteratively using the N input prompts to dynamically update the weights for a maximum of K iterations (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
wherein if the weights have not converged after K iterations have been performed, then looping back to said performing the nested iterative process in which N new input prompts are sampled randomly from the P input prompts, wherein K is at least 2 (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
Step 2B: The claim does not include additional elements considered individually and in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additional elements:
by one or more processors of a computer system (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
training, by the one or more processors, the pre-trained GM to become the fine-tuned GM, using reinforcement learning and using the training data as input to the training (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
wherein the training comprises: performing a nested iterative process in which N input prompts are sampled randomly from the P input prompts subject to N < P, followed by iteratively using the N input prompts to dynamically update the weights for a maximum of K iterations (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
wherein if the weights have not converged after K iterations have been performed, then looping back to said performing the nested iterative process in which N new input prompts are sampled randomly from the P input prompts, wherein K is at least 2 (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f))
Conclusion: The claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 9 and 15 are rejected on the same grounds as claim 1. Additionally for claims 9 and 15: Claim 9 has the additional elements of one or more computer readable hardware storage devices having computer readable program code stored therein. These elements are mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component under Step 2A prong 2 and Step 2B. Claim 15 has the additional element of one or more processors, one or more memories, and one or more computer readable hardware storage devices. This element is mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component under Step 2A prong 2 and Step 2B.
Regarding Claim 2: The limitation(s), as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, other than the additional elements, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually randomly sampling I input prompts from the N input prompts, wherein I < N;
for each input prompt i of the I input prompts: tokenizing input prompt i into p input tokens resulting in generation of T+1 output tokens; and
for each output token t (t = 0, ..., T) of input prompt i, computing a reward (Ri,t) that combines a Kullback–Leibler (KL) reward with a similarity-based reward that depends on a similarity score between the GM’s output and the multiple choices of input prompt i;
computing a policy optimization loss (L) based on the rewards Ri,t for all of the T+1 output tokens for each of the I input prompts.
The limitation(s) includes the additional elements of wherein each iteration k (k = 1, .., K) of the iterative process comprises: updating each node based by an additive amount α∇L, wherein α is an inputted constant learning rate and ∇L is a gradient of L that is specific to each node.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The additional element(s) of wherein each iteration k (k = 1, .., K) of the iterative process comprises: updating each node based by an additive amount α∇L, wherein α is an inputted constant learning rate and ∇L is a gradient of L that is specific to each node recite merely adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of wherein each iteration k (k = 1, .., K) of the iterative process comprises: updating each node based by an additive amount α∇L, wherein α is an inputted constant learning rate and ∇L is a gradient of L that is specific to each node recite adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 3: The limitation(s), as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually wherein if t < T then the reward Ri,t is the KL reward, and
wherein if t = T then the reward Ri,t is a sum of the KL reward and the similarity-based reward.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims do not recite any additional elements. Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, no additional elements are cited. Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 4: The limitation(s), as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually wherein the similarity-based reward is a linear combination of Rgt and a summation over Rother,
wherein Rgt is a similarity score between the GM’s output and the best choice for input prompt i, and
wherein Rother is a similarity score between the GM’s output and each remaining choice of the multiple choices for input prompt i.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims do not recite any additional elements. Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, no additional elements are cited. Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 5: The limitation(s), as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually wherein said determining whether the iterative process has converged comprises determining whether ║∇L║2 ≤ ε at each node for a specified tolerance ε, and if so or if not then determining that the iterative process has converged or has not converged, respectively.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims do not recite any additional elements. Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, no additional elements are cited. Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 6: The limitation(s), as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, other than the additional elements, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually wherein for each metadata having a ground truth, the ground truth points to one or more glossary items, and wherein each glossary item comprises a label and a description, and for each metadata:
computing a similarity metric in an embedding space between the metadata and each glossary item in the list of glossary items;
selecting H glossary items in the list of glossary having H highest similarity metrics;
randomly selecting H sub-chunks, each sub-chunk of size G being a subset of the H glossary items, wherein G < H;
for each sub-chunk s (s = 1, ..., S):
(i) generating a multiple choice input prompt comprising the metadata, G+1 choices consisting of the G glossary items as positive choices and a none-of-the-above (NOTA) choice as a negative choice; and
(ii) selecting a best choice of the G+1 choices, wherein the multiple choice input prompt further comprises the best choice.
The limitation(s) includes the additional elements of providing a list of metadata, a list of glossary items, and a ground truth for one or more metadata.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The additional element(s) of providing a list of metadata, a list of glossary items, and a ground truth for one or more metadata recite adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of providing a list of metadata, a list of glossary items, and a ground truth for one or more metadata recite merely “storing and retrieving information in memory” or “receiving or transmitting data over a network” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim) (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed storing step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer. Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 7: The limitation(s), as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually ascertaining whether a ground truth pointing to at least one choice of the G positive choices for the metadata exists, and if so then selecting the best choice as being one choice of the at least one choice, and if not selecting the best choice as being the NOTA choice.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims do not recite any additional elements. Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, no additional elements are cited. Accordingly, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 8: The limitation(s), as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation(s) in the mind. That is, other than the additional elements, nothing in the claim limitation(s) precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
The limitation(s) encompasses the user manually verifying, by the one or more processors, the fine-tuned GM.
The limitation(s) includes the additional elements of verifying, by the one or more processors, the fine-tuned GM; and
executing, by the one or more processors, the verified fine-tuned GM to determine descriptions of given metadata.
These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application. The additional element(s) of by the one or more processors are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The additional element(s) of executing, by the one or more processors, the verified fine-tuned GM to determine descriptions of given metadata recite merely adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of by the one or more processors amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component or operation. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component or operation cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional element(s) of executing, by the one or more processors, the verified fine-tuned GM to determine descriptions of given metadata recite adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 9-14 are rejected on the same grounds as claims 1-6 respectively.
Claims 15-20 are rejected on the same grounds as claims 1-6 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra et al. (hereinafter Mishra), U.S. Patent 12,579,565 in view of Robinson et al. (hereinafter Robinson), LEVERAGING LARGE LANGUAGE MODELS FOR MULTIPLE CHOICE QUESTION ANSWERING further in view of Shakya et al. (hereinafter Shakya), Reinforcement learning algorithms: A brief survey.
Regarding Claim 1, Mishra discloses a method for developing a fine-tuned generative model (GM) that receives metadata and multiple choices as input and is configured to select a best choice, from the multiple choices, for describing the metadata, said method comprising:
generating, by one or more processors of a computer system [“a computing device that may be used to generate the graphical user interfaces and/or the machine learning models described herein” col. 12, lines 41-44], training data as input for training a pre-trained GM to become the fine-tuned GM [“the generation of the training data used during training is automated” col. 8, lines 21-22; “annotated training data may be used” col. 4, lines 15-16; “the generative language models described herein may be generative pre-trained transformers that are fine-tuned for the specific tasks discussed herein using reinforcement learning” col. 6, lines 34-37], said training data comprising P input prompts, wherein P is at least 4 [“a generative model that has been trained on a general text corpus (e.g., trained using large general text datasets, often scraped from publicly available data sources, such as the Internet)” col. 2, lines 49-51], wherein each input prompt of the P input prompts comprises a metadata, multiple choices comprising positive choices and a negative choice, and a best choice of the multiple choices for describing the metadata, and wherein the GM is a neural network of interconnected nodes with each node having an associated weight [“the generative language models described herein may be implemented using transformer models” col. 4, lines 27-29]; and
training, by the one or more processors [“a computing device that may be used to generate the graphical user interfaces and/or the machine learning models described herein” col. 12, lines 41-44], the pre-trained GM to become the fine-tuned GM, using reinforcement learning and using the training data as input to the training [“the generative language models described herein may be generative pre-trained transformers that are fine-tuned for the specific tasks discussed herein using reinforcement learning” col. 6, lines 34-37],
However, Mishra fails to explicitly disclose generating, by one or more processors of a computer system, training data as input for training a pre-trained GM to become the fine-tuned GM, said training data comprising P input prompts, wherein P is at least 4, wherein each input prompt of the P input prompts comprises a metadata, multiple choices comprising positive choices and a negative choice, and a best choice of the multiple choices for describing the metadata, and wherein the GM is a neural network of interconnected nodes with each node having an associated weight;
wherein the training comprises: performing a nested iterative process in which N input prompts are sampled randomly from the P input prompts subject to N < P, followed by iteratively using the N input prompts to dynamically update the weights for a maximum of K iterations,
wherein if the weights have not converged after K iterations have been performed, then looping back to said performing the nested iterative process in which N new input prompts are sampled randomly from the P input prompts, wherein K is at least 2.
Robinson discloses generating, by one or more processors of a computer system, training data as input for training a pre-trained GM to become the fine-tuned GM, said training data comprising P input prompts, wherein P is at least 4, wherein each input prompt of the P input prompts comprises a metadata, multiple choices comprising positive choices and a negative choice, and a best choice of the multiple choices for describing the metadata [“a question and its symbol-enumerated candidate answers are all passed to an LLM as a single prompt” §3 ¶3; Examiner Note: a question reads on a metadata, and candidate answers read on multiple choices which are the best choice and positive choices; “A. None of the above choices” Fig. 9; Examiner Note: None of the above reads on a negative choice], and wherein the GM is a neural network of interconnected nodes with each node having an associated weight;
wherein the training comprises: performing a nested iterative process in which N input prompts are sampled randomly from the P input prompts subject to N < P [“We randomly sample 100 instances from the dataset to reduce computational cost.” §4 ¶5], followed by iteratively using the N input prompts to dynamically update the weights for a maximum of K iterations,
wherein if the weights have not converged after K iterations have been performed, then looping back to said performing the nested iterative process in which N new input prompts are sampled randomly from the P input prompts [“We randomly sample 100 instances from the dataset to reduce computational cost.” §4 ¶5], wherein K is at least 2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mishra and Robinson before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Mishra to incorporate the multiple-choice training data and random sampling of Robinson.
Given the advantage of solving multiple choice questions and reducing computational cost without losing model accuracy, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this obvious modification.
However, Mishra fails to explicitly disclose wherein the training comprises: performing a nested iterative process in which N input prompts are sampled randomly from the P input prompts subject to N < P, followed by iteratively using the N input prompts to dynamically update the weights for a maximum of K iterations,
wherein if the weights have not converged after K iterations have been performed, then looping back to said performing the nested iterative process in which N new input prompts are sampled randomly from the P input prompts, wherein K is at least 2.
Shakya discloses wherein the training comprises: performing a nested iterative process [“iterative evaluation procedure” §2.1 ¶3; Fig. 2; Algorthims 1, 2] in which N input prompts are sampled randomly from the P input prompts subject to N < P, followed by iteratively using the N input prompts to dynamically update the weights for a maximum of K iterations [“Here ω ∈ Rd represents the weight vector” §4 ¶3; Fig. 3],
wherein if the weights have not converged after K iterations have been performed, then looping back to said performing the nested iterative process in which N new input prompts are sampled randomly from the P input prompts, wherein K is at least 2 [“After a sufficient number of visits, the state values converge to the expected values of states” §3.1 ¶2; Algorithm 2].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Mishra, Robinson, and Shakya before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination to incorporate nested iterative process of learning weights of Shakya.
Given the advantage of reinforcement learning and training until convergence for an accurate model, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this obvious modification.
No Prior Art Rejections
Claims 2-8, 10-14, and 16-20 do not have prior art rejections. Claims 2, 10, and 16 each contain the limitations of:
randomly sampling I input prompts from the N input prompts, wherein I < N;
for each input prompt i of the I input prompts: tokenizing input prompt i into p input tokens resulting in generation of T+1 output tokens; and
for each output token t (t = 0, ..., T) of input prompt i, computing a reward (Ri,t) that combines a Kullback–Leibler (KL) reward with a similarity-based reward that depends on a similarity score between the GM’s output and the multiple choices of input prompt i;
computing a policy optimization loss (L) based on the rewards Ri,t for all of the T+1 output tokens for each of the I input prompts; and
updating each node based by an additive amount α∇L, wherein α is an inputted constant learning rate and ∇L is a gradient of L that is specific to each node.
A reference, or a reasonable combination of references, was not found which disclosed the above limitations. The other dependent claims depend on either 2, 10, or 16.
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner respectfully requests of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the entirety of the reference(s) as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention. It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including non-preferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123). The Examiner has cited particular locations in the reference(s) as applied to the claim(s) above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim(s), typically other passages and figures will apply as well.
Additionally, any claim amendments for any reason should include remarks indicating clear support in the originally filed specification.
Conclusion
Any prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. Applicant is reminded that in amending in response to a rejection of claims, the patentable novelty must be clearly shown in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited and the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid such references and objections. See 37 CFR §1.111(c). Additionally when amending, in their remarks Applicant should particularly cite to the supporting paragraphs in the original disclosure for the amendments.
The following references were found during the examination of this patent application and were found to be relevant to patentability. Applicant is advised to review these references prior to responding to this Office action.
Mnih et al. (Playing Atari with Deep Reinforcement Learning) discloses a convolutional neural network, trained with a variant of Q-learning. The reinforcement learning uses nested and iterative loops as shown in at least algorithm 1.
/R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2148
/MICHELLE T BECHTOLD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2148