Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11, 13-17, and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modified Yin (US 2016/109156), in view of Cho (CN 100455969).
Regarding claim 9, Yin teaches a heat exchanger tube (220, Fig. 4, Fig. 7, [0030], [0039]) comprising:
an inner wall (210 and 215, Fig. 7, [0039]); and
an outer wall surrounding the inner wall (220, Fig. 7, [0039]),
wherein the inner wall comprises a first sheet of material ([0027]) and the outer wall comprises a second sheet of material ([0027]) attached to an exterior surface of the inner wall, wherein the inner wall comprises a first plurality of ridges on a proximal end of the inner wall and a second plurality of ridges on a distal end of the inner wall, and
wherein the inner wall and the outer wall are folded to form (See MPEP 2113(I), product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps) a top surface (See annotated Fig. 7 below), a bottom surface (See annotated Fig. 7 below), and side walls of the heat exchanger tube (See annotated Fig. 7 below), and wherein the first plurality of ridges and the second plurality of ridges are folded such that (See MPEP 2113(I) as stated above) the first plurality of ridges and the second plurality of ridges are disposed between the top surface and the bottom surface (See annotated Fig. 7 below).
Yin does not teach wherein each ridge of the first plurality of ridges and the second plurality of ridges defines a flow channel in the heat exchanger tube through which a refrigerant flows.
However, Cho teaches wherein each ridge (202, Fig. 14, [0089]) of the first plurality of ridges and the second plurality of ridges defines a flow channel in the heat exchanger tube through which a refrigerant flows ([0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tubes of Yin to use the partitions of Cho to improve heat exchange efficiency ([0090] of the attached English translation).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Yin teaches a proximal end of the first plurality of ridges and a distal end of the second plurality of ridges are attached to each other (See annotated Fig. 7 below).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Yin teaches the proximal end of the first plurality of ridges and the distal end of the second plurality of ridges are welded to each other (See MPEP 2113(I), product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps; in this case, if there is a connection between the ends, any process forming the connection would anticipate the claim).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Yin teaches the heat exchanger tube is configured to be disposed inside a water tank (Fig. 1, Fig. 4, [0030]).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Yin does not teach the heat exchanger tube is cuboidal shaped, and wherein each of the top surface and the bottom surface is flattened.
However, changing the shape of the heat exchanger tube would not have modified the operation of the device.
Therefore, the shape of the heat exchanger tube is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the modification is significant. (See reDailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47)
Regarding claim 15, Modified Yin does not teach each of the first plurality of ridges and the second plurality of ridges is a frustoconical cross-section in shape.
However, changing the shape of the plurality of ridges would not have modified the operation of the device.
Therefore, the shape of the plurality of ridges is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the modification is significant. (See reDailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47)
Regarding claim 16, Modified Yin teaches a water heater (100, Fig. 1, [0022]) comprising:
a water tank (105, Fig. 1, [0022]) configured to store water ([0022]); and
a heat exchanger (110, Fig. 1, [0023], [0024]) configured to receive a refrigerant ([0023]) and transfer heat from the refrigerant to the water stored in the water tank ([0024]),
wherein the heat exchanger comprises a heat exchanger tube (220, Fig. 4, Fig. 7, [0030], [0039]), and wherein the heat exchanger tube comprises:
an inner wall (210 and 215, Fig. 7, [0039]); and
an outer wall surrounding the inner wall (220, Fig. 7, [0039]),
wherein the inner wall comprises a first sheet of material ([0027]) and the outer wall comprises a second sheet of material ([0027]) attached to an exterior surface of the inner wall, wherein the inner wall comprises a first plurality of ridges on a proximal end of the inner wall and a second plurality of ridges on a distal end of the inner wall, and
wherein the inner wall and the outer wall are folded to form (See MPEP 2113(I), product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps) a top surface (See annotated Fig. 7 below), a bottom surface (See annotated Fig. 7 below), and side walls of the heat exchanger tube (See annotated Fig. 7 below), and
wherein the first plurality of ridges and the second plurality of ridges are folded such that (See MPEP 2113(I) as stated above) the first plurality of ridges and the second plurality of ridges are disposed between the top surface and the bottom surface (See annotated Fig. 7 below).
Modified Yin does not teach wherein each ridge of the first plurality of ridges and the second plurality of ridges defines a flow channel in the heat exchanger tube through which a refrigerant flows.
However, Cho teaches wherein each ridge (202, Fig. 14, [0089]) of the first plurality of ridges and the second plurality of ridges defines a flow channel in the heat exchanger tube through which a refrigerant flows ([0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tubes of Modified Yin to use the partitions of Cho to improve heat exchange efficiency ([0090] of the attached English translation).
Regarding claim 17, Modified Yin teaches a proximal end of the first plurality of ridges and a distal end of the second plurality of ridges are attached to each other (See annotated Fig. 7 below).
Regarding claim 19, Modified Yin does not teach the heat exchanger tube is cuboidal shaped, and wherein each of the top surface and the bottom surface is flattened.
However, changing the shape of the heat exchanger tube would not have modified the operation of the device.
Therefore, the shape of the heat exchanger tube is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the modification is significant. (See reDailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47)
Regarding claim 20, Modified Yin does not teach each of the first plurality of ridges and the second plurality of ridges is a frustoconical cross-section in shape.
However, changing the shape of the plurality of ridges would not have modified the operation of the device.
Therefore, the shape of the plurality of ridges is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the modification is significant. (See reDailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47)
Regarding claim 21, Modified Yin teaches the first sheet of material is different from the second sheet of material (Fig. 7, [0027], the two sheets are different sheets).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 9-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763