3Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 were previously examined.
Claims 1, 11, 13, 15-16 have been amended on March 9, 2026.
Claims 1-16 are pending in this action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/18/2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see under “Rejection under 35 USC 103” filed on March 9, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Katagiri et al (US 2011/0,135,304, in view of Okubo et al (US 21013/0,058,655), in view of Park et al. (US 2007/0,014,379)
Park et al. (US 2007/0,014,379) in figure 5 and [0045]-[0050] discloses that the normal (client) data is multiplexed by inserting robust data and stuff bytes then the control signal is input in with multiplexed data (which is the client data and stuff bytes). Afterward, the client data, stuff bytes and the control signal are inserted into first encoder 220 for encoding so that to output (1) the encoded client data, (2) the encoded stuff bytes and (3) the encoded control signal. Further the output (1) the encoded client data, (2) the encoded stuff bytes and (3) the encoded control signal are encoded for second time by second encoder (250).
(Park, [0045] …data input to the randomizer 210 has the data multiplexed with the normal data that is generated by inserting the robust data processed … and stuff bytes… [0046]…stuff-byte exchange unit 215 inserts the generated known data into a stuff byte position of the randomized data in replacement of the stuff bytes…[0047]… inputs the control signal to the stuff-byte exchanger 215 and the trellis encoder 250… [0048] The first RS encoder 220 adds a parity of specified bytes to the packet data by performing an RS encoding of the packet data with respect to which the stuff bytes were exchanged by the stuff-byte exchange unit 215)
(Park, Fig. 5, Stuff-Byte Controller 225 to insert control signal into client signal and stuff bytes, first RS encoder to encode the control signal, client signal and stuff byes, second trellis encoder to encoded the encoded control signal and encoded client an encoded stuff bytes)
As such, the examiner believes that the combination of Katagiri et al (US 2011/0,135,304, Okubo et al (US 21013/0,058,655), and Park et al. (US 2007/0,014,379) discloses the limitations as recited in independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Katagiri et al (US 2011/0,135,304, in view of Okubo et al (US 21013/0,058,655), in view of Park et al. (US 2007/0,014,379) .
As per claim 1: (Currently Amended)
As per claim 11: (Currently Amended)
As per claim 13: (Currently Amended)
As per claim 15: (Currently Amended)
Katagiri discloses:
An error correction encoding device comprising:
An error correction encoding method comprising:
A non-transitory storage medium storing an encoding program to control an error correction encoding device, the encoding program causing the error correction encoding device to perform:
A control circuit to control an error correction encoding device, the control circuit causing the error correction encoding device to perform:
(Katagiri, Figs 1-15)
(Katagiri [0077] FIG. 4 … The transmission apparatus 10 includes the insertion control unit 11 and the frame sending unit 12. The insertion control unit 11 includes a client signal buffer 11a, an insertion determination processing unit 11b, and a selector 11c. The frame sending unit 12 includes an overhead insertion unit 12a)
processing circuitry to multiplex a client signal and map the multiplexed client signal into a transmission frame, and map stuff bits
(It is noted that Katagiri in figure 4 shows a multiplexer 11c for mapping a client signal (input to 11c) with (2) stuff byte (input to 11c) to outputting to transmission frame from frame sending unit 12)
(Katagiri, Fig. 4, Client Signal, Client Signal Buffer 11a, Multiplexer, Stuff Byte, Insertion Determination Processing Unit 11b, Overhead Insertion Unit 12a)
(Katagiri, [0077] FIG. 4 … The transmission apparatus 10 includes the insertion control unit 11 and the frame sending unit 12. The insertion control unit 11 includes a client signal buffer 11a, an insertion determination processing unit 11b, and a selector 11c. The frame sending unit 12 includes an overhead insertion unit 12a)
Katagiri discloses mapping stuff bits but does not indicate for adjusting a data transmission rate into the transmission frame and the transmission frame including the control data.
Okubo discloses about mapping stuff bits for adjusting a data transmission rate into the transmission frame and the transmission frame including the control data.
(Okubo, [0007] … increases the transfer rate and adds the necessary overhead, maps the stuff control bit to the overhead part, and maps the stuff bytes to the payload area, in order to make the transfer by performing the stuff control at a fixed position)
(Okubo, Fig. 4 shows client signal)
(Okubo, Fig. 5 shows Client data is input to the ODU mapper 34)
(Okubo, Fig. 6 shows Client data is input to the ODU mapper 34 then input to multiplexer (selector 45))
(Okubo, Fig. 6 shows stuff position table 55, to stuff byte (8 bits) to the payload and output the payload after stuffing 58)
(Okubo, [0083] The ODU0 mapping unit 52 inserts the dummy data at the stuff byte positions based on the payload stuff byte enable signal (step S13))
(Okubo, Figs 1-21)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Okubo method of mapping stuff bits into the signal of Katagiri in order to adjust the transfer rate so to improve the transmission of data.
(Okubo, [0007] … increases the transfer rate and adds the necessary overhead, maps the stuff control bit to the overhead part, and maps the stuff bytes to the payload area, in order to make the transfer by performing the stuff control at a fixed position)
Katagiri -Okubo does not mention about performing 1st ECC and 2nd ECC such as: to perform first error correction encoding on control data included in the transmission frame and indicating positions and values of the stuff bits; and to perform second error correction encoding on the transmission frame including the encoded control data on which the first error correction encoding is performed.
Park discloses:
to perform first error correction encoding on control data included in the transmission frame and indicating positions and values of the stuff bits; and to perform second error correction encoding on the transmission frame including the encoded control data on which the first error correction encoding is performed.
(Park, [0045] …data input to the randomizer 210 has the data multiplexed with the normal data that is generated by inserting the robust data processed … and stuff bytes… [0046]…stuff-byte exchange unit 215 inserts the generated known data into a stuff byte position of the randomized data in replacement of the stuff bytes…[0047]… inputs the control signal to the stuff-byte exchanger 215 and the trellis encoder 250… [0048] The first RS encoder 220 adds a parity of specified bytes to the packet data by performing an RS encoding of the packet data with respect to which the stuff bytes were exchanged by the stuff-byte exchange unit 215)
(Park, Fig. 5, Stuff-Byte Controller 225 to insert control signal into client signal and stuff bytes, first RS encoder to encode the control signal, client signal and stuff byes, second trellis encoder to encoded the encoded control signal and encoded client an encoded stuff bytes)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Park’s 1st and 2nd ECC into the system in order to provide error correction for the transmission data.
(Park, [0045] …data input to the randomizer 210 has the data multiplexed with the normal data that is generated by inserting the robust data processed … and stuff bytes… [0046]…stuff-byte exchange unit 215 inserts the generated known data into a stuff byte position of the randomized data in replacement of the stuff bytes…[0047]… inputs the control signal to the stuff-byte exchanger 215 and the trellis encoder 250… [0048] The first RS encoder 220 adds a parity of specified bytes to the packet data by performing an RS encoding of the packet data with respect to which the stuff bytes were exchanged by the stuff-byte exchange unit 215)
(Park, Fig. 5, Stuff-Byte Controller 225 to insert control signal into client signal and stuff bytes, first RS encoder to encode the control signal, client signal and stuff byes, second trellis encoder to encoded the encoded control signal and encoded client an encoded stuff bytes)
As per claim 2:
Katagiri -Okubo-Park further discloses:
wherein the processing circuitry maps the control data on which
(Okubo, [0007] … increases the transfer rate and adds the necessary overhead, maps the stuff control bit to the overhead part, and maps the stuff bytes to the payload area, in order to make the transfer by performing the stuff control at a fixed position)
(Okubo, Fig. 4 shows client signal)
(Okubo, Fig. 5 shows Client data is input to the ODU mapper 34)
(Okubo, Fig. 6 shows Client data is input to the ODU mapper 34 then input to multiplexer (selector 45))
(Okubo, Fig. 6 shows stuff position table 55, to stuff byte (8 bits) to the payload and output the payload after stuffing 58)
(Okubo, [0083] The ODU0 mapping unit 52 inserts the dummy data at the stuff byte positions based on the payload stuff byte enable signal (step S13))
Park further discloses:
to perform first error correction encoding … to perform second error correction encoding
(Park, [0045] …data input to the randomizer 210 has the data multiplexed with the normal data that is generated by inserting the robust data processed … and stuff bytes… [0046]…stuff-byte exchange unit 215 inserts the generated known data into a stuff byte position of the randomized data in replacement of the stuff bytes…[0047]… inputs the control signal to the stuff-byte exchanger 215 and the trellis encoder 250… [0048] The first RS encoder 220 adds a parity of specified bytes to the packet data by performing an RS encoding of the packet data with respect to which the stuff bytes were exchanged by the stuff-byte exchange unit 215)
(Park, Fig. 5, Stuff-Byte Controller 225 to insert control signal into client signal and stuff bytes, first RS encoder to encode the control signal, client signal and stuff byes, second trellis encoder to encoded the encoded control signal and encoded client an encoded stuff bytes)
In view of motivation previously stated, the claim is rejected.
As per claim 3:
Katagiri -Okubo-Park further discloses:
wherein the mapping circuit assigns the control data on which the
(Okubo, [0007] … increases the transfer rate and adds the necessary overhead, maps the stuff control bit to the overhead part, and maps the stuff bytes to the payload area, in order to make the transfer by performing the stuff control at a fixed position)
(Okubo, Fig. 4 shows client signal)
(Okubo, Fig. 5 shows Client data is input to the ODU mapper 34)
(Okubo, Fig. 6 shows Client data is input to the ODU mapper 34 then input to multiplexer (selector 45))
(Okubo, Fig. 6 shows stuff position table 55, to stuff byte (8 bits) to the payload and output the payload after stuffing 58)
(Okubo, [0083] The ODU0 mapping unit 52 inserts the dummy data at the stuff byte positions based on the payload stuff byte enable signal (step S13))
Park further discloses:
to perform first error correction encoding … to perform second error correction encoding
(Park, [0045] …data input to the randomizer 210 has the data multiplexed with the normal data that is generated by inserting the robust data processed … and stuff bytes… [0046]…stuff-byte exchange unit 215 inserts the generated known data into a stuff byte position of the randomized data in replacement of the stuff bytes…[0047]… inputs the control signal to the stuff-byte exchanger 215 and the trellis encoder 250… [0048] The first RS encoder 220 adds a parity of specified bytes to the packet data by performing an RS encoding of the packet data with respect to which the stuff bytes were exchanged by the stuff-byte exchange unit 215)
(Park, Fig. 5, Stuff-Byte Controller 225 to insert control signal into client signal and stuff bytes, first RS encoder to encode the control signal, client signal and stuff byes, second trellis encoder to encoded the encoded control signal and encoded client an encoded stuff bytes)
In view of motivation previously stated, the claim is rejected.
As per claim 4:
As per claim 12:
As per claim 14:
As per claim 16:
Katagiri -Okubo-Park further discloses:
to decode the transmission frame generated by the control circuit according to claim 13 controlling the error correction encoding device, the control circuit causing the error correction decoding device to perform: performing error correction decoding on the control data included in the transmission frame on which
(Katagiri, [0022] a stuff byte extraction process is performed at the receiving end of the frame. In order to extract the stuff byte, information indicative that the stuff byte or the client data is inserted in the positive or negative stuff byte area is stored in the overhead area of the frame and is transferred)
(Katagiri, [0028] At this time, at the receiving end of the frame, the frame including the y stuff bytes is received and a destuffing process (stuff extraction process) for extracting the stuff bytes is performed)
(Katagiri, [0029] if stuff bytes are inserted in a plurality of columns in the same row and are extracted at the receiving end of the frame)
(Katagiri, [0042] … the positions at which stuff bytes are inserted into the payload area 52 are calculated by the use of inequalities (5a) and (5b). By doing so, the stuff bytes are inserted into the payload area 52 so that they will not be arranged in succession. … of extracting the stuff bytes at the receiving end of the frame.
(Katagiri, [0050] … the client data and the stuff bytes are inserted as a result of the above insertion determination. The stuff bytes are arranged uniformly, so the occurrence of jitter or wander can be controlled, for example, at the time of extracting the stuff bytes)
(Okubo, [0010] …the stuff byte position needs to be easily extractable. Bytes of the asynchronous data and the stuff bytes are inserted into a predetermined region according to the Sigma-Delta distribution method, and the stuff byte positions are uniformly distributed within the predetermined region according to the Sigma-Delta distribution method)
Katagiri -Okubo does not mention about performing 1st ECC and 2nd ECC such as: to perform first error correction encoding on control data included in the transmission frame and indicating positions and values of the stuff bits; and to perform second error correction encoding on the transmission frame including the control data on which the first error correction encoding is performed.
Park further discloses:
to perform first error correction encoding on control data included in the transmission frame and indicating positions and values of the stuff bits; and to perform second error correction encoding on the transmission frame including the control data on which the first error correction encoding is performed.
(Park, [0045] …data input to the randomizer 210 has the data multiplexed with the normal data that is generated by inserting the robust data processed … and stuff bytes… [0046]…stuff-byte exchange unit 215 inserts the generated known data into a stuff byte position of the randomized data in replacement of the stuff bytes…[0047]… inputs the control signal to the stuff-byte exchanger 215 and the trellis encoder 250… [0048] The first RS encoder 220 adds a parity of specified bytes to the packet data by performing an RS encoding of the packet data with respect to which the stuff bytes were exchanged by the stuff-byte exchange unit 215)
(Park, Fig. 5, Stuff-Byte Controller 225 to insert control signal into client signal and stuff bytes, first RS encoder to encode the control signal, client signal and stuff byes, second trellis encoder to encoded the encoded control signal and encoded client an encoded stuff bytes)
In view of motivation previously stated, the claim is rejected.
As per claim 5:
Katagiri -Okubo-Park further discloses:
wherein the processing circuitry calculates likelihood of bits included in the transmission frame that is the decoding target, based on the positions and values of the stuff bits extracted; and performs error correction decoding on the transmission frame that is the decoding target, using the likelihood calculated.
(Katagiri, [0022] a stuff byte extraction process is performed at the receiving end of the frame. In order to extract the stuff byte, information indicative that the stuff byte or the client data is inserted in the positive or negative stuff byte area is stored in the overhead area of the frame and is transferred)
(Katagiri, [0028] At this time, at the receiving end of the frame, the frame including the y stuff bytes is received and a destuffing process (stuff extraction process) for extracting the stuff bytes is performed)
(Katagiri, [0029] if stuff bytes are inserted in a plurality of columns in the same row and are extracted at the receiving end of the frame)
(Katagiri, [0042] … the positions at which stuff bytes are inserted into the payload area 52 are calculated by the use of inequalities (5a) and (5b). By doing so, the stuff bytes are inserted into the payload area 52 so that they will not be arranged in succession. … of extracting the stuff bytes at the receiving end of the frame.
(Katagiri, [0050] … the client data and the stuff bytes are inserted as a result of the above insertion determination. The stuff bytes are arranged uniformly, so the occurrence of jitter or wander can be controlled, for example, at the time of extracting the stuff bytes)
(Park,[0047] decoder (450), and a derandomizer (460). Additionally, the receiver further includes a known symbol location detector/known symbol output (470) for detecting and outputting the location of the known symbol)
(Okubo, [0010] …the stuff byte position needs to be easily extractable. Bytes of the asynchronous data and the stuff bytes are inserted into a predetermined region according to the Sigma-Delta distribution method, and the stuff byte positions are uniformly distributed within the predetermined region according to the Sigma-Delta distribution method)
Katagiri -Okubo does not mention about performing 1st ECC and 2nd ECC such as: to perform first error correction encoding on control data included in the transmission frame and indicating positions and values of the stuff bits; and to perform second error correction encoding on the transmission frame including the control data on which the first error correction encoding is performed.
Park further discloses:
to perform first error correction encoding on control data included in the transmission frame and indicating positions and values of the stuff bits; and to perform second error correction encoding on the transmission frame including the control data on which the first error correction encoding is performed.
(Park, [0045] …data input to the randomizer 210 has the data multiplexed with the normal data that is generated by inserting the robust data processed … and stuff bytes… [0046]…stuff-byte exchange unit 215 inserts the generated known data into a stuff byte position of the randomized data in replacement of the stuff bytes…[0047]… inputs the control signal to the stuff-byte exchanger 215 and the trellis encoder 250… [0048] The first RS encoder 220 adds a parity of specified bytes to the packet data by performing an RS encoding of the packet data with respect to which the stuff bytes were exchanged by the stuff-byte exchange unit 215)
(Park, Fig. 5, Stuff-Byte Controller 225 to insert control signal into client signal and stuff bytes, first RS encoder to encode the control signal, client signal and stuff byes, second trellis encoder to encoded the encoded control signal and encoded client an encoded stuff bytes)
In view of motivation previously stated, the claim is rejected.
As per claim 6:
Katagiri -Okubo-Park further discloses:
wherein the processing circuitry calculates the likelihood such that the likelihood of the stuff bits is a maximum value or a minimum value of the likelihood of each of the bits that are included in the transmission frame that is the decoding target.
(Park, [0045] …data input to the randomizer 210 has the data multiplexed with the normal data that is generated by inserting the robust data processed … and stuff bytes… [0046]…stuff-byte exchange unit 215 inserts the generated known data into a stuff byte position of the randomized data in replacement of the stuff bytes…[0047]… inputs the control signal to the stuff-byte exchanger 215 and the trellis encoder 250… [0048] The first RS encoder 220 adds a parity of specified bytes to the packet data by performing an RS encoding of the packet data with respect to which the stuff bytes were exchanged by the stuff-byte exchange unit 215)
(Park, Fig. 5, Stuff-Byte Controller 225 to insert control signal into client signal and stuff bytes, first RS encoder to encode the control signal, client signal and stuff byes, second trellis encoder to encoded the encoded control signal and encoded client an encoded stuff bytes)
In view of motivation previously stated, the claim is rejected.
As per claim 7:
Katagiri -Okubo-Park further discloses:
wherein a maximum value or a minimum value of the likelihood of the stuff bits is a fixed value.
(Katagiri, [0022] a stuff byte extraction process is performed at the receiving end of the frame. In order to extract the stuff byte, information indicative that the stuff byte or the client data is inserted in the positive or negative stuff byte area is stored in the overhead area of the frame and is transferred)
(Katagiri, [0028] At this time, at the receiving end of the frame, the frame including the y stuff bytes is received and a destuffing process (stuff extraction process) for extracting the stuff bytes is performed)
(Katagiri, [0029] if stuff bytes are inserted in a plurality of columns in the same row and are extracted at the receiving end of the frame)
(Katagiri, [0042] … the positions at which stuff bytes are inserted into the payload area 52 are calculated by the use of inequalities (5a) and (5b). By doing so, the stuff bytes are inserted into the payload area 52 so that they will not be arranged in succession. … of extracting the stuff bytes at the receiving end of the frame.
(Katagiri, [0050] … the client data and the stuff bytes are inserted as a result of the above insertion determination. The stuff bytes are arranged uniformly, so the occurrence of jitter or wander can be controlled, for example, at the time of extracting the stuff bytes)
(Okubo, [0010] …the stuff byte position needs to be easily extractable. Bytes of the asynchronous data and the stuff bytes are inserted into a predetermined region according to the Sigma-Delta distribution method, and the stuff byte positions are uniformly distributed within the predetermined region according to the Sigma-Delta distribution method)
As per claim 8:
Katagiri -Okubo-Park further discloses:
wherein the processing circuitry performs error correction decoding on the transmission frame that is the decoding target, with a hard-decision value of the stuff bits included in the transmission frame that is the decoding target as a fixed value.
(Park, [0045] …data input to the randomizer 210 has the data multiplexed with the normal data that is generated by inserting the robust data processed … and stuff bytes… [0046]…stuff-byte exchange unit 215 inserts the generated known data into a stuff byte position of the randomized data in replacement of the stuff bytes…[0047]… inputs the control signal to the stuff-byte exchanger 215 and the trellis encoder 250… [0048] The first RS encoder 220 adds a parity of specified bytes to the packet data by performing an RS encoding of the packet data with respect to which the stuff bytes were exchanged by the stuff-byte exchange unit 215)
(Park, Fig. 5, Stuff-Byte Controller 225 to insert control signal into client signal and stuff bytes, first RS encoder to encode the control signal, client signal and stuff byes, second trellis encoder to encoded the encoded control signal and encoded client an encoded stuff bytes)
In view of motivation previously stated, the claim is rejected.
As per claim 9:
Katagiri discloses:
An error correction encoding device comprising: processing circuitry
(Katagiri, Figs 1-15)
(Katagiri [0077] FIG. 4 … The transmission apparatus 10 includes the insertion control unit 11 and the frame sending unit 12. The insertion control unit 11 includes a client signal buffer 11a, an insertion determination processing unit 11b, and a selector 11c. The frame sending unit 12 includes an overhead insertion unit 12a)
to multiplex a client signal and map the multiplexed client signal into a transmission frame and map stuff bits
(Katagiri, Fig. 4, Client Signal, Client Signal Buffer 11a, Multiplexer, Stuff Byte, Insertion Determination Processing Unit 11b, Overhead Insertion Unit 12a)
(Katagiri, [0077] FIG. 4 … The transmission apparatus 10 includes the insertion control unit 11 and the frame sending unit 12. The insertion control unit 11 includes a client signal buffer 11a, an insertion determination processing unit 11b, and a selector 11c. The frame sending unit 12 includes an overhead insertion unit 12a)
to, when the control data is generated by the mapping circuit,
(Katagiri, Fig. 4, Client Signal, Client Signal Buffer 11a, Multiplexer, Stuff Byte, Insertion Determination Processing Unit 11b, Overhead Insertion Unit 12a)
(Katagiri, [0077] FIG. 4 … The transmission apparatus 10 includes the insertion control unit 11 and the frame sending unit 12. The insertion control unit 11 includes a client signal buffer 11a, an insertion determination processing unit 11b, and a selector 11c. The frame sending unit 12 includes an overhead insertion unit 12a)
Katagiri discloses mapping stuff bits but does not indicate for adjusting a data transmission rate
Okubo discloses about mapping stuff bits for adjusting a data transmission rate.
(Okubo, [0007] … increases the transfer rate and adds the necessary overhead, maps the stuff control bit to the overhead part, and maps the stuff bytes to the payload area, in order to make the transfer by performing the stuff control at a fixed position)
(Okubo, Fig. 4 shows client signal)
(Okubo, Fig. 5 shows Client data is input to the ODU mapper 34)
(Okubo, Fig. 6 shows Client data is input to the ODU mapper 34 then input to multiplexer (selector 45))
(Okubo, Fig. 6 shows stuff position table 55, to stuff byte (8 bits) to the payload and output the payload after stuffing 58)
(Okubo, [0083] The ODU0 mapping unit 52 inserts the dummy data at the stuff byte positions based on the payload stuff byte enable signal (step S13))
(Okubo, Figs 1-21)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Okubo method of mapping stuff bits into the signal of Katagiri in order to adjust the transfer rate so to improve the transmission of data.
(Okubo, [0007] … increases the transfer rate and adds the necessary overhead, maps the stuff control bit to the overhead part, and maps the stuff bytes to the payload area, in order to make the transfer by performing the stuff control at a fixed position)
Katagiri -Okubo does not mention about performing 1st ECC and 2nd ECC such as: to perform first error correction encoding on control data included in the transmission frame and indicating positions and values of the stuff bits; and to perform second error correction encoding on the transmission frame including the control data on which the first error correction encoding is performed.
Park discloses:
to perform first error correction encoding on control data included in the transmission frame and indicating positions and values of the stuff bits; and to perform second error correction encoding on the transmission frame including the control data on which the first error correction encoding is performed.
(Park, [0045] …data input to the randomizer 210 has the data multiplexed with the normal data that is generated by inserting the robust data processed … and stuff bytes… [0046]…stuff-byte exchange unit 215 inserts the generated known data into a stuff byte position of the randomized data in replacement of the stuff bytes…[0047]… inputs the control signal to the stuff-byte exchanger 215 and the trellis encoder 250… [0048] The first RS encoder 220 adds a parity of specified bytes to the packet data by performing an RS encoding of the packet data with respect to which the stuff bytes were exchanged by the stuff-byte exchange unit 215)
(Park, Fig. 5, Stuff-Byte Controller 225 to insert control signal into client signal and stuff bytes, first RS encoder to encode the control signal, client signal and stuff byes, second trellis encoder to encoded the encoded control signal and encoded client an encoded stuff bytes)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Park’s 1st and 2nd ECC into the system in order to provide error correction for the transmission data.
(Park, [0045] …data input to the randomizer 210 has the data multiplexed with the normal data that is generated by inserting the robust data processed … and stuff bytes… [0046]…stuff-byte exchange unit 215 inserts the generated known data into a stuff byte position of the randomized data in replacement of the stuff bytes…[0047]… inputs the control signal to the stuff-byte exchanger 215 and the trellis encoder 250… [0048] The first RS encoder 220 adds a parity of specified bytes to the packet data by performing an RS encoding of the packet data with respect to which the stuff bytes were exchanged by the stuff-byte exchange unit 215)
(Park, Fig. 5, Stuff-Byte Controller 225 to insert control signal into client signal and stuff bytes, first RS encoder to encode the control signal, client signal and stuff byes, second trellis encoder to encoded the encoded control signal and encoded client an encoded stuff bytes)
As per claim 10:
Katagiri -Okubo-Park further discloses:
the error correction decoding device using the control data included in the decoded transmission frame obtained by performing error correction decoding on the transmission frame, in error correction decoding of a next transmission frame.
(Park, [0045] …data input to the randomizer 210 has the data multiplexed with the normal data that is generated by inserting the robust data processed … and stuff bytes… [0046]…stuff-byte exchange unit 215 inserts the generated known data into a stuff byte position of the randomized data in replacement of the stuff bytes…[0047]… inputs the control signal to the stuff-byte exchanger 215 and the trellis encoder 250… [0048] The first RS encoder 220 adds a parity of specified bytes to the packet data by performing an RS encoding of the packet data with respect to which the stuff bytes were exchanged by the stuff-byte exchange unit 215)
(Park, Fig. 5, Stuff-Byte Controller 225 to insert control signal into client signal and stuff bytes, first RS encoder to encode the control signal, client signal and stuff byes, second trellis encoder to encoded the encoded control signal and encoded client an encoded stuff bytes)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Thien Nguyen/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2111