DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0413573 Im.
1. Referring to claim 1, Im teaches a memory cell array, comprising: a plurality of memory levels stacked in a first direction, each of the plurality of memory levels comprising: a cell transistor having: a source region, (Figure 16 not shown &Paragraph 0033), electrically connected to a bit line, (Figure 16 #20), extending in the first direction; a drain region, (Figure 16 not shown &Paragraph 0033); a word line layer, (Figure 16 #18R); a lower channel layer, (Figure 16 #16B), electrically connected to the source region, (Figure 16 not shown &Paragraph 0033), and the drain region, (Figure 16 not shown &Paragraph 0033), and disposed below the word line layer, (Figure 16 #18R), in the first direction; and an upper channel layer, (Figure 16 #16A), electrically connected to the source region, (Figure 16 not shown &Paragraph 0033), and the drain region, (Figure 16 not shown &Paragraph 0033), and disposed above the word line layer, (Figure 16 #18R), in the first direction; and a cell capacitor, (Figure 16 #DC), electrically connected to the drain region, (Figure 16 not shown &Paragraph 0033); and a plurality of inter-level isolation layers, (Figure 16 #12), each separating adjacent memory levels of the plurality of memory levels.
2. Referring to claim 4, Im teaches a memory cell array of claim 1, wherein the cell transistor further comprises: a gate oxide layer encapsulating the word line layer, (Figure 16 #18R), wherein the gate oxide layer comprises silicon oxide (SiO2), (Figure 16 #17 & Paragraph 0078).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
3. Claims 2, 3, 5, and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
4. The prior art teaches the claimed matter in the rejections above, but is silent with respect to the above teachings in combination with the memory cell array of claim 1, wherein the word line layer comprises tungsten (W), cobalt (Co), ruthenium (Ru), molybdenum (Mo), titanium nitride (TiN), iridium (Ir), tantalum (Ta), tantalum nitride (TaN), platinum (Pt), rhodium (Rh), or conductive oxides or nitrides thereof, or any combination thereof and has a thickness in the first direction of between 5 nm and 20 nm; the memory cell array of claim 1, wherein the lower channel layer and the upper channel layer each comprise silicon (Si) and has a thickness in the first direction of between 5 nm and 10 nm; the memory cell array of claim 1, wherein the source region and the drain region each comprise epitaxially grown n-type doped silicon (Si); and/or the memory cell array of claim 1, wherein the cell transistor further comprises: a first spacer layer interfacing the word line layer with the source region; and a second spacer layer interfacing the word line layer with the drain region.
5. The prior art, (U.S. PUBS No. 2023/0413573), teaches a memory cell array, comprising: a plurality of memory levels stacked in a first direction, each of the plurality of memory levels comprising: a cell transistor having: a source region electrically connected to a bit line extending in the first direction; a drain region; a word line layer; a lower channel layer electrically connected to the source region and the drain region and disposed below the word line layer in the first direction; and an upper channel layer electrically connected to the source region and the drain region and disposed above the word line layer in the first direction; and a cell capacitor electrically connected to the drain region; and a plurality of inter-level isolation layers, each separating adjacent memory levels of the plurality of memory levels, but is silent to the combination of a method of forming cell transistors in a semiconductor memory device, comprising: performing a word line (WL) slit fill process, to fill WL slits formed in a stacking mold with a nitride layer, wherein: the stacking mold comprises a plurality of unit stacks, each unit stack comprising: a lower sacrificial layer, a lower channel layer over the lower sacrificial layer, an upper sacrificial layer on the lower channel layer, and an upper channel layer on the upper sacrificial layer stacked in a first direction, each unit stack has DTI gaps partially filled with an insulator layer and extending in a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction, and the WL slits are each disposed between the lower channel layer and the upper channel layer between adjacent unit stacks of the stacking mold; selectively removing the insulator layer within the DTI gaps; and selectively removing the lower sacrificial layer and forming inter-level isolation gaps each between the lower channel layer and the upper channel layer between adjacent unit stacks of the stacking mold.
6. The prior art, (U.S. PUBS No. 2023/0413573), teaches a memory cell array, comprising: a plurality of memory levels stacked in a first direction, each of the plurality of memory levels comprising: a cell transistor having: a source region electrically connected to a bit line extending in the first direction; a drain region; a word line layer; a lower channel layer electrically connected to the source region and the drain region and disposed below the word line layer in the first direction; and an upper channel layer electrically connected to the source region and the drain region and disposed above the word line layer in the first direction; and a cell capacitor electrically connected to the drain region; and a plurality of inter-level isolation layers, each separating adjacent memory levels of the plurality of memory levels, but is silent to the combination of a method of forming cell transistors in a semiconductor memory device, comprising: forming a transistor slit through a stacking mold in a first direction, the transistor slit extending in a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction, the stacking mold comprising a plurality of unit stacks, each unit stack comprising: a lower sacrificial layer, a lower channel layer over the lower sacrificial layer, an upper sacrificial layer on the lower channel layer, and an upper channel layer on the upper sacrificial layer stacked in the first direction; performing a recess forming process, to form recesses in the upper sacrificial layers from sidewalls of the transistor slit; forming a first insulator layer on exposed surfaces of the lower channel layers and the upper channel layers within the transistor slit and the recesses; filling the transistor slit and the recesses with a first nitride layer; performing a deep trench isolation (DTI) lateral cut process, to form DTI gaps through the stacking mold in the first direction, the DTI gaps extending in a third direction that is orthogonal to the first and second directions; filling the DTI gaps with a second insulator layer; selectively removing the first nitride layer from the transistor slit and the recesses; forming word line (WL) slits each between the lower channel layer and the upper channel layer between adjacent unit stacks of the stacking mold; performing a WL slit fill process, to fill the WL slits and the recesses with a second nitride layer; selectively removing the second insulator layer; selectively removing the lower sacrificial layer and forming inter-level isolation gaps each between the lower channel layer and the upper channel layer between adjacent unit stacks of the stacking mold; filling the inter-level isolation gaps with inter-level isolation layers; performing a gate oxide formation process, to form a gate oxide layer on exposed inner surfaces of the WL slit and the recesses; and performing a WL slit fill process, to fill the WL slits with a word line layer.
7. These combinations have been found to not be anticipated or render obvious over the prior art, hence claims 7-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
/VICTOR A MANDALA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 8/20/26