DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 2-21 are currently pending.
Claim 1 has been canceled.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,112,657 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-6 of US Patent ‘657 is narrower and reads on claims 2-21. Additionally, the features of the dependent claims that are not explicitly in the claims of ‘657 are described in the specification as it is a CON of the currently pending Application.
Applicant’s attention is drawn to MPEP 804 where it is disclosed that “the specification can always be used as a dictionary to learn the meaning of a term in a patent claim.” In re Boylan, 392 F.2d 1017, 157 USPQ 370 (CCPA 1968). Further, those portions of the specification which provide support for the patent claims may also be examined and considered when addressing the issue of whether a claim in an application defines an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the patent. (underlining added by examiner for emphasis) In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438,164 USPQ 619,622 (CCPA 1970).
Consistent with the above underlined portion of the MPEP citation, attention is drawn to columns 2-4 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,112,657 B2 which discloses the additional perforation and alignment features and the thermal sensitive coating required by claims 7-12 and 18-19. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to use the perforation alignments and features and thermal sensitive coating in order to provide improved reliability and improved ease of use for the intended purposes and thereby arrive at the present invention from the copending one.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-11, 13-17, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Burke et al. (US 5,716,688 A).
Regarding claim 2,
Burke teaches a multiply label (a label-liner combination), comprising: a base ply that adheres to the object the label is placed on (10, a liner substrate), wherein said liner substrate may having two horizontal die cuts (11 and 12) defining a strip (such as 10B, a liner tear strip) between a top portion and a bottom portion (the areas defined outside the linear tear strip) that is in the form of a removable tear strip portion and a second ply (100, a label substrate) having two horizontal perforations (101 and 102) defining a label tear strip (100B) that aligns with the liner tear strip to form a removable tear strip portion (Burke: abstract; Fig. 1; col. 3, lin. 34 -67 and col. 4, lin. 1-32). An end portion (108) of the removable tear strip portion extends beyond an outer edge of the label substrate, such as portions 100A and 100C of said substrate (Burke: Fig. 1; col. 3, lin. 34 -67 and col. 4, lin. 1-32).
Regarding claim 3,
Burke teaches the label-liner combination required by claim 2. Burke further teaches the linear tear strip (10B) extends for a length corresponding to the two horizontal perforations (11 and 12) as shown in Fig. 1 (Burke: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4,
Burke teaches the label-liner combination required by claim 2. Burke further teaches the linear substrate (10) is configured to sperate into the top portion, bottom portion, and the linear tear strip (10B) when the removable tear strip portion is removed as the strip is torn along the perforations and is described as a manually separable strip (Burke: Fig. 1; col. 3, lin. 34 -67 and col. 4, lin. 1-32).
Regarding claim 5,
Burke teaches the label-liner combination required by claim 2. Burke further teaches the top portion and the bottom portion of the liner substrate (10) is substantially centered on a backside of the label substrate (100), the two portions are centered as they are directly under said label substrate as shown in Fig. 1 (Burke: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6,
Burke teaches the label-liner combination required by claim 2. Burke further teaches it is an object of the invention to not require adhesives to be applied between opposing plies, such as omitting adhesive beneath the circumscribing edge (110C) which would be the section of the bottom portion which faces the label substrate ply (Burke: col. 5, lin. 1-14). Thus, a backside of the label substrate corresponding to the bottom portion of the liner substrate may be free of adhesive to some extent.
Regarding claim 7,
Burke teaches the label-liner combination required by claim 2. Burke further teaches the top portion of the liner substrate extends above and below a top one of the two horizontal perforations (Burke: see adapted Fig. 1 below).
Regarding claim 8,
Burke teaches the label-liner combination required by claim 2. Burke further teaches the bottom portion of the liner substrate extends above and below a top one of the two horizontal perforations (Burke: see adapted Fig. 1 below).
Regarding claim 9,
Burke teaches the label-liner combination required by claim 2. Burke further teaches additional die cuts (13, 14, and 15) corresponding to an outline of three sides of the bottom portion of the liner substrate (Burke: Fig. 1; col. 3, lin. 34 -67 and col. 4, lin. 1-32).
Regarding claim 10,
Burke teaches the label-liner combination required by claim 2. Burke further teaches a top one of the two horizontal die cuts is positioned below a top one of the two horizontal perforations depending on perspective, such as looking at the label laminate top down as in Fig. 1, wherein a top one of the tow horizontal die cuts (11) is positioned below a top one of the two horizontal perforations (101) as it is stacked on top of it (Burke: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11,
Burke teaches the label-liner combination required by claim 2. Burke further teaches a bottom one of the two horizontal die cuts is positioned above a bottom one of the two horizontal perforations depending on perspective, such as looking at the label laminate from a side perspective, such as the spine of a book perspective, wherein a bottom one of the tow horizontal die cuts (11), such as say the most bottom one near label 10A of Fig. 1,is positioned below a top one of the two horizontal perforations (101), such as say the second from bottom one of fig. 1 (Burke: Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13,
Burke teaches a multiply label (a label-liner combination), comprising: a base ply that adheres to the object the label is placed on (10, a liner substrate), wherein said liner substrate may having two horizontal die cuts (11 and 12) defining a strip (such as 10B, a liner tear strip) between a top portion and a bottom portion (the areas defined outside the linear tear strip) that is in the form of a removable tear strip portion and a second ply (100, a label substrate) having two horizontal perforations (101 and 102) defining a label tear strip (100B) that aligns with the liner tear strip to form a removable tear strip portion (Burke: abstract; Fig. 1; col. 3, lin. 34 -67 and col. 4, lin. 1-32). An end portion (108) of the removable tear strip portion extends beyond an outer edge of the label substrate, such as portions 100A and 100C of said substrate (Burke: Fig. 1; col. 3, lin. 34 -67 and col. 4, lin. 1-32). The top portion of the liner substrate extends above and below a top one of the two horizontal perforations (Burke: see adapted Fig. 1 below).
The bottom portion of the liner substrate extends above and below a top one of the two horizontal perforations (Burke: see adapted Fig. 1 below).
Regarding claim 14,
Burke teaches the label-liner combination required by claim 13. Burke further teaches the linear tear strip (10B) may include an end portion that extends beyond an edge of the label substrate to form a removable tab (18) (Burke: Fig. 1; col. 3, lin. 34 -67 and col. 4, lin. 1-32).
Regarding claim 15,
Burke teaches the label-liner combination required by claim 13. Burke further teaches additional die cuts (13, 14, and 15) corresponding to an outline of three sides of the bottom portion of the liner substrate (Burke: Fig. 1; col. 3, lin. 34 -67 and col. 4, lin. 1-32).
Regarding claim 16,
Burke teaches the label-liner combination required by claim 13. Burke further teaches an adhesive is used to adhere the top portion area (such as 100A which is not corresponding to the bottom portion) with a known adhesive coating (Burke: Fig. 1; col. 3, lin. 34 -67 and col. 4, lin. 1-32).
Regarding claim 17,
Burke teaches the label-liner combination required by claim 13. Burke further teaches it is an object of the invention to not require adhesives to be applied between opposing plies, such as omitting adhesive beneath the circumscribing edge (110C) which would be the section of the bottom portion which faces the label substrate ply (Burke: col. 5, lin. 1-14). Thus, a backside of the label substrate corresponding to the bottom portion of the liner substrate may be free of adhesive to some extent.
Regarding claim 20
Burke teaches a multiply label (a label-liner combination), comprising: a base ply that adheres to the object the label is placed on (10, a liner substrate), wherein said liner substrate may have spaced-apart horizontal weakening lines (11 and 12) defining a removable strip (such as 10B, a liner tear strip) between a top portion and a bottom portion (the areas defined outside the linear tear strip) that is in the form of a removable tear strip portion and a second ply (100, a label substrate) having spaced-apart horizontal tear lines (101 and 102) defining a tear-away strip (100B) that aligns with the removable center strip to form an integral removable portion (Burke: abstract; Fig. 1; col. 3, lin. 34 -67 and col. 4, lin. 1-32). An end portion (108) of the removable tear strip portion extends beyond an outer edge of the label substrate, such as portions 100A and 100C of said substrate (Burke: Fig. 1; col. 3, lin. 34 -67 and col. 4, lin. 1-32).
Regarding claim 21,
Burke teaches the label-liner combination required by claim 20. Burke further teaches the integral removal portion extends past an edge of the label substrate and forms a pull tab (18) (Burke: Fig. 1; col. 3, lin. 34 -67 and col. 4, lin. 1-32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burke in view of VanDemark (US 2011/0152076 A1).
Regarding claims 12 and 18-19,
Burke teaches the label-liner combination required by claims 2 and 13. Burke does not explicitly teach wherein both sides of the label substrate include thermal sensitive coatings for thermal printing in which the coatings on opposite sides are of different types. It is noted that different types will be interpreted as either different ink compositions of inks or inks that are structurally different in any way such as a combination of inks versus one ink.
VanDemark teaches a label ply which has print media on both sides of said ply (corresponds to the label substrate having a front side and a back side of Burke) in which the front and back sides are individually coated with “one or more” thermally sensitive inks (VanDemark: abstract; par. 0005). Thus, as the first side may have one ink and the second side may have more than one ink, they may be considered to have different types.
Burk and VanDemark are in the corresponding field of labels having a substrate with printed media on the surfaces. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to coat the front side and back side of the label substrate of Burke with a thermal sensitive coating for thermal printing in which the opposite sides are of different types as taught by VanDemark.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS M FIGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783