DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received on August 22, 2024 for application number 18/812,969. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN 202410554221.7 filed on May 07, 2024.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claims 2-19 are objected as allowable subject matter.
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting enough structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“Electric locking mechanism” in claim 1.
“Manual locking mechanism” in claims 1-5
Examiner Comments:
“Electric locking mechanism” is interpreted as a “means for” place holder only in claim 1. It is noted that in claims 2-20, the “Electric locking mechanism” have enough structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is preceded by a structural modifier.
“Manual locking mechanism” is interpreted as a “means for” place holder only in claims 1-5. It is noted that in claims 6-20, the “Manual locking mechanism” have enough structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is preceded by a structural modifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (CHEN – US 2017/0314485 A1), in view of (NAKAMURA – US 2009/0159027 A1).
Regarding claim 1, CHEN discloses:
An engine overspeed air shut-off system (engine shut-off valve system 1: Figs. 1-2), comprising:
an electric locking mechanism (rotating lever 100: Figs. 1-2), a manual locking mechanism (pull handle 136: Figs. 1-2), a valve plate (gate member 50: Figs. 1-2) and a support seat (gate latch 80: Figs. 1-2), provided with an air passage (passageway 20: Figs. 1-2) communicated with the air circuit (air flow to an engine intake: [0033]); and the valve plate (gate member 50: Figs. 1-2) is rotatable under an electric or manual driving action ([0033, 0045]: “The rotating lever 100 can be automated or manual, and the power of the rotating lever 100 may be pneumatic, hydraulic, electric or any known means”) of the electric locking mechanism (rotating lever 100: Figs. 1-2) or the manual locking mechanism (pull handle 136: Figs. 1-2) to cut off (close) or open (open) the air passage (passageway 20: Figs. 1-2).
But CHEN does not explicitly and/or specifically meet the following limitations:
(A) wherein the support seat is installed on an air circuit of a diesel engine.
However, regarding limitation (A) above, NAKAMURA discloses/teaches the following:
An intake valve timing varying mechanism in the variable valve actuating system.
The variable valve actuating systems according to the present embodiments are applicable to compression ignition engines such as diesel engines ([0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the engine overspeed air shut-off system of CHEN incorporating said shut-off systems into diesel engines as taught by NAKAMURA to decrease the quantity of residual burned gas.
Regarding claim 20, CHEN as combined above disclose the engine overspeed air shut-off system according to claim 1, and further on CHEN as combined above also discloses:
wherein the support seat (gate latch 80: Figs. 1-2) comprises a base body (housing 10: Figs. 3-6) and a base cover (first half 12: Figs. 3-6), which are detachably connected by fasteners (set screws 34, 36: Figs. 5-6) and are respectively provided with corresponding body holes and cover holes (holes for set screws 34, 36: Figs. 3-6), wherein the body hole and the cover hole (holes for set screws 34, 36: Figs. 3-6) together form an air passage; the adjacent surfaces of the base body (housing 10: Figs. 3-6) and the base cover (first half 12: Figs. 3-6) are also provided with concave parts for the valve plate (gate member 50: Figs. 1-2) to move, and the electric locking mechanism (rotating lever 100: Figs. 1-2) and the manual locking mechanism (pull handle 136: Figs. 1-2) are respectively arranged on the opposite surfaces of the base body (housing 10: Figs. 3-6) and the base cover(first half 12: Figs. 3-6).
Conclusion
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/RUBEN PICON-FELICIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/GRANT MOUBRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747