DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ro et al (US Publication No. 2014/0346496).
Regarding claim 14, Ro discloses a manufacturing method of an electronic device, comprising: providing a substrate Fig 2, 100; forming a circuit layer Fig 1 and Fig 2 on the substrate; forming a light filtering layer Fig 2, 230 on the circuit layer Fig 1 and Fig 2; forming an organic insulating layer Fig 2, 235 on the light filtering layer Fig 2, 230; forming a first via Fig 3I in the organic insulating layer; forming a second via Fig 3F in the light filtering layer Fig 2, 230, wherein the second via is corresponding to the first via; and forming a transparent conductive layer electrically connected to the circuit layer through the first via and the second via Fig 2, wherein the first via has a first sidewall, the second via has a second sidewall Fig 2, the first sidewall and the second sidewall are not continuous, and a width of the second via is less than a width of the first via Fig 2, 230.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 12-13, 15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ro et al (US Publication No. 2014/0346496) in view of Chen et al (US Publication No. 2022/0302180).
Regarding claim 1, Ro discloses a method of manufacturing and an electronic device, comprising: a substrate Fig 2, 100; a circuit layer Fig 1 and Fig 2 disposed on the substrate Fig 2, 100; a light filtering layer Fig 2, 230 disposed on the circuit layer and having a first via Fig 3F; an organic insulating layer Fig 2, 235 disposed on the light filtering layer Fig 2, 230 and having a second via Fig 3I, wherein the second via is corresponding to the first via Fig 3I; and a transparent conductive layer Fig 2, 271 ¶ 0066 electrically connected to the circuit layer through the first via and the second via Fig 2, wherein the first via has a first sidewall Fig 2, the second via has a second sidewall Fig 2, the first sidewall and the second sidewall are not continuous Fig 2. Ro discloses all the limitations but silent on the width of the second via to be less than the first via. Whereas Chen discloses wherein the first via has a first sidewall Fig 9, the second via has a second sidewall Fig 9, and a width of the second via is less than a width of the first via Fig 9.Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the via arrangement and incorporate the teachings of Chen to improve device connectivity and it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to (modification), since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1995).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses wherein the light filtering layer comprises a first light filtering element, a second light filtering element and a third light filtering element of different colors ¶0034.
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses wherein the first via is formed in the first light filtering element, the second light filtering element and the third light filtering element Fig 9¶0034.
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses wherein the light filtering layer has a plurality of the first vias respectively corresponding to the first light filtering element, the second light filtering element and the third light filtering element Fig 9-12.
Regarding claim 12, Ro discloses wherein the first sidewall and the second sidewall form a staircase-shaped sidewall Fig 4.
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses wherein the transparent conductive layer directly contacts the first sidewall and the second sidewall Fig 9.
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses wherein the transparent conductive layer directly contacts the first sidewall and the second sidewall Fig 9.
Regarding claim 20, Chen discloses wherein the second via is formed through an etching process ¶0010.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6-11, 16-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE A ENAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811