DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-4, 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon (KR 2015/0134699 A).
As to claim 1, Kwon discloses a method of manufacturing a circuit board, the method comprising:
preparing a first stack in which a first foil (20) and a second foil (10) are stacked, wherein a thickness of the second foil (20) is greater than a thickness of the first foil (10) (See paragraph 0024-0025, Fig 2);
forming a first circuit pattern (21) by etching the first foil (20) (paragraph 0028, Fig 3);
forming a second stack by arranging an insulating layer (40) and a third foil (30), the insulating layer covering the first circuit pattern (21) and the third foil (30) attached to the insulating layer (40) (See paragraph 0030 Fig 4);
reducing the thickness of the second foil (10) and a thickness of the third foil (30) through a half- etching process (paragraph 0035, Fig 4);
removing the second foil (10) of which the thickness has been reduced (Fig 6, paragraph 0036); and
forming a second circuit pattern (31) by etching the third foil (30) (paragraph 0038, Fig 7).
As to claim 2, Kwon discloses the thickness of the first foil (20) of the first stack is about 2 µm (See paragraph 0025; within applicant’s range “from about 2 µm to about 3 µm”).
As to claim 3, Kwon discloses the thickness of the second foil (10) of the first stack is about 18 µm (See paragraph 0025, within applicant’s range “from about 12 µm to about 18 µm”).
As to claim 4, Kwon discloses the first stack comprises a carrier (100) attached to the second foil (10) (paragraph 0024, Fig 2).
As to claim 6, Kwon discloses before the removing of the second foil (10) of which the thickness has been reduced, forming a via hole (VH) electrically connecting the first circuit pattern (21) to the third foil (30) (See paragraph 0033-0038, Fig 5-6).
As to claim 7, Kwon discloses after the removing of the second foil (10) of which the thickness has been reduced, when an etching resist pattern (5 or 50) is formed in the third foil to form the second circuit pattern (31) by etching, an etching resist layer (5 or 50) is formed on a surface, from which the second foil has been removed, to protect the first circuit pattern during etching (paragraph 0020, 0038-0041).
As to claim 8, Kwon discloses after the forming of the second circuit pattern, arranging a solder resist layer (i.e. photo solder resist) covering a portion of the first circuit pattern and a portion of the second circuit pattern (paragraph 0020, Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (KR 2015/0134699 A) as applied to claims 1-4, 6-8 above, and further in view of Ueda (JP 2002/141630 A).
As to claim 5, Kwon fails to disclose the thickness of the third foil of the second stack is from about 12 µm to about 18 µm. However, Kwon clearly discloses forming a third foil (30) having some thickness value. Ueda teaches forming a foil comprises of copper having a thickness of 3 to 35 µm, including example of 18 μm (See paragraph 0030, 0062, within applicant’s range from about 12 μm to about 18 μm). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kwon in view of Ueda by having the thickness of the third foil of the second stack is from about 12 µm to about 18 µm because in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Conclusion
BINH X. TRAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713