DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 3, line 2, delete “the”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
6. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“a virtual particle generation step of generating”, “a label generation step of generating”, ”an association step of associating”, “a machine learning step of performing”, “a model particle acquisition step of acquiring”, “a virtual particle generation unit that generates”, “a label generation unit that generates”, “an association unit that associates”, and a machine learning unit that performs” in claims 1-2, 6, and 9-10.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Double Patenting
For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 9-10 are non-provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-8 and 15 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12105009 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application is broader than the patent, therefore, the patented claims anticipate the instant claims.
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 9-10 of the instant application correspond to the patented claims as follows:
Instant application
USPAT 12105009 B2
1
1+3+6
2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10
2, 4, 5, 7, 1, 8, 15, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Pub. No. 2017/0357844 A1 by Comaniciu et al (hereinafter Comaniciu).
Regarding Claim 1, Comaniciu teaches a method for generating data for particle analysis, which is a method that generates data for particle analysis to be used in image analysis of a particle (Abstract: tumor, i.e. the particle), the method comprising (Fig. 1-4):
a virtual particle generation step (Fig. 1 @ Synthetic Imaging Engine. Also see Par. [0018-0019]) of generating virtual particle image data (Fig. 1 @ Outcome/Image. Also see Par. [0018-0019]), which is image data of a virtual particle (Fig. 1 @ Tumor Model. Also see Par. [0018-0019]), on a basis of a predetermined condition (Fig. 1 @ Parameters. Also see Par. [0018-0019] and Fig. 3);
a label generation step of generating label data corresponding to the virtual particle (Par. [0004, 0006], [0018]: labeled ground truth, [0021]: labeled data); and
an association step of associating the virtual particle image data with the label data (Par. [0018, 0020-0021]) and forming a pair of the virtual particle image data and the label data associated with the virtual particle image data that is usable as training data (Title, Abstract, Par. [0004, 0006, 0018]); and
a particle analysis step of using a result of machine learning based on the training data to analyze data of an actual image captured in an imaging particle analyzer (Abstract, Par. [0004, 0006, 0018, 0021]), wherein
the predetermined condition includes at least one condition selected from a group consisting of a particle parameter representing an exterior of a particle (Par. [0020]) and an optical parameter based on an image capturing condition for an image of a particle (Par. [0003, 0026-0027, 0079, 0101]) (Also see Fig. 1), and
the virtual particle image data includes a plurality of particles for which one or both of: values of the particle parameter are different from each other and values of the optical parameter are different from each other (Par. [0049, 0054]).
Regarding Claim 2, Comaniciu teaches a machine learning step of performing machine learning using a plurality of pairs of the virtual particle image data and the label data associated with the virtual particle image data (Title, Abstract, Par. [0004, 0006, 0018]).
Regarding Claim 3, Comaniciu teaches the predetermined condition includes a range of the values of the particle parameter or the the optical parameter (Par. [0069, 0077, 0079]), and
in the virtual particle generation step, a plurality of pieces of the virtual particle image data are generated on a basis of a plurality of values included in the range (Par. [0006, 0018-0020, 0049-0050, 0054, 0066, 0069]).
Regarding Claim 4, Comaniciu teaches content of the label data is one or more parameter values selected from the predetermined condition (Par. [0018, 0021]) or a result obtained by comparing the selected one or more parameter values with a reference value.
Regarding Claim 5, Comaniciu teaches the label data is information indicating a result of analysis regarding a group of virtual particles constituted by a plurality of the virtual particles (Abstract, Par. [0004, 0006], Par. [0018]: labeled ground truth, [0021]: labeled data).
Regarding Claim 6, Comaniciu teaches a model particle acquisition step of acquiring information on a model particle (Fig. 1 @ Parameters. Also see Par. [0018-0019] and Fig. 3), which is a model for the virtual particle (Fig. 1 @ Tumor Model. Also see Par. [0018-0019]),
wherein, in the virtual particle generation step (Fig. 1 @ Synthetic Imaging Engine. Also see Par. [0018-0019]), the virtual particle image data (Fig. 1 @ Outcome/Image. Also see Par. [0018-0019]) is generated using the information on the model particle (Fig. 1 @ Parameters. Also see Par. [0018-0019] and Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 7, Comaniciu teaches the particle parameter is a parameter indicating a type of shape of the particle, a parameter indicating a size or a degree of deformation that does not change the type of shape of the particle, a parameter regarding optical properties due to a surface state of the particle, a parameter of a probability of another particle adhering to one particle or a maximum number of other particles that can be adhered to one particle, or a parameter representing the spatial distribution state of the particle (Par. [0003, 0030, 0039]: size, shape).
Regarding Claim 8, Comaniciu teaches the optical parameter includes a degree of blur of the particle image, deformation or discoloration of the particle, or contrast or brightness of the particle image (Par. [0003]: measured as linear dimensions or volume) or intensity parameters thus teaches the optical parameter includes a degree of blur of the particle image, deformation or discoloration of the particle, or contrast or brightness of the particle image).
Regarding Claim 9, Comaniciu teaches a non-transitory computer program for generating data for particle analysis, which is a program (Fig. 4 @ 13, Par. [0098, 0100]. Also see Par. [0039]: image processing thus teaches the limitation. Par. [0041], [0042, 0064, 0082]: processor) that generates data for particle analysis to be used in image analysis of a particle (See Claim 1 rejection. Note: a method claim can be used to implement an apparatus claim), the program causing a computer to execute functions as:
a virtual particle generation unit that generates virtual particle image data, which is image data of a virtual particle, on a basis of a predetermined condition (See Claim 1 rejection);
a label generation unit that generates label data corresponding to the virtual particle (See Claim 1 rejection);
an association unit that associates the virtual particle image data with the label data and forms a pair of the virtual particle image data and the label data associated with the virtual particle image data that is usable as training data (See Claim 1 rejection); and
a machine learning unit that performs machine learning using the training data and generates a result that is usable by an imaging particle analyzer to analyze data of an actual image captured in an imaging particle analyzer (See Claim 1 rejection), wherein
the predetermined condition includes at least one condition selected from a group consisting of a particle parameter representing an exterior of a particle and an optical parameter based on an image capturing condition for an image of a particle (See Claim 1 rejection), and
the virtual particle image data includes a plurality of particles for which one or both of: values of the particle parameter are different from each other and values of the optical parameter are different from each other (See Claim 1 rejection).
Regarding Claim 10, Comaniciu teaches a device for generating data for particle analysis, which is a device that generates data for particle analysis to be used in image analysis of a particle (See Claim 1 rejection), the device comprising:
a virtual particle generation unit that generates virtual particle image data, which is image data of a virtual particle, on a basis of a predetermined condition (See Claim 1 rejection);
a label generation unit that generates label data corresponding to the virtual particle (See Claim 1 rejection);
an association unit that associates the virtual particle image data with the label data and forms a pair of the virtual particle image data and the label data associated with the virtual particle image data that is usable as training data (See Claim 1 rejection); and
a machine learning unit that performs machine learning using the training data and generates a result that is usable by an imaging particle analyzer to analyze data of an actual image captured in an imaging particle analyzer(See Claim 1 rejection), wherein
the predetermined condition includes at least one condition selected from a group consisting of a particle parameter representing an exterior of a particle and an optical parameter based on an image capturing condition for an image of a particle (See Claim 1 rejection), and
the virtual particle image data includes a plurality of particles for which one or both of: values of the particle parameter are different from each other and values of the optical parameter are different from each other (See Claim 1 rejection).
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The reference listed teaches of other prior art method/system of particle analysis.
WO2018/078613 A1 by Pinsky et al.
US Patent Pub. 2017/0242234 A1 Ashcroft et al.
Conclusion
/JAMIL AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877