DETAILED ACTION
As per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
In responding to this Office action, the applicant is requested to include specific references (figures, paragraphs, lines, etc.) to the drawings/specification of the present application and/or the cited prior arts that clearly support any amendments/arguments presented in the response, to facilitate consideration of the amendments/arguments.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12101942 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 16 claim more narrowly the limitations of claims 1 and of US 12101942 B2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 5 recite(s) the language (emphasis added) “the concentration gradient of the fifth element is opposite the concentration gradient of the fourth element”, where --a concentration gradient of the fourth element-- has not been recited in claims 4, 3, and 1, and lack antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-9, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sei, US 20190252609 A1.
As to claim 1, Sei discloses a semiconductor device (see Fig 23) comprising:
a first electrode (see Fig 14 Ref 22); a second electrode (see Fig 14 Ref 21) separated from the first electrode; and a chalcogen compound layer (see Fig 14 Ref 52) arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein
the chalcogen compound layer includes a first element, a second element, a third element, and a fourth element (see Para [0126]), wherein
the first element includes one or more selected from the group consisting of germanium (Ge) and tin (Sn) (see Para [0126]), the second element includes one or more selected from the group consisting of sulfur(S), selenium (Se), and tellurium (Te) (see Para [0126]), and the fourth element includes one or more selected from the group consisting of boron (B), aluminum (AI), and scandium (Sc), manganese (Mn), strontium (Sr), and indium (In) (see Para [0126]).
As to claim 3, Sei discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein
the chalcogen compound layer further includes a fifth element including one or more selected from the group consisting of carbon (C), nitrogen (N), oxygen (O), phosphorus (P), and sulfur (S) (see Para [0126]).
As to claim 6, Sei discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising:
a variable resistance layer (see Fig 6 Ref 31A); and the chalcogen compound layer is arranged to be electrically connected to the variable resistance layer (see Fig 6 Ref 31A).
As to claim 7, Sei discloses the semiconductor device of claim 6, further comprising:
a third electrode (see Fig 6 Ref 32), wherein the variable resistance layer is arranged between the second electrode and the third electrode.
As to claim 8, Sei discloses the semiconductor device of claim 7, wherein
the first electrode, the second electrode, and the third electrode each independently include one or more selected from the group consisting of carbon (C), titanium nitride (TiN), titanium silicon nitride (TiSiN), titanium carbon nitride (TiCN), and titanium carbon silicon nitride (TiCSiN), titanium aluminum nitride (TiAlN), tantalum (Ta), tantalum nitride (TaN), tungsten (W), and tungsten nitride (WN) (see Paras [0074], [0075], and Para [0096]).
As to claim 9, Sei discloses the semiconductor device of claim 6, wherein
the variable resistance layer includes a material capable of reversibly changing a phase between crystalline and amorphous according to temperature change (see Para [0078]).
As to claim 13, Sei discloses the semiconductor device of claim 6, wherein
the variable resistance layer includes a material capable of reversibly changing a magnitude of an electrical resistance according to an externally applied voltage (see Para [0071]).
As to claim 14, Sei discloses the semiconductor device of claim 13, wherein
the variable resistance layer includes an oxide of one or more metals selected from the group consisting of Ta, Zr, Ti, Hf, Mn, Y, Ni, Co, Zn, Nb, Cu, Fe, and Cr (see Para [0070]).
As to claim 15, Sei discloses the semiconductor device of claim 6, wherein
the variable resistance layer includes a material capable of reversibly changing a polarization state according to an externally applied voltage (see Para [0078]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tortorelli, US 20210043838 A1.
As to claim 16, Tortorelli a semiconductor device (see Tortorelli Fig 1) comprising:
a first electrode (see Tortorelli Fig 3 Ref 205-a); a second electrode (see Tortorelli Fig 3 Ref 210-a) separated from the first electrode; and a chalcogen compound layer (see Tortorelli Fig 3 Ref 220-a) arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein
the chalcogen compound layer includes a first element, a second element, a third element, and a fourth element (see Tortorelli Para [0049]), wherein
the fourth element includes one or more selected from the group consisting of boron (B), aluminum (Al), and scandium (Sc), manganese (Mn), strontium (Sr), and indium (In) (see Tortorelli Para [0050]), wherein
the fourth element has a concentration gradient in a thickness direction of the chalcogen compound layer (see Tortorelli Para [0050] and Fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sei, US 20190252609 A1, in view of Tortorelli, US 20210043838 A1.
As to claim 2, Sei discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein
the fourth element is uniform in a thickness direction of the chalcogen compound layer.
Sei does not appear to explicitly disclose a concentration gradient in a thickness direction of the chalcogen compound layer.
Tortorelli discloses a concentration gradient in a thickness direction of the chalcogen compound layer (see Tortorelli Para [0050] and Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention that a semiconductor device, may implement a particular chemistry for phase change devices. The inventions are well known variants of selection devices for memory elements, and the combination of known inventions with predictable results is obvious and thus not patentable. Further evidence to the obviousness of their combination is Tortorelli’s attempt to enable self-selecting properties (see Tortorelli Para [0005]).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sei, US 20190252609 A1, in view of Redaelli, US 20200303463 A1.
As to claim 10, Sei discloses the semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein
the variable resistance layer includes phase change materials.
Sei does not appear to explicitly disclose includes a combined compound in which at least one of Te and Se is combined with at least one selected from the group consisting of Ge, Sb, Bi, Pb, Sn, Ag, As, S, Si, In, Ti, Ga, P, B, O, and C.
Redaelli discloses includes a combined compound in which at least one of Te and Se is combined with at least one selected from the group consisting of Ge, Sb, Bi, Pb, Sn, Ag, As, S, Si, In, Ti, Ga, P, B, O, and C (see Redaelli Para [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention that a semiconductor device, may implement a particular chemistry for phase change devices. The inventions are well known variants of phase change storage devices, and the combination of known inventions with predictable results is obvious and thus not patentable. Further evidence to the obviousness of their combination is Redaelli’s attempt to enable multi-state programming (see Redaelli Para [0015]).
As to claim 11, Sei and Redaelli disclose the semiconductor device of claim 10, wherein
the variable resistance layer further includes one or more from the group consisting of aluminum (Al), zinc (Zn), chromium (Cr), manganese (Mn), iron (Fe), cobalt (Co), nickel (Ni), molybdenum (Mo), ruthenium (Ru), Palladium (Pd), hafnium (Hf), tantalum (Ta), iridium (Ir), platinum (Pt), zirconium (Zr), thallium (Tl), and polonium (Po) (see Redaelli Para [0015]).
As to claim 12, Sei and Redaelli disclose the semiconductor device of claim 9, further comprising:
a heating electrode layer arranged to contact the variable resistance layer (see Redaelli Fig 1 Ref 110 and Para [0022]; Joule heating is inherent to the disclosed electrodes.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not appear to disclose (as recited in claim 4):
the fifth element has a concentration gradient in a thickness direction of the chalcogen compound layer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gong, US 20210225441 A1 discloses a material capable of reversibly changing a phase between crystalline and amorphous according to temperature change.
/JEROME LEBOEUF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824 - 03/05/2026