DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(l). The drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
The drawings do not have satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Figs. 1-16 appear to be multi-generation copies of computer generated picture. The lines and leader lines are not all solid. Further, many of the elements are not clear due to the darkness of the elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuoka et al. (US 20190193620).
Regarding claim 1: Matsuoka discloses a ramp module 80, 87 of a vehicle 100 (Fig. 3; [0026], [0027], [0036]). Matsuoka discloses the ramp module comprising a lower radial vehicle body member 80 comprising a plurality of center portion members arranged in a center portion of a lower portion of a vehicle body of the vehicle in transverse and longitudinal directions of the vehicle body (Figs. 3, 5, 8, 9 – Matsuoka discloses various structure (not all individually numbered) that can be interpreted as the broadly recited limitation). Matsuoka discloses a plurality of rear portion members arranged in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle body in a rear portion of the lower portion of the vehicle body (Figs. 3, 5, 8, 9 – Matsuoka discloses various structure (not all individually numbered) that can be interpreted as the broadly recited limitation). Matsuoka discloses a center portion ramp module mounting member connecting the center portion members arranged in the transverse direction (Figs. 3, 5, 8, 9 – Matsuoka discloses various structure (not all individually numbered) that can be interpreted as the broadly recited limitation). Matsuoka discloses a rear portion ramp module mounting member connecting the rear portion members and a bottom surface of the vehicle body (Figs. 3, 5, 6, 8, 9 – Matsuoka discloses various structure (not all individually numbered) that can be interpreted as the broadly recited limitation). Matsuoka discloses a center in-floor ramp module covering the center portion member and configured to slide along the center portion members arranged in the transverse direction (Figs. 3, 5, 6, 8, 9 – Matsuoka discloses various structure (not all individually numbered) that can be interpreted as the broadly recited limitation). Matsuoka discloses a flattening rear member covering the rear portion members (Figs. 3, 8, 9 – Matsuoka discloses various structure (not all individually numbered) that can be interpreted as the broadly recited limitation).
Regarding claim 8: Matsuoka discloses that the flattening rear member is disposed in the transverse direction of the vehicle body and has a shape of a hollow bar 71 (Fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 15-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuoka et al. (US 20190193620) in view of Ohtake et al. (US 20220073150).
Matsuoka discloses the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above.
Regarding claim 2: Matsuoka does not discuss welds and thus does not explicitly disclose that the center portion ramp module mounting member is connected to a side surface of the center portion members by welds. Ohtake discloses the use of welds in connecting ramp portions ([0078]). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured Matsuoka to utilize welds for connections, as taught by Ohtake, so that the center portion ramp module mounting member is connected to a side surface of the center portion members by welds. As both Matsuoka and Ohtake are directed to a vehicle ramps, as welds are a well-known way to connect structures, as Matsuoka is silent regarding welds and thus does not preclude their use, and as Ohtake explicitly teaches the use of welds, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a desired connection means a finite selection of connections suitable for a vehicle ramps (i.e. welded, bolted, or integrally formed). Such a simple substitution/addition and configuration would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and with no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 3: Matsuoka, as modified by Ohtake, discloses that the rear portion ramp module mounting member is connected to a side surface of the rear portion members by welds (Matsuoka – discloses the recited structures; Ohtake teaches the use of welds).
Regarding claim 15: Matsuoka, as modified by Ohtake, discloses a vehicle body comprising a first-row seat member and a third-row seat member (Matsuoka - Figs. 1-3 – discloses a passenger vehicle [0026] that appears to have multiple seating rows; Ohtake – Figs. 1-3; [0029] – discloses a mini-bus size vehicle which would have at least a third row seat member). Matsuoka, as modified by Ohtake, discloses a lower radial vehicle body member 80 comprising a plurality of center portion members disposed in a center portion of a lower portion of a vehicle body of the vehicle in transverse and longitudinal directions of the vehicle body (Matsuoka - Figs. 3, 5, 8, 9 – Matsuoka discloses various structure (not all individually numbered) that can be interpreted as the broadly recited limitation). Matsuoka, as modified by Ohtake, discloses a plurality of rear portion members disposed in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle body in a rear portion of the lower portion of the vehicle body (Matsuoka - Figs. 3, 5, 8, 9 – Matsuoka discloses various structure (not all individually numbered) that can be interpreted as the broadly recited limitation). Matsuoka, as modified by Ohtake, discloses a center portion ramp module mounting member connecting the center portion members disposed in the transverse direction (Matsuoka - Figs. 3, 5, 8, 9 – Matsuoka discloses various structure (not all individually numbered) that can be interpreted as the broadly recited limitation). Matsuoka, as modified by Ohtake, discloses a rear portion ramp module mounting member connecting the rear portion members and a bottom surface of the vehicle body (Matsuoka - Figs. 3, 5, 6, 8, 9 – Matsuoka discloses various structure (not all individually numbered) that can be interpreted as the broadly recited limitation). Matsuoka, as modified by Ohtake, discloses a center in-floor ramp module covering the center portion member and configured to slide along the center portion members disposed in the transverse direction (Matsuoka - Figs. 3, 5, 6, 8, 9 – Matsuoka discloses various structure (not all individually numbered) that can be interpreted as the broadly recited limitation). Matsuoka, as modified by Ohtake, discloses a flattening rear member covering the rear portion members (Matsuoka - Figs. 3, 8, 9 – Matsuoka discloses various structure (not all individually numbered) that can be interpreted as the broadly recited limitation).
Regarding claim 16: Matsuoka, as modified by Ohtake, discloses that the center portion ramp module mounting member is connected to a side surface of the center portion members by first welds and the rear portion ramp module mounting member is connected to a side surface of the rear portion members by second welds (Matsuoka – discloses the recited structures; Ohtake teaches the use of welds).
Regarding claim 19: Matsuoka, as modified by Ohtake, discloses that the flattening rear member is disposed in the transverse direction of the vehicle body and has a shape of a hollow bar 71 (Matsuoka - Fig. 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 are allowed.
Claims 4-7, 9-10, 17-18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Vehicles having ramps are very well known in the art. Further, the design of vehicular ramps including their structures are also very well known. Representative art which appears close to the claimed invention includes Matsuoka et al. (US 20190193620), Ohtake et al. (US 20220073150), Collett (US 10821038), Nunn et al. (US 10568786), Kiser et al. (US 20170216113), Kim et al. (US 20250196750), Stevens et al. (US 20180105091), Pocobello et al. (US 20070116534), and Buffaloc (US 5769593). In general, this art, alone or in combination, discloses various recited features, including but not limited to, a vehicle body comprising a first-row seat member and a third-row seat member, a ramp module of a vehicle, a lower radial vehicle body member, a plurality of center portion members arranged in a center portion of a lower portion of a vehicle body of the vehicle in transverse and longitudinal directions of the vehicle body, a plurality of rear portion members arranged in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle body in a rear portion of the lower portion of the vehicle body, a center portion ramp module mounting member connecting the center portion members arranged in the transverse direction, a rear portion ramp module mounting member connecting the rear portion members and a bottom surface of the vehicle body, a center in-floor ramp module covering the center portion member and configured to slide along the center portion members arranged in the transverse direction, and a flattening rear member covering the rear portion members. Thus, upon reviewing these cited publications, and their included references, it appears that the claimed subject matter might teach a generally known concept. However, this art fails to disclose or fairly suggest the specifically recited structural details and positional relationships. Specifically, the art does not disclose the detailed structural, positional and attachment relationships of the various ramp structures/modules and the remaining recited apparatus structure and the overall relationship to the vehicle. It could be argued that the individual structure is generally known in the art and thus, could just be assembled to disclose the claimed invention. However, the instant invention clearly and specifically recites structural and positional relationships and combinations, which require a greater effort than just cobbling together known structures. Further, the claimed structures are sufficiently detailed to be distinguishable when configured as claimed. The examiner can find no motivation to combine or modify the references which would define a fully functioning apparatus as claimed in the instant application. Thus, it would not have been within routine skill to glean the specifically combined limitations of the instant invention, from the art, without the benefit of hindsight reasoning or extensive experimentation.
Conclusion
/Taras P Bemko/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
7/23/2026