Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pal (U.S. Patent 10,451,353) in view of Lynn et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0053689).
Regarding claim 1, Pal teaches a method of operation (per fig. 1), comprising: transferring heat energy into a first heat exchange fluid (“coolant” fluid in 103) during a first mode of operation and during a second mode of operation (from elements 109, see Col. 2, ln 37-54); directing the first heat exchange fluid through a first flowpath (element 103) of a heat exchanger during the first mode of operation and during the second mode of operation (per fig. 1, see Col. 2, ln 37-54); directing a second heat exchange fluid (“fuel” in 107) through a second flowpath of the heat exchanger during the first mode of operation (per fig. 1), and transferring at least some of the heat energy from the first heat exchange fluid into the second heat exchange fluid (per col. 3, ln 46-57); and directing a third heat exchange fluid (“air” in element 105) through a third flowpath (element 105) of the heat exchanger during the second mode of operation (col. 3, ln 4-20, col. 4, ln 8-26) and transferring at least some of the heat energy from the first heat exchange fluid into the third heat exchange fluid (Col. 2, ln 37-54, col. 4, ln 8-26).
wherein the first heat exchange fluid is directed through the first flowpath using a first pump (element 104) and the third heat exchange fluid is directed through the third flowpath using an air mover (element 121).
Pal does not expressly teach the first pump is powered by a common power source during the first mode of operation and the second mode of operation, and the air mover is powered by the common power source during the second mode of operation. Lynn teaches powering a fan and pump using a common source (para. 0060). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Pal to utilize the common power source as taught by Lynn as for the various modes as claimed , the motivation would be centralize and reduce the wiring and controls.
Regarding claim 2, pal teaches the first heat exchange fluid is a liquid heat exchange fluid (propylene glycol is known as liquid coolant).
Regarding claim 3, Pal teaches the second heat exchange fluid is a liquid heat exchange fluid (aircraft “fuel” is known to be liquid).
Regarding claim 4, Pal teaches the third heat exchange fluid is air (“air” in element 105).
Regarding claim 5, Pal teaches circulating the second heat exchange fluid through a heat exchange circuit (per fig. 1); wherein the first mode of operation is a normal mode of operation for the heat exchange circuit (Col. 2, ln 1-9; the modes of this can be considered normal mode); and wherein the second mode of operation is a backup mode of operation for the heat exchange circuit (Col. 2, ln 1-9; the modes of this can be considered backup mode).
Regarding claim 9, Lynn teaches the common power source comprises a battery (para. 0060).
Regarding claim 10, Pal teaches generating the heat energy with a heat source (element 109), the heat energy transferred from the heat source into the first heat exchange fluid during the first mode of operation and during the second mode of operation (per fig. 1, see Col. 2, ln 37-54).
Lynn further teaches the common power source comprising a thermoelectric generator thermally powered by the heat source (para. 0071, electronics power/control the battery).
Regarding claim 11, Pal teaches cutting power to a second pump (element 125) during the second mode of operation (per fig. 1, Col. 2, ln 1-9, col. 3, ln 46-57); wherein the second heat exchange fluid is directed through the second flowpath of the heat exchanger using the second pump during the first mode of operation (per fig. 1, Col. 2, ln 1-9, col. 3, ln 46-57).
Regarding claim 12, pal teaches cutting power to the air mover during the first mode of operation (per fig. 1, Col. 2, ln 1-9, col. 3, ln 46-57).
Regarding claim 13, pal teaches operating an aircraft powerplant per fig. 1, Col. 2, ln 1-9); wherein the heat energy is generated during the operation of the aircraft powerplant (per fig. 1, Col. 2, ln 1-9, col. 3, ln 46-57).
Regarding claim 14, Pal teaches a method of operation (Fig. 1), comprising: transferring heat energy from a heat source (“electronics” element 109, Col. 2, ln 47-54) into a first heat exchange fluid (“coolant” fluid in 103) during a first mode of operation and during a second mode of operation (from elements 109, see Col. 2, ln 37-54); circulating the first heat exchange fluid through a heat exchange circuit (element 103), using a pump (element 104) during the first mode of operation and during the second mode of operation (per fig. 1, see Col. 2, ln 37-54), the heat exchange circuit passing through a liquid-to-liquid heat exchanger and through a liquid-to-air heat exchanger (per fig. 1, element 101); extracting at least some of the heat energy from the first heat exchange fluid using the liquid-to-liquid heat exchanger during the first mode of operation (per fig. 1, see Col. 2, ln 37-54); extracting at least some of the heat energy from the first heat exchange fluid using the liquid-to-air heat exchanger during the second mode of operation, wherein an air mover (element 121) for the liquid-to-air heat exchanger is operational during the second mode of operation and non-operational during the first mode of operation (col. 3, ln 4-20, col. 4, ln 8-26).
Pal does not expressly teach the pump and the air mover are powered by a common power source. Lynn teaches powering a fan and pump using a common source (para. 0060). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Pal to utilize the common power source as taught by Lynn as for the various modes as claimed , the motivation would be centralize and reduce the wiring and controls.
Regarding claim 15, pal teaches the liquid-to-liquid heat exchanger and the liquid-to-air heat exchanger are integrated with one another in a common heat exchanger (element 101).
Regarding claim 16, Pal teaches a system (fig. 1), comprising: a heat source (element 109); a first heat exchange circuit (element 103) including a first heat exchange fluid (“coolant” fluid in 103) and a first flowpath of a heat exchanger (along element 103 in element 101), the first heat exchange circuit configured to transfer heat energy generated by the heat source into the first heat exchange fluid and direct the first heat exchange fluid through the first flowpath of the heat exchanger, using a pump (element 104) during a first mode of operation and during a second mode of operation (per fig. 1, see Col. 2, ln 37-54); a second heat exchange circuit (element 107) including a second heat exchange fluid (“fuel” in 107) and a second flowpath of the heat exchanger (element 107 in 101), the second heat exchanger circuit configured to direct the second heat exchange fluid through the second flowpath of the heat exchanger during the first mode of operation and transfer at least some of the heat energy from the first heat exchange fluid to the second heat exchange fluid (per fig. 1, Col. 2, ln 1-9, col. 3, ln 46-57); and a third heat exchange circuit (element 105) comprising a third flowpath of the heat exchanger (element 105 in 101), the third heat exchanger circuit configured to direct a third heat exchange fluid (“air” in element 105) through the third flowpath of the heat exchanger, using an air mover (element 121) during the second mode of operation and transfer at least some of the heat energy from the first heat exchange fluid to the third heat exchange fluid (col. 3, ln 4-20, col. 4, ln 8-26).
Pal does not expressly teach the pump and the air mover are powered by a common power source. Lynn teaches powering a fan and pump using a common source (para. 0060). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Pal to utilize the common power source as taught by Lynn as for the various modes as claimed , the motivation would be centralize and reduce the wiring and controls.
Regarding claim 17, pal teaches the heat exchanger is configured as a liquid-to-liquid heat exchanger during the first mode of operation (per fig. 1); and the heat exchanger is configured as a liquid-to-air heat exchanger during the second mode of operation (per fig. 1; col. 3, ln 4-20, col. 4, ln 8-26).
Regarding claim 19, Pal does not teach the common power source comprises a battery configured to electrically power operation of the air mover during the second mode of operation. Lynn teaches powering a fan using a battery (para. 0060). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Pal to utilize the battery as taught by Lynn as claimed, the motivation would be centralize and reduce the wiring and controls.
Regarding claim 20, Pal does not teach the common power source comprises a thermoelectric generator thermally powered by the heat source, the thermoelectric generator configured to electrically power the air mover and the pump during the second mode of operation. Lynn teaches a thermoelectric generator (battery, para. 0060) thermally powered by the heat source (electronics power/control the battery para. 0071), the thermoelectric generator configured to electrically power the air mover and the pump during operation (par para. 0060). t would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Pal to utilize the battery as taught by Lynn as claimed, the motivation would be centralize and reduce the wiring and controls.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 9/22/26, with respect to the 112b rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112b rejection of 6/22/26 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments regarding prior art filed 9/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Lynn does not teach or suggest using a common power source to power the pump that maintains circulation of the first heat exchange fluid in both modes and, during the second mode, also powers the air mover that directs the third heat exchange fluid through the third flowpath. The examiner respectfully disagrees with this arguemtn. Frist this is a piecemeal arguemtn against the combination of references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The modes are taught by Pal while lynn teaches the power source.
Secondly the claim requires not change of the power source between modes merely that it supply power to whatever is being used in a mode. This is equivalent to the power to my house supplying the furnace in one mode and the AC in another mode, it is the same power supply but different modes. The claim requires no changing of the power supply between different sources in different modes merely that power is supplied from the same source in the modes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763