Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/23/24 and 2/20/25 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “normal” and “backup” modes in claim 5 are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “normal” and “backup” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. One skilled in the art are not provided with guidance as to what falls under or is considered “normal” and “backup”. It is unclear if it based upon utilization type (in flight, on ground, takeoff, landing, acceleration, etc.) or if isa failure of some sort (though unclear what type or degree of failure). The claim will be examined as any modes different in utilization type may read on this.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pal (U.S. Patent 10,451,353).
Regarding claim 1, Pal teaches a method of operation (per fig. 1), comprising: transferring heat energy into a first heat exchange fluid (“coolant” fluid in 103) during a first mode of operation and during a second mode of operation (from elements 109, see Col. 2, ln 37-54); directing the first heat exchange fluid through a first flowpath (element 103) of a heat exchanger during the first mode of operation and during the second mode of operation (per fig. 1, see Col. 2, ln 37-54); directing a second heat exchange fluid (“fuel” in 107) through a second flowpath of the heat exchanger during the first mode of operation (per fig. 1), and transferring at least some of the heat energy from the first heat exchange fluid into the second heat exchange fluid (per col. 3, ln 46-57); and
directing a third heat exchange fluid (“air” in element 105) through a third flowpath (element 105) of the heat exchanger during the second mode of operation (col. 3, ln 4-20, col. 4, ln 8-26) and transferring at least some of the heat energy from the first heat exchange fluid into the third heat exchange fluid (Col. 2, ln 37-54, col. 4, ln 8-26).
Regarding claim 2, pal teaches the first heat exchange fluid is a liquid heat exchange fluid (propylene glycol is known as liquid coolant).
Regarding claim 3, Pal teaches the second heat exchange fluid is a liquid heat exchange fluid (aircraft “fuel” is known to be liquid).
Regarding claim 4, Pal teaches the third heat exchange fluid is air (“air” in element 105).
Regarding claim 5, Pal teaches circulating the second heat exchange fluid through a heat exchange circuit (per fig. 1); wherein the first mode of operation is a normal mode of operation for the heat exchange circuit (Col. 2, ln 1-9; the modes of this can be considered normal mode); and wherein the second mode of operation is a backup mode of operation for the heat exchange circuit (Col. 2, ln 1-9; the modes of this can be considered backup mode).
Regarding claim 6, Pal teaches the third heat exchange fluid is directed through the third flowpath of the heat exchanger using a fluid mover (per fig. 1, element 121).
Regarding claim 7, Pal teaches the first heat exchange fluid is directed through the first flowpath of the heat exchanger using a pump or compressor (per fig. 1, element 104).
Regarding claim 11, Pal teaches cutting power to a pump during the second mode of operation (per fig. 1, Col. 2, ln 1-9, col. 3, ln 46-57); wherein the second heat exchange fluid is directed through the second flowpath of the heat exchanger using the pump during the first mode of operation (per fig. 1, Col. 2, ln 1-9, col. 3, ln 46-57).
Regarding claim 12, pal teaches cutting power to an air mover during the first mode of operation (per fig. 1, Col. 2, ln 1-9, col. 3, ln 46-57); wherein the third heat exchange fluid is directed through the third flowpath of the heat exchanger by the air mover during the second mode of operation (per fig. 1, Col. 2, ln 1-9, col. 3, ln 46-57).
Regarding claim 13, pal teaches operating an aircraft powerplant per fig. 1, Col. 2, ln 1-9); wherein the heat energy is generated during the operation of the aircraft powerplant (per fig. 1, Col. 2, ln 1-9, col. 3, ln 46-57).
Regarding claim 14, Pal teaches a method of operation (Fig. 1), comprising: transferring heat energy from a heat source (“electronics” element 109, Col. 2, ln 47-54) into a first heat exchange fluid (“coolant” fluid in 103) during a first mode of operation and during a second mode of operation (from elements 109, see Col. 2, ln 37-54); circulating the first heat exchange fluid through a heat exchange circuit (element 103) during the first mode of operation and during the second mode of operation (per fig. 1, see Col. 2, ln 37-54), the heat exchange circuit passing through a liquid-to-liquid heat exchanger and through a liquid-to-air heat exchanger (per fig. 1, element 101); extracting at least some of the heat energy from the first heat exchange fluid using the liquid-to-liquid heat exchanger during the first mode of operation (per fig. 1, see Col. 2, ln 37-54); extracting at least some of the heat energy from the first heat exchange fluid using the liquid-to-air heat exchanger during the second mode of operation, wherein an air mover for the liquid-to-air heat exchanger is operational during the second mode of operation and non- operational during the first mode of operation (col. 3, ln 4-20, col. 4, ln 8-26).
Regarding claim 15, pal teaches the liquid-to-liquid heat exchanger and the liquid-to-air heat exchanger are integrated with one another in a common heat exchanger (element 101).
Regarding claim 16, Pal teaches a system (fig. 1), comprising: a heat source (element 109); a first heat exchange circuit (element 103) including a first heat exchange fluid (“coolant” fluid in 103) and a first flowpath of a heat exchanger (along element 103 in element 101), the first heat exchange circuit configured to transfer heat energy generated by the heat source into the first heat exchange fluid and direct the first heat exchange fluid through the first flowpath of the heat exchanger during a first mode of operation and during a second mode of operation (per fig. 1, see Col. 2, ln 37-54); a second heat exchange circuit (element 107) including a second heat exchange fluid (“fuel” in 107) and a second flowpath of the heat exchanger (element 107 in 101), the second heat exchanger circuit configured to direct the second heat exchange fluid through the second flowpath of the heat exchanger during the first mode of operation and transfer at least some of the heat energy from the first heat exchange fluid to the second heat exchange fluid (per fig. 1, Col. 2, ln 1-9, col. 3, ln 46-57); and a third heat exchange circuit (element 105) comprising a third flowpath of the heat exchanger (element 105 in 101), the third heat exchanger circuit configured to direct a third heat exchange fluid (“air” in element 105) through the third flowpath of the heat exchanger during the second mode of operation and transfer at least some of the heat energy from the first heat exchange fluid to the third heat exchange fluid (col. 3, ln 4-20, col. 4, ln 8-26).
Regarding claim 17, pal teaches the heat exchanger is configured as a liquid-to-liquid heat exchanger during the first mode of operation (per fig. 1); and the heat exchanger is configured as a liquid-to-air heat exchanger during the second mode of operation (per fig. 1; col. 3, ln 4-20, col. 4, ln 8-26).
Regarding claim 18, pal teaches an air mover (element 121); wherein the third heat exchange fluid is directed through the third flowpath of the heat exchanger using the air mover (per fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pal (U.S. Patent 10,451,353) in view of Lynn et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0053689).
Regarding claim 8, Pal teaches wherein the third heat exchange fluid is directed through the third flowpath of the heat exchanger using the air mover (per fig. 1, element 121); and wherein the first heat exchange fluid is directed through the first flowpath of the heat exchanger using the pump (per fig. 1, element 121).
Pal does not teach powering an air mover and a pump using a common power source. Lynn teaches powering a fan and pump using a common source (para. 0060). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Pal to utilize the common power source as taught by Lynn as claimed, the motivation would be centralize and reduce the wiring and controls.
Regarding claim 9, Lynn teaches the common power source comprises a battery (para. 0060).
Regarding claim 10, Pal teaches generating the heat energy with a heat source (element 109), the heat energy transferred from the heat source into the first heat exchange fluid during the first mode of operation and during the second mode of operation (per fig. 1, see Col. 2, ln 37-54).
Lynn further teaches the common power source comprising a thermoelectric generator thermally powered by the heat source (para. 0071, electronics power/control the battery).
Regarding claim 19, Pal does not teach a battery configured to electrically power operation of the air mover during the second mode of operation. Lynn teaches powering a fan using a battery (para. 0060). It would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Pal to utilize the battery as taught by Lynn as claimed, the motivation would be centralize and reduce the wiring and controls.
Regarding claim 20, pal teaches a pump (element 104), wherein the first heat exchange fluid is directed through the first flowpath of the heat exchanger using the pump (per fig. 1).
Pal does not teach a thermoelectric generator thermally powered by the heat source, the thermoelectric generator configured to electrically power the air mover and the pump during the second mode of operation. Lynn teaches a thermoelectric generator (battery, para. 0060) thermally powered by the heat source (electronics power/control the battery para. 0071), the thermoelectric generator configured to electrically power the air mover and the pump during operation (par para. 0060). t would have been obvious at the time of filing to modify Pal to utilize the battery as taught by Lynn as claimed, the motivation would be centralize and reduce the wiring and controls.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bean jr. (U.S. PGPub 2013/0232994) teaches a data center chiller water tank combination.
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763