Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.02, 502.03.
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 02/02/2026 has been fully considered and is attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless - (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heung (US 5,191,230).
Regarding Claim 10, Heung (In Figs 1-2) discloses An electronic device (10), comprising:
a first circuit board (14);
a second circuit board (14); and
a first fan assembly (30/28) positioned between the first circuit board (14) and the second circuit board (14), wherein the first circuit board (14) is electrically coupled with the second circuit board (14) via the first fan assembly (30/28), (Col 3, II. 52-65), (Figs 1-2).
Examiner Note; Heung in Figs 1-2 teaches receiving connectors 61 functioning as electrical connections between modules 14 and 28, Heung in Fig 2 illustrates power and ground connections of fan module 28 coupled to receiving connector 61 of the electronic system. Hence, Heung teaches or suggest power and ground lines of the electronic system are electrically coupled to each of the modules 14 and 28. Present disclosure [0076] in Fig 17 illustrates a similar electrical coupling structure between first circuit board 663a and second circuit boards 663b by electrically conductive assemblies 665a- 665b of fand assembly 612a. power and ground lines of circuit board 663a are electrically coupled to each of the circuit boards 663a-663b and electrically conductive assemblies 665a-665b.
Accordingly, Examiner submits following MPEP 2111 guide lines, in a broadest reasonable interpretation in light of specification Heung Figs 1-2 teach or suggest limitation of Claim 10 drawn to “the first circuit board is electrically coupled with the second circuit board via the first fan assembly”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hueng in view of Chen et al (US 2020/0053910).
Regarding Claim 11, Hueng discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Hueng does not disclose wherein the electronic device further comprising: a third circuit board; and a second fan assembly positioned between the first circuit board and the third circuit board, wherein the first circuit board is electrically coupled with the third circuit board via the second fan assembly.
Instead Chen (In Fig 12) teaches wherein the electronic device (200A) further comprising: a third circuit board (100); and a second fan assembly (236) positioned between the first circuit board (100) and the third circuit board (100), (Fig 12), wherein the first circuit board (100) is electrically coupled with the third circuit board (100) via the second fan assembly (100).
Examiner Note; power and ground lines mother board module 200A in shared among fan expansion cards 100, satisfying the limitation of Claim 11 limitation drawn to “the first circuit board is electrically coupled with the third circuit board via the second fan assembly”.
It should be also mentioned; the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
See: St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bernis Co., 193: USPQ 8, see: MPEP 214404 section VI.
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hueng with Chen with a third circuit board and a second fan assembly being positioned between the first circuit board and the third circuit board, and the first circuit board being electrically coupled with the third circuit board via the second fan assembly to benefit from the airflow generated by the first fans of the expansion card be blown toward the direction of the central processor, transistors and memory modules to dissipate heat from he memory modules on the central processor, transistors and memory slots (Chen ¶ 59, II. 10-16).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hueng in view of Chen and further in view of Akar et al (US 5,216,361).
Regarding Claim 12, Hueng in view of Chen discloses the limitations of Claim 11, however Hueng as modified does not disclose wherein the electronic device further comprising: a first electrical component carried by the first circuit board; and a second electrical component carried by the second circuit board, wherein the first electrical component is configured to provide instructions to the second electrical component.
Instead Akar (In Fig 1) teaches wherein the electronic device (10) further comprising: a first electrical component (20) carried by the first circuit board (16); and a second electrical component (22) carried by the second circuit board (17), wherein the first electrical component (20) is configured to provide instructions to the second electrical component (22), (Col 3, II. 62-66), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hueng with Chen and further with Akar with the electronic device comprising a first electrical component carried by the first circuit board and a second electrical component carried by the second circuit board, and the first electrical component being configured to provide instructions to the second electrical component to benefit from improving signal quality by eliminating the wiring and cabling from the connections between pin cards and the fixture substantially reducing noise (Akar Col 2, II. 17-19).
Regarding Claim 13, Hueng in view of Chen and further in view of Akar discloses the limitations of Claim 12, however Hueng as modified does not disclose wherein the electronic device further comprising a third electrical component carried by the third circuit board, wherein the first electrical component is configured to provide the instructions to the third electrical component.
Instead, Akar (In Fig 1) further teaches wherein the electronic device (10) further comprising a third electrical component (22) carried by the third circuit board (17), wherein the first electrical component (20) is configured to provide the instructions to the third electrical component (22), (Col 3, II. 62-66), (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hueng with Chen and further with Akar with a third electrical component carried by the third circuit board and the first electrical component being configured to provide the instructions to the third electrical component to benefit from improving signal quality by eliminating the wiring and cabling from the connections between pin cards and the fixture substantially reducing noise (Akar Col 2, II. 17-19).
Examiner Note; It should be mentioned; the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
See: St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bernis Co., 193: USPQ 8, see: MPEP 214404 section VI.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hueng in view of Chen et al (US 2018/0066664, “Huang”).
Regarding Claim 14, Hueng discloses the limitations of Claim 10, however Hueng does not disclose wherein the first fan assembly comprises: a base; and an electrically conductive assembly embedded in the base.
Instead, Huang (In Fig 2) teaches wherein the first fan assembly (1) comprises: a base (11); and an electrically conductive assembly (40) embedded in the base (11), (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hueng with Huang with the first fan assembly comprising a base and an electrically conductive assembly being embedded in the base to benefit from reducing the whole thickness of the cooling fan, allowing the flow channel design in the inner space being not affected and enhancing the convenience of assembly (Huang ¶ 17, II. 1-9).
Regarding Claim 15, Hueng in view of Huang discloses the limitations of Claim 14, however Hueng as modified does not disclose wherein the electrically conductive assembly comprises a first signal layer and a second signal layer.
Instead Huang (In Fig 2) further disclose wherein the electrically conductive assembly (40) comprises a first signal layer (41) and a second signal layer (42, 43).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hueng with Huang with the electrically conductive assembly comprising a first signal layer and a second signal layer to benefit from reducing the whole thickness of the cooling fan, allowing the flow channel design in the inner space being not affected and enhancing the convenience of assembly (Huang ¶ 17, II. 1-9).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Hueng in view of Neuman et al (US 2019/0230801).
Regarding Claim 16, Hueng discloses the limitations of Claim 10, however Hueng does not disclose wherein: the first circuit board comprises a main logic board, and the first circuit board comprises an input-output board.
Instead, Neuman (In Fig 2) teaches wherein: the first circuit board (60) comprises a main logic board (control cards, ¶ 38, II. 1-8), and the first circuit board (60) comprises an input-output board (input/output cards, ¶ 38, II. 1-8).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hueng with Neuman with the first circuit board comprising a main logic board and the first circuit board comprises an input-output board to benefit from performing one or more vehicle functions (Neuman ¶ 38, II. 1-8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-9 and 17-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to Claims 1-9 and 17-20, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in independent Claims 1 and 17 and at least in part because Claims 1 and 17 recite, “a first electrical component; a second electrical component; and a fan assembly comprising: a base configured to carry a cover; and an electrically conductive assembly embedded in the base, the electrically conductive assembly configured to electrically couple with the first electrical component and with the second electrical component” in Claim 1, and “the base comprising: a first masking layer; a second masking layer; and an electrically conductive assembly positioned between the first masking layer and the second masking layer, the electrically conductive assembly comprising a first signal layer configured to electrically couple with an electrical component external to the fan assembly” in Claim 17.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of Claims 1 and 17 are believed to render said Claims 1 and 17 and all Claims dependent therefrom (Claims 2-9 and 18-20) patentable over the art of record.
The closest art of record is believed to be that of Chen et al (US 2018/0066664 – hereafter “Chen”).
While Chen Fig 2 teaches a fan assembly (1) comprising: a base (11) configured to carry a cover (12), (Fig 2); and an electrically conductive assembly (40) embedded in the base (11), (Fig 2), however neither Chen nor any other art of record, either alone or in a combination, teach or suggest above-mentioned limitations of Claims 1, 10 and 17.
Any comment considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submission should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; Fan Structure US 2015/0152873, Fan Connector Structure US 2023/0061299, Computer Chassis with Fan Tray Assembly US 6,985,358, Circuit Module Fan Assembly US 5,191,230. Other pertinent art made of record are on form PTO-892 notice of reference cited.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMIR JALALI whose telephone number is (303)297-4308. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm, Mountain Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash Gandhi can be reached on 571-272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMIR A JALALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841