Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-18, and 21-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirleis et al (US PUB. 20200274386, herein Kirleis) in view of Apte et al (US PUB. 20180102646, herein Apte).
Regarding claim 1, Kirleis teaches A processor-implemented method for direct current (DC) power management comprising:
accessing a plurality of DC power sources (0063 “ battery packs 212 may be arranged in series, parallel, or a combination thereof to yield a self-reconfigurable multi-cell system (e.g., configured to supply between 130 VDC and 327 VDC). As will be discussion in connection with FIGS. 7a through 7c, the battery cells 772 of the battery pack 212 may be dynamically reconfigured to enable, inter alia, solar peak power tracking and discharge voltage regulation”, 0062 “he battery array 200 may employ a power allocation switching unit system and/or algorithm for managing battery groups and solar panels, such as an array consolidation and switching unit (ACSU)”);
bypassing the series connection, wherein the bypassing occurs at each of the DC power sources within the plurality of DC power sources (0084 “battery pack controller 730 can be configured to generate cell-select commands to insert/bypass individual battery cells within the battery packs 212”), and wherein the bypassing is performed by a distributed controller-switch (0062 “The system controller 216 may employ one or more control area network (CAN) buses for monitoring, communication, and/or control, while an external bus may be used to transfer power between the battery bank(s) 224 (or components thereof) and the electric load 220 or solar array 226. In certain aspects, as will be discussed below, the battery array 200 may employ a power allocation switching unit system and/or algorithm for managing battery groups and solar panels, such as an array consolidation and switching unit (ACSU)”);
monitoring each distributed controller-switch using a system controller (0062 “The system controller 216 may employ one or more control area network (CAN) buses for monitoring, communication, and/or control, while an external bus may be used to transfer power between the battery bank(s) 224 (or components thereof) and the electric load 220 or solar array 226. In certain aspects, as will be discussed below, the battery array 200 may employ a power allocation switching unit system and/or algorithm for managing battery groups and solar panels, such as an array consolidation and switching unit (ACSU)”);
computing an optimal DC power source configuration, based on the monitoring (0083 “ battery management system 700 provides a number of advantages. First, the battery management system 700 provides a modular architecture that can be modular down to the level of an individual battery cell 772. Second, it provides a complete solution to reconfigurable battery protection and management. Third, it allows for the addition and removal of battery cells 772 from a series of a battery string 766, which can be performed to adjust an output voltage to yield a variable output voltage or to bypass a defective battery cell 772. Fourth, it enables isolated power domains (e.g., switchable battery modules 770, battery packs 212, battery pack controller 730, etc.) to enable scalable configurations”);
and reconfiguring the plurality of DC power sources, based on the computing (0083 “ battery management system 700 provides a number of advantages. First, the battery management system 700 provides a modular architecture that can be modular down to the level of an individual battery cell 772. Second, it provides a complete solution to reconfigurable battery protection and management. Third, it allows for the addition and removal of battery cells 772 from a series of a battery string 766, which can be performed to adjust an output voltage to yield a variable output voltage or to bypass a defective battery cell 772. Fourth, it enables isolated power domains (e.g., switchable battery modules 770, battery packs 212, battery pack controller 730, etc.) to enable scalable configurations”, 0084 “battery switch control instructions (e.g., a signal/command), the power to the connected load (e.g., a per battery pack 212 or per battery pack assembly 202 basis), and total voltage (e.g., on a per battery pack 212 or per battery pack assembly 202 basis). In other words, the battery pack controller 730 selectively inserts/bypasses battery cells 772 so that they can be charged, discharged, or bypassed. For example, the battery cells 772 may be selectively bypassed to achieve a desired voltage or to charge/discharge only a select number of battery cells 772 (e.g., depending on the operating mode or conditions)”).
The cited prior art do not teach wherein the DC power sources are configured using a series connection.
Apte teaches wherein the DC power sources are configured using a series connection (0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Kirleis and Apte since Apte teaches a means for matching voltages and avoiding uneven degradation (00
Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 1.
Kirleis teaches wherein the distributed controller-switch comprises a bypass switch (0084), a series switch (0105 0106), one or more sensors (0120), and a communications module coupled to the system controller (0062).
Regarding claim 6, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 2.
Kirleis teaches wherein the bypass switch and the series switch comprise insulated-gate bipolar transistor switches (0073).
Regarding claim 7, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 2.
Kirleis teaches wherein the coupling to the system controller is performed using wired technology (0045 0046).
Regarding claim 8, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 2.
Kirleis teaches wherein the coupling to the system controller is performed using wireless technology (0045 0046).
Regarding claim 9, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 2.
Kirleis teaches wherein the one or more sensors enable the monitoring (0060).
Regarding claim 10, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 1.
Kirleis teaches wherein the plurality of DC power sources comprises a solar panel array (0062).
Regarding claim 11, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 10.
Kirleis teaches further comprising including additional DC power sources in the series connection (0062 0063).
Regarding claim 12, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 11.
Kirleis teaches further comprising bypassing the series connection at each of the additional DC power sources by an additional distributed controller-switch (0062 “he battery array 200 may employ a power allocation switching unit system and/or algorithm for managing battery groups and solar panels, such as an array consolidation and switching unit (ACSU)”).
Regarding claim 13, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 11.
Kirleis teaches wherein the additional DC power sources comprise one or more battery units (0101).
Regarding claim 14, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 13.
Kirleis teaches wherein the one or more battery units function as an energy source (0101 0107).
Regarding claim 15, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 13.
Kirleis teaches wherein the one or more battery units function as an energy load (0101 0107)..
Regarding claim 16, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 10.
Kirleis teaches further comprising including additional DC power sources in an additional series connection (0014).
Regarding claim 17, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 16.
Kirleis teaches further comprising bypassing the additional series connection at each of the additional DC power sources by an additional distributed controller-switch (0084).
Regarding claim 18, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 17.
Kirleis teaches wherein each additional distributed controller-switch is monitored by the system controller (0092).
Regarding claim 21, the cited prior art teach the method of claim 1.
Apte teaches wherein the reconfiguring enables a level voltage at output terminals of the series connection (0034).
Regarding claim 22, the cited prior art teach the method of claim 1.
Apte teaches wherein the reconfiguring enables a level current at output terminals of the series connection (0034).
Regarding claim 23, the cited prior art teach the method of claim 1.
Kirleis teaches wherein the reconfiguring enables hot swapping one or more DC power sources of the plurality of DC power sources (0063).
Regarding claim 24, the cited prior art teach the method of claim 1.
Kirleis teaches wherein the computing and the reconfiguring enable meeting a DC power source reliability metric (0121).
Claims 25 and 26 are rejected using similar reasoning as the rejection of claims 1-24 due to reciting similar limitations but directed towards a computer program product embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium for DC power management and a computer system.
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirleis et al (US PUB. 20200274386, herein Kirleis) in view of Gudgel et al (US PUB. 20180077812, herein Gudegel).
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 2.
The cited prior art do not teach wherein the bypass switch and the series switch comprise a mutually exclusive switching connection.
Gudgel teaches wherein the bypass switch and the series switch comprise a mutually exclusive switching connection (0019 “a transfer switch is discussed further below with respect to FIG. 2, but for now, it is sufficient to understand that the transfer switch prevents the grid 130 and the generator 140 from being simultaneously coupled to the home 135 (via mutually exclusive control of switches 141 and 131)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Kirleis with the teachings of Gudegel since Gudegel teaches a means for “local switching circuitry that includes control logic, a proper number and size of inverters/chargers, and a battery for storing electrical energy are all components of a local system needed to properly generate, use and store electrical energy from a local micro-generator” (0002).
Regarding claim 4, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 3.
Gudegel teaches wherein the mutually exclusive switching connection enables dead-zone control (0019).
Regarding claim 5, the cited prior art teach The method of claim 4.
Gugel teaches wherein the dead-zone control prevents short-circuit current flow (0019).
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirleis et al (US PUB. 20200274386, herein Kirleis) in view of Gudgel et al (US PUB. 20180077812, herein Gudegel) in further view of De Breucker et al (US PUB. 20190013681, herein De Breucker).
Regarding claim 19, the cited prior art teach the method of claim 16.
The cited prior art do not teach wherein power from the series connection and power from the additional series connection both supply a common power conversion device in series.
De Breucker teaches wherein power from the series connection and power from the additional series connection both supply a common power conversion device in series (0023).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Kirleis and Gudgel with De Breucker since it teaches a means for “greater flexibility in how power is provided to the load” (0021).
Regarding claim 20, the cited prior art teach the method of claim 16.
The cited prior art do not teach wherein power from the series connection and power from the additional series connection both supply a common power conversion device in parallel.
De Breucker teaches wherein power from the series connection and power from the additional series connection both supply a common power conversion device in parallel (0021 “first subpack comprising the first series connection string and the second subpack comprising the second connection string can be connected in parallel to the same load”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Kirleis and Gudgel with De Breucker since it teaches a means for “greater flexibility in how power is provided to the load” (0021).
Conclusion
/TAMEEM D SIDDIQUEE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2116