DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 6/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choung et al (US 2015/0004758).
Regarding claim 1, Choung et al disclose an etchant composition comprises:
an inorganic acid, a persulfate includes ammonium persulfate [0010], which corresponding to the oxidizing agent.an oxidizing agent, a fluoride compound, [0009]-[0012], a pH adjuster [0069], an additive {0060] and water [0009], [0070].
Note: The preamble " for etching a molybdenum film and a modified molybdenum film while suppressing an aluminum oxide film and a silicon oxide film from being etched" is a statement of intended use that does not further limit the claimed invention [see MPEP 2111.02]. Claims directed to a product must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir.1997) [MPEP 2114]. The recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable. In re Schreiber, 44 USPQ2d 1729 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Since the product (composition) of the prior art teaches all of the components or ingredients of the claim, the product is considered capable of meeting the intended use limitation.
Regarding claim 3, Choung et al disclose that the inorganic acid may be at least one of nitric acid, sulphuric acid, phosphoric acid, and perchloric acid [0012].
Regarding claim 4, Choung et al disclose that the oxidizing agent comprises ammonium persulfate [0010], which corresponding to the oxidizing agent.
Regarding claim 5, Choung et al disclose that the fluoride compound may be at least one of ammonium fluoride, sodium fluoride, potassium fluoride, ammonium bifluoride, sodium bifluoride, and potassium bifluoride [0011].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung et al (US 2015/0004758) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Choung et al disclose for the claim 1 above and also disclose that the etchant composition including:
0.5 weight % to about 20 weight % of persulfate (corresponding to the claimed oxidizing agent);
weight % to 2 weight % of a fluoride compound (corresponding to fluorine compound); and 1 weight % to 10 weight % of an inorganic acid [0009]; and additive may be used in an amount of about 0.1 weight % to about 10.0 weight % with respect to the total weight of the etchant composition [0061]; and aforesaid ranges overlaps the claimed ranges for the inorganic acid, oxidizing agent and the fluorine compound and overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious, MPEP 2144.05.
Without showing any criticality of the content of the pH adjuster, it would have been obvious to optimize for maintaining the desired pH of the composition.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung et al (US 2015/0004758) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Eto et al (US 2021/0324271).
Choung et al disclose above for the claim 1 and also disclose the composition further comprises additional components a pH adjuster [0069] but fail to disclose the specific pH adjuster.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Eto et al disclose a semiconductor processing [0083] composition comprises a pH adjuster [0054],[0055]; which may select form ammonium sulfate, phosphoric acid, diammonium hydrogen phosphate, ammonium dihydrogen phosphate, etc. [0056].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Eto et al's teaching of the specific pH adjuster into the teaching of Choung et al for effectively adjusting the pH of the composition as taught by Eto et al.
Further, it would have been a simple substitution of known materials for predictable results.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung et al (US 2015/0004758) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fulton et al (US 20005/0183740) and further in view of Medsker et al (US 2004/0048957).
Choung et al disclose above for the claim 1 and also disclose the composition further comprises additional components such as surfactant [0069] but fail to disclose the additive compound is a fluorochemical compound representing by the Formula 1 in claim 7.
However, Fulton et al disclose process and composition for removing residues including etch, metal, and non-metal residues from semiconductor substrates [0001], wherein the composition comprises surfactant [0008] and the surfactant includes perfluoroalkyl alcohols [0016] and aforesaid perfluoro alcohol broadly encompasses the claimed additive representing by the Formula 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Fulton et al's teaching of using perfluoro alcohol as a surfactant into the teaching of Choung et al for achieving a substrate surface without etched residues as suggested by Fulton et al.
Additionally, the modified teaching above may not specifically disclose the additive (surfactant) can be specific perfluoro alcohol as the context of claim 8.
However, Medsker et al appears to disclose a fluoroalcohol having general formula CF.sub.3CF.sub.2(CF.sub.2CF.sub.2).sub.xCH.sub.2CH.sub.2OH where x is generally an integer of from 1 to about 19 [0117]; for example, pentafluorobutanol [0118] being used and such easily reads on the claimed additive. Medsker et al also disclose that application of such could be metal technology applications such as anti-corrosion, etch bath wetting, for cleaning and scale removal, and for degreasing [0278] or in electronic etching baths [0280].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Medsker et al's teaching of utilizing or using fluoroalcohols (pentafluorobutanol) into the teaching of Choung et al for etching aid, like wetting agent in the etching bath as suggested by Medsker et al.
Further, it would have been a simple substitution of known materials for predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, listed in the PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
SHAMIM AHMED
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/SHAMIM AHMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713