DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, elements of the “first connection device” and “the second connection device” set forth in claims 9 and 14-17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a heating element” in claim 1,
“a first connection device and a second connection device” in claims 1, 7 and 10-13, and
“a detection device” in claims 7 and 10-13.
The limitations use a generic placeholder (element or device) that is coupled with functional language (heating, connection or detection) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Based on the disclosure and drawings, “a heating element” bears a structure of a processor or a surface that generates heat (paragraph 0026),
“a first connection device and a second connection device” bears a structure of a tube and port connector (41, 42, Fig. 1), and
“a detection device” is a detector or a sensor (paragraphs 0043-0044 and Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US PGPub No. 2023/0276599) in view of Chen (US PGPub No. 2017/0254459).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a liquid cooling system (Figs. 1-3) comprising a water distribution-collection device (water divider 800), a plurality of liquid cooling bodies (first cold plates 600 and second cold plates 700) for heat exchange with a heating element (a motherboard having graphic chips 300 and bridge chips 400 having a surface that generates heat), and a plurality of first liquid guide tubes (first inlet pipe 910, first outlet pipe 920, second inlet pipes 940, second outlet pipes 950), wherein
each of the plurality of first liquid guide tubes has an end communicated with at least one corresponding liquid cooling body (each of the pipes 910, 920, 940 and 950 has an end connecting respective first cold plates 600 or second cold plates 700), and the other end communicated with a port of the water distribution-collection device (each of the pipes 910, 920, 940 and 950 has another end fluidly connecting a respective port of the water divider 800).
Zhang fails to disclose the other end communicated with a port of the water distribution-collection device through a corresponding cut-off assembly; and
the cut-off assembly includes a first connection device and a second connection device that are detachable and separable from each other, and
the first connection device is arranged at a tube mouth of the first liquid guide tube and is configured to block the first liquid guide tube when being disassembled from the second connection device, and the second connection device is arranged at the port and is configured to block the port when being disassembled from the first connection device.
Chen discloses a cut-off assembly (Figs. 1A and 1B), the cut-off assembly includes a first connection device (first pipe connector 1) and a second connection device (a second pipe connector 2) that are detachable and separable from each other (the connectors 1 and 2 are separable, Figs. 1A and 2A-C), and
the first connection device is arranged at a tube mouth of the first liquid guide tube (the connector 1 is arranged at a pipe 19 connecting tube 4, Figs. 2A-C and 3) and is configured to block the first liquid guide tube when being disassembled from the second connection device (contacting pipe 14 of the connector 1 closes first hole 112 of a first leak-proof pipe 11 by spring 120 when the connectors 1 and 2 are disconnected in Fig. 2C) and the second connection device is arranged at the port (second pipe 29) and is configured to block the port when being disassembled from the first connection device (second front-end pipe body 221 of the connector 2 closes second hole 212 of a second leak-proof pipe 21 by spring 220 when the connectors 1 and 2 are disconnected in Fig. 2C).
The teaching the connectors 1 and 2 of Chen may replace each connector 830 and 840 of the water divider 800. As a result, the modified Zheng discloses that the other end communicated with a port of the water distribution-collection device through a corresponding cut-off assembly (each of the pipes 910, 920, 940 and 950 has the another end fluidly connecting respective port of the water divider 800 through the modified connectors 1 and 2 of Chen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the other end communicated with a port of the water distribution-collection device through a corresponding cut-off assembly; and the cut-off assembly includes a first connection device and a second connection device that are detachable and separable from each other, and
the first connection device is arranged at a tube mouth of the first liquid guide tube and is configured to block the first liquid guide tube when being disassembled from the second connection device, and the second connection device is arranged at the port and is configured to block the port when being disassembled from the first connection device in Zhang as taught by Chen in order to easily connect and disconnect the connector when performing replacement of components in a narrow space (paragraph 0042 of Chen), and prevent residual water leak when disconnecting the tubes (paragraphs 0005-0006 of Chen).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang as modified in claim 1 further discloses wherein at least one column of the liquid cooling bodies (a column of second cold plates 700 with second inlet pipes 940 connected) are provided along an arrangement direction of the ports of the water distribution-collection device (the column of second cold plates 700 are arranged along a direction where five inlet ports of the water divider 800 are aligned), and the liquid cooling bodies in at least one column are communicated with different ports of the water distribution-collection device through the corresponding first liquid guide tubes (each second cold plate 700 in the column is connected to a dedicated port of the water divider 800 through corresponding inlet pipe 940).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang in claim 2 further discloses wherein a plurality of columns of the liquid cooling bodies are arranged along the arrangement direction of the ports of the water distribution-collection device (the column of second cold plates 700 in claim 2, a second column of second cold plates 700 with second outlet pipes 950 and second connection pipes 960 connected, and a column of first cold plates 600), and are located on the same side of the water distribution-collection device (all columns are located on front side of the water divider 800).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang in claim 3 further discloses wherein the liquid cooling bodies in any one of at least two columns are arranged side by side with the respective liquid cooling bodies of another of the at least two columns (cold plates 700 in a column with the second inlet pipes 940 are arranged side by side with a respective adjacent cold plates 700 in another column with the second connection pipes 960), and the liquid cooling bodies arranged side by side are connected in parallel through a second liquid guide tube (the adjacent cold plates 700 in another column are connected parallel with the second connection pipes 960).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang in claim 3 further discloses wherein the liquid cooling bodies in at least one column are connected in series through a third liquid guide tube (the column of first cold plates 600 are connected in series through first connection pipes 930), and two liquid cooling bodies at a head end and a tail end are respectively communicated with corresponding ports of the water distribution-collection device through a liquid inflow tube and a liquid outflow tube of a corresponding first liquid guide tube (head end cold plate 600 connects to a port of the water divider 800 through the first inlet pipe 910; tail end cold plate 600 connects to a port of the water divider 800 through the first outlet pipe 920).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang in claim 3 further discloses a plurality of the liquid cooling bodies connected in parallel (the second cold plates 700 in a column are connected in parallel) and configured to exchange heat with a graphics processor (the second cold plates 700 exchanges heat with graphic chips 300), and a plurality of the liquid cooling bodies connected in series (the first cold plates 600 in a column are connected in series) and configured to exchange heat with a switch element (first cold plates 600 exchanges heat with bridge chips 400. The chips in Zhang are semiconductor chips that perform computing and the chip structure inherently includes switches to switch electrical signals for the computation).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang as modified in claim 1 (see Figs. 2A-2C of Chen) further discloses wherein each of the first connection device and the second connection device includes a connection seat (first sleeve 12 of the connector 1; and second sleeve 22 of the connector 2) and a valve core (pipes 11 and 14 of the connector 1; and pipe 21 of the connector 2),
a flow channel is provided in the connection seat (a channel within the sleeves 12 and 22), and a toggle head is provided on the connection seat (end portion 111 on interior side of the first sleeve 12 of the connector 1, end body 221 on end side of the first sleeve 22);
the valve core is slidably arranged in the connection seat (the pipe 14 is slidably arranged in the first sleeve 12; and pipe 21 is slidably arranged in the second sleeve 22), and the valve core is provided with a through hole (opening 112 of the pipe 11; and opening 212 of the pipe 21) and a groove (a gap between the pipe 14 and sleeve 12 of the connector 1; a gap between the pipe 21 and sleeve 22 of the connector 2),
the toggle head of the first connection device (111) is configured to be inserted into the groove of the second connection device (the end portion 111 is inserted into the gap between the pipe 21 and sleeve 22, Fig. 2B), the toggle head of the second connection device (221) is configured to be inserted into the groove of the first connection device (the end body 221 is inserted into the gap between the pipe 11 and sleeve 12, Fig. 2B of Chen); and
the two toggle heads drive the two valve cores to slide when the first connection device and the second connection device slide relative to each other (the end portion 111 drives the pipe 21 to slide; and the end body 221 drive the pipe 14 to slide, see Figs. 2B and 2C of Chen), so that the two through holes are synchronously aligned or staggered with the respective flow channels for opening or blocking (the openings 112 and 212 are aligned when opened to allow a fluid flow through connectors 1 and 2 in Fig. 2B; the openings 112 and 212 are aligned when closed to block a fluid flow through connectors 1 and 2 in Figs. 2A and 2C of Chen); and the two toggle heads are engaged with the corresponding connection seats (end portion 111 contacts the pipe 14 and further contacts the sleeve 12; the end body 212 contacts the sleeve 22) when the two toggle heads drive the two valve cores to slide to a blocking position (in closed position, Figs. 2A and 2C of Chen).
Regarding claims 14-17, please see the rejection of claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 18, Zhang as modified in claim 1 fails to disclose a server (10, Fig. 1), comprising the liquid cooling system according to claim 1 (Figs. 1-3 of Zhang).
Claim(s) 7, 8 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US PGPub No. 2023/0276599) in view of Chen (US PGPub No. 2017/0254459) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Krishnan (US PGPub No. 2016/0178475).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang as modified in claim 1 fails to disclose a detection device for detecting liquid leakage of the liquid cooling body and/or the first liquid guide tube, wherein the first connection device and the second connection device are disassembled when the detection device detects liquid leakage.
Krishnan discloses a detection device for detecting liquid leakage of the liquid cooling body and/or the first liquid guide tube (a sensor circuit 400 that detects a liquid leak in cold plate 1006 and joints and pipes 1006b-d in Fig. 10, see also paragraph 0036).
Therefore, the sensor circuit 400 in Krishnan may be provided to the motherboard in Zhang in order to indicate a leakage of the pipes, joints or cold plates.
Chen further discloses that the quick release connectors 1 and 2 allow quick and easy replacement of the components (paragraph 0019 of Chen).
Examiner further takes official notice that when a leak is detected, one of ordinary skill in the art would disassemble the connectors 1 and 2 and quickly replace the affected parts in order to prevent further damage caused by the leakage.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a detection device for detecting liquid leakage of the liquid cooling body and/or the first liquid guide tube, wherein the first connection device and the second connection device are disassembled when the detection device detects liquid leakage in Zhang in view of Chen and Krishnan in order to detect a leakage and prevents further damage to the electronic components by the leakage.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang as modified in claim 7 further discloses wherein the detection device comprises two detection wires (electrodes 302 and 310, Fig. 4 of Krishnan) arranged in a disconnected manner (gaps 114 between them), and each of the two detection wires is provided with a detection piece (projected parts of the electrodes 302 and 310) that extends towards and is spaced apart from the other of the two detection wires (the projected parts of the electrodes 302 extend towards the electrode 310; projected parts of the electrodes 310 extend towards the electrode 302. All the projected parts are spaced apart by the gap 114), the detection pieces on the two detection wires in each group are alternately distributed at a preset interval (see the projected parts of one electrode nested within preset intervals between each projected parts of another electrode in Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 10-13, please see the rejection of claim 7 above.
Conclusion
/F.K.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763