DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the connecting plate (see claim 5) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: control assembly (e.g. a controller) in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-10 recite “and corresponds to an area where the joint and the at least part of the pipeline assembly” (see claim 1, lines 4-5) which renders claims 1-10 indefinite. Said recitation is given no patentable weight.
Claim 2 recites “are provided in a split manner” which renders claim 2 indefinite. Claim 2 is interpreted such that said trough and cooling plate are described as two elements.
Claim 5 recites “embodies as a collecting tray” which renders claim 5 indefinite. Claim 5 is interpreted such that the liquid collecting trough is configured as a collecting tray (e.g. the trough is capable of acting as a collecting tray).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu (CN115297693A).
Regarding claim 1,
Zhu teaches a liquid collecting device (see par. 52), comprising a cooling plate 100, and a liquid collecting trough 210 provided surrounding a joint 300 connected to the cooling plate, wherein the liquid collecting trough is provided with a liquid collecting opening (e.g. the opening of trough 210, not labeled), which faces at least part of a pipeline assembly connected to the joint (see Fig. 3) and corresponds to an area where the joint and the at least part of the pipeline assembly, to allow a liquid cooling medium leaking from the at least part of the pipeline assembly as well as a connection position between the joint and the cooling plate to be collected in the liquid collecting trough (see pars. 59-62).
Regarding claim 2,
Zhu teaches wherein the liquid collecting trough and the cooling plate are provided in a split manner (e.g. as two elements), and the liquid collecting trough is located outside the cooling plate (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3,
Zhu teaches further comprising an enclosing barrier 240, wherein the enclosing barrier is arranged to enclose a periphery of the joint (see Fig. 2), and the enclosing barrier and the cooling plate together form the liquid collecting trough (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4,
Zhu teaches wherein the cooling plate comprises a heat-dissipating plate 110 (e.g. wherein plate 110 comprises at least support 111 and substrate 112 which dissipates heat, see pars. 55, 64) and a cover plate 120 arranged on the heat-dissipating plate, the enclosing barrier 240 (see Fig. 2) is arranged surrounding the cover plate, and a sealing ring is provided between the enclosing barrier and the cover plate to seal a gap therebetween (see at least par. 58); and a mounting groove, having a depth smaller than a thickness of the sealing ring, is provided on an outer wall of the cover plate, and the sealing ring is fitted in the mounting groove (see at least par. 58).
Regarding claim 5,
Zhu teaches the liquid collecting trough 210 is embodied as a collecting tray arranged on the cooling plate (see par. 57), wherein the collecting tray is provided with a through hole 220 for the joint to pass through; the collecting tray comprises a loop-shaped protruding structure that protrudes towards the at least part of the pipeline assembly (see Fig. 2, wherein “loop shaped is interpreted to refer to some shape comprising a continuous polygon protruding upwards or downwards from any element), to form the liquid collecting trough 210; and the collecting tray further comprises a connecting plate 120, the loop-shaped protruding structure is provided on the connecting plate, and the connecting plate is connected to the cooling plate 100.
Regarding claim 7,
Zhu teaches wherein the cooling plate comprises a heat-dissipating plate 110 (e.g. wherein plate 110 comprises at least support 111 and substrate 112 which dissipates heat, see pars. 55, 64) and a cover plate 120 arranged on the heat-dissipating plate, and the liquid collecting trough is a groove provided on the cover plate (see Figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 8,
Zhu teaches a flow guiding structure (e.g. at least element 500), wherein the flow guiding structure is configured to be provided on the joint and cooperate with the at least part of the pipeline assembly; and the flow guiding structure extends into the liquid collecting trough (see Figs. 2-5), to guide the liquid cooling medium leaking from the at least part of the pipeline assembly into the liquid collecting trough.
Regarding claim 9,
Zhu teaches a cover 250, which is arranged on the liquid collecting trough to prevent the liquid cooling medium from leaking out of the liquid collecting trough.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu.
Regarding claim 6,
Zhu teaches wherein the pipeline assembly comprises a liquid guide tube (not labeled, see Figs. 2-4) and an anti-leakage outer tube 500 sleeved outside the liquid guide tube, but does not teach a leakage detection strip is provided on an inner wall of the anti-leakage outer tube.
However, the examiner takes official notice that the use of, and advantages of, a leakage detection strip would be well known to one of ordinary skill in the art, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Zhu with the motivation of providing a user with advance notice of a leak at a potential origin of said leak.
Regarding claim 10,
Zhu teaches a suction mechanism (e.g. the mechanism comprising at least outlet assembly 400) connected to the liquid collecting trough and configured to draw the liquid cooling medium out of the liquid collecting trough, wherein the suction mechanism comprises: a liquid suction tube (not labeled, see Figs. 2-4) with one end extending into the liquid collecting trough; a liquid suction assembly 400, which is connected to the liquid suction tube to draw the liquid cooling medium out of the liquid collecting trough via the liquid suction tube; a leakage detector 700, which is located in the liquid collecting trough and configured to detect an amount of liquid cooling medium in the liquid collecting trough (see par. 76); and a control assembly (see par. 76), which is electrically connected to the leakage detector and the liquid suction assembly (see par. 76).
Zhu teaches that the detector 700 can send a reminder or alarm to a user (see par. 77), but does not teach that said control assembly (is configured) to control the liquid suction assembly to be started to draw the liquid cooling medium out of the liquid collecting trough when the amount of liquid cooling medium in the liquid collecting trough exceeds a warning level.
However, said configuration, and advantages of said configuration, would be well known to one of ordinary skill in the art, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify Zhu such that said control assembly comprises said configuration with the motivation of automatically removing a leaked liquid while warning a user of said leak.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Amos teaches a liquid cooled immersion device with collection trough.
/Steve S TANENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 3763