DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18//814710 the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Remark date 08/26/24
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
4. Claims 1, 9, and 17 recites the limitation "…. switching the second traffic flow… wherein the first traffic flow…. ". It is unclear what these flows are referring to, since they don’t seem to have been previously mentioned. It is unclear if these flows are referring to the sub-flows previously mentioned or different flows. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over patent application (10,841,829) claims 1-21. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both deal with communication comprising transmitting packets of a first traffic flow and packets of a second traffic flow via a first radio bearer. While instant application uses subflow the main difference from the instant application is patent application (10, 841,829) uses a packet data unit via the first radio bearer to the second device. These differences would be obvious for a gateway transferring and deciding traffic to user equipment.
Instant Application (18/814710)
Patent Application (10,841,829 B2)
A method, comprising:
performing, by a communication device, a communication comprising transmitting
packets of a first traffic subflow and packets of a second traffic subflow via a first radio bearer to a second device;
detecting that further packets of the second traffic subflow are to be transmitted via a
second radio bearer to the second device; and based on the detecting, switching the second traffic flow to the second radio bearer, while continuing to transmit packets of the first traffic flow via the first radio bearer.
1. A method, comprising: performing, by a first device, a communication comprising transmitting packets of a first traffic flow and packets of a second traffic flow via a first radio bearer to a second device; detecting, by the first device, that further packets of the second traffic flow are to be transmitted via a second radio bearer to the second device; and based on the detecting, transmitting, by the first device, a packet data unit via the first radio bearer to the second device, wherein the packet data unit comprises an indication of a switch of the second traffic flow to the second radio bearer, and wherein packets of the first traffic flow continues to be transmitted via the first radio bearer.
The remaining claims are similar to instant application.
Claims 1-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over patent application (11,553,369) claims 1-21. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both deal with communication comprising transmitting packets of a first traffic flow and packets of a second traffic flow via a first radio bearer. While instant application uses subflow the main difference from the instant application is patent application (11,553,369) the first bearer is a default radio bearer. These differences would be obvious for streams or applications to be classified by type of technologies or for quality of service.
Instant Application (18/814710)
Patent Application (11,553,369 B2)
1. A method, comprising:
performing, by a communication device, a communication comprising transmitting
packets of a first traffic subflow and packets of a second traffic subflow via a first radio bearer to a second device;
detecting that further packets of the second traffic subflow are to be transmitted via a
second radio bearer to the second device; and based on the detecting, switching the second traffic flow to the second radio bearer, while continuing to transmit packets of the first traffic flow via the first radio bearer.
1. An apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, where the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to at least: receive from a first device a communication comprising packets of a first traffic flow and packets of a second traffic flow via a first radio bearer, wherein the first radio bearer is a default radio bearer; receive from the first device a packet data unit indicating that further packets of the second traffic flow are to be received via a second radio bearer, wherein the first traffic flow continues to be received via the first radio bearer; establish the second radio bearer between the apparatus and the first device; and based on the establishing, receive the further packets of the second traffic flow via the second radio bearer.
The remaining claims are similar to instant application.
Claims 1-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over patent application (12101659) claims 1-21. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both deal with communication comprising transmitting packets of a first traffic flow and packets of a second traffic flow via a first radio bearer. While instant application uses subflow the main difference from the instant application is patent application (12101659) a reconfiguration message and a packet data unit comprising an indication that further packets of the second traffic flow are to be received via a second radio bearer. These differences would be obvious for streams or applications to be classified by type of technologies or for quality of service.
Instant Application (18/814710)
Patent Application (12101659)
1 A method, comprising:
performing, by a communication device, a communication comprising transmitting
packets of a first traffic subflow and packets of a second traffic subflow via a first radio bearer to a second device;
detecting that further packets of the second traffic subflow are to be transmitted via a
second radio bearer to the second device; and based on the detecting, switching the second traffic flow to the second radio bearer, while continuing to transmit packets of the first traffic flow via the first radio bearer.
1. An apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, where the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to at least: receive from a first device a communication comprising packets of a first traffic flow and packets of a second traffic flow via a first radio bearer; receive from the first device a reconfiguration message and a packet data unit comprising an indication that further packets of the second traffic flow are to be received via a second radio bearer, wherein the first traffic flow continues to be received via the first radio bearer; establish the second radio bearer between the apparatus and the first device; and based on the establishing, receive the further packets of the second traffic flow via the second radio bearer.
The remaining claims are similar to instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang (EP3493582B1)WO2018032991A1,
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a method, comprising:
performing, by a communication device, a communication comprising transmitting
packets of a first traffic subflow and packets of a second traffic subflow via a first radio bearer to a second device;(see Huang Fig. 3, 5 and 14 paragraph [0135],[0136]…a PDCP layer and an RLC layer are used as an embodiment for description, but the solution in this embodiment of this application is not limited to these layers. In FIG. 5 (a), five flows are originally mapped to two RBs: a flow 0 (flow 0), a flow 1 (flow 1), and a flow 2 (flow 2) are mapped to an RB A, and a flow 3 (flow 3) and a flow 4 (flow 4) are mapped to an RB B. After receiving a data packet of each flow, a receiver performs, through a single PDCP entity, processing such as header compression, encryption, and PDCP header addition on data packets of flows mapped to a single RB, and then forwards the data packets to an RLC entity. paragraph [0277] explains….the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB; a. )
detecting that further packets of the second traffic subflow are to be transmitted via a
second radio bearer to the second device; (see Huang paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] , the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB) ;and based on the detecting, switching the second traffic flow to the second radio bearer, while continuing to transmit packets of the first traffic flow via the first radio bearer.(See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 2, Huang taught the method of claim 1, as described above. Huang further teaches comprising: based on the second radio bearer being established between the first device and the second device, transmitting further packets of the second traffic flow via the second radio bearer to the second device. (See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 3. The method of claim 1, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the detecting comprises detecting that the further packets of the second traffic subflow are associated with an application that requires a higher priority. (see paragraph [0267] explains ….if the terminal determines that the transmission success rate indicated by the first indication information is greater than a first threshold, the terminal transmits, on the uplink resource, data corresponding to a service whose transmission priority is greater than a first preset priority;…)
Regarding claim 4, Huang taught the method of claim 1, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the method further comprises: based on the detecting, transmitting a packet data unit via the first radio bearer to the second device, wherein the packet data unit comprises an indication of the switching of the second traffic flow to the second radio bearer, wherein the first radio bearer is a default radio bearer. .(See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 5, Huang taught the method of claim 4, as described above. Huang further teaches comprising: receiving confirmation of reception of the packet data unit from the second device, wherein the confirmation of reception may be confirmation of in-order reception of the packet data unit, wherein the transmitting the further packets of the second traffic flow is based on the confirmation. .(See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 6, Huang taught the method of claim 4, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the packet data unit comprises a sequence number. .(See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 7, Huang taught the method of claim 6, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the sequence number causes in-sequence delivery of packets for the radio bearers at the second device. .(See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 8, Huang taught the method of claim 4, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the packet data unit causes the second device to deliver the packets belonging to the second traffic subflow to a higher layer of the second device. .(See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, where the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to at least: perform, by a communication device, a communication comprising transmitting packets of a first traffic subflow and packets of a second traffic subflow via a first radio bearer to a second device; ;(see Huang Fig. 3, 5 and 14 paragraph [0135],[0136]…a PDCP layer and an RLC layer are used as an embodiment for description, but the solution in this embodiment of this application is not limited to these layers. In FIG. 5 (a), five flows are originally mapped to two RBs: a flow 0 (flow 0), a flow 1 (flow 1), and a flow 2 (flow 2) are mapped to an RB A, and a flow 3 (flow 3) and a flow 4 (flow 4) are mapped to an RB B. After receiving a data packet of each flow, a receiver performs, through a single PDCP entity, processing such as header compression, encryption, and PDCP header addition on data packets of flows mapped to a single RB, and then forwards the data packets to an RLC entity. paragraph [0277] explains….the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB; a. )
detect that further packets of the second traffic subflow are to be transmitted via a second radio bearer to the second device; and based on the detecting, switch the second traffic flow to the second radio bearer, while continuing to transmit packets of the first traffic flow via the first radio bearer. (See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 10, Huang taught the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one memory including the computer program code is configured with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:based on the second radio bearer being established between the first device and the second device, transmit further packets of the second traffic flow via the second radio bearer to the second device. (See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 11, Huang taught the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the detecting comprises detecting that the further packets of the second traffic subflow are associated with an application that requires a higher priority. (see paragraph [0267] explains ….if the terminal determines that the transmission success rate indicated by the first indication information is greater than a first threshold, the terminal transmits, on the uplink resource, data corresponding to a service whose transmission priority is greater than a first preset priority;…)
Regarding claim 12, Huang taught the apparatus of claim 9, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the at least one memory including the computer program code is configured with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:based on the detecting, transmit a packet data unit via the first radio bearer to the second device, wherein the packet data unit comprises an indication of the switching of the second traffic flow to the second radio bearer, wherein the first radio bearer is a default radio bearer. .(See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 13, Huang taught the apparatus of claim 12, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the at least one memory including the computer program code is configured with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:receive confirmation of reception of the packet data unit from the second device, wherein the confirmation of reception may be confirmation of in-order reception of the packet data unit, wherein the transmitting the further packets of the second traffic flow is based on the confirmation. (See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 14, Huang taught the apparatus of claim 12, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the packet data unit comprises a sequence number. . .(See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 15, Huang taught the apparatus of claim 14, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the sequence number causes in-sequence delivery of packets for the radio bearers at the second device. . .(See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 16, Huang taught the apparatus of claim 12, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the packet data unit causes the second device to deliver the packets belonging to the second traffic subflow to a higher layer of the second device. .(See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 17, Huang teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code, where the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to at least: receive from a first device a communication comprising packets of a first traffic flow and packets of a second traffic flow via a first radio bearer(see Huang Fig. 3, 5 and 14 paragraph [0135],[0136]…a PDCP layer and an RLC layer are used as an embodiment for description, but the solution in this embodiment of this application is not limited to these layers. In FIG. 5 (a), five flows are originally mapped to two RBs: a flow 0 (flow 0), a flow 1 (flow 1), and a flow 2 (flow 2) are mapped to an RB A, and a flow 3 (flow 3) and a flow 4 (flow 4) are mapped to an RB B. After receiving a data packet of each flow, a receiver performs, through a single PDCP entity, processing such as header compression, encryption, and PDCP header addition on data packets of flows mapped to a single RB, and then forwards the data packets to an RLC entity. paragraph [0277] explains….the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB; a. )
; receive from the first device an indication that further packets of the second traffic flow are switched to a second radio bearer, wherein the first traffic flow continues to be received via the first radio bearer; (see Huang paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] , the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB) and after being switched to the second radio bearer, receive the further packets of the second traffic flow via the second radio bearer. .(See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 18, Huang taught the apparatus of claim 17, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the at least one memory including the computer program code is configured with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive instructions to establish the second radio bearer. .(See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 19, Huang taught the apparatus of claim 17, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the at least one memory including the computer program code is configured with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:receive from the first device a packet data unit comprising the indication of the second traffic flow being switched to the second radio bearer, wherein the packet data unit is received via the first radio bearer, wherein the first radio bearer is a default radio bearer. .(See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 20, Huang taught the apparatus of claim 19, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the at least one memory including the computer program code is configured with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:send confirmation of reception of the packet data unit to the first device, wherein the confirmation of reception may be confirmation of in-order reception of the packet data unit, wherein the further packets of the second traffic flow are received based on the confirmation. .(See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 21, Huang taught the apparatus of claim 19, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the packet data unit comprises a sequence number. .(See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 22, Huang taught the apparatus of claim 21, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the sequence number enables in-sequence delivery of packets for the radio bearers. .(See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Regarding claim 23, Huang taught the apparatus of claim 19, as described above. Huang further teaches wherein the at least one memory including the computer program code is configured with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: deliver the packets belonging to the second traffic flow to a higher layer only after receiving the packet data unit. .(See paragraph [0135],[0136], [0277] …Huang explains …, the apparatus includes: a processing unit 1401, configured to determine an end data packet after a radio bearer RB to which a first flow is mapped changes from a first RB to a second RB, where the end data packet is a last data packet that is of the first flow and that is sent by a first device through the first RB…)
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Gerald Smarth whose telephone number is (571) 270-1923. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 6am-4:30pm ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-7784. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478