Status of Claims
Claims 1-24 are pending in this application.
Claims 1, 12-13, and 18-20 are amended.
Claims 1-24 are presented for examination.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 10, 12-15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Publication 2018/0251153 A1) in view of Rachor (US Publication 2018/0370527 A1), in further view of Niewiadomski et al. (US Publication 2022/0138476 A1), and in further view of Strand (US Publication 2023/0132205 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a vehicular trailer hitching assist system, the vehicular trailer hitching assist system comprising: a rearward-viewing camera mounted at a pickup truck equipped with the vehicular trailer hitching assist system (Li: Para. 35, 54; tow vehicle includes a rear camera that is mounted to provide a view of a rear driving path for the tow vehicle); …… ; wherein the rearward-viewing camera is operable to capture image data (Li: Para. 35; a rear camera that is mounted to provide a view of a rear driving path for the tow vehicle ); wherein the rearward-viewing camera views a hitch of the pickup truck that is within a bed of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 3, 35; trailer hitch may be a ball and socket, a fifth wheel and gooseneck; rear camera that is mounted to provide a view of a rear driving path for the tow vehicle), and wherein, with a trailer positioned rearward of the pickup truck and not coupled to the hitch of the pickup truck, the rearward-viewing camera views a trailer coupler of the trailer that is positioned rearward of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 35, 54; detecting, at a neural network of the vehicle, one or more trailers within one or more images; receives the images from one or more cameras positioned on a rear portion of the vehicle to capture images of a view behind the vehicle); wherein the trailer that is positioned rearward of the pickup truck comprises one selected from the group consisting of (i) a fifth wheel trailer and (ii) a gooseneck trailer (Li: Para. 3; trailer hitch may be a ball and socket, a fifth wheel and gooseneck); an electronic control unit (ECU) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software, wherein the electronic circuitry comprises an image processor operable to process image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera (Li: Para. 35, 56; the tow vehicle includes a rear camera that is mounted to provide a view of a rear driving path for the tow vehicle; one or more computer programs that are executable and/or interpretable on a programmable system including at least one programmable processor); wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system, via image processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera, determines (i) height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck and (ii) position of the trailer coupler relative to the bed of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 16; capturing, at one or more imaging devices in communication with the neural network, one or more images, at least one of the one or more imaging devices positioned on a back side of the trailer facing a rearward direction); wherein, responsive to the determined position of the trailer coupler relative to the bed of the pickup truck being exterior the bed of the pickup truck and responsive to the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck being greater than a first threshold amount, a first reversing maneuver is performed to reverse the pickup truck until the trailer coupler is within the bed of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 49; determining a relative height between a top portion of the hitch ball of the tow vehicle and a bottom portion of the hitch coupler of the selected trailer; if the relative height is not equal to zero, then at block, the method includes adjusting the suspension of the tow vehicle); wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system, with the trailer coupler within the bed of the pickup truck and responsive to the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck being greater than a second threshold amount (Li: Para. 16; capturing, at one or more imaging devices in communication with the neural network, one or more images, at least one of the one or more imaging devices positioned on a back side of the trailer facing a rearward direction) as ……. wherein, responsive to the determined position of the trailer coupler being within the bed of the pickup truck and responsive to the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck being less than or equal to the second threshold amount, a second reversing maneuver is performed to reverse the pickup truck to couple the trailer coupler with the hitch of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 28; a tow vehicle with an autonomous rearward driving and hitching feature provides a driver with a safer and faster experience when hitching the tow vehicle to the trailer).
Li doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the rearward-viewing camera comprises a CMOS imaging array having at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns.
However Rachor, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the rearward-viewing camera comprises a CMOS imaging array having at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns (Rachor: Para. 4, 40; driving assistance system for a vehicle that utilizes one or more sensors such as imaging sensors or cameras (preferably one or more CMOS cameras); at least 1 million photosensor elements).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4) with a reasonable expectation of success because a driving assistance system is improved by a CMOS to capture data representative of objects and scenes exterior of the vehicle (Kim: Para. 4).
Li and Rachor don’t explicitly teach determined based at least in part on processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera.
However Niewiadomski, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determined based at least in part on processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45; vision processing, the imaging system includes a camera mounted on vehicle in a position to capture the fifth-wheel hitch; detected rotation point 28 can be compared to the location of the rear vehicle axle during execution of the hitch angle routine to update the drawbar length L on an ongoing basis).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4) and distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45) with a reasonable expectation of success because continuous distance calculation is needed when a vehicle with a trailer have a continuously moving rotation point (Niewiadomski: Para. 45).
Li, Rachor, and Niewiadomski don’t explicitly teach generates a trailer height adjustment signal and wirelessly communicates the trailer height adjustment signal to trailer height adjustment system of the trailer; wherein, responsive to the trailer height adjustment signal, the trailer height adjustment system of the trailer automatically and without user intervention adjusts the height of the trailer coupler until the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck is less than or equal to the second threshold amount.
However Strand, in the same field of endeavor, teaches generates a trailer height adjustment signal and wirelessly communicates the trailer height adjustment signal to trailer height adjustment system of the trailer (Strand: Para. 47, 185, Fig. 15; trailer may also be provided with automated features for raising and lowering of support means for the trailer; signals (wired or wireless); trailer coupling assembly is further preferably provided with wireless communication means); wherein, responsive to the trailer height adjustment signal, the trailer height adjustment system of the trailer automatically and without user intervention adjusts the height of the trailer coupler until the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck is less than or equal to the second threshold amount (Strand: Para. 151, 187; user then activates the trailer coupling device that will move the trailer towards the vehicle by means of semi-automated or automated control of the coupling assembly that uses the at least one proximity sensor; when the trailer coupling assembly is positioned in the defined secure towing position, which will be a defined position with regards to towing stability).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4), distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45), and the wireless trailer coupling assembly (Strand: Para. 185) with a reasonable expectation of success because the trailer coupling device that moves the trailer towards the vehicle by automated control of the coupling assembly creates automatic trailer to vehicle connection for older drivers (Strand: Para. 20, 187).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the vehicular trailer hitching assist system of claim 1, wherein the second threshold amount is less than the first threshold amount (Li: Para. 33, 48, Fig. 5; an initial position (as shown in FIG. 5A) to a final position (as shown in FIG. 5C); relative height H.sub.R between a top portion of the tow vehicle hitch ball and a bottom portion of the trailer hitch coupler).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the vehicular trailer hitching assist system of claim 1, wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system determines the height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck by comparing height of the trailer coupler to height of the hitch of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 49; determining a relative height between a top portion of the hitch ball of the tow vehicle and a bottom portion of the hitch coupler of the selected trailer and determines if the hitch coupler can releasably receive the hitch ball based on the relative height).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the vehicular trailer hitching assist system of claim 3, wherein, with the position of the trailer coupler relative to the bed of the pickup truck being exterior the bed of the pickup truck, the vehicular trailer hitching assist system determines the height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck by determining height of the trailer coupler relative to a ground surface and comparing the determined height of the trailer coupler to the height of the hitch of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 49; determining a relative height between a top portion of the hitch ball of the tow vehicle and a bottom portion of the hitch coupler of the selected trailer and determines if the hitch coupler can releasably receive the hitch ball based on the relative height).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches the vehicular trailer hitching assist system of claim 1, wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system, with the trailer coupler within the bed of the pickup truck and responsive to the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck being less than or equal to the second threshold amount, automatically performs the second reversing maneuver of the pickup truck to couple the trailer coupler with the hitch of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 28; a tow vehicle with an autonomous rearward driving and hitching feature provides a driver with a safer and faster experience when hitching the tow vehicle to the trailer).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches the vehicular trailer hitching assist system of claim 1, wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system, responsive to the determined position of the trailer coupler relative to the bed of the pickup truck being exterior the bed of the pickup truck and responsive to the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck being less than or equal to the first threshold amount (Li: Para. 49; determining a relative height between a top portion of the hitch ball of the tow vehicle and a bottom portion of the hitch coupler of the selected trailer; if the relative height is not equal to zero, then at block, the method includes adjusting the suspension of the tow vehicle).
Li and Rachor don’t explicitly teach determined based at least in part on processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera.
However Niewiadomski, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determined based at least in part on processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45; vision processing, the imaging system includes a camera mounted on vehicle in a position to capture the fifth-wheel hitch; detected rotation point 28 can be compared to the location of the rear vehicle axle during execution of the hitch angle routine to update the drawbar length L on an ongoing basis).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4) and distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45) with a reasonable expectation of success because continuous distance calculation is needed when a vehicle with a trailer have a continuously moving rotation point (Niewiadomski: Para. 45).
Li, Rachor, and Niewiadomski don’t explicitly teach generates an initial trailer height adjustment signal and wirelessly communicates the initial trailer height adjustment signal to the trailer height adjustment system of the trailer, and wherein, responsive to the initial trailer height adjustment signal, the trailer height adjustment system of the trailer automatically and without user intervention adjusts the height of the trailer coupler until the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck is greater than the first threshold amount.
However Strand, in the same field of endeavor, teaches generates an initial trailer height adjustment signal and wirelessly communicates the initial trailer height adjustment signal to the trailer height adjustment system of the trailer (Strand: Para. 47, Fig. 15; trailer may also be provided with automated features for raising and lowering of support means for the trailer; signals (wired or wireless)), and wherein, responsive to the initial trailer height adjustment signal, the trailer height adjustment system of the trailer automatically and without user intervention adjusts the height of the trailer coupler until the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck is greater than the first threshold amount (Strand: Para. 151, 187; user then activates the trailer coupling device that will move the trailer towards the vehicle by means of semi-automated or automated control of the coupling assembly that uses the at least one proximity sensor; when the trailer coupling assembly is positioned in the defined secure towing position, which will be a defined position with regards to towing stability).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4), distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45), and the wireless trailer coupling assembly (Strand: Para. 185) with a reasonable expectation of success because the trailer coupling device that moves the trailer towards the vehicle by automated control of the coupling assembly creates automatic trailer to vehicle connection for older drivers (Strand: Para. 20, 187).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches a vehicular trailer hitching assist system, the vehicular trailer hitching assist system comprising: a rearward-viewing camera mounted at a pickup truck equipped with the vehicular trailer hitching assist system (Li: Para. 35, 54; tow vehicle includes a rear camera that is mounted to provide a view of a rear driving path for the tow vehicle); …….. wherein the rearward-viewing camera is operable to capture image data (Li: Para. 35; a rear camera that is mounted to provide a view of a rear driving path for the tow vehicle ); wherein the rearward-viewing camera views a hitch of the pickup truck that is within a bed of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 3, 35; trailer hitch may be a ball and socket, a fifth wheel and gooseneck; rear camera that is mounted to provide a view of a rear driving path for the tow vehicle), and wherein, with a trailer positioned rearward of the pickup truck and not coupled to the hitch of the pickup truck, the rearward-viewing camera views a trailer coupler of the trailer that is positioned rearward of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 35, 54; detecting, at a neural network of the vehicle, one or more trailers within one or more images; receives the images from one or more cameras positioned on a rear portion of the vehicle to capture images of a view behind the vehicle); wherein the trailer that is positioned rearward of the pickup truck comprises one selected from the group consisting of (i) a fifth wheel trailer and (ii) a gooseneck trailer (Li: Para. 3; trailer hitch may be a ball and socket, a fifth wheel and gooseneck); an electronic control unit (ECU) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software, wherein the electronic circuitry comprises an image processor operable to process image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera (Li: Para. 35, 56; the tow vehicle includes a rear camera that is mounted to provide a view of a rear driving path for the tow vehicle; one or more computer programs that are executable and/or interpretable on a programmable system including at least one programmable processor); wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system, via image processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera, determines (i) height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck and (ii) position of the trailer coupler relative to the bed of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 16; capturing, at one or more imaging devices in communication with the neural network, one or more images, at least one of the one or more imaging devices positioned on a back side of the trailer facing a rearward direction); wherein, responsive to the determined position of the trailer coupler relative to the bed of the pickup truck being exterior the bed of the pickup truck and responsive to the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck being greater than a first threshold amount, a first reversing maneuver is performed to reverse the pickup truck until the trailer coupler is within the bed of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 49; determining a relative height between a top portion of the hitch ball of the tow vehicle and a bottom portion of the hitch coupler of the selected trailer; if the relative height is not equal to zero, then at block, the method includes adjusting the suspension of the tow vehicle); wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system, with the trailer coupler within the bed of the pickup truck and responsive to the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck being greater than a second threshold amount (Li: Para. 49; determining a relative height between a top portion of the hitch ball of the tow vehicle and a bottom portion of the hitch coupler of the selected trailer; if the relative height is not equal to zero, then at block, the method includes adjusting the suspension of the tow vehicle) as ………… wherein the generated alert indicates to a user (i) that the trailer coupler is below the hitch of the pickup truck by at least the second threshold amount or (ii) that the trailer coupler is above the hitch of the pickup truck by at least the second threshold amount (Li: Para. 16; capturing, at one or more imaging devices in communication with the neural network, one or more images, at least one of the one or more imaging devices positioned on a back side of the trailer facing a rearward direction); …….. wherein, responsive to the determined position of the trailer coupler being within the bed of the pickup truck and responsive to the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck being less than or equal to the second threshold amount, the vehicular trailer hitching assist system performs a second reversing maneuver to reverse the pickup truck to couple the trailer coupler with the hitch of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 28; a tow vehicle with an autonomous rearward driving and hitching feature provides a driver with a safer and faster experience when hitching the tow vehicle to the trailer).
Li doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the rearward-viewing camera comprises a CMOS imaging array having at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns.
However Rachor, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the rearward-viewing camera comprises a CMOS imaging array having at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns (Rachor: Para. 4, 40; driving assistance system for a vehicle that utilizes one or more sensors such as imaging sensors or cameras (preferably one or more CMOS cameras); at least 1 million photosensor elements).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4) with a reasonable expectation of success because a driving assistance system is improved by a CMOS to capture data representative of objects and scenes exterior of the vehicle (Kim: Para. 4).
Li and Rachor don’t explicitly teach determined based at least in part on processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera, generates an alert.
However Niewiadomski, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determined based at least in part on processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera, generates an alert (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45; vision processing, the imaging system includes a camera mounted on vehicle in a position to capture the fifth-wheel hitch; detected rotation point 28 can be compared to the location of the rear vehicle axle during execution of the hitch angle routine to update the drawbar length L on an ongoing basis).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4) and distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45) with a reasonable expectation of success because continuous distance calculation is needed when a vehicle with a trailer have a continuously moving rotation point (Niewiadomski: Para. 45).
Li, Rachor, and Niewiadomski don’t explicitly teach generates a trailer height adjustment signal, wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system wirelessly communicates the trailer height adjustment signal to a trailer height adjustment system of the trailer ………. wherein, responsive to the trailer height adjustment signal the trailer height adjustment system of the trailer automatically and without user intervention adjusts the height of the trailer coupler until the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck is less than or equal to the second threshold amount.
However Strand, in the same field of endeavor, teaches generates a trailer height adjustment signal, wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system wirelessly communicates the trailer height adjustment signal to a trailer height adjustment system of the trailer (Strand: Para. 47, Fig. 15; trailer may also be provided with automated features for raising and lowering of support means for the trailer; signals (wired or wireless)) ………. wherein, responsive to the trailer height adjustment signal the trailer height adjustment system of the trailer automatically and without user intervention adjusts the height of the trailer coupler until the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck is less than or equal to the second threshold amount (Strand: Para. 151, 187; user then activates the trailer coupling device that will move the trailer towards the vehicle by means of semi-automated or automated control of the coupling assembly that uses the at least one proximity sensor; when the trailer coupling assembly is positioned in the defined secure towing position, which will be a defined position with regards to towing stability).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4), distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45), and the wireless trailer coupling assembly (Strand: Para. 185) with a reasonable expectation of success because the trailer coupling device that moves the trailer towards the vehicle by automated control of the coupling assembly creates automatic trailer to vehicle connection for older drivers (Strand: Para. 20, 187).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches the vehicular trailer hitching assist system of claim 13, wherein the second threshold amount is less than the first threshold amount (Li: Para. 33, 48, Fig. 5; an initial position (as shown in FIG. 5A) to a final position (as shown in FIG. 5C); relative height H.sub.R between a top portion of the tow vehicle hitch ball and a bottom portion of the trailer hitch coupler).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches the vehicular trailer hitching assist system of claim 13, wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system determines the height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck by comparing height of the trailer coupler to height of the hitch of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 49; determining a relative height between a top portion of the hitch ball of the tow vehicle and a bottom portion of the hitch coupler of the selected trailer and determines if the hitch coupler can releasably receive the hitch ball based on the relative height).
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches the vehicular trailer hitching assist system of claim 15, wherein, with the position of the trailer coupler relative to the bed of the pickup truck being exterior the bed of the pickup truck, the vehicular trailer hitching assist system determines the height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck by determining height of the trailer coupler relative to a ground surface and comparing the determined height of the trailer coupler to the height of the hitch of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 49; determining a relative height between a top portion of the hitch ball of the tow vehicle and a bottom portion of the hitch coupler of the selected trailer and determines if the hitch coupler can releasably receive the hitch ball based on the relative height).
Regarding claim 19, Li teaches the vehicular trailer hitching assist system of claim 13, wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system, responsive to the determined position of the trailer coupler relative to the bed of the pickup truck being exterior the bed of the pickup truck and responsive to the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck being less than or equal to the first threshold amount (Li: Para. 49; determining a relative height between a top portion of the hitch ball of the tow vehicle and a bottom portion of the hitch coupler of the selected trailer; if the relative height is not equal to zero, then at block, the method includes adjusting the suspension of the tow vehicle).
Li and Rachor don’t explicitly teach determined based at least in part on processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera.
However Niewiadomski, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determined based at least in part on processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45; vision processing, the imaging system includes a camera mounted on vehicle in a position to capture the fifth-wheel hitch; detected rotation point 28 can be compared to the location of the rear vehicle axle during execution of the hitch angle routine to update the drawbar length L on an ongoing basis).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4) and distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45) with a reasonable expectation of success because continuous distance calculation is needed when a vehicle with a trailer have a continuously moving rotation point (Niewiadomski: Para. 45).
Li, Rachor, and Niewiadomski don’t explicitly teach generates an initial trailer height adjustment signal and wirelessly communicated the initial trailer height adjustment signal to the trailer height adjustment system of the trailer, and wherein, responsive to the initial trailer height adjustment signal, the trailer height adjustment system of the trailer is automatically and without user intervention adjusts the height of the trailer coupler until the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck is greater than the first threshold amount.
However Strand, in the same field of endeavor, teaches generates an initial trailer height adjustment signal and wirelessly communicated the initial trailer height adjustment signal to the trailer height adjustment system of the trailer (Strand: Para. 47, Fig. 15; trailer may also be provided with automated features for raising and lowering of support means for the trailer; signals (wired or wireless)), and wherein, responsive to the initial trailer height adjustment signal, the trailer height adjustment system of the trailer is automatically and without user intervention adjusts the height of the trailer coupler until the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck is greater than the first threshold amount (Strand: Para. 151, 187; user then activates the trailer coupling device that will move the trailer towards the vehicle by means of semi-automated or automated control of the coupling assembly that uses the at least one proximity sensor; when the trailer coupling assembly is positioned in the defined secure towing position, which will be a defined position with regards to towing stability).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4), distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45), and the wireless trailer coupling assembly (Strand: Para. 185) with a reasonable expectation of success because the trailer coupling device that moves the trailer towards the vehicle by automated control of the coupling assembly creates automatic trailer to vehicle connection for older drivers (Strand: Para. 20, 187).
Claims 4, 6, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Publication 2018/0251153 A1) in view of Rachor (US Publication 2018/0370527 A1), Niewiadomski et al. (US Publication 2022/0138476 A1), Strand (US Publication 2023/0132205 A1), and in further view of Bochenek et al. (US Patent 9,889,714 B2).
Regarding claim 4, Li, Rachor, Niewiadomski, and Strand don’t explicitly teach wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system determines the height of the hitch of the pickup truck via image processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera.
However Bochenek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system determines the height of the hitch of the pickup truck via image processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera (Bochenek: Col. 3 Lines 27-40; the controller can determine a hitch height of the hitch and a coupler height of the coupler relative to the ground).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4), distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45), the wireless trailer coupling assembly (Strand: Para. 185), and the height comparison of the hitch and the coupler relative to the ground based on the rearview image (Bochenek: Col. 3 Lines 27-40) with a reasonable expectation of success because warning the driver when the hitch may crash into the coupler by image height comparison allows the already present rearview camera to aid the driver in a hitching or unhitching process (Bochenek: Col. 3 Lines 27-40).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the vehicular trailer hitching assist system of claim 1, wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system, with the trailer coupler within the bed of the pickup truck and responsive to the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck being greater than the second threshold amount, generates an alert (Li: Para. 49; determining a relative height between a top portion of the hitch ball of the tow vehicle and a bottom portion of the hitch coupler of the selected trailer; if the relative height is not equal to zero, then at block, the method includes adjusting the suspension of the tow vehicle).
Li, Rachor, Niewiadomski, and Strand don’t explicitly teach wherein the generated alert indicates to a user (i) that the trailer coupler is below the hitch of the pickup truck by at least the threshold amount or (ii) that the trailer coupler is above the hitch of the pickup truck by at least the threshold amount.
However Bochenek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the generated alert indicates to a user (i) that the trailer coupler is below the hitch of the pickup truck by at least the threshold amount or (ii) that the trailer coupler is above the hitch of the pickup truck by at least the threshold amount (Bochenek: Col. 4 Line 62 - Col. 5 Line 2; if the relative height is less than the predetermined threshold, the controller determines that the hitch may crash into the coupler; controller generates an alert to warn the driver that the hitch may crash into the coupler).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4), distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45), the wireless trailer coupling assembly (Strand: Para. 185), and the height comparison of the hitch and the coupler relative to the ground based on the rearview image (Bochenek: Col. 3 Lines 27-40) with a reasonable expectation of success because warning the driver when the hitch may crash into the coupler by image height comparison allows the already present rearview camera to aid the driver in a hitching or unhitching process (Bochenek: Col. 3 Lines 27-40).
Regarding claim 16, Li, Rachor, Niewiadomski, and Strand don’t explicitly teach wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system determines the height of the hitch of the pickup truck via image processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera.
However Bochenek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system determines the height of the hitch of the pickup truck via image processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera (Bochenek: Col. 3 Lines 27-40; the controller can determine a hitch height of the hitch and a coupler height of the coupler relative to the ground).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4), distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45), the wireless trailer coupling assembly (Strand: Para. 185), and the height comparison of the hitch and the coupler relative to the ground based on the rearview image (Bochenek: Col. 3 Lines 27-40) with a reasonable expectation of success because warning the driver when the hitch may crash into the coupler by image height comparison allows the already present rearview camera to aid the driver in a hitching or unhitching process (Bochenek: Col. 3 Lines 27-40).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Publication 2018/0251153 A1) in view of Rachor (US Publication 2018/0370527 A1), Niewiadomski et al. (US Publication 2022/0138476 A1), Strand (US Publication 2023/0132205 A1), Bochenek et al. (US Patent 9,889,714 B2), and in further view of Otterbacher et al. (US Patent 6,100,795).
Regarding claim 7, Li, Rachor, Niewiadomski, Strand, and Bochenek don’t explicitly teach wherein the generated alert comprises actuating a turn signal indicator of the pickup truck.
However Otterbacher, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the generated alert comprises actuating a turn signal indicator of the pickup truck (Otterbacher: Col. 4 Lines 7-21; control unit includes a turn right indicator and a turn left indicator for visually indicating to the user whether to turn left or right while backing toward the conventional trailer).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4), distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45), the wireless trailer coupling assembly (Strand: Para. 185), the height comparison of the hitch and the coupler relative to the ground based on the rearview image (Bochenek: Col. 3 Lines 27-40), and turn indicators used as the trailer hitch versus the coupler position notification (Otterbacher: Col. 4 Lines 7-21) with a reasonable expectation of success because using the left and the right turn indicators to display proper alignment between the vehicle’s ball hitch and the trailer’s coupler (Otterbacher: Col. 4 Lines 7-21).
Regarding claim 8, Li, Rachor, Niewiadomski, Strand, and Bochenek don’t explicitly teach wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system actuates a first turn indicator of the pickup truck to indicate to the user that the trailer coupler is below the hitch of the pickup truck by at least the threshold amount, and wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system actuates a second turn indicator of the pickup truck to indicate to the user that the trailer coupler is above the hitch of the pickup truck by at least the threshold amount.
However Otterbacher, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system actuates a first turn indicator of the pickup truck to indicate to the user that the trailer coupler is below the hitch of the pickup truck by at least the threshold amount, and wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system actuates a second turn indicator of the pickup truck to indicate to the user that the trailer coupler is above the hitch of the pickup truck by at least the threshold amount.
Otterbacher includes visually indicating to the driver the position of the vehicle’s hitch relative to the trailer’s coupler using the left and the right turn indicators. The prior art uses the left turn indicator when the vehicle needs to move left to align the hitch with the coupler and uses the right turn indicator when the vehicle needs to move right to align the hitch with the coupler (Otterbacher: Col. 4 Lines 7-21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the right and the left turn indicators to indicate a needed up or down alignment between the hitch and the coupler.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4), distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45), the wireless trailer coupling assembly (Strand: Para. 185), the height comparison of the hitch and the coupler relative to the ground based on the rearview image (Bochenek: Col. 3 Lines 27-40), and turn indicators used as the trailer hitch versus the coupler position notification (Otterbacher: Col. 4 Lines 7-21) with a reasonable expectation of success because using the left and the right turn indicators to display proper alignment between the vehicle’s ball hitch and the trailer’s coupler (Otterbacher: Col. 4 Lines 7-21).
Regarding claim 9, Li, Rachor, Niewiadomski, and Strand don’t explicitly teach wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system generates a first alert responsive to the trailer coupler being below the hitch of the pickup truck by at least the threshold amount.
However Bochenek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system generates a first alert responsive to the trailer coupler being below the hitch of the pickup truck by at least the threshold amount (Bochenek: Col. 4 Line 62 - Col. 5 Line 2; if the relative height is less than the predetermined threshold, the controller determines that the hitch may crash into the coupler; controller generates an alert to warn the driver that the hitch may crash into the coupler).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4), distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45), the wireless trailer coupling assembly (Strand: Para. 185), and the height comparison of the hitch and the coupler relative to the ground based on the rearview image (Bochenek: Col. 3 Lines 27-40) with a reasonable expectation of success because warning the driver when the hitch may crash into the coupler by image height comparison allows the already present rearview camera to aid the driver in a hitching or unhitching process (Bochenek: Col. 3 Lines 27-40).
Li, Rachor, Niewiadomski, Strand, and Bochenek don’t explicitly teach wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system generates a second alert responsive to the trailer coupler being above the hitch of the pickup truck by at least the threshold amount.
However Otterbacher, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system generates a second alert responsive to the trailer coupler being above the hitch of the pickup truck by at least the threshold amount.
Otterbacher includes visually indicating to the driver the position of the vehicle’s hitch relative to the trailer’s coupler using the left and the right turn indicators. The prior art uses the left turn indicator when the vehicle needs to move left to align the hitch with the coupler and uses the right turn indicator when the vehicle needs to move right to align the hitch with the coupler (Otterbacher: Col. 4 Lines 7-21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the right and the left turn indicators to indicate a needed up or down alignment between the hitch and the coupler.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4), distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45), the wireless trailer coupling assembly (Strand: Para. 185), the height comparison of the hitch and the coupler relative to the ground based on the rearview image (Bochenek: Col. 3 Lines 27-40), and turn indicators used as the trailer hitch versus the coupler position notification (Otterbacher: Col. 4 Lines 7-21) with a reasonable expectation of success because using the left and the right turn indicators to display proper alignment between the vehicle’s ball hitch and the trailer’s coupler (Otterbacher: Col. 4 Lines 7-21).
Claim 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Publication 2018/0251153 A1) in view of Rachor (US Publication 2018/0370527 A1), Niewiadomski et al. (US Publication 2022/0138476 A1), Strand (US Publication 2023/0132205 A1), Bochenek et al. (US Patent 9,889,714 B2), Otterbacher et al. (US Patent 6,100,795), and in further view of Diessner (US Publication 2018/0215313 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Li, Rachor, Niewiadomski, Strand, Bochenek, and Otterbacher don’t explicitly teach wherein the rearward-viewing camera is disposed at a center high-mounted stop lamp (CHMSL) of the pickup truck.
However Diessner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the rearward-viewing camera is disposed at a center high-mounted stop lamp (CHMSL) of the pickup truck (Diessner: Para. 12; a second rearward viewing camera that is disposed at a center high mounted stop lamp (CHMSL) location at the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4), distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45), the wireless trailer coupling assembly (Strand: Para. 185), the height comparison of the hitch and the coupler relative to the ground based on the rearview image (Bochenek: Col. 3 Lines 27-40), turn indicators used as the trailer hitch versus the coupler position notification (Otterbacher: Col. 4 Lines 7-21), and a rearward center high mount stop lamp (Diessner: Para. 12) with a reasonable expectation of success because rearward viewing cameras used in autonomously maneuvering a vehicle in reverse and aligning the tow ball with the trailer hitch improve an automatic trailer hitching (Diessner: Para. 17).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Publication 2018/0251153 A1) in view of Rachor (US Publication 2018/0370527 A1), Niewiadomski et al. (US Publication 2022/0138476 A1), Strand (US Publication 2023/0132205 A1), and in further view of Otterbacher et al. (US Patent 6,100,795).
Regarding claim 18, Li, Rachor, Niewiadomski, and Strand don’t explicitly teach wherein the generated alert comprises actuating a turn signal indicator of the pickup truck, and wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system actuates a first turn indicator of the pickup truck to indicate to the user that the trailer coupler is below the hitch of the pickup truck by at least the second threshold amount, and wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system actuates a second turn indicator of the pickup truck to indicate to the user that the trailer coupler is above the hitch of the pickup truck by at least the second threshold amount.
However Otterbacher, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the generated alert comprises actuating a turn signal indicator of the pickup truck (Otterbacher: Col. 4 Lines 7-21; control unit includes a turn right indicator and a turn left indicator for visually indicating to the user whether to turn left or right while backing toward the conventional trailer), and wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system actuates a first turn indicator of the pickup truck to indicate to the user that the trailer coupler is below the hitch of the pickup truck by at least the second threshold amount, and wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system actuates a second turn indicator of the pickup truck to indicate to the user that the trailer coupler is above the hitch of the pickup truck by at least the second threshold amount.
Otterbacher includes visually indicating to the driver the position of the vehicle’s hitch relative to the trailer’s coupler using the left and the right turn indicators. The prior art uses the left turn indicator when the vehicle needs to move left to align the hitch with the coupler and uses the right turn indicator when the vehicle needs to move right to align the hitch with the coupler (Otterbacher: Col. 4 Lines 7-21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the right and the left turn indicators to indicate a needed up or down alignment between the hitch and the coupler.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4), distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45), the wireless trailer coupling assembly (Strand: Para. 185), and turn indicators used as the trailer hitch versus the coupler position notification (Otterbacher: Col. 4 Lines 7-21) with a reasonable expectation of success because using the left and the right turn indicators to display proper alignment between the vehicle’s ball hitch and the trailer’s coupler (Otterbacher: Col. 4 Lines 7-21).
Claims 20-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Publication 2018/0251153 A1) in view of Rachor (US Publication 2018/0370527 A1), Strand (US Publication 2023/0132205 A1), and in further view of Niewiadomski et al. (US Publication 2022/0138476 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches a vehicular trailer hitching assist system, the vehicular trailer hitching assist system comprising: a rearward-viewing camera mounted at a pickup truck equipped with the vehicular trailer hitching assist system (Li: Para. 35, 54; tow vehicle includes a rear camera that is mounted to provide a view of a rear driving path for the tow vehicle); …….. wherein the rearward-viewing camera is operable to capture image data (Li: Para. 35; a rear camera that is mounted to provide a view of a rear driving path for the tow vehicle); wherein the rearward-viewing camera views a hitch of the pickup truck that is within a bed of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 3, 35; trailer hitch may be a ball and socket, a fifth wheel and gooseneck; rear camera that is mounted to provide a view of a rear driving path for the tow vehicle), and wherein, with a trailer positioned rearward of the pickup truck and not coupled to the hitch of the pickup truck, the rearward-viewing camera views a trailer coupler of the trailer that is positioned rearward of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 35, 54; detecting, at a neural network of the vehicle, one or more trailers within one or more images; receives the images from one or more cameras positioned on a rear portion of the vehicle to capture images of a view behind the vehicle); wherein the trailer that is positioned rearward of the pickup truck comprises one selected from the group consisting of (i) a fifth wheel trailer and (ii) a gooseneck trailer (Li: Para. 3; trailer hitch may be a ball and socket, a fifth wheel and gooseneck); an electronic control unit (ECU) comprising electronic circuitry and associated software, wherein the electronic circuitry comprises an image processor operable to process image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera (Li: Para. 35, 56; the tow vehicle includes a rear camera that is mounted to provide a view of a rear driving path for the tow vehicle; one or more computer programs that are executable and/or interpretable on a programmable system including at least one programmable processor); wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system, via image processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera, determines (i) height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck and (ii) position of the trailer coupler relative to the bed of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 16; capturing, at one or more imaging devices in communication with the neural network, one or more images, at least one of the one or more imaging devices positioned on a back side of the trailer facing a rearward direction); …….. wherein, responsive to the determined position of the trailer coupler relative to the bed of the pickup truck being exterior the bed of the pickup truck and responsive to the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck being greater than the first threshold amount, a first reversing maneuver is performed to reverse the pickup truck until the trailer coupler is within the bed of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 49; determining a relative height between a top portion of the hitch ball of the tow vehicle and a bottom portion of the hitch coupler of the selected trailer; if the relative height is not equal to zero, then at block, the method includes adjusting the suspension of the tow vehicle); wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system, with the trailer coupler within the bed of the pickup truck and responsive to the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck being greater than a second threshold amount (Li: Para. 16; capturing, at one or more imaging devices in communication with the neural network, one or more images, at least one of the one or more imaging devices positioned on a back side of the trailer facing a rearward direction) as ……… wherein, responsive to the determined position of the trailer coupler being within the bed of the pickup truck and responsive to the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck being less than or equal to the second threshold amount, the vehicular trailer hitching assist system performs a second reversing maneuver to reverse the pickup truck to couple the trailer coupler with the hitch of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 28; a tow vehicle with an autonomous rearward driving and hitching feature provides a driver with a safer and faster experience when hitching the tow vehicle to the trailer).
Li doesn’t explicitly teach wherein the rearward-viewing camera comprises a CMOS imaging array having at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns.
However Rachor, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the rearward-viewing camera comprises a CMOS imaging array having at least one million photosensors arranged in rows and columns (Rachor: Para. 4, 40; driving assistance system for a vehicle that utilizes one or more sensors such as imaging sensors or cameras (preferably one or more CMOS cameras); at least 1 million photosensor elements).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4) with a reasonable expectation of success because a driving assistance system is improved by a CMOS to capture data representative of objects and scenes exterior of the vehicle (Kim: Para. 4).
Li and Rachor don’t explicitly teach wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system, responsive to the determined position of the trailer coupler relative to the bed of the pickup truck being exterior the bed of the pickup truck and responsive to the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck being less than or equal to a first threshold amount, generates a first trailer height adjustment signal and wirelessly communicates the first trailer height adjustment signal to a trailer height adjustment system of the trailer, and wherein, responsive to the first trailer height adjustment signal, the trailer height adjustment system of the trailer automatically and without user intervention adjusts the height of the trailer coupler until the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck is greater than the first threshold amount; ………….. generates a second trailer height adjustment signal and wirelessly communicates the second trailer height adjustment signal to the trailer height adjustment system of the trailer; wherein, responsive to the second trailer height adjustment signal, the trailer height adjustment system of the trailer automatically and without user intervention adjusts the height of the trailer coupler until the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck is less than or equal to the second threshold amount.
However Strand, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system, responsive to the determined position of the trailer coupler relative to the bed of the pickup truck being exterior the bed of the pickup truck and responsive to the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck being less than or equal to a first threshold amount, generates a first trailer height adjustment signal and wirelessly communicates the first trailer height adjustment signal to a trailer height adjustment system of the trailer (Strand: Para. 151, 187; user then activates the trailer coupling device that will move the trailer towards the vehicle by means of semi-automated or automated control of the coupling assembly that uses the at least one proximity sensor; when the trailer coupling assembly is positioned in the defined secure towing position, which will be a defined position with regards to towing stability), and wherein, responsive to the first trailer height adjustment signal, the trailer height adjustment system of the trailer automatically and without user intervention adjusts the height of the trailer coupler until the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck is greater than the first threshold amount (Strand: Para. 151, 187; user then activates the trailer coupling device that will move the trailer towards the vehicle by means of semi-automated or automated control of the coupling assembly that uses the at least one proximity sensor; when the trailer coupling assembly is positioned in the defined secure towing position, which will be a defined position with regards to towing stability) ………….. generates a second trailer height adjustment signal and wirelessly communicates the second trailer height adjustment signal to the trailer height adjustment system of the trailer (Strand: Para. 47, Fig. 15; trailer may also be provided with automated features for raising and lowering of support means for the trailer; signals (wired or wireless)); wherein, responsive to the second trailer height adjustment signal, the trailer height adjustment system of the trailer automatically and without user intervention adjusts the height of the trailer coupler until the determined height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck is less than or equal to the second threshold amount (Strand: Para. 151, 187; user then activates the trailer coupling device that will move the trailer towards the vehicle by means of semi-automated or automated control of the coupling assembly that uses the at least one proximity sensor; when the trailer coupling assembly is positioned in the defined secure towing position, which will be a defined position with regards to towing stability).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4), and the wireless trailer coupling assembly (Strand: Para. 185) with a reasonable expectation of success because the trailer coupling device that moves the trailer towards the vehicle by automated control of the coupling assembly creates automatic trailer to vehicle connection for older drivers (Strand: Para. 20, 187).
Li, Rachor, and Strand don’t explicitly teach determined based at least in part on processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera.
However Niewiadomski, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determined based at least in part on processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45; vision processing, the imaging system includes a camera mounted on vehicle in a position to capture the fifth-wheel hitch; detected rotation point 28 can be compared to the location of the rear vehicle axle during execution of the hitch angle routine to update the drawbar length L on an ongoing basis).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4), the wireless trailer coupling assembly (Strand: Para. 185), and distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45) with a reasonable expectation of success because continuous distance calculation is needed when a vehicle with a trailer have a continuously moving rotation point (Niewiadomski: Para. 45).
Regarding claim 21, Li teaches the vehicular trailer hitching assist system of claim 20, wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system determines the height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck by comparing height of the trailer coupler to height of the hitch of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 49; determining a relative height between a top portion of the hitch ball of the tow vehicle and a bottom portion of the hitch coupler of the selected trailer and determines if the hitch coupler can releasably receive the hitch ball based on the relative height).
Regarding claim 23, Li teaches the vehicular trailer hitching assist system of claim 21, wherein, with the position of the trailer coupler relative to the bed of the pickup truck being exterior the bed of the pickup truck, the vehicular trailer hitching assist system determines the height of the trailer coupler relative to the hitch of the pickup truck by determining height of the trailer coupler relative to a ground surface and comparing the determined height of the trailer coupler to the height of the hitch of the pickup truck (Li: Para. 49; determining a relative height between a top portion of the hitch ball of the tow vehicle and a bottom portion of the hitch coupler of the selected trailer and determines if the hitch coupler can releasably receive the hitch ball based on the relative height).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Publication 2018/0251153 A1) in view of Rachor (US Publication 2018/0370527 A1), Strand (US Publication 2023/0132205 A1), Niewiadomski et al. (US Publication 2022/0138476 A1), and in further view of Bochenek et al. (US Patent 9,889,714 B2).
Regarding claim 22, Li, Rachor, Strand, and Niewiadomski don’t explicitly teach wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system determines the height of the hitch of the pickup truck via image processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera.
However Bochenek, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the vehicular trailer hitching assist system determines the height of the hitch of the pickup truck via image processing at the ECU of image data captured by the rearward-viewing camera (Bochenek: Col. 3 Lines 27-40; the controller can determine a hitch height of the hitch and a coupler height of the coupler relative to the ground).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4), the wireless trailer coupling assembly (Strand: Para. 185), and distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45) and the height comparison of the hitch and the coupler relative to the ground based on the rearview image (Bochenek: Col. 3 Lines 27-40) with a reasonable expectation of success because warning the driver when the hitch may crash into the coupler by image height comparison allows the already present rearview camera to aid the driver in a hitching or unhitching process (Bochenek: Col. 3 Lines 27-40).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Publication 2018/0251153 A1) in view of Rachor (US Publication 2018/0370527 A1), Strand (US Publication 2023/0132205 A1), Niewiadomski et al. (US Publication 2022/0138476 A1), and in further view of Diessner (US Publication 2018/0215313 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Li, Rachor, Strand, and Niewiadomski don’t explicitly teach wherein the rearward- viewing camera is disposed at a center high-mounted stop lamp (CHMSL) of the pickup truck.
However Diessner, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the rearward- viewing camera is disposed at a center high-mounted stop lamp (CHMSL) of the pickup truck (Diessner: Para. 12; a second rearward viewing camera that is disposed at a center high mounted stop lamp (CHMSL) location at the vehicle)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the autonomously coupling tow vehicle to a trailer (Li: Para. 28) with a rearview CMOS camera (Rachor: Para. 4), the wireless trailer coupling assembly (Strand: Para. 185), and distance calculations from the rearview camera (Niewiadomski: Para. 39, 45), and a rearward center high mount stop lamp (Diessner: Para. 12) with a reasonable expectation of success because rearward viewing cameras used in autonomously maneuvering a vehicle in reverse and aligning the tow ball with the trailer hitch improve an automatic trailer hitching (Diessner: Para. 17).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 27 March 2026, with respect to claims 1-24 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663