DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I (claims 8-14) in the reply filed on 07/31/2026 is acknowledged.
It is pointed out to the applicant that amongst the elected claims, claims 12-13 remain directed to the non-elected Species II (two fluidically distinct coolant loops, each loop provided with corresponding heat exchanger for the cabin). Thus, claims 12-13 are hereby also withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the foreign application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/26/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
main heat source and auxiliary heat source in at least claim 8.
electrical power source in at least claim 14.
Main heat source is interpreted to cover an internal combustion engine as per [0022] of applicant specification, and equivalents thereof.
Auxiliary heat source is interpreted to cover an electrical heater as per [0026] of applicant specification, and equivalents thereof.
Electrical power source is interpreted to cover a battery as per [0026] of applicant specification, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bennett (US 20230024674 A1).
Regarding claim 8:
Bennett discloses a heating arrangement (Fig. 1) for a cabin #14 of a work machine ([0019]), the heating arrangement comprising:
one or more heat exchangers #30 ([0020]);
a main heating system including:
a main heat source #10 powered by a main energy form to impart heat to a main coolant stream (via at least #130); and
a main fluid circuit (made of at least #130 & #160) fluidly coupled between the main heat source and the one or more heat exchangers to supply the main coolant stream from the main heat source to the one or more heat exchangers for circulation therewithin such that the main coolant stream dissipates heat to an air flowing across the one or more heat exchangers and into the cabin to provide main heat energy into the cabin ([0020]); and
an auxiliary heating system including:
an auxiliary heat source #120 powered by an auxiliary energy form alternate to the main energy form, the auxiliary heat source configured to impart heat to an auxiliary coolant stream different from the main coolant stream ([0024]); and
an auxiliary fluid circuit (made of at least #180 & #142) fluidly coupled between the auxiliary heat source with the one or more heat exchangers to supply the auxiliary coolant stream from the auxiliary heat source to the one or more heat exchangers for circulation therewithin ([0024]),
wherein, during the circulation of the auxiliary coolant stream within the one or more heat exchangers, the auxiliary coolant stream dissipates heat to the air blowing across the one or more heat exchangers and into the cabin to provide supplementary heat energy into the cabin ([0037]).
Regarding claim 9:
Bennett further discloses wherein the main coolant stream and the auxiliary coolant stream are one and same coolant ([0037]).
Regarding claim 10:
Bennett further discloses a flow control valve (made if #132 & #150) configured to move between a first position and a second position, wherein: at the first position, the flow control valve restricts the supply of the auxiliary coolant stream from the auxiliary heat source to the one or more heat exchangers through the auxiliary fluid circuit and facilitates the supply of the main coolant stream from the main heat source to the one or more heat exchangers through the main fluid circuit, and at the second position, the flow control valve restricts the supply of the main coolant stream from the main heat source to the one or more heat exchangers through the main fluid circuit and facilitates the supply of the auxiliary coolant stream from the auxiliary heat source to the one or more heat exchangers through the auxiliary fluid circuit ([0026], [0031], & [0035]).
Regarding claim 11:
Bennett further discloses wherein the flow control valve is moved from the first position to the second position upon activation of the auxiliary heat source ([0026], [0031], & [0035]).
Regarding claim 14:
Bennett further wherein the auxiliary energy form includes an electrical energy form stored in one or more electrical power sources ([0024]) and the main energy form includes a chemical energy form stored in one or more combustion fuels ([0019-0020]).
Claim(s) 8-11 and 14 is/are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Enomoto (US 20170197490 A1).
Regarding claim 8:
Enomoto discloses a heating arrangement (Fig. 7; heating via #17) for a cabin of a work machine, the heating arrangement comprising:
one or more heat exchangers #17;
a main heating system including:
a main heat source #43 powered by a main energy form to impart heat to a main coolant stream ([0086-0087]); and
a main fluid circuit #48 fluidly coupled between the main heat source and the one or more heat exchangers to supply the main coolant stream from the main heat source to the one or more heat exchangers for circulation therewithin such that the main coolant stream dissipates heat to an air flowing across the one or more heat exchangers and into the cabin to provide main heat energy into the cabin (Fig. 6); and an auxiliary heating system including:
an auxiliary heat source #15 powered by an auxiliary energy form alternate to the main energy form (Fig. 5), the auxiliary heat source configured to impart heat to an auxiliary coolant stream different from the main coolant stream (Fig. 5); and
an auxiliary fluid circuit #C2 fluidly coupled between the auxiliary heat source with the one or more heat exchangers to supply the auxiliary coolant stream from the auxiliary heat source to the one or more heat exchangers for circulation therewithin (Fig. 5, [0120]),
wherein, during the circulation of the auxiliary coolant stream within the one or more heat exchangers, the auxiliary coolant stream dissipates heat to the air blowing across the one or more heat exchangers and into the cabin to provide supplementary heat energy into the cabin (see Fig. 5-6 & associated description thereof).
Regarding claim 9:
Enomoto further discloses wherein the main coolant stream and the auxiliary coolant stream are one and same coolant (see Fig. 5-6 & associated description thereof).
Regarding claim 10:
Enomoto further discloses a flow control valve (both of #38) configured to move between a first position and a second position, wherein: at the first position, the flow control valve restricts the supply of the auxiliary coolant stream from the auxiliary heat source to the one or more heat exchangers through the auxiliary fluid circuit and facilitates the supply of the main coolant stream from the main heat source to the one or more heat exchangers through the main fluid circuit, and at the second position, the flow control valve restricts the supply of the main coolant stream from the main heat source to the one or more heat exchangers through the main fluid circuit and facilitates the supply of the auxiliary coolant stream from the auxiliary heat source to the one or more heat exchangers through the auxiliary fluid circuit (see Fig. 5-6 & associated description thereof).
Regarding claim 11:
Enomoto further discloses wherein the flow control valve is moved from the first position to the second position upon activation of the auxiliary heat source (see Fig. 5-6 & associated description thereof).
Regarding claim 14:
Enomoto further discloses wherein the auxiliary energy form includes an electrical energy form stored in one or more electrical power sources and the main energy form includes a chemical energy form stored in one or more combustion fuels (see Fig. 5-6 & associated description thereof. Also see [0036]. Note: “the auxiliary energy form” has not been claimed as part of the invention. Limitations pertaining to said auxiliary energy form are functional limitations).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park (US 20230040086 A1), Johnston (US 20190118610 A1), Kakade (US 10005339 B2), Hong (US 20170267066 A1), and Blumenstock (US 20140097261 A1).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763