DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 8-10, 15-18, 21-23, and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 7, 9, 11-12, and 16 of copending Application No. 18/817,483 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both teach the same inventive concpet.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 1, Application No. 18/817,483 teaches a device of a mobile communication system, the device comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the device to perform determining a safe output power level of the device based, at least in part, on a determined maximum sensitivity degradation type of the device, wherein said safe output power level is a transmit power of the device at which self-interference would affect sensitivity of a receiver of the device with no more than a threshold amount; receiving a power command, from a network node of the mobile communication system, for controlling the transmit power of the device; determining whether the determined safe output level would be exceeded with implementing the received power command; and controlling device transmissions in accordance with a self-interference control algorithm in the event that it is determined that the safe output power level would be exceeded with implementing said power command (Claims 1 and 3-4).
Regarding claim 2, Application No. 18/817,483 teaches wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the device to limit a transmit power of the device to the determined safe output power level in the event that it is determined that the safe output level would be exceeded with implementing said power command (Claims 1 and 3-4).
Regarding claim 3, Application No. 18/817,483 teaches wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the device to control the transmit power level of the device (Claims 1 and 3-4).
Regarding claim 4, Application No. 18/817,483 teaches wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the device to adjust timings of one or more uplink transmissions of the device (Claim 7).
Regarding claim 8, Application No. 18/817,483 teaches wherein the device is further caused to perform determining said maximum sensitivity degradation type (Claims 1 and 3-4).
Regarding claim 9, Application No. 18/817,483 teaches wherein the device is further caused to perform determining a maximum sensitivity degradation value for the device, wherein said safe output power level is determined based, at least in part, on said determined maximum sensitivity degradation value (Claims 1 and 3-4).
Regarding claim 10, Application No. 18/817,483 teaches wherein the maximum sensitivity degradation value is based, at least in part, on a carrier aggregation configuration or a dual connectivity configuration of the device (Claims 1 and 3-4).
Regarding claim 15, Application No. 18/817,483 teaches a method comprising determining a safe output power level of a device of a mobile communication system based, at least in part, on a determined maximum sensitivity degradation type of the device, wherein said safe output power level is a transmit power of the device at which self-interference would affect sensitivity of a receiver of the device with no more than a threshold amount; receiving a power command, from a network node of the mobile communication system, for controlling the transmit power of the device; determining whether the determined safe output level would be exceeded with implementing the received power command; and controlling device transmissions in accordance with a self-interference control algorithm in the event that it is determined that the safe output power level would be exceeded with implementing said power command (Claims 9 and 11-12).
Regarding claim 16, Application No. 18/817,483 teaches wherein the self-interference control algorithm limits a transmit power of the device to the determined safe output power level in the event that it is determined that the safe output level would be exceeded with implementing said power command (Claims 9 and 11-12).
Regarding claim 17, Application No. 18/817,483 teaches wherein controlling said device transmissions includes controlling the transmit power level of the device (Claims 9 and 11-12).
Regarding claim 18, Application No. 18/817,483 teaches wherein controlling said device transmissions includes adjusting timings of one or more uplink transmissions of the device (Claim 16).
Regarding claim 21, Application No. 18/817,483 teaches determining said maximum sensitivity degradation type (Claims 9 and 11-12).
Regarding claim 22, Application No. 18/817,483 teaches determining a maximum sensitivity degradation value for the device, wherein said safe output power level is determined based, at least in part, on said determined maximum sensitivity degradation value (Claims 9 and 11-12).
Regarding claim 23, Application No. 18/817,483 teaches wherein the maximum sensitivity degradation value is based, at least in part, on a carrier aggregation configuration or a dual connectivity configuration of the device (Claims 9 and 11-12).
Regarding claim 25, Application No. 18/817,483 teaches A non-transitory program storage device readable with an apparatus, tangibly embodying a program of instructions executable with the apparatus for causing the apparatus to determine a safe output power level of a device of a mobile communication system based, at least in part, on a determined maximum sensitivity degradation type of the device, wherein said safe output power level is a transmit power of the device at which self-interference would affect sensitivity of a receiver of the device with no more than a threshold amount; receive a power command, from a network node of the mobile communication system, for controlling the transmit power of the device; determine whether the determined safe output level would be exceeded with implementing the received power command; and control device transmissions in accordance with a self-interference control algorithm in the event that it is determined that the safe output power level would be exceeded with implementing said power command (Claims 9 and 11-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-17, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cairns (US Pat Pub# 2011/0009150) in view of Furuichi (US Pat Pub# 2022/0264312) and further in view of Wang et al. (US Pat Pub# 2024/0406879.
Regarding claims 1, 15, and 25, Cairns teaches a device of a mobile communication system, the device comprising at least one processor (Fig. 3, control module); and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the device to perform output power level is a transmit power of the device at which self-interference would affect sensitivity of a receiver of the device with no more than a threshold amount (Sections 0008, 0019, and 0023, power control due to self-interference taken into account etc.); receiving a power command, from a network node of the mobile communication system, for controlling the transmit power of the device (Sections 0008, 0019, and 0023, power control command from a base station); and controlling device transmissions in accordance with a self-interference control algorithm (Sections 0008, 0019, and 0023, power control due to self-interference taken into account etc.). Cairns fails to teach a safe output power level and a maximum sensitivity degradation type.
Furuichi teaches the device to perform determining a safe output power level of the device wherein said safe output power level is a transmit power of the device at which self-interference would affect sensitivity of a receiver of the device with no more than a threshold amount (Section 0426, communication device controls parameters for transmission such that the interference power level is at a safe level below a maximum level etc.); determining whether the determined safe output level would be exceeded with implementing the received power command (Section 0426, communication device controls parameters for transmission such that the interference power level is at a safe level below a maximum level etc.); and controlling device transmissions in accordance in the event that it is determined that the safe output power level would be exceeded with implementing said power command (Section 0426, communication device controls parameters for transmission such that the interference power level is at a safe level below a maximum level etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a safe output power level as taught by Furuichi into Cairns’s device in order to improve protection and performance of a device.
Cairns and Furuichi fail to teach a maximum sensitivity degradation type.
Wang teaches determining a safe output power level of the device based, at least in part, on a determined maximum sensitivity degradation type of the device (Section 0005, transmitting at a maximum sensitivity degradation value based on sensitivity and interference etc. at a threshold “safe” level).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a maximum sensitivity degradation type as taught by Wang into a safe output power level as taught by Furuichi into Cairns’s device in order to improve protection and performance of a device.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Furuichi further teaches wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the device to limit a transmit power of the device to the determined safe output power level in the event that it is determined that the safe output level would be exceeded with implementing said power command (Section 0426, communication device controls parameters for transmission such that the interference power level is at a safe level below a maximum level etc.).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Cairns further teaches cause the device to control the transmit power level of the device (Sections 0008, 0019, and 0023, power control command from a base station due to self-interference taken into account etc.).
Regarding claims 8 and 21, Wang further teaches wherein the device is further caused to perform determining said maximum sensitivity degradation type (Section 0005, transmitting at a maximum sensitivity degradation value based on sensitivity and interference etc. at a threshold “safe” level).
Regarding claims 9 and 22, Wang further teaches wherein the device is further caused to perform determining a maximum sensitivity degradation value for the device, wherein said safe output power level is determined based, at least in part, on said determined maximum sensitivity degradation value (Section 0005, transmitting at a maximum sensitivity degradation value based on sensitivity and interference etc. at a threshold “safe” level).
Regarding claims 10 and 23, Wang further teaches wherein the maximum sensitivity degradation value is based, at least in part, on a carrier aggregation configuration or a dual connectivity configuration of the device (Sections 0005, 0022, and 0036-0039, transmitting at a maximum sensitivity degradation value based on sensitivity and interference etc. at a threshold “safe” level in a multi-band operation).
Regarding claims 11 and 24, Wang further teaches to perform determining and storing maximum sensitivity degradation values during use of the device (Sections 0005 and 0036, transmitting at a maximum sensitivity degradation value based on sensitivity and interference etc. at a threshold “safe” level and storing MSD values etc.).
Regarding claim 12, Cairns further teaches wherein the power command is a transmit power control command indicating whether a transmit power level of the device should be increased or decreased (Sections 0008, 0019, and 0023, power control command to increase/decrease power from a base station).
Regarding claim 13, Furuichi further teaches cause the device to perform not implementing a transmit power control command to increase the transmit power level in the event that the determined safe output level of the device has been reached or would be exceeded with said increase (Section 0426, communication device controls parameters for transmission such that the interference power level is at a safe level below a maximum level etc.).
Regarding claim 14, Furuichi further teaches wherein the device is further caused to perform determining and updating stored safe output power level data (Section 0243 and 0269, storing power levels etc.).
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cairns (US Pat Pub# 2011/0009150) in view of Furuichi (US Pat Pub# 2022/0264312) and further in view of Wang et al. (US Pat Pub# 2024/0406879) and further in view of Choi (US Pat Pub# 2019/0174200).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Cairns in view of Furuichi and further in view of Wang teaches the limitations in claims 1 and 15. Cairns, Furuichi, and Wang fail to teach adjusting timings of one or more uplink transmissions.
Choi teaches when executed with the at least one processor, cause the device to adjust timings of one or more uplink transmissions of the device (Section 0122, adjusting the timings of the uplink transmission singal(s)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate adjusting timings of one or more uplink transmissions as taught by Choi into a maximum sensitivity degradation type as taught by Wang into a safe output power level as taught by Furuichi into Cairns’s device in order to improve constant performance.
Claims 5-7 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cairns (US Pat Pub# 2011/0009150) in view of Furuichi (US Pat Pub# 2022/0264312) and further in view of Wang et al. (US Pat Pub# 2024/0406879) and further in view of Park et al. (US Pat Pub# 2022/0312427).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, Cairns in view of Furuichi and further in view of Wang teaches the limitations in claims 1 and 15. Cairns, Furuichi, and Wang fail to teach prioritize between transmissions.
Park teaches cause the device to prioritize between transmissions of different types (Tables 7 and 8 on page 18, prioritizes power allocation for different transmissions to different carriers etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate prioritize between transmissions as taught by Park into a maximum sensitivity degradation type as taught by Wang into a safe output power level as taught by Furuichi into Cairns’s device in order to improve functionality and performance.
Regarding claim 6, Park further teaches cause the device to prioritize between uplink and downlink transmissions (Tables 7 and 8 on page 18, prioritizes power allocation for different transmissions to different carriers etc.).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Park further teaches cause the device to control power levels of said transmissions on a slot-to-slot basis (Tables 7 and 8 on page 18, prioritizes power allocation of symbols of a slot for different transmissions to different carriers etc.).
Conclusion
/ANDREW WENDELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 7/10/2026