DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) Form PTO-1449. The information disclosed therein was considered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,100,471. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the later clearly dominate the claims of the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,961,585. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the later clearly dominate the claims of the instant application.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,978,117. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the later clearly dominate the claims of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11, 13, 14, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are replete with antecedent and other 112 issues. The Examiner has noted many below, but given the scope of deficiencies Applicant should consider full language of the claims for similar errors.
Claim 1 recites “a first state” and “a second state” without making clear as to what is in the first and second states.
Claim 5 recites “the first CA input circuit” and “the second CA input circuit” which lack antecedent basis.
Claim 13 recites “a first memory device with a control signal asserted”. It is not clear what structural distinguishment is implied for a device to have a signal asserted.
Claim 14 directs “memory device…oriented” but gives no reference as to how or by what features the orientation is based.
Claim 18 recites “a memory controller operably…” which appears text was removed inadvertently.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 10-14, 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vergis (US 2017/0255404).
Regarding claim 1, Vergis discloses a memory device, comprising: an interface region (see Figure 4) including: a first input circuit (CA0 for example) configured to generate a first output (see Figure 5, XOR outputs); a second input circuit (CA1 circuit)configured to generate a second output (See Figure 5, XOR outputs from CA1); and a swap circuit (mux 530) positioned between the first input circuit and the second input circuit (muxes are electrically connected between the respective even/odd CA’s), the swap circuit configured to select the first output (CA0 for a first internal signal (CA0_internal) responsive to a first state (Mirror low), and select the second output (CA1) for the first internal signal responsive to a second, different state (high).
Regarding claim 4, Vergis discloses the memory device of claim 1, the interface regions further comprising a third input circuit, a fourth input circuit, a fifth input circuit, and a sixth input circuit, wherein the six input circuits correspond to six input signals (CA2, CA3, etc).
Regarding claim 6, Vergis discloses the memory device of claim 1, wherein the swap circuit is further configured to: select the second output (CA1 output for example) for a second internal signal (CA1_internal) responsive to the first state (non mirror); and select the first output (CA0 output) for the second internal signal responsive to the second, different state (mirror).
Regarding claim 7, Vergis discloses the memory device of claim 1, wherein the interface region is configured in a layout arrangement such that: a first pair of input circuits is adjacently arranged in a mirror relationship in a first direction; and at least one additional pair of input circuits is adjacently arranged in the mirror relationship and arranged in a second direction relative to the first pair of input circuits (see Figure 4, CA0, CA1, etc. in mirrored arrangement and adjacent other CA circuits).
Regarding claim 10, Vergis discloses the memory device of claim 1, wherein the interface region is configured in a layout arrangement such that eight input circuits are adjacently arranged in a two-by-four matrix (see Figure 4, CA’s).
Regarding claim 11, Vergis discloses the memory device of claim 1, wherein the interface region is configured in a layout arrangement such: a first pair of input circuits is adjacently arranged in a mirror relationship in a first direction; a second pair of input circuits is adjacently arranged in the mirror relationship in the first direction; and a third pair of input circuits is adjacently arranged in the mirror relationship in the first direction; wherein the second pair of input circuits is arranged adjacent to the first pair of input circuits in a second direction such that the mirror relationships align, and the third pair of input circuits is arranged adjacent to the first pair of input circuits in the first direction (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 12, Vergis discloses a memory system, comprising: a number of memory devices (see Figures 1 and 2), each memory device of the number of memory devices comprising: an interface region including: a first input circuit including a first swap circuit for selecting a first output as a first internal signal; and a second input circuit including a second swap circuit positioned between the first input circuit and the second input circuit, the second swap circuit for selecting a second output as a second internal signal (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 13, Vergis discloses the memory system of claim 12, wherein the number of memory devices comprise one or more pairs of memory devices and each pair includes: a first memory device (310) with a control signal asserted; and a second memory device (320) with the control signal negated.
Regarding claim 14, Vergis discloses the memory system of claim 13, wherein for each pair: the first memory device is oriented in a first direction in the memory system; and the second memory device is oriented in a second, different direction in the memory system (there is no reference point describe so “oriented” is arbitrary).
Regarding claim 16, Vergis discloses the memory system of claim 12, wherein the interface region is configured in a layout arrangement such that: a first pair of input circuits is adjacently arranged in a mirror relationship in a first direction; and at least one additional pair of input circuits is adjacently arranged in the mirror relationship and arranged in a second direction relative to the first pair of input circuits (see Figure 4 and rejections above).
Regarding claim 18, Vergis discloses a system, comprising: a memory controller (see Figurd 1) operably one or more memory devices operably coupled to the memory controller, each memory device of the one or more memory devices comprising: an interface region including: a first input circuit to generate a first output; a second input circuit to generate a second output; and a swap circuit positioned between the first input circuit and the second input circuit, the swap circuit to select the first output for a first internal signal responsive to a control signal being in first state, and select the second output for the first internal signal responsive to the control signal being in a second, different state (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 19, Vergis discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the one or more memory devices comprise one or more pairs of memory devices and each pair includes: a first memory device oriented in a first direction; and a second memory device oriented in a second direction (there is no reference point describe so “oriented” is arbitrary).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 , 3, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vergis in view of Ooishi (US 6,636,110).
Regarding claims 2, 3, 15 and 20, Vergis discloses memory device of claim 1, wherein each of the first CA input circuit and the second CA input circuit includes a buffer circuit (see Figure 5), but fails to teach a latch circuit configured for capturing a state of its corresponding CA input signal responsive to a clock signal.
However, a latch circuit capturing input signals responsive to a clock signals were known in the art at time of filing for use in configuring signal delay for synching purposes (see Ooishi, Figure 10A for example, latch 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to those having ordinary skill at the time of filing to provide such a latch in order to sync with clock signals.
Claim(s) 5, 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vergis.
Regarding claim 5, 8 and 17, Vergis discloses the memory device of claim 1, but fails to teach a clock buffer circuit adjacent to at least one of the first CA input circuit or the second CA input circuit. However, clock buffer circuits are well known in the art of memory devices for handling the external clock signal. Furthermore, placing such a buffer circuit very near (adjacent) to the other inputs would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to conserve area by placing pins adjacent each other.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824