Specification
The specification submitted 8/26/2024 has been accepted by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 8/26/2024 have been accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted up to this point have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The examiner finds the language of claim 3 confusing and proposed the following revision: “wherein each of the plurality of contact plugs corresponds to a conductive layer for local lines, which is disposed at the uppermost portion, among a subset of the plurality of conductive layers for local lines penetrated by the contact plug, and…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam (US # 20190013237) in view of Park (US # 20190279999).
Regarding Claim 1, Nam (US # 20190013237) teaches a semiconductor memory device (see Fig. 5 and corresponding text) comprising:
an electrode structure (ST) on a semiconductor substrate (10)
a first interlayer insulating layer (insulation layer 11) formed over a semiconductor substrate (10) defined by a cell region (CAR) and a slimming region (CNR);
a stacked structure including a plurality of second interlayer insulating layers (ILD) and a plurality of conductive layers (ELa/ELb) for local lines (servings as WLs), which are alternately stacked on the substrate lines are stacked in a step structure in the slimming region (shown in Fig. 5 stepping down for each VIA plug); and
a plurality of contact plugs (PLG2, PLG1) formed to penetrate the stacked structure in the slimming region (shown), one of the plurality of contact plugs corresponding to each of the conductive layers for local lines (shown; [0092]),
wherein each of the plurality of contact plugs includes a protrusion part (shown best in Fig. 6A; see protrusion of CP2) protruding horizontally (shown), the protrusion part protrudes toward a sidewall of one of the plurality of second interlayer insulating layers which is disposed over a corresponding conductive layer for local lines among the plurality of conductive layers for local lines (the protrusion extends laterally toward a sidewall of ILD), and the protrusion part is connected to an upper surface (contact between CP2 and an upper surface of ELb is shown in Fig. 6A) of the corresponding conductive layer for local lines (shown).
Although Nam discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the device comprising a source line layer formed on the first interlayer insulating layer, on which the stacked structure is stacked.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Park (US # 20190279999) is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches (see Fig. 10 and corresponding text) a device comprising a source line layer (CSL) formed on a first interlayer insulating layer (619), on which a stacked structure (640, 650) is stacked.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the sub-stack structure of Nam with the MEM-over-PERI suggested by Park would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Park would be to employ a device comprising a source line layer formed on the first interlayer insulating layer, on which the stacked structure is stacked. The rationale for this obvious modification is that MEM-over-PERI (aka COP, cell-over-peri) provides reduced chip-size and increases integration density ([0122]).
Regarding Claim 2, Nam teaches the semiconductor memory device of claim 1, wherein the protrusion part of each of the plurality of contact plugs extends and protrudes to an end portion (the part in the staircase near the plug) of the corresponding conductive layer for local lines (shown in Figs. 5 and 6).
Regarding Claim 6, Park, as applied to claim 1, teaches the semiconductor memory device of claim 1, further comprising a peripheral circuit structure (portion of PER that corresponds to layers 617 and 613) disposed under the first interlayer insulating layer (619),
wherein the plurality of contact plugs are connected to a plurality of metal lines (680, 689) connected to the peripheral circuit structure ([0099, 123-124]).
Regarding Claim 7, Nam teaches the semiconductor memory device of claim 6, wherein the peripheral circuit structure comprises a row decoder ([0036-38]).
Regarding Claim 9, Park, as applied to claim 1, teaches the semiconductor memory device of claim 1, wherein the first interlayer insulating layer is penetrated by the plurality of contact plugs ([099-101, 123]) and portions of the first interlayer insulating layer which are penetrated by the plurality of contact plugs are spaced apart from the plurality of contact plugs (Nam [0090]).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam (US # 20190013237) in view of Park (US # 20190279999) and further in view of Fukuda (US # 20170256588).
Regarding Claim 3, insofar as the claim scope can be ascertained in view of the 35 USC 112 rejections and/or claim objections above, Nam teaches the semiconductor memory device of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of contact plugs corresponds to a conductive layer for local lines (shown), which is disposed at the uppermost portion (one plug per upmost line)
Although Nam discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the device wherein each of the plurality of contact plugs corresponds to a conductive layer for local lines that also penetrates a subset of the plurality of conductive layers for local lines.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Fukuda (US # 20170256588) is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a device (see Figs. 3-5 and corresponding text) wherein each of a plurality of contact plugs (Z1) corresponds to an uppermost conductive layer (WL) for local lines that also penetrates a subset of the plurality of conductive layers for local lines (see Fig. 4).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the penetration depth of Nam in view of Park with the plug configuration suggested by Fukuda would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Fukuda would be to employ a device wherein each of the plurality of contact plugs corresponds to a conductive layer for local lines that also penetrates a subset of the plurality of conductive layers for local lines. The rationale for this obvious modification is that an individually insulated plug provides reduction of short-circuiting ([0036]).
Regarding Claim 4, Fukuda, similar to the 103-combination explained for claim 3, teaches the semiconductor memory device of claim 1, further comprising insulating layers for spacers (109), which are formed on sidewalls of the plurality of contact plugs in regions in which the plurality of contact plugs and the plurality of conductive layers for local lines intersect each other. The rationale for this obvious spacer modification is that an individually insulated plug provides reduction of short-circuiting ([0036]).
Regarding Claim 5, Fukuda, as applied to claim 5, teaches the semiconductor memory device of claim 4, wherein the insulating layers for spacers separate the sidewalls of the plurality of contact plugs from the plurality of conductive layers for local lines (shown in Fig. 5 of Fukuda; see also [0036]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11296021. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Similar claim language is not patentably distinct.
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12100651. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Similar claim language is not patentably distinct.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899