DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 1, paragraph [0001], line 3: After “December 16, 2021,”, add “now U.S. Patent No. 12,156,451, issued November 26, 2024,”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18, line 1: Add “wherein” after “claim 17,”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Independent claims 1 and 16 recite that “at least one sub-pixel of the two first sub-pixels and the two third sub-pixels is a pattern where a corner is cut off ….” (emphasis added). Claim 7 requires “at least one sub-pixel of the two first sub-pixels and the two third sub-pixels corresponding to the virtual quadrilateral is a pattern where a corner is cut off.” (emphasis added). The verb “to include” is interpreted as open claim language. Chisum on Patents § 8.06[1][b][ii][A].) In contrast, the use of the verb “to be” has been interpreted to exclude other components. See id. § 8.06[1][b][ii] & accompanying footnote 53. Therefore, the language of claims 1, 7, and 16 are interpreted as limiting the number of corners of the pattern that are cut off to one corner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 9, 11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jin, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0088260, Figure 2(c).
Regarding claim 1: Jin Figure 2(c) discloses a display substrate, comprising first sub-pixels (101), second sub-pixels (103) and third sub-pixels (102); wherein in a first direction (First direction), the first sub-pixels (101) and the third sub-pixels (102) are arranged alternately to form first sub-pixel rows, and the second sub-pixels (103) form second sub-pixel rows; wherein in a second direction (Second direction), the first sub-pixel rows and the second sub-pixel rows are arranged alternately, and the first direction (First direction) is approximately perpendicular to the second direction (Second direction); wherein two first sub-pixels (101) and two third sub-pixels (102) in two adjacent rows and two adjacent columns form a 2*2 array, in the 2*2 array, the two first sub-pixels (101) are in different rows and in different columns, the two third sub-pixels (102) are in different rows and in different columns, at least one sub-pixel of the two first sub-pixels (101) and the two third sub-pixels (102) is a pattern where a corner is cut off, connection lines of centers of the two first sub-pixels (101) and the two third sub-pixels (102) form a virtual quadrilateral that is non-square (trapezoid), and a second sub-pixel (103) is within the virtual quadrilateral; wherein the first sub-pixel (101) is a red sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel (103) is a green sub-pixel, and the third sub-pixel (102) is a blue sub-pixel. Jin specification ¶ 52, see generally id. ¶¶ 28-61.
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claim 1: Jin Figure 2(c) discloses diagonal third sub-pixels (102) around each first sub-pixel (101) have a same shape and a same position where a corner is cut off; or, wherein diagonal first sub-pixels (101) around each third sub-pixel (102) have a same shape and a same position where a corner is cut off. See Jin Figure 2(c).
Regarding claim 6: Jin Figure 2(c) discloses a display substrate, comprising first sub-pixels (101), second sub-pixels (103) and third sub-pixels (102); wherein, in a first direction (First direction), the first sub-pixels (101) and the third sub-pixels (102) are arranged alternately to form first sub-pixel rows, and the second sub-pixels (103) form second sub-pixel rows; wherein in a second direction (Second direction), the first sub-pixel rows and the second sub-pixel rows are arranged alternately, and the first direction (First direction) is approximately perpendicular to the second direction (Second direction); wherein two first sub-pixels (101) and two third sub-pixels (102) in two adjacent rows and two adjacent columns form a 2*2 array, in the 2*2 array, the two first sub-pixels (101) are in different rows and in different columns, the two third sub-pixels (102) are in different rows and in different columns, connection lines of centers of the two first sub-pixels (101) and the two third sub-pixels (102) form a virtual quadrilateral that is non-square (trapezoid), and a second sub-pixel (103) is within the virtual quadrilateral; wherein four virtual quadrilaterals form a hexagon comprising two parallel edges, wherein: the four virtual quadrilaterals share one first sub-pixel (101), a first edge of the two parallel edges passes through a first sub-pixel (101), a third sub-pixel (102) and another first sub-pixel (101), a second edge of the two parallel edges passes through a first sub-pixel (101), a third sub-pixel (102) and another first sub-pixel (101), and a connection line of centers of two third sub-pixels (102) on the two parallel edges does not pass through a center of the first sub-pixel (101) shared by the four virtual quadrilaterals; or, the four virtual quadrilaterals share one third sub-pixel (102), a first edge of the two parallel edges passes through a third sub-pixel (102), a first sub-pixel (101) and another third sub-pixel (102), a second edge of the two parallel edges passes through a third sub-pixel (102), a first sub-pixel (101) and another third sub-pixel (102), and a connection line of centers of two first sub-pixels (101) on the two parallel edges does not pass through a center of the third sub-pixel (102) shared by the four virtual quadrilaterals; wherein the first sub-pixel (101) is a red sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel (103) is a green sub-pixel, and the third sub-pixel (102) is a blue sub-pixel. Jin specification ¶ 52, see generally id. ¶¶ 28-61.
Regarding claim 7, which depends from claim 6: Jin discloses at least one sub-pixel of the two first sub-pixels (101) and the two third sub-pixels (102) corresponding to the virtual quadrilateral is a pattern where a corner is cut off. See Jin Figure 2(c).
Regarding claim 9, which depends from claim 7: Jin discloses that for the two first sub-pixels (101) corresponding to a same virtual quadrilateral, positions where corners are cut off are the same or different; or, for the two third sub-pixels (102) corresponding to a same virtual quadrilateral, positions where corners are cut off are the same or different. See id.
Regarding claim 11, which depends from claim 6: Jin discloses that each of all interior angles of the virtual quadrilateral ranges from 70° to 120°. See id.
Regarding claim 13, which depends from claim 6: Jin discloses sixteen virtual quadrilaterals in an array form a virtual polygon, and the sixteen virtual quadrilaterals have the same arrangement of interior angles. See id. (Jin discloses this feature because Jin Figure 2(c) is a section of the pixel arrangement and would therefore extend in the first and second directions.)
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 6: Jin discloses four virtual quadrilaterals in an array form a virtual polygon comprising two types of virtual quadrilaterals, and two diagonal virtual quadrilaterals of the four virtual quadrilaterals have the same arrangement of interior angles. See id.
Regarding claim 15, which depends from claim 6: Jin discloses four virtual quadrilaterals in an array form a virtual polygon comprising three types of virtual quadrilaterals, and two diagonal virtual quadrilaterals of the four virtual quadrilaterals have the same arrangement of interior angles. See id. Note that applicants have not required three different types of virtual quadrilaterals. Jin Figure 2(c) discloses two different types of virtual quadrilaterals. The Office interprets one set of the same configuration of virtual quadrilateral as being two types of virtual quadrilateral.
Regarding claim 16: Jin discloses a display device, comprising a display substrate, the display substrate comprises: first sub-pixels (101), second sub-pixels (103) and third sub-pixels (102); wherein in a first direction (First direction), the first sub-pixels (101) and the third sub-pixels (102) are arranged alternately to form first sub-pixel rows, and the second sub-pixels (103) form second sub-pixel rows; wherein in a second direction (Second direction), the first sub-pixel rows and the second sub-pixel rows are arranged alternately, and the first direction (First direction) is approximately perpendicular to the second direction (Second direction); wherein two first sub-pixels (101) and two third sub-pixels (102) in two adjacent rows and two adjacent columns form a 2*2 array, in the 2*2 array, the two first sub-pixels (101) are in different rows and in different columns, the two third sub-pixels (102) are in different rows and in different columns, at least one sub-pixel of the two first sub-pixels (101) and the two third sub-pixels (102) is a pattern where a corner is cut off, connection lines of centers of the two first sub-pixels (101) and the two third sub-pixels (102) form a virtual quadrilateral that is non-square (trapezoid), and a second sub-pixel (103) is within the virtual quadrilateral; wherein the first sub-pixel (101) is a red sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel (103) is a green sub-pixel, and the third sub-pixel (102) is a blue sub-pixel. Jin specification ¶ 52, see generally id. ¶¶ 28-61.
Claims 6 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu, Chinese Pat. Pub. No. CN111341817A,1 Figure 4.
Regarding claim 6: Liu Figures 2 and 4 disclose a display substrate, comprising first sub-pixels (12), second sub-pixels (16) and third sub-pixels (14); wherein, in a first direction, the first sub-pixels (12) and the third sub-pixels (14) are arranged alternately to form first sub-pixel rows, and the second sub-pixels (16) form second sub-pixel rows; wherein in a second direction, the first sub-pixel rows and the second sub-pixel rows are arranged alternately, and the first direction is approximately perpendicular to the second direction; wherein two first sub-pixels (12) and two third sub-pixels (14) in two adjacent rows and two adjacent columns form a 2*2 array, in the 2*2 array, the two first sub-pixels (12) are in different rows and in different columns, the two third sub-pixels (14) are in different rows and in different columns, connection lines of centers of the two first sub-pixels (12) and the two third sub-pixels (14) form a virtual quadrilateral that is non-square (trapezoid), and a second sub-pixel (16) is within the virtual quadrilateral; wherein four virtual quadrilaterals form a hexagon comprising two parallel edges, wherein: the four virtual quadrilaterals share one first sub-pixel (12), a first edge of the two parallel edges passes through a first sub-pixel (12), a third sub-pixel (14) and another first sub-pixel (12), a second edge of the two parallel edges passes through a first sub-pixel (12), a third sub-pixel (14) and another first sub-pixel (12), and a connection line of centers of two third sub-pixels (14) on the two parallel edges does not pass through a center of the first sub-pixel (12) shared by the four virtual quadrilaterals; or, the four virtual quadrilaterals share one third sub-pixel (14), a first edge of the two parallel edges passes through a third sub-pixel (14), a first sub-pixel (12) and another third sub-pixel (14), a second edge of the two parallel edges passes through a third sub-pixel (14), a first sub-pixel (12) and another third sub-pixel (14), and a connection line of centers of two first sub-pixels (12) on the two parallel edges does not pass through a center of the third sub-pixel (14) shared by the four virtual quadrilaterals; wherein the first sub-pixel (12) is a red sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel (16) is a green sub-pixel, and the third sub-pixel (14) is a blue sub-pixel. Liu specification ¶¶ 26-54.
Regarding claim 10, which depends from claim 6: Liu discloses wherein, vertical distances from edges of the two third sub-pixels (14) corresponding to a same virtual quadrilateral that are close to the second sub-pixel (16) to a center of the second sub-pixel (14) are equal. See Liu Figure 4.
Regarding claim 11, which depends from claim 6: Liu discloses wherein each of all interior angles of the virtual quadrilateral ranges from 70° to 120°. See id.
Regarding claim 12, which depends from claim 6: Liu discloses at least one virtual quadrilateral is a right-angled trapezoid, two interior angles of the at least one virtual quadrilateral are each 90°, one of the other two interior angles of the at least one virtual quadrilateral is an obtuse angle, and one of the other two interior angles of the at least one virtual quadrilateral is an acute angle. Liu specification ¶ 49 (alternate embodiment).
Regarding claim 13, which depends from claim 6: Liu discloses wherein sixteen virtual quadrilaterals in an array form a virtual polygon, and the sixteen virtual quadrilaterals have the same arrangement of interior angles. See Liu Figure 4. The pixel array shown in Liu Figure 4 extends in the first and second directions, so sixteen virtual quadrilaterals would be present.
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claim 6: Liu discloses wherein four virtual quadrilaterals in an array form a virtual polygon comprising two types of virtual quadrilaterals, and two diagonal virtual quadrilaterals of the four virtual quadrilaterals have the same arrangement of interior angles. See id.
Regarding claim 15, which depends from claim 6: Liu discloses wherein four virtual quadrilaterals in an array form a virtual polygon comprising three types of virtual quadrilaterals, and two diagonal virtual quadrilaterals of the four virtual quadrilaterals have the same arrangement of interior angles. See id. Note that applicants have not required three different types of virtual quadrilaterals. Liu Figure 4 discloses two different types of virtual quadrilaterals. The Office interprets one set of the same configuration of virtual quadrilateral as being two types of virtual quadrilateral.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin, and further in view of Kwon, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0342571 [hereinafter “Kwon ’571”], Figures 1, 3, 5, and 6.
Regarding claim 17, which depends from claim 16: Jin is silent as to the presence of a pixel definition layer.
Kwon ’571, directed to similar subject matter, discloses a display device, comprising a display substrate, the display substrate comprises: first sub-pixels (PX2, PX8), second sub-pixels (PX1, PX3, PX5, PX7) and third sub-pixels (PX4, PX6); wherein in a first direction (X), the first sub-pixels (PX2, PX8) and the third sub-pixels (PX4, PX6) are arranged alternately to form first sub-pixel rows, and the second sub-pixels (PX1, PX3, PX5, PX7) form second sub-pixel rows; wherein in a second direction (Y), the first sub-pixel rows and the second sub-pixel rows are arranged alternately, and the first direction (X) is approximately perpendicular to the second direction (Y); wherein two first sub-pixels (PX2, PX8) and two third sub-pixels (PX4, PX6) in two adjacent rows and two adjacent columns form a 2*2 array, in the 2*2 array, the two first sub-pixels (PX2, PX8) are in different rows and in different columns, the two third sub-pixels (PX4, PX6) are in different rows and in different columns, connection lines of centers of the two first sub-pixels (PX2, PX8) and the two third sub-pixels (PX4, PX6) form a virtual quadrilateral that is non-square (rhombus), and a second sub-pixel (PX3) is within the virtual quadrilateral; wherein the first sub-pixel (PX2, PX8) is a red sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel (PX1, PX3, PX5, PX7) is a green sub-pixel, and the third sub-pixel (PX4, PX6) is a blue sub-pixel, further comprising a pixel defining layer (190), wherein the pixel defining layer (190) comprises a plurality of pixel defining layer openings (900), each of the first sub-pixels (PX2, PX8), the second sub-pixels (PX1, PX3, PX5, PX7) and the third sub-pixels (PX4, PX6) corresponds to a pixel defining layer opening (900) of the plurality of pixel defining layer openings (900), and shapes of the first sub-pixel (PX2, PX8), the second sub-pixel (PX1, PX3, PX5, PX7) and the third sub-pixel (PX4, PX6) are approximately the same as shapes of their respective pixel defining layer openings (900). Kwon ’571 specification ¶¶ 50-70, 87-212. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify Jin to include the Kwon ’571 pixel definition layer because the Kwon ’571 pixel definition layer provides separation between the subpixels.
Regarding claim 19, which depends from claim 17: The combination discloses wherein at least some of the plurality of pixel defining layer openings (900) have different shapes and/or different areas. See Jin Figure 2(c); Kwon ’571 Figure 6.
Regarding claim 20, which depends from claim 19: The combination discloses wherein at least some of the pixel defining layer openings (900) corresponding to the first sub-pixels or the third sub-pixels have different shapes and/or different areas. See id.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin and Kwon ’571, and further in view of Kwon, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2014/0319484 [hereinafter “Kwon ’484”], Figures 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 18, which depends from claim 17: The combination discloses the first sub-pixel comprises a plurality of films; and/or, the second sub-pixel comprises a plurality of films; and/or, the third sub-pixel comprises a plurality of films. See Kwon ’571 specification ¶¶ 141 (light emitting layer (512)), 142 (describing hole injection and hole transport layers and electron transport and electron injection layers which can be provided with the light emitting layer).
The combination does not disclose that the plurality of films of the first sub-pixel at least partially covers a region outside the corresponding pixel defining layer opening; and/or, the plurality of films of the second sub-pixel at least partially covers a region outside the corresponding pixel defining layer opening; and/or, the plurality of films of the third sub-pixel at least partially covers a region outside the corresponding pixel defining layer opening.
Kwon ’484 Figures 1 and 2, directed to similar subject matter, disclose the first sub-pixel (P1) comprises a film (OL1), and the film (OL1) of the first sub-pixel (P1) at least partially covers a region outside the corresponding pixel defining layer opening (OM1); and/or, the second sub-pixel (P3) comprises a film (OL3), and the film (OL3) of the second sub-pixel (P3) at least partially covers a region outside the corresponding pixel defining layer opening (OM3); and/or, the third sub-pixel (P2) comprises a film (OL2), and the film (OL2) of the third sub-pixel (P2) at least partially covers a region outside the corresponding pixel defining layer opening (OM2). Kwon ’484 specification ¶¶ 77-95. One having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date would be motivated to modify the combination to use the Kwon ’484 design because the modification would have involved the substitution of an equivalent known for the same purpose. Once combined, the combination discloses the first sub-pixel comprises a plurality of films, and the plurality of films of the first sub-pixel at least partially covers a region outside the corresponding pixel defining layer opening; and/or, the second sub-pixel comprises a plurality of films, and the plurality of films of the second sub-pixel at least partially covers a region outside the corresponding pixel defining layer opening; and/or, the third sub-pixel comprises a plurality of films, and the plurality of films of the third sub-pixel at least partially covers a region outside the corresponding pixel defining layer opening.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 5, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 2: The claim has been found allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose “at least one virtual quadrilateral is a right-angled trapezoid, two interior angles of the at least one virtual quadrilateral are each 90°, one of the other two interior angles of the at least one virtual quadrilateral is an obtuse angle, and one of the other two interior angles of the at least one virtual quadrilateral is an acute angle”, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
With regard to claim 3: The claim has been found allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose “wherein diagonal third sub-pixels around each first sub-pixel are symmetrical about the center of the first sub-pixel; or, wherein diagonal first sub-pixels around each third sub-pixel are symmetrical about the center of the third sub-pixel”, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
With regard to claim 5: The claim has been found allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose “a total opening area of the third sub-pixels, a total opening area of the second sub-pixels and a total opening area of the first sub-pixels decrease gradually, the total opening area of the first sub-pixel is x, the total opening area of the second sub-pixel is 2*a*x, and the total opening area of the third sub-pixel is b*x, where 0.5≤a≤0.8, and 1<b≤2.2”, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
With regard to claim 8: The claim has been found allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose “wherein the at least one sub-pixel of the two first sub-pixels and the two third sub-pixels has a shape of a square where a corner is cut off”, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/Victoria K. Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897
1 Liu’s U.S. counterpart, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2022/0208891, is used for citation.