CTFR 18/815,458 CTFR 97041 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Examiner’s Note Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations with the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to the Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. Specification 06-31 AIA The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware of, in the specification. Status of Application The amended list of claims 1-20 is pending in this application. In the claim set filed 03/02/2026: Claim(s) 1, 4, 11 and 14 has/have been amended. Claim(s) 2, 3, 5-10, 12, 13 and 15-20 has/have been indicated as originally presented. Claim(s) 1 and 11 is/are the independent claim(s) observed in the application. Response to Arguments With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 03/02/2026; the Applicant's “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered. The Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented. With respect to the Title Objection, the Applicant’s “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered and are found persuasive. Therefore the Title Objection has/have been withdrawn. With respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 and 11-14 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, the Applicant’s “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered and are found persuasive. Therefore the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 and 11-14 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 has/have been withdrawn. Office Note : Due to applicant’s amendments, further claim rejections appear on the record as stated in the Final Office Action below. Final Office Action Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-fti This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a), the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned at the time any inventions covered therein were made absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and invention dates of each claim that was not commonly owned at the time a later invention was made in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(c) and potential pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e), (f) or (g) prior art under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a). 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (United States Patent Publication 2012/0083960 A1) in view of SAITO (United States Patent Publication 2012/0049806 A1) and YANG et al. (Chines Patent Publication 206678765 U) , referenced as Zhu , Saito and Yang , respectively, moving forward . With respect to claim 1, while Zhu discloses: “A vehicle control apparatus, comprising: a detector configured to obtain data using sensors mounted on a vehicle; and a processor connected to the detector” [Zhu; "Computer 110 may include all of the components normally used in connection with a computer, such as a central processing unit (CPU), memory (e.g., RAM and internal hard drives) storing data 134 and instructions such as a web browser, an electronic display 142 (e.g., a monitor having a screen, a small LCD touch-screen or any other electrical device that is operable to display information), user input (e.g., a mouse, keyboard, touch screen and/or microphone), as well as various sensors (e.g. a video camera) for gathering the explicit (e.g. a gesture) or implicit (e.g. “the person is asleep”) information about the states and desires of a person;" ¶: 0024; See also: Fig. 1; ¶: 0022] ; And: “wherein the processor is configured to determine to enter an in-vehicle rest mode based on the data obtained by the detector, enter the in-vehicle rest mode in a stop state” [Zhu; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Zhu discloses "a camera capturing the driver's face may be used to determine whether the driver's eyes have remained closed for an extended period of time. If the driver remains unresponsive, the computer may cause the vehicle slow, stop or pull over to a safe location;" ¶: 0070; wherein, the operation of stopping the vehicle at a safe location after it is determined that the driver's eyes are closed for a period of time has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "determine to enter an in-vehicle rest mode based on the data obtained by the detector, enter the in-vehicle rest mode in a stop state;" See also: ¶: 0091, 0092] ; Zhu does not specifically state: “control charging of a battery using a drive motor in the in-vehicle rest mode;” Or “and determine a power of the drive motor and a power of a sub-motor based on a drive motor maximum power and a maximum power available for charging.” Saito , which is in the same field of invention of control systems/methods for vehicles, teaches: “control charging of a battery using a drive motor in the in-vehicle rest mode” [Saito; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Saito discloses using "an electrical generator (motor generator 12) that generates electrical power with the engine 11 as the power source, a battery 14 that is charged with electricity generated by the motor generator 12 through an inverter 13 that conducts DC-AC conversion, and the motor generator 12 that receives electricity from the battery 14 through the inverter 13 to drive the vehicle;" Fig. 1; ¶: 0016; wherein, the charging of the battery is triggered: "when the shift position is a non-travel position, the brake is on, and the charging start unit (for example, the charging switch) operates, the battery starts to be charged by the engine and the electrical generator;" ¶: 0138; wherein the beginning of charging after entering the non-travel position has been used to modify the stopping at a safe location disclosed by Zhu, in order to arrive at the Applicant's broadly recited "control charging of a battery using a drive motor in the in-vehicle rest mode;" See also: ¶: 0019, 0032] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling a vehicle in order to improve the safety, use, driver experience and performance of the vehicle including safely stopping the vehicle when the driver is asleep as disclosed by Zhu to incorporate the teachings regarding performing charging of the vehicle while the vehicle is in a non-travel position as taught by Saito with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling a vehicle in order to improve the safety, use, driver experience and performance of the vehicle that is more robust in its ability to improve the user’s experience when operating a hybrid electric vehicle(HEV) by enabling use of on-board components of the HEV to perform battery charging rather than relying on plug-in charging [Saito; ¶: 0004, 0005] . As Zhu discloses typically requiring a recharging station in order to recharge the batteries of an electric autonomous vehicle [Zhu; ¶: 0117] , one of ordinary skill in the art would clearly view using the on-board components of the vehicle to perform charging when a charging station is not necessarily available as a clear improvement. Yang , which is in the same field of invention of control systems/methods for vehicles, teaches: “and determine a power of the drive motor and a power of a sub-motor based on a drive motor maximum power and a maximum power available for charging” [Yang; "Furthermore, according to one embodiment of the present invention, the control module 101 is also used to: obtain the rate of change of the SOC value of the power battery 3, and adjust the power generation power P1 of the auxiliary motor 5 according to the relationship between the vehicle demand power P2 and the minimum output power Pmin corresponding to the optimal economic zone of the engine 1 and the rate of change of the SOC value of the power battery;" ¶: 0187; See also: ¶: 0188-0201] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling a vehicle in order to improve the safety, use, driver experience and performance of the vehicle including safely stopping the vehicle when the driver is asleep as disclosed by Zhu to incorporate the teachings regarding managing the balance of power distribution between a vehicle drive motor and auxiliary motor based on the power output by the respective motors to drive and charge the vehicle’s batteries, respectively, as taught by Yang with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling a vehicle in order to improve the safety, use, driver experience and performance of the vehicle that is more robust in its ability to “enrich the vehicle's power supply options, meets the vehicle's power needs under different operating conditions, and improves the vehicle's performance” [Yang; ¶: 0069; See also: ¶: 0064, 0066] . With respect to claim 2, Zhu discloses: “wherein the processor is configured to: obtain state information of a user that rides in the vehicle, using at least one of a camera or a brain wave sensor, or any combination thereof; determine whether the user is resting based on the state information of the user; and determine to enter the in-vehicle rest mode based on determining that the user is resting” [Zhu; "a camera capturing the driver's face may be used to determine whether the driver's eyes have remained closed for an extended period of time. If the driver remains unresponsive, the computer may cause the vehicle slow, stop or pull over to a safe location;" ¶: 0070; See also: ¶: 0091, 0092] . With respect to claim 3, Zhu does not specifically state: “wherein the processor is configured to: determine to enter a charging control mode based on at least one of whether an accelerator pedal and a brake pedal operate, a gear selector position, a seat angle, or any combination thereof after entering the in-vehicle rest mode.” Saito teaches: “wherein the processor is configured to: determine to enter a charging control mode based on at least one of whether an accelerator pedal and a brake pedal operate, a gear selector position, a seat angle, or any combination thereof after entering the in-vehicle rest mode” [Saito; "If the generation control is not implemented, it is confirmed whether the shift position signal a3 from the shift unit 23 is indicative of a non-travel position or not. If it is the non-travel position, the processing is advanced to Step S3. If it is not the non-travel position, a series of controls are completed. The non-travel position corresponds to “P” (parking position) and “N” (neutral position);" Fig. 3; ¶: 0029; "Through the above procedure, in the state where the generation control mode is “on”, the use of the “+” lever and “−” lever of the paddle shift 21 enables the driver to set increase or decrease of the electrical power. As a result, if the setting is conducted once, the generation control mode is automatically completed without requiring the driver's operation if the battery SOC value a4 arrives at the predetermined value (Coff) or more, unless a change in the setting or a stop of charging operation is required;" ¶: 0066; wherein the beginning of charging after entering the non-travel position has been used to modify the stopping at a safe location disclosed by Zhu, in order to arrive at the Applicant's broadly recited "after entering the in-vehicle rest mode;" See also: ¶: 0031-0037, 0138] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling a vehicle in order to improve the safety, use, driver experience and performance of the vehicle including safely stopping the vehicle when the driver is asleep as disclosed by Zhu to incorporate the teachings regarding performing charging of the vehicle while the vehicle is in a non-travel position as taught by Saito with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling a vehicle in order to improve the safety, use, driver experience and performance of the vehicle that is more robust in its ability to improve the user’s experience when operating a hybrid electric vehicle(HEV) by enabling use of on-board components of the HEV to perform battery charging rather than relying on plug-in charging [Saito; ¶: 0004, 0005] . As Zhu discloses typically requiring a recharging station in order to recharge the batteries of an electric autonomous vehicle [Zhu; ¶: 0117] , one of ordinary skill in the art would clearly view using the on-board components of the vehicle to perform charging when a charging station is not necessarily available as a clear improvement. With respect to claim 11, while Zhu discloses: “A vehicle control method, comprising: determining to enter an in-vehicle rest mode based on data obtained by a detector mounted on a vehicle; entering the in-vehicle rest mode in a stop state” [Zhu; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Zhu discloses "a camera capturing the driver's face may be used to determine whether the driver's eyes have remained closed for an extended period of time. If the driver remains unresponsive, the computer may cause the vehicle slow, stop or pull over to a safe location;" ¶: 0070; wherein, the operation of stopping the vehicle at a safe location after it is determined that the driver's eyes are closed for a period of time has been interpreted as patentably indistinct from the Applicant's broadly recited "determine to enter an in-vehicle rest mode based on the data obtained by the detector, enter the in-vehicle rest mode in a stop state;" See also: Fig. 1; ¶: 0022, 0024, 0091, 0092] ; Zhu does not specifically state: “and controlling charging of a battery using a drive motor in the in-vehicle rest mode;” Or “wherein controlling the charging of the battery includes determining a power of the drive motor and a power of a sub-motor based on a drive motor maximum power and a maximum power available for charging.” Saito teaches: “and controlling charging of a battery using a drive motor in the in-vehicle rest mode” [Saito; In at least the paragraphs and figures cited, Saito discloses using "an electrical generator (motor generator 12) that generates electrical power with the engine 11 as the power source, a battery 14 that is charged with electricity generated by the motor generator 12 through an inverter 13 that conducts DC-AC conversion, and the motor generator 12 that receives electricity from the battery 14 through the inverter 13 to drive the vehicle;" Fig. 1; ¶: 0016; wherein, the charging of the battery is triggered: "when the shift position is a non-travel position, the brake is on, and the charging start unit (for example, the charging switch) operates, the battery starts to be charged by the engine and the electrical generator;" ¶: 0138; wherein the beginning of charging after entering the non-travel position has been used to modify the stopping at a safe location disclosed by Zhu, in order to arrive at the Applicant's broadly recited "control charging of a battery using a drive motor in the in-vehicle rest mode;" See also: ¶: 0019, 0032] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling a vehicle in order to improve the safety, use, driver experience and performance of the vehicle including safely stopping the vehicle when the driver is asleep as disclosed by Zhu to incorporate the teachings regarding performing charging of the vehicle while the vehicle is in a non-travel position as taught by Saito with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling a vehicle in order to improve the safety, use, driver experience and performance of the vehicle that is more robust in its ability to improve the user’s experience when operating a hybrid electric vehicle(HEV) by enabling use of on-board components of the HEV to perform battery charging rather than relying on plug-in charging [Saito; ¶: 0004, 0005] . As Zhu discloses typically requiring a recharging station in order to recharge the batteries of an electric autonomous vehicle [Zhu; ¶: 0117] , one of ordinary skill in the art would clearly view using the on-board components of the vehicle to perform charging when a charging station is not necessarily available as a clear improvement. Yang teaches: “wherein controlling the charging of the battery includes determining a power of the drive motor and a power of a sub-motor based on a drive motor maximum power and a maximum power available for charging” [Yang; "Furthermore, according to one embodiment of the present invention, the control module 101 is also used to: obtain the rate of change of the SOC value of the power battery 3, and adjust the power generation power P1 of the auxiliary motor 5 according to the relationship between the vehicle demand power P2 and the minimum output power Pmin corresponding to the optimal economic zone of the engine 1 and the rate of change of the SOC value of the power battery;" ¶: 0187; See also: ¶: 0188-0201] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling a vehicle in order to improve the safety, use, driver experience and performance of the vehicle including safely stopping the vehicle when the driver is asleep as disclosed by Zhu to incorporate the teachings regarding managing the balance of power distribution between a vehicle drive motor and auxiliary motor based on the power output by the respective motors to drive and charge the vehicle’s batteries, respectively, as taught by Yang with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling a vehicle in order to improve the safety, use, driver experience and performance of the vehicle that is more robust in its ability to “enrich the vehicle's power supply options, meets the vehicle's power needs under different operating conditions, and improves the vehicle's performance” [Yang; ¶: 0069; See also: ¶: 0064, 0066] . With respect to claim 12, Zhu discloses: “wherein determining to enter the in-vehicle rest mode includes: obtaining state information of a user that rides in the vehicle, using at least one of a camera, a brain wave sensor, or any combination thereof; determining whether the user is resting based on the state information of the user; and determining to enter the in-vehicle rest mode based on determining that the user is resting” [Zhu; "a camera capturing the driver's face may be used to determine whether the driver's eyes have remained closed for an extended period of time. If the driver remains unresponsive, the computer may cause the vehicle slow, stop or pull over to a safe location;" ¶: 0070; See also: ¶: 0091, 0092] . With respect to claim 13, Zhu does not specifically state: “wherein entering the in-vehicle rest mode includes: determining to enter a charging control mode based on at least one of whether an accelerator pedal and a brake pedal operate, a gear selector position, a seat angle, or any combination thereof, after entering the in-vehicle rest mode.” Saito teaches: “wherein entering the in-vehicle rest mode includes: determining to enter a charging control mode based on at least one of whether an accelerator pedal and a brake pedal operate, a gear selector position, a seat angle, or any combination thereof, after entering the in-vehicle rest mode” [Saito; "If the generation control is not implemented, it is confirmed whether the shift position signal a3 from the shift unit 23 is indicative of a non-travel position or not. If it is the non-travel position, the processing is advanced to Step S3. If it is not the non-travel position, a series of controls are completed. The non-travel position corresponds to “P” (parking position) and “N” (neutral position);" Fig. 3; ¶: 0029; "Through the above procedure, in the state where the generation control mode is “on”, the use of the “+” lever and “−” lever of the paddle shift 21 enables the driver to set increase or decrease of the electrical power. As a result, if the setting is conducted once, the generation control mode is automatically completed without requiring the driver's operation if the battery SOC value a4 arrives at the predetermined value (Coff) or more, unless a change in the setting or a stop of charging operation is required;" ¶: 0066; wherein the beginning of charging after entering the non-travel position has been used to modify the stopping at a safe location disclosed by Zhu, in order to arrive at the Applicant's broadly recited "after entering the in-vehicle rest mode;" See also: ¶: 0031-0037, 0138] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system/method for controlling a vehicle in order to improve the safety, use, driver experience and performance of the vehicle including safely stopping the vehicle when the driver is asleep as disclosed by Zhu to incorporate the teachings regarding performing charging of the vehicle while the vehicle is in a non-travel position as taught by Saito with a reasonable expectation of success. By combining these inventions, the outcome is a system/method for controlling a vehicle in order to improve the safety, use, driver experience and performance of the vehicle that is more robust in its ability to improve the user’s experience when operating a hybrid electric vehicle(HEV) by enabling use of on-board components of the HEV to perform battery charging rather than relying on plug-in charging [Saito; ¶: 0004, 0005] . As Zhu discloses typically requiring a recharging station in order to recharge the batteries of an electric autonomous vehicle [Zhu; ¶: 0117] , one of ordinary skill in the art would clearly view using the on-board components of the vehicle to perform charging when a charging station is not necessarily available as a clear improvement. Claim Objections/Allowable Subject Matter Claim(s) 4-10 and 14-20 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a). Prior Art (Not relied upon) 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached form 892 . WANG et al. (Chines Patent Publication 109591799 A) discloses: a hybrid electric vehicle and a power generation control method and system thereof. The hybrid electric vehicle comprises an engine, a power motor, a power battery and a DC-DC converter, and an auxiliary motor connected with the engine. The method comprises the following steps that the current electric quantity of the power battery is obtained, the current gear of the hybrid electric vehicle is obtained, and the current vehicle speed of the hybrid electric vehicle is obtained; and according to the current electric quantity, the current gear and the current vehicle speed, the auxiliary motor is controlled to enter a corresponding power generation mode, and the power generation mode of the auxiliary motor comprises an in-situ power generation mode, an in-situ accelerator-stepping power generation mode, a series power generation mode and a series-parallel power generation mode. According to the method, the power generation noise and vibration of the hybrid electric vehicle can be reduced, the smoothness of the whole vehicle is improved, the power generation efficiency can be improved, and the energy consumption of the whole vehicle is reduced. CHEN et al. (United States Patent Publication 2017/0036662 A1) discloses: A control system of a hybrid electrical vehicle and a control method for a hybrid electrical vehicle are provided. The control system of the hybrid electric vehicle includes: a transmission device ( 10 ) connected with wheels ( 2 a and 2 b ) of the hybrid electrical vehicle; an engine power subsystem ( 20 ) connected with the transmission device ( 10 ); a motor power subsystem ( 30 ) connected with the transmission device ( 10 ); and a control module ( 40 ) configured to control the hybrid electrical vehicle to work in a hybrid electrical-economical mode by controlling the engine power subsystem ( 20 ) and the motor power subsystem ( 30 ), and to control the hybrid electrical vehicle to work in a first manner if a current slope detected by the hybrid electrical vehicle is less than or equal to a minimum slope and a current electric quantity of a power battery of the motor power subsystem is less than or equal to a first electric quantity threshold, or if the current slope detected by the hybrid electrical vehicle is less than or equal to the minimum slope and a maximum allowable discharge power of the power battery of the motor power subsystem is less than or equal to a first power threshold. Chupin et al. (United States Patent Publication 2015/0217652 A1) discloses: A method for controlling recharging of a battery of a hybrid vehicle when the vehicle is stationary, the vehicle including a heat engine and at least one electric machine that can simultaneously or independently generate movement of the vehicle in electric, thermal, and hybrid operating modes, according to rolling conditions and a state of charge of a traction battery providing a power supply of the electric machine. The recharging of the battery is activated when the vehicle is stationary, at request of a driver acting on a dedicated interface. Penilla et al. (United States Patent Publication 2020/0152197 A1) discloses: Methods and systems for determining an emotion of a human driver of a vehicle and using the emotion for generating a vehicle response, is provided. One example method includes capturing, by a camera of the vehicle, a face of the human driver. The capturing is configured to capture a plurality of images over a period of time, and the plurality of images are analyzed to identify a facial expression and changes in the facial expression of the human driver over the period of time. The method further includes capturing, by a microphone of the vehicle, voice input of the human driver. The voice input is captured over the period of time. The voice input is analyzed to identify a voice profile and changes in the voice profile of the human driver over the period of time. The method processes, by a processor of the vehicle, a combination of the facial expression and the voice profile captured during the period of time to predict the emotion of the human driver. The method generates the vehicle response that is responsive to the emotion of the human driver. The vehicle response is configured to make at least one adjustment to a setting of the vehicle. The adjustment is selected based on the emotion of the human driver. KIRK et al. (United States Patent Publication 2021/0197867 A1) discloses: A vehicle system including a vehicle component and a controller is provided. The controller may selectively activate the vehicle component and communicate with a mobile unit including an interface. The controller may be programmed to interact with the mobile unit upon detection by accessing vehicle sleep mode instructions preprogrammed by a user via the interface in which the controller activates the vehicle component according to an escalation sequence schedule to disengage a vehicle sleep mode. The system may further include a sensor in communication with the vehicle component and the controller. The controller may be further programed to activate the vehicle component according to the escalation sequence schedule based on receipt of a signal from a sensor indicating a passenger is asleep. Healy et al. (United States Patent Publication 2021/0354684 A1) discloses: A drive train for installation in a vehicle chassis includes a power source, two motor/generators (M/Gs), an array of batteries, and a control system for configuring the drive train to operate using only the power source, only the batteries or a combination of the power source and batteries. The control system may open or close clutches to configure the drive train with each M/G working as a motor or a generator. A M/G working as a motor may use power from the batteries to supply rotational power to drive the vehicle or operate accessories on the vehicle. A M/G working as a generator coupled to a power source generates electric power for charging the array of batteries. The vehicle, including components and subsystems, may be powered electrically from the batteries or powered from the engine. CHOI et al. (United States Patent Publication 2021/0384756 A1) discloses: A hybrid electric vehicle (HEV) that includes: a battery, a hybrid starter generator (HSG) starting an engine, and a controller that identifies a state of charge (SOC) of the battery upon when a reverse gear input is detected, determines whether to charge the battery by the HSG based on the identified SOC of the battery. In particular, the controller controls battery charging in a charging control mode based on a SOC level of the battery when it is determined that the HSG needs to charge the battery. Busch (United States Patent Publication 2025/0325778 A1) discloses: A method for operating a sleep assistant during a charging process of a vehicle includes receiving a predicted charging time and determining a preferred sleep duration of a vehicle occupant. The method also includes determining a wake-up time of the vehicle occupant depending on at least one of the group consisting of the predicted charging time and the preferred sleep duration of the vehicle occupant. The method further includes adjusting the wake-up time if an extension of the predicted charging time is detected by the vehicle, and providing a wake-up setting to the vehicle occupant depending on the wake-up time or the adjusted wake-up time . Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RAMI N BEDEWI whose telephone number is (571)272-5753. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Thursday - 6:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Scott A. Browne can be reached on (571-270-0151). The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /R.N.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3666C /SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 2 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 3 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 4 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 5 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 6 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 7 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 8 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 9 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 10 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 11 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 12 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 13 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 14 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 15 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 16 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 17 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 18 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 19 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 20 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 21 Art Unit: 3666 Application/Control Number: 18/815,458 Page 22 Art Unit: 3666