DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to for minor informalities.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites, "increasing mass flow rate of the boron-containing precursor to an intermediate boron-containing precursor flow rate;" Examiner believes the claim should state, "increasing mass flow rate of the boron-containing precursor to an intermediate boron-containing precursor mass flow rate;" Proper correction is required.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites, "flowing at etchant…" Examiner believes the claim should state, "flowing an etchant…" Proper correction is required.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12, the claim limits the second silicon-containing precursor mass flow rate is between about 105% and about 125% of the first silicon-containing precursor mass flow rate. More (US 20220302260 A1) teaches a ratio between Ge-gas and Si-gas is kept constant; since the ratio was being increased during the first interval, in order for the ration to be kept constant during the interval the mass flow rate of the silicon precursor would have to be increased during the second interval. However, More does not provide values for the flow rates to calculate the percent increase. No other prior art found in the search teaches or suggests 105-125% second silicon precursor flow rate based on a first silicon precursor flow rate.
Regarding claim 15, the claim limits the second etchant mass flow rate is between about 150% and about 600% of the first etchant mass flow rate. Similar to claim 12, More teaches an etching gas flow rate is higher but fails to provide values to meet the limitations of claim 15. No prior art found in the search teaches or suggests increasing the etchant flow rate to meet the limitations of claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, 10-11, 13-14, 16-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by More (US 20220302260 A1).
Regarding claim 1, More teaches a method (10, Fig 2A) of making a semiconductor structure (100, Fig 1C), comprising:
seating a substrate (103) on (shown on) a substrate support (102) arranged within (within; not shown) a chamber arrangement (CA: chamber, not shown; in a chamber, [0039]) of a semiconductor processing system (SPS: system for processing; not shown; CVD/PVD/ALD, [0050], are all well known to utilize semiconductor processing systems);
flowing a boron-containing precursor (B2H4, [0041]) to the chamber arrangement (CA) at a first boron-containing precursor mass flow rate (MFR1: first mass flow rate; 100 sccm, [0041], provided as a volumetric flow rate, would be analogous to a mass flow rate when converted based on the precursor gas characteristics);
depositing a first portion (D2-1) of a first SiGe:B layer (1L: layers D2-1/D2-2) using the boron-containing precursor (B2H4);
increasing mass flow rate (increase gas flow rate, [0041]) of the boron-containing precursor (B2H4) to an intermediate boron-containing precursor flow rate (MFR2: intermediate mass flow rate; 150 sccm, [0041], provided as a volumetric flow rate, would be analogous to mass flow rate);
depositing a second portion (D2-2) of the first SiGe:B layer (1L) using the boron-containing precursor (B2H4);
further increasing mass flow rate (increase flow rate, [0041]) of the boron-containing precursor (B2H4) to the chamber arrangement (CA) to a second boron-containing precursor mass flow rate (MFR3: second mass flow rate; 200 sccm, [0041]); and
depositing a second SiGe:B layer (2L: layers D2-3/D3) onto (shown on) the first SiGe:B layer (1L) using the boron-containing precursor (B2H4);
whereby the increase in the mass flow rate of the boron-containing precursor (B2H4) to the intermediate boron-containing precursor mass flow rate (MFR2) limits boron concentration (BC1: boron concentration at interface between D2-2 and D2-3) at a first SiGe:B layer-to-second SiGe:B layer interface (D2T: interface surface between D2-2 and D2-3) defined between the first SiGe:B layer (1L) and the second SiGe:B layer (2L) to less (shown less, Fig 1D-2) than a boron concentration (BC2: boron concentration in D2-3) within the second SiGe:B layer (2L).
Regarding claim 2, More teaches the method of claim 1 and goes on to teach wherein the first portion (D2-1, Fig 1C) of the first SiGe:B layer (1L) is formed during a first portion deposition interval (PD1: t5-t6, [0040], Fig 14), wherein
the second portion (D2-2, Fig 1C) of the first SiGe:B layer (1L) is formed during a second portion deposition interval (PD2: t6-t7, Fig 14), and wherein
the second portion deposition interval (PD2) is shorter (shown shorter) than the first portion deposition interval (PD1).
Regarding claim 3, More teaches the method of claim 2 and goes on to teach wherein the second portion deposition interval (PD2, Fig 14) is between about 10% and about 40% (shown as about 40%) of the first portion deposition interval (PD1).
Regarding claim 5, More teaches the method of claim 2 and goes on to teach wherein mass flow rate of the boron-containing precursor (B2H4) is progressively increased (gradually increased, [0043]) during the second portion deposition interval (PD2).
Regarding claim 6, More teaches the method of claim 1 and goes on to teach further comprising:
flowing a silicon-containing precursor (H2SiCl2, [0042]) to the chamber arrangement (CA) during deposition of the first portion (D2-1, Fig 1C) of the first SiGe:B layer (1L);
flowing a germanium-containing precursor (GeH4, [0042]) to the chamber arrangement (CA) during deposition of the first portion (D2-1) of the first SiGe:B layer (1L); and
increasing a ratio (increase the ratio, [0042]) of germanium-containing precursor mass flow rate to silicon-containing precursor mass flow rate during deposition of the second portion (D2-2) of the first SiGe:B layer (1L).
Regarding claim 7, More teaches the method of claim 6 and goes on to teach wherein increasing a ratio (increase the ratio, [0042]) of germanium-containing precursor mass flow rate to silicon-containing precursor mass flow rate during deposition of the second portion (D2-2) of the first SiGe:B layer (1L) comprises:
flowing (gas flow, [0042]) the germanium-containing precursor (GeH4) to the chamber arrangement (CA) at a first germanium-containing precursor mass flow rate (GeFR1: first germanium precursor mass flow rate) during deposition of the first portion (D2-1, Fig 1C) of the first SiGe:B layer (1L);
increasing (increase, [0042]) the first germanium-containing precursor mass flow rate (GeFR1) to a second germanium-containing precursor mass flow rate (GeFR2: second germanium precursor mass flow rate) during deposition of the second portion (D2-2) of the first SiGe:B layer (1L); and
flowing (gas flow, [0043]) the germanium-containing precursor (GeH4) to the chamber arrangement (CA) at the second germanium-containing precursor mass flow rate (GeFR2) during deposition of the second SiGe:B layer (2L).
Regarding claim 8, More teaches the method of claim 7 and goes on to teach wherein the second germanium-containing precursor mass flow rate (GeFR2) is between 150% and 400% (400%; increase ratio from 5 to 25, or a400% increase, [0042]) of the first germanium-containing precursor mass flow rate (GeFR1).
Regarding claim 10, More teaches the method of claim 7 and goes on to teach wherein mass flow rate of the germanium-containing precursor (GeH4) remains constant (kept constant, [0043]) during definition of the first SiGe:B layer-to-second SiGe:B layer interface (D2T).
Regarding claim 11, More teaches the method of claim 6 and goes on to teach flowing the silicon-containing precursor (H2SiCl2) to the chamber arrangement (CA) at a first silicon-containing precursor mass flow rate (SiFR1: first silicon precursor mass flow rate) during deposition of the first portion (D2-1, Fig 1C) of the first SiGe:B layer (1L);
increasing (increasing; ration between Ge-gas and Si-gas is kept constant; since the ratio was being increased during the first interval, in order for the ration to be kept constant during the interval the mass flow rate of the silicon precursor would have to be increased during the second interval) the first silicon-containing precursor mass flow rate (SiFR1) to a second silicon-containing precursor mass flow rate (SiFR2: second silicon precursor mass flow rate) during deposition of the second portion (D2-2) of the first SiGe:B layer (1L); and
flowing the silicon-containing precursor (H2SiCl2) to the chamber arrangement (CA) at the second silicon-containing precursor mass flow rate (SiFR2) during deposition of the second SiGe:B layer (2D-3).
Regarding claim 13, More teaches the method of claim 11 and goes on to teach wherein the first silicon-containing precursor mass flow rate (SiFR1) flowed to the chamber arrangement (CA) remains constant (constant; transitioning from D2-2 to D2-3 would require going from increasing the silicon precursor for D2-2 to decreasing the silicon precursor for D2-3 would require the silicon precursor mass flow rate at the interface remain constant) during definition of a first SiGe:B layer-to-second SiGe:B layer interface (D2T, Fig 1C) between the first SiGe:B layer (1L) and the second SiGe:B layer (2L).
Regarding claim 14, More teaches the method of claim 1 and goes on to teach further comprising:
flowing (flowed, [0043]) at etchant (HCl, [0043]) to the chamber arrangement (CA) at a first etchant mass flow rate (EFR1: first etchant mass flow rate) during deposition of the first portion (D2-1, Fig 1C) of the first SiGe:B layer (1L);
increasing flow rate (etching gas flow rate is higher, [0041]) of the etchant (HCl) to a second etchant mass flow rate (EFR2: second etchant mass flow rate; cleaning using HCL, [0045]) during deposition of the second portion (D2-2) of the first SiGe:B layer (1L); and
flowing (cleaning, [0045]) the etchant (HCl) to the chamber arrangement (CA) at the second etchant mass flow rate (EFR2) during deposition of the second SiGe:B layer (2L).
Regarding claim 16, More teaches the method of claim 1 and goes on to teach wherein the first SiGe:B layer (1L, Fig 1C) and the second SiGe:B layer (2L) are deposited continuously and without interruption (epitaxially grown; well known to be a continuous process without interruption).
Regarding claim 17, More teaches the method of claim 1 and goes on to teach wherein the substrate (103, Fig 5B) comprises a trench (150) defined within (shown defined in) an upper surface (103T: top surface of 103) of the substrate (103),
the method (10) further comprising depositing a silicon germanium (SiGe) layer (D1) onto a lower surface (TB: bottom surface of 150) and sidewalls (150SW: sidewalls of 150) bounding the trench (150).
Regarding claim 20, More teaches the method of claim 1 and goes on to teach wherein the second SiGe:B layer (2L, Fig 1C) has a greater thickness (shown thicker) than the first SiGe:B layer (1L), wherein
the second SiGe:B layer (2L) has a greater germanium concentration (greater, Fig 1D-1; Ge concentration of D23 shown greater than Ge concentrations of D21) that the first SiGe:B layer (1L), and wherein
the second SiGe:B layer (2L) has a greater boron concentration (greater, Fig 1D-2; B concentration of D23 shown greater than B concentration of D21) than the first SiGe:B layer (1L).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao (US 20230245895 A1), and further in view of More (US 20220302260 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Yao teaches a computer program product (165, Fig 2) comprising a non-transitory machine-readable medium having instructions that, when read by a processor (CPU; software routines executed by a CPU, [0035]), cause the processor (CPU) to [operate the system according to the instructions].
Yao fails to explicitly teach [the instructions]: seat a substrate on a substrate support arranged within a chamber arrangement of a semiconductor processing system; flow a boron-containing precursor to the chamber arrangement at a first boron-containing precursor mass flow rate; deposit a first portion of a first SiGe:B layer using the boron-containing precursor; increase mass flow rate of the boron-containing precursor to an intermediate boron-containing precursor flow rate; deposit a second portion of the first SiGe:B layer using the boron-containing precursor; further increase mass flow rate of the boron-containing precursor to the chamber arrangement to a second boron-containing precursor mass flow rate; and deposit a second SiGe:B layer onto the first SiGe:B layer using the boron-containing precursor, whereby the increase in the mass flow rate of the boron-containing precursor to the intermediate boron-containing precursor flow limits boron concentration at a first SiGe:B layer-to-second SiGe:B layer interface defined between the first SiGe:B layer and the second SiGe:B layer to less than a boron concentration within the second SiGe:B layer.
However, More teaches [instructions]:
seat a substrate (103) on (shown on) a substrate support (102) arranged within (within; not shown) a chamber arrangement (CA: chamber, not shown; in a chamber, [0039]) of a semiconductor processing system (SPS: system for processing; not shown; CVD/PVD/ALD, [0050], are all well known to utilize semiconductor processing systems);
flow a boron-containing precursor (B2H4, [0041]) to the chamber arrangement (CA) at a first boron-containing precursor mass flow rate (MFR1: first mass flow rate; 100 sccm, [0041], provided as a volumetric flow rate, would be analogous to a mass flow rate when converted based on the precursor gas characteristics);
deposit a first portion (D2-1) of a first SiGe:B layer (1L: layers D2-1/D2-2) using the boron-containing precursor (B2H4);
increase mass flow rate (increase gas flow rate, [0041]) of the boron-containing precursor (B2H4) to an intermediate boron-containing precursor flow rate (MFR2: intermediate mass flow rate; 150 sccm, [0041], provided as a volumetric flow rate, would be analogous to mass flow rate);
deposit a second portion (D2-2) of the first SiGe:B layer (1L) using the boron-containing precursor (B2H4);
further increase mass flow rate (increase flow rate, [0041]) of the boron-containing precursor (B2H4) to the chamber arrangement (CA) to a second boron-containing precursor mass flow rate (MFR3: second mass flow rate; 200 sccm, [0041]); and
deposit a second SiGe:B layer (2L: layers D2-3/D3) onto (shown on) the first SiGe:B layer (1L) using the boron-containing precursor (B2H4);
whereby the increase in the mass flow rate of the boron-containing precursor (B2H4) to the intermediate boron-containing precursor mass flow rate (MFR2) limits boron concentration (BC1: boron concentration at interface between D2-2 and D2-3) at a first SiGe:B layer-to-second SiGe:B layer interface (D2T: interface surface between D2-2 and D2-3) defined between the first SiGe:B layer (1L) and the second SiGe:B layer (2L) to less (shown less, Fig 1D-2) than a boron concentration (BC2: boron concentration in D2-3) within the second SiGe:B layer (2L).
Yao and More are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the computer program product of Yao with the features of More to create a computer program product comprising a non-transitory machine-readable medium having instructions that, when read by a processor, cause the processor to process the instructions listed above for reducing S/D contact resistance and forming high-quality SID features which provides benefits by increasing production efficiency and lowering associated costs (More, [0002]).
Claims 18, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over More (US 20220302260 A1), and further in view of Chang (US 20240055485 A1).
Regarding claim 18, More teaches the method (10, Fig 2A) of claim 17 and goes on to teach wherein the first SiGe:B layer (1L, Fig 1C) is deposited within (shown in) the trench (150) and onto (shown on) the SiGe layer (D1), wherein
the second SiGe:B layer (2L) protrudes above (shown protruding above) the upper surface (103T) of the substrate (103).
More fails to explicitly teach the method further comprises depositing a boron-doped silicon layer onto the second SiGe:B layer.
However, Chang teaches the method further comprises depositing a boron-doped silicon layer (147, Fig 25) onto (shown on) the second SiGe:B layer.
More and Chang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method of More with the features of Chang to create the method further comprises depositing a boron-doped silicon layer onto the second SiGe:B layer thereby increasing production efficiency, device density, carrier mobility and drive current; and lowering associated costs (Chang, [0001]).
Regarding claim 19, More teaches the method of claim 1 and goes on to teach depositing a SiGe intermediate layer (D3, Fig 1C) onto (shown on) the second SiGe:B layer (2L).
More fails to explicitly teach depositing a Si:B layer onto the SiGe intermediate layer.
However, Chang teaches depositing a Si:B layer (147, Fig 25) onto (shown on) the SiGe intermediate layer.
More and Chang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method of More with the features of Chang to create a method depositing a Si:B layer onto the SiGe intermediate layer thereby increasing production efficiency, device density, carrier mobility and drive current; and lowering associated costs (Chang, [0001]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of More and Chang discloses the method of claim 19. More goes on to teach a SiGe intermediate layer (D3, Fig 1C) deposited onto (shown on) the second SiGe:B layer (2L).
Chang goes on to teach a Si:B layer (147, Fig 25) deposited onto (shown on) the SiGe intermediate layer.
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over More (US 20220302260 A1), and further in view of Kohen (US 11031242 B2).
Regarding claim 4, More teaches the method of claim 2, the boron-containing precursor (B2H4), and the first portion deposition interval (PD1).
More fails to explicitly teach wherein mass flow rate of the boron-containing precursor is substantially constant during the first portion deposition interval.
However, Kohen teaches wherein mass flow rate (50 sccm, [Col 6, Ln 55-57]) of the boron-containing precursor is substantially constant (substantially constant; in order to maintain a flow rate of 50 sccm, the flow rate would be held constant) during the first portion deposition interval.
More and Kohen are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method of More with the features of Kohen to create a method wherein mass flow rate of the boron-containing precursor is substantially constant during the first portion deposition interval which is desirable to use in the fabrication of semiconductor devices because of relatively high electron and/or hole mobility; exhibit better performance, faster speeds, reduced power consumption, and have higher breakdown fields (Kohen, [Col 1 Ln 14-19]).
Regarding claim 9, More teaches the method of claim 2, the second germanium-containing precursor mass flow rate (GeFR2), and the second SiGe:B layer (2L, Fig 1C).
More fails to explicitly teach wherein the second germanium-containing precursor mass flow rate remains substantially constant during deposition of the second SiGe:B layer.
However, Kohen teaches wherein the second germanium-containing precursor mass flow rate remains substantially constant (constant; 10 sccm, [Col 6, Ln 36-39]; in order to maintain a flow rate of 10 sccm, the flow rate would be held constant) during deposition of the second SiGe:B layer.
More and Kohen are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are from the same field of endeavor of semiconductor methods. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method of More with the features of Kohen to create a method wherein the second germanium-containing precursor mass flow rate remains substantially constant during deposition of the second SiGe:B layer which is desirable to use in the fabrication of semiconductor devices because of relatively high electron and/or hole mobility; exhibit better performance, faster speeds, reduced power consumption, and have higher breakdown fields (Kohen, [Col 1 Ln 14-19]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsai (US 20250022945 A1) - SiGe:B barrier in S/D layers
/JEREMY DANIEL WATTS/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897