DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Parent data
18816013 filed 08/27/2024 is a Continuation of 17431280, filed 08/16/2021, now U.S. Patent # 12092730 17431280 is a National Stage entry of PCT/CN2019/075251, International Filing Date: 02/15/2019.
Status of the Application
This Non-final office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment received by the Office on 27 August 2024. Claims 1-79 have been presented in the application, of which, claims 1-59 are cancelled, and claims 60-79 are new. Accordingly, pending claims 60-79 are addressed herein.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 08/27/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 60-79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siomina et al (US 2011/0105144) in view of Rodulescu et al (US 2018/0343048).
Regarding claim 60, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3) comprising:
receiving, from a terminal device, a first reference signal at a second network device serving the terminal device (As discussed, it is possible to fully specify the positioning occasions and positioning reference signal “PRS” (first reference signal) transmission occasions by the two pairs, (n, .DELTA.) and (k, .DELTA..sub.PRS), respectively. Preferably, this information is made known to the UE, e.g., by communicating from the positioning node (second network device) to the UE, [0083], linaiaes 1-3);
transmitting a second reference signal to a first network device (fig. 5, cells in each group will transmit the PRS in the same positioning occasions, e.g. group 1 cells can transmit in even positioning occasions and group 2 cells can transmit in odd positioning occasions; thus is seen as cell 2 in group 1 transmits a reference signal “PRS” (second reference signal) to cell 0 in group 2 (first network device) serving a UE, [0098]);
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of determining a first time difference between a time at which the first reference signal is received and a time at which the second reference signal is transmitted; and
receiving a second request for positioning information from the location server.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of determining a first time difference between a time at which the first reference signal is received and a time at which the second reference signal is transmitted (FIG. 2 illustrates an example configuration of a portion of the RANs 120A and 120B and a portion of the core network 140A based on an LTE or LTE-U network, in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 2, RAN 120A is configured with a plurality of evolved Node Bs (also referred to as eNodeBs or eNBs) 202, 204 and 206, and RAN 120B is configured with a plurality of eNodeBs 208 and 210. The eNodeBs 202 to 210 may be configured to broadcast a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) to nearby UEs 102 to enable any UE 102 to make measurements of PRS timing differences between pairs of eNodeBs. The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12); and
receiving a second request for positioning information from the location server (providing assistance data to a UE 102 to enable the UE 102 to obtain location related measurements and/or determine a location estimate for the UE 102 from such location related measurements. The E-SMLC 225 may be accessed by the MME 215, which may transfer a location request for a UE 102 received from GMLC 220 to E-SMLC 225 and return any location estimate determined by the E-SMLC 225 back to the GMLC 220, [0046], lines 7-10, [0047], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of determining a first time difference between a time at which the first reference signal is received and a time at which the second reference signal is transmitted; and receiving a second request for positioning information from the location server of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 61, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3), further comprising:
transmitting, from the second network device, a second reference signal to the terminal device (As discussed, it is possible to fully specify the positioning occasions and positioning reference signal “PRS” (second reference signal) transmission occasions by the two pairs, (n, .DELTA.) and (k, .DELTA..sub.PRS), respectively. Preferably, this information is made known to the UE, e.g., by communicating from the positioning node (second network device) to the UE, [0083], linaiaes 1-3);
receiving a third reference signal from the terminal device (fig. 5, cells in each group will transmit the PRS in the same positioning occasions, e.g. group 1 cells can transmit in even positioning occasions and group 2 cells can transmit in odd positioning occasions; thus is seen as cell 2 in group 1 transmits a reference signal “PRS” (third reference signal) to cell 0 in group 2 (terminal device) serving a UE, [0098]);
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of determining a second time difference between a time at which the second reference signal is transmitted and a time at which the third reference signal is received; and
transmitting information on the second time difference to the location server.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of determining a second time difference between a time at which the second reference signal is transmitted and a time at which the third reference signal is received (FIG. 2 illustrates an example configuration of a portion of the RANs 120A and 120B and a portion of the core network 140A based on an LTE or LTE-U network, in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 2, RAN 120A is configured with a plurality of evolved Node Bs (also referred to as eNodeBs or eNBs) 202, 204 and 206, and RAN 120B is configured with a plurality of eNodeBs 208 and 210. The eNodeBs 202 to 210 may be configured to broadcast a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) to nearby UEs 102 to enable any UE 102 to make measurements of PRS timing differences between pairs of eNodeBs. The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12); and
transmitting information on the second time difference to the location server (reports the “Reference Signal Time Difference” RSTD measurements to a location server, [0036], line 12).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of determining a second time difference between a time at which the second reference signal is transmitted and a time at which the third reference signal is received; and transmitting information on the second time difference to the location server of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 62, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3), wherein the second reference signal and the third reference signal are the same reference signal (fig. 5, cells in each group will transmit the PRS in the same positioning occasions, e.g. group 1 cells can transmit in even positioning occasions and group 2 cells can transmit in odd positioning occasions; thus is seen as cell 2 in group 1 transmits a reference signal “PRS” (second reference signal) to cell 0 in group 2 (first network device) serving a UE, [0098]).
Regarding claim 63, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3), wherein transmitting the second reference signal comprises (fig. 5, cells in each group will transmit the PRS in the same positioning occasions, e.g. group 1 cells can transmit in even positioning occasions and group 2 cells can transmit in odd positioning occasions; thus is seen as cell 2 in group 1 transmits a reference signal “PRS” (second reference signal) to cell 0 in group 2 (first network device) serving a UE, [0098]):
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of in response to receiving from the location server a first request for positioning information, transmitting the second reference signal to the first network device; and
transmitting, to the location server, a response comprising configuration information about the second reference signal.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of in response to receiving from the location server a first request for positioning information, transmitting the second reference signal to the first network device (providing assistance data to a UE 102 to enable the UE 102 to obtain location related measurements and/or determine a location estimate for the UE 102 from such location related measurements. The E-SMLC 225 may be accessed by the MME 215, which may transfer a location request for a UE 102 received from GMLC 220 to E-SMLC 225 and return any location estimate determined by the E-SMLC 225 back to the GMLC 220, [0046], lines 7-10, [0047], lines 1-3); and
transmitting, to the location server, a response comprising configuration information about the second reference signal (FIG. 2 illustrates an example configuration of a portion of the RANs 120A and 120B and a portion of the core network 140A based on an LTE or LTE-U network, in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 2, RAN 120A is configured with a plurality of evolved Node Bs (also referred to as eNodeBs or eNBs) 202, 204 and 206, and RAN 120B is configured with a plurality of eNodeBs 208 and 210. The eNodeBs 202 to 210 may be configured to broadcast a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) to nearby UEs 102 to enable any UE 102 to make measurements of PRS timing differences between pairs of eNodeBs. The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of in response to receiving from the location server a first request for positioning information, transmitting the second reference signal to the first network device; and transmitting, to the location server, a response comprising configuration information about the second reference signal of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 64, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3), wherein transmitting the second reference signal comprises (fig. 5, cells in each group will transmit the PRS in the same positioning occasions, e.g. group 1 cells can transmit in even positioning occasions and group 2 cells can transmit in odd positioning occasions; thus is seen as cell 2 in group 1 transmits a reference signal “PRS” (second reference signal) to cell 0 in group 2 (first network device) serving a UE, [0098]):
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of transmitting the second reference signal to the first network device by beam forming the second reference signal in a direction of the first network device.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of transmitting the second reference signal to the first network device by beam forming the second reference signal in a direction of the first network device (FIG. 2 illustrates an example configuration of a portion of the RANs 120A and 120B and a portion of the core network 140A based on an LTE or LTE-U network, in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 2, RAN 120A is configured with a plurality of evolved Node Bs (also referred to as eNodeBs or eNBs) 202, 204 and 206, and RAN 120B is configured with a plurality of eNodeBs 208 and 210. The eNodeBs 202 to 210 may be configured to broadcast a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) to nearby UEs 102 to enable any UE 102 to make measurements of PRS timing differences between pairs of eNodeBs. The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of transmitting the second reference signal to the first network device by beam forming the second reference signal in a direction of the first network device of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 65, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3),
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein transmitting the information on the first time difference comprises:
in response to receiving the first request from the location server, transmitting the information on the first time difference to the location server.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of wherein transmitting the information on the first time difference comprises (providing assistance data to a UE 102 to enable the UE 102 to obtain location related measurements and/or determine a location estimate for the UE 102 from such location related measurements. The E-SMLC 225 may be accessed by the MME 215, which may transfer a location request for a UE 102 received from GMLC 220 to E-SMLC 225 and return any location estimate determined by the E-SMLC 225 back to the GMLC 220, [0046], lines 7-10, [0047], lines 1-3):
in response to receiving the first request from the location server, transmitting the information on the first time difference to the location server (FIG. 2 illustrates an example configuration of a portion of the RANs 120A and 120B and a portion of the core network 140A based on an LTE or LTE-U network, in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 2, RAN 120A is configured with a plurality of evolved Node Bs (also referred to as eNodeBs or eNBs) 202, 204 and 206, and RAN 120B is configured with a plurality of eNodeBs 208 and 210. The eNodeBs 202 to 210 may be configured to broadcast a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) to nearby UEs 102 to enable any UE 102 to make measurements of PRS timing differences between pairs of eNodeBs. The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of wherein transmitting the information on the first time difference comprises: in response to receiving the first request from the location server, transmitting the information on the first time difference to the location server of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 66, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3), wherein transmitting the information on the second time difference comprises:
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of in response to receiving the first request from the location server, transmitting the information on the second time difference to the location server.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of in response to receiving the first request from the location server, transmitting the information on the second time difference to the location server (FIG. 2 illustrates an example configuration of a portion of the RANs 120A and 120B and a portion of the core network 140A based on an LTE or LTE-U network, in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 2, RAN 120A is configured with a plurality of evolved Node Bs (also referred to as eNodeBs or eNBs) 202, 204 and 206, and RAN 120B is configured with a plurality of eNodeBs 208 and 210. The eNodeBs 202 to 210 may be configured to broadcast a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) to nearby UEs 102 to enable any UE 102 to make measurements of PRS timing differences between pairs of eNodeBs. The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of in response to receiving the first request from the location server, transmitting the information on the second time difference to the location server of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 67, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3), further comprising:
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of receiving first assistance information from the location server, the first assistance information indicating at least one of:
a first configuration for transmitting the second reference signal, and a second configuration for reporting a time difference to the location server.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of receiving first assistance information from the location server, the first assistance information indicating at least one of (providing assistance data to a UE 102 to enable the UE 102 to obtain location related measurements and/or determine a location estimate for the UE 102 from such location related measurements. The E-SMLC 225 may be accessed by the MME 215, which may transfer a location request for a UE 102 received from GMLC 220 to E-SMLC 225 and return any location estimate determined by the E-SMLC 225 back to the GMLC 220, [0046], lines 7-10, [0047], lines 1-3):
a first configuration for transmitting the second reference signal, and a second configuration for reporting a time difference to the location server (FIG. 2 illustrates an example configuration of a portion of the RANs 120A and 120B and a portion of the core network 140A based on an LTE or LTE-U network, in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 2, RAN 120A is configured with a plurality of evolved Node Bs (also referred to as eNodeBs or eNBs) 202, 204 and 206, and RAN 120B is configured with a plurality of eNodeBs 208 and 210. The eNodeBs 202 to 210 may be configured to broadcast a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) to nearby UEs 102 to enable any UE 102 to make measurements of PRS timing differences between pairs of eNodeBs. The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of receiving first assistance information from the location server, the first assistance information indicating at least one of: a first configuration for transmitting the second reference signal, and a second configuration for reporting a time difference to the location server of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 68, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3), wherein transmitting the second reference signal comprises:
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of in response to the first assistance information indicating the second configuration, transmitting the second reference signal to the terminal device based on the second configuration.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of in response to the first assistance information indicating the second configuration, transmitting the second reference signal to the terminal device based on the second configuration (providing assistance data to a UE 102 to enable the UE 102 to obtain location related measurements and/or determine a location estimate for the UE 102 from such location related measurements. The E-SMLC 225 may be accessed by the MME 215, which may transfer a location request for a UE 102 received from GMLC 220 to E-SMLC 225 and return any location estimate determined by the E-SMLC 225 back to the GMLC 220, [0046], lines 7-10, [0047], lines 1-3)..
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of in response to the first assistance information indicating the second configuration, transmitting the second reference signal to the terminal device based on the second configuration of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 69, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3),
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein transmitting the information on the first time difference comprises:
in response to the first assistance information indicating the third configuration, transmitting the information on the first time difference to the location server based on the third configuration.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of wherein transmitting the information on the first time difference comprises configuration (providing assistance data to a UE 102 to enable the UE 102 to obtain location related measurements and/or determine a location estimate for the UE 102 from such location related measurements. The E-SMLC 225 may be accessed by the MME 215, which may transfer a location request for a UE 102 received from GMLC 220 to E-SMLC 225 and return any location estimate determined by the E-SMLC 225 back to the GMLC 220, [0046], lines 7-10, [0047], lines 1-3):
in response to the first assistance information indicating the third configuration, transmitting the information on the first time difference to the location server based on the third (FIG. 2 illustrates an example configuration of a portion of the RANs 120A and 120B and a portion of the core network 140A based on an LTE or LTE-U network, in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 2, RAN 120A is configured with a plurality of evolved Node Bs (also referred to as eNodeBs or eNBs) 202, 204 and 206, and RAN 120B is configured with a plurality of eNodeBs 208 and 210. The eNodeBs 202 to 210 may be configured to broadcast a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) to nearby UEs 102 to enable any UE 102 to make measurements of PRS timing differences between pairs of eNodeBs. The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of wherein transmitting the information on the first time difference comprises: in response to the first assistance information indicating the third configuration, transmitting the information on the first time difference to the location server based on the third configuration of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 70, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3) comprising:
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of obtaining, from a first network device, information on a first time difference between a time at which the first network device transmits a first reference signal to a terminal device served by a second network device and a time at which the first network device receives a second reference signal from the second network device;
obtaining, from the terminal device, information on a first time difference between a time at which the terminal device receives the first reference signal from the first network device and a time at which the terminal device transmits a first reference signal to the second network device;
obtaining, from the second network device, information on a first time difference between a time at which the second network device receives the first reference signal from the terminal device and a time at which the second network device transmits the second reference signal to the first network device; and
sending a second request for positioning information from the location server determining positioning information about the terminal device at least based on the first, a second and a third time difference.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of obtaining, from a first network device, information on a first time difference between a time at which the first network device transmits a first reference signal to a terminal device served by a second network device and a time at which the first network device receives a second reference signal from the second network device (FIG. 2 illustrates an example configuration of a portion of the RANs 120A and 120B and a portion of the core network 140A based on an LTE or LTE-U network, in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 2, RAN 120A is configured with a plurality of evolved Node Bs (also referred to as eNodeBs or eNBs) 202, 204 and 206, and RAN 120B is configured with a plurality of eNodeBs 208 and 210. The eNodeBs 202 to 210 may be configured to broadcast a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) to nearby UEs 102 to enable any UE 102 to make measurements of PRS timing differences between pairs of eNodeBs. The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12);
obtaining, from the terminal device, information on a first time difference between a time at which the terminal device receives the first reference signal from the first network device and a time at which the terminal device transmits a first reference signal to the second network device (The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12);
obtaining, from the second network device, information on a first time difference between a time at which the second network device receives the first reference signal from the terminal device and a time at which the second network device transmits the second reference signal to the first network device (positioning methods based on time difference of arrival measurements (TDOA) have been widely used, for example, in GSM, UMTS and CDMA2000. FIGS. 1a and 1b outline the principle of a downlink observed time difference of arrival (OTDOA) positioning method. Each hyperbola in FIG. 1a illustrates an area with the same level of the reference signal time difference (RSTD) for two base stations. The UE measures the timing differences of multiple base stations. At least three measurements from geographically dispersed base stations with a good geometry are needed to solve for two coordinates of the UE and the receiver clock bias. Thus, to solve for the position of the UE, a precise knowledge of the base station locations and timing are needed. With OTDOA, unlike when measuring the time of arrival (TOA), synchronization between base stations and UEs is not a requirement, [0005], [0034], lines 1-12, [0036], lines 1-5); and
sending a second request for positioning information from the location server determining positioning information about the terminal device at least based on the first, a second and a third time difference (reports the “Reference Signal Time Difference” RSTD measurements to a location server, [0036], line 12)..
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of obtaining, from a first network device, information on a first time difference between a time at which the first network device transmits a first reference signal to a terminal device served by a second network device and a time at which the first network device receives a second reference signal from the second network device; obtaining, from the terminal device, information on a first time difference between a time at which the terminal device receives the first reference signal from the first network device and a time at which the terminal device transmits a first reference signal to the second network device; obtaining, from the second network device, information on a first time difference between a time at which the second network device receives the first reference signal from the terminal device and a time at which the second network device transmits the second reference signal to the first network device; and sending a second request for positioning information from the location server determining positioning information about the terminal device at least based on the first, a second and a third time difference of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3)
Regarding claim 71, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3),
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein obtaining the information on the first time difference comprises:
transmitting, to the first network device, a first request for positioning information; and
in response to the first request being transmitted to the first network device, receiving the information on the first time difference from the first network device.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of wherein obtaining the information on the first time difference comprises (providing assistance data to a UE 102 to enable the UE 102 to obtain location related measurements and/or determine a location estimate for the UE 102 from such location related measurements. The E-SMLC 225 may be accessed by the MME 215, which may transfer a location request for a UE 102 received from GMLC 220 to E-SMLC 225 and return any location estimate determined by the E-SMLC 225 back to the GMLC 220, [0046], lines 7-10, [0047], lines 1-3):
transmitting, to the first network device, a first request for positioning information (providing assistance data to a UE 102 to enable the UE 102 to obtain location related measurements and/or determine a location estimate for the UE 102 from such location related measurements. The E-SMLC 225 may be accessed by the MME 215, which may transfer a location request for a UE 102 received from GMLC 220 to E-SMLC 225 and return any location estimate determined by the E-SMLC 225 back to the GMLC 220, [0046], lines 7-10, [0047], lines 1-3).; and
in response to the first request being transmitted to the first network device, receiving the information on the first time difference from the first network device (FIG. 2 illustrates an example configuration of a portion of the RANs 120A and 120B and a portion of the core network 140A based on an LTE or LTE-U network, in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 2, RAN 120A is configured with a plurality of evolved Node Bs (also referred to as eNodeBs or eNBs) 202, 204 and 206, and RAN 120B is configured with a plurality of eNodeBs 208 and 210. The eNodeBs 202 to 210 may be configured to broadcast a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) to nearby UEs 102 to enable any UE 102 to make measurements of PRS timing differences between pairs of eNodeBs. The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of in response to the first request being transmitted to the first network device, receiving the information on the first time difference from the first network device of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 72, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3), further comprising:
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of transmitting first assistance information to the first network device, the first assistance information indicating at least one of:
a first configuration about the second reference signal, and a first configuration for reporting a time difference to the location server.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of transmitting first assistance information to the first network device, the first assistance information indicating at least one of (providing assistance data to a UE 102 to enable the UE 102 to obtain location related measurements and/or determine a location estimate for the UE 102 from such location related measurements. The E-SMLC 225 may be accessed by the MME 215, which may transfer a location request for a UE 102 received from GMLC 220 to E-SMLC 225 and return any location estimate determined by the E-SMLC 225 back to the GMLC 220, [0046], lines 7-10, [0047], lines 1-3):
a first configuration about the second reference signal, and a first configuration for reporting a time difference to the location server (FIG. 2 illustrates an example configuration of a portion of the RANs 120A and 120B and a portion of the core network 140A based on an LTE or LTE-U network, in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 2, RAN 120A is configured with a plurality of evolved Node Bs (also referred to as eNodeBs or eNBs) 202, 204 and 206, and RAN 120B is configured with a plurality of eNodeBs 208 and 210. The eNodeBs 202 to 210 may be configured to broadcast a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) to nearby UEs 102 to enable any UE 102 to make measurements of PRS timing differences between pairs of eNodeBs. The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of transmitting first assistance information to the first network device, the first assistance information indicating at least one of: a first configuration about the second reference signal, and a first configuration for reporting a time difference to the location server of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 73, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3),
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein obtaining the information on the first time difference comprises:
in response to the first assistance information indicating the first configuration being transmitted, receiving the information on the first time difference from the first network device based on the second configuration.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of wherein obtaining the information on the first time difference comprises (providing assistance data to a UE 102 to enable the UE 102 to obtain location related measurements and/or determine a location estimate for the UE 102 from such location related measurements. The E-SMLC 225 may be accessed by the MME 215, which may transfer a location request for a UE 102 received from GMLC 220 to E-SMLC 225 and return any location estimate determined by the E-SMLC 225 back to the GMLC 220, [0046], lines 7-10, [0047], lines 1-3):
in response to the first assistance information indicating the first configuration being transmitted, receiving the information on the first time difference from the first network device based on the second configuration (FIG. 2 illustrates an example configuration of a portion of the RANs 120A and 120B and a portion of the core network 140A based on an LTE or LTE-U network, in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 2, RAN 120A is configured with a plurality of evolved Node Bs (also referred to as eNodeBs or eNBs) 202, 204 and 206, and RAN 120B is configured with a plurality of eNodeBs 208 and 210. The eNodeBs 202 to 210 may be configured to broadcast a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) to nearby UEs 102 to enable any UE 102 to make measurements of PRS timing differences between pairs of eNodeBs. The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of wherein obtaining the information on the first time difference comprises: in response to the first assistance information indicating the first configuration being transmitted, receiving the information on the first time difference from the first network device based on the second configuration of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 74, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3),
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein obtaining the information on the first time difference comprises:
transmitting, to the terminal device, a second request for positioning information; and
in response to the second request being transmitted to the terminal device, receiving the information on the first time difference from the terminal device.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of wherein obtaining the information on the first time difference comprises (providing assistance data to a UE 102 to enable the UE 102 to obtain location related measurements and/or determine a location estimate for the UE 102 from such location related measurements. The E-SMLC 225 may be accessed by the MME 215, which may transfer a location request for a UE 102 received from GMLC 220 to E-SMLC 225 and return any location estimate determined by the E-SMLC 225 back to the GMLC 220, [0046], lines 7-10, [0047], lines 1-3).:
transmitting, to the terminal device, a second request for positioning information (providing assistance data to a UE 102 to enable the UE 102 to obtain location related measurements and/or determine a location estimate for the UE 102 from such location related measurements. The E-SMLC 225 may be accessed by the MME 215, which may transfer a location request for a UE 102 received from GMLC 220 to E-SMLC 225 and return any location estimate determined by the E-SMLC 225 back to the GMLC 220, [0046], lines 7-10, [0047], lines 1-3).; and
in response to the second request being transmitted to the terminal device, receiving the information on the first time difference from the terminal device (FIG. 2 illustrates an example configuration of a portion of the RANs 120A and 120B and a portion of the core network 140A based on an LTE or LTE-U network, in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 2, RAN 120A is configured with a plurality of evolved Node Bs (also referred to as eNodeBs or eNBs) 202, 204 and 206, and RAN 120B is configured with a plurality of eNodeBs 208 and 210. The eNodeBs 202 to 210 may be configured to broadcast a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) to nearby UEs 102 to enable any UE 102 to make measurements of PRS timing differences between pairs of eNodeBs. The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of wherein obtaining the information on the first time difference comprises: transmitting, to the terminal device, a second request for positioning information; and in response to the second request being transmitted to the terminal device, receiving the information on the first time difference from the terminal device of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 75, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3), further comprising:
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of transmitting second assistance information to the terminal device, the second assistance information indicating a first configuration for reporting a time difference to the location server.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of transmitting second assistance information to the terminal device, the second assistance information indicating a first configuration for reporting a time difference to the location server (FIG. 2 illustrates an example configuration of a portion of the RANs 120A and 120B and a portion of the core network 140A based on an LTE or LTE-U network, in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 2, RAN 120A is configured with a plurality of evolved Node Bs (also referred to as eNodeBs or eNBs) 202, 204 and 206, and RAN 120B is configured with a plurality of eNodeBs 208 and 210. The eNodeBs 202 to 210 may be configured to broadcast a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) to nearby UEs 102 to enable any UE 102 to make measurements of PRS timing differences between pairs of eNodeBs. The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of transmitting second assistance information to the terminal device, the second assistance information indicating a first configuration for reporting a time difference to the location server of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 76, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3),
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein obtaining the information on the first time difference comprises:
receiving the information on the first time difference from the terminal device based on the first configuration.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of wherein obtaining the information on the first time difference comprises (providing assistance data to a UE 102 to enable the UE 102 to obtain location related measurements and/or determine a location estimate for the UE 102 from such location related measurements. The E-SMLC 225 may be accessed by the MME 215, which may transfer a location request for a UE 102 received from GMLC 220 to E-SMLC 225 and return any location estimate determined by the E-SMLC 225 back to the GMLC 220, [0046], lines 7-10, [0047], lines 1-3):
receiving the information on the first time difference from the terminal device based on the first configuration (FIG. 2 illustrates an example configuration of a portion of the RANs 120A and 120B and a portion of the core network 140A based on an LTE or LTE-U network, in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 2, RAN 120A is configured with a plurality of evolved Node Bs (also referred to as eNodeBs or eNBs) 202, 204 and 206, and RAN 120B is configured with a plurality of eNodeBs 208 and 210. The eNodeBs 202 to 210 may be configured to broadcast a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) to nearby UEs 102 to enable any UE 102 to make measurements of PRS timing differences between pairs of eNodeBs. The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of wherein obtaining the information on the first time difference comprises: receiving the information on the first time difference from the terminal device based on the first configuration of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 77, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3),
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of wherein obtaining the information on the first time difference comprises:
transmitting, to the second network device, a first request for positioning information; and
in response to the first request being transmitted to the second network device, receiving the information on the first time difference from the second network device.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of wherein obtaining the information on the first time difference comprises (providing assistance data to a UE 102 to enable the UE 102 to obtain location related measurements and/or determine a location estimate for the UE 102 from such location related measurements. The E-SMLC 225 may be accessed by the MME 215, which may transfer a location request for a UE 102 received from GMLC 220 to E-SMLC 225 and return any location estimate determined by the E-SMLC 225 back to the GMLC 220, [0046], lines 7-10, [0047], lines 1-3):
transmitting, to the second network device, a first request for positioning information (providing assistance data to a UE 102 to enable the UE 102 to obtain location related measurements and/or determine a location estimate for the UE 102 from such location related measurements. The E-SMLC 225 may be accessed by the MME 215, which may transfer a location request for a UE 102 received from GMLC 220 to E-SMLC 225 and return any location estimate determined by the E-SMLC 225 back to the GMLC 220, [0046], lines 7-10, [0047], lines 1-3); and
in response to the first request being transmitted to the second network device, receiving the information on the first time difference from the second network device (FIG. 2 illustrates an example configuration of a portion of the RANs 120A and 120B and a portion of the core network 140A based on an LTE or LTE-U network, in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 2, RAN 120A is configured with a plurality of evolved Node Bs (also referred to as eNodeBs or eNBs) 202, 204 and 206, and RAN 120B is configured with a plurality of eNodeBs 208 and 210. The eNodeBs 202 to 210 may be configured to broadcast a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) to nearby UEs 102 to enable any UE 102 to make measurements of PRS timing differences between pairs of eNodeBs. The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of wherein obtaining the information on the first time difference comprises: transmitting, to the second network device, a first request for positioning information; and in response to the first request being transmitted to the second network device, receiving the information on the first time difference from the second network device of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 78, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3), further comprising:
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of receiving a response to the first request from the second network device, the response indicating configuration information about the second reference signal.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of receiving a response to the first request from the second network device, the response indicating configuration information about the second reference signal (FIG. 2 illustrates an example configuration of a portion of the RANs 120A and 120B and a portion of the core network 140A based on an LTE or LTE-U network, in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 2, RAN 120A is configured with a plurality of evolved Node Bs (also referred to as eNodeBs or eNBs) 202, 204 and 206, and RAN 120B is configured with a plurality of eNodeBs 208 and 210. The eNodeBs 202 to 210 may be configured to broadcast a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) to nearby UEs 102 to enable any UE 102 to make measurements of PRS timing differences between pairs of eNodeBs. The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of receiving a response to the first request from the second network device, the response indicating configuration information about the second reference signal of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 79, Siomina et al discloses method (method for defining positioning configuration in the wireless network in which some or all cells of the network are capable of wirelessly transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) during positioning occasions, [0034], lines 1-3), further comprising:
Siomina et al does not specifically disclose concept of transmitting first assistance information to the second network device, the first assistance information indicating at least one of:
a first configuration for transmitting the second reference signal, and a second configuration for reporting a time difference to the location server.
However, Rodulescu et al specifically teaches concept of transmitting first assistance information to the second network device, the first assistance information indicating at least one of (providing assistance data to a UE 102 to enable the UE 102 to obtain location related measurements and/or determine a location estimate for the UE 102 from such location related measurements. The E-SMLC 225 may be accessed by the MME 215, which may transfer a location request for a UE 102 received from GMLC 220 to E-SMLC 225 and return any location estimate determined by the E-SMLC 225 back to the GMLC 220, [0046], lines 7-10, [0047], lines 1-3):
a first configuration for transmitting the second reference signal, and a second configuration for reporting a time difference to the location server (FIG. 2 illustrates an example configuration of a portion of the RANs 120A and 120B and a portion of the core network 140A based on an LTE or LTE-U network, in accordance with an aspect of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 2, RAN 120A is configured with a plurality of evolved Node Bs (also referred to as eNodeBs or eNBs) 202, 204 and 206, and RAN 120B is configured with a plurality of eNodeBs 208 and 210. The eNodeBs 202 to 210 may be configured to broadcast a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) to nearby UEs 102 to enable any UE 102 to make measurements of PRS timing differences between pairs of eNodeBs. The PRS timing difference measurements may enable a location estimate of the UE 102 to be obtained, according to the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) positioning method, either by the UE 102 itself (e.g., if the UE 102 is provided with location coordinates and timing information for the measured eNodeBs by a location server) or by a location server (e.g., a location server 170) to which the PRS timing difference measurements may be sent. OTDOA is a multilateration method in which the UE 102 measures the time difference, known as a Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD), between specific signals (e.g., PRS signals) from different pairs of eNodeBs and either reports the RSTD measurements to a location server or computes a location itself from the RSTD measurements, [0036], lines 1-12).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Siomina et al with concept of transmitting first assistance information to the second network device, the first assistance information indicating at least one of: a first configuration for transmitting the second reference signal, and a second configuration for reporting a time difference to the location server of Rodulescu et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve wireless communication systems deployed to provide various types of communication content, such as voice, (Rodulescu et al, [0003], lines 1-3).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681