DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species III in the reply filed on April 8, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 uses the term “BOSCH” process. However, it is unclear what steps, parameters, materials and conditions are required in order to meet the requirements of a “BOSCH” process. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite. For purposes of the rejection, the term is treated as reciting a - - chemical etching - - process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-11 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto et al (EP 697712 A1).
As to claim 16, Yamamoto discloses a method of fabricating a transmission target for an X-ray system (col.2, lines 28-29), comprising:
providing a first substrate (“first diamond plate” col.8, lines 56);
providing a second substrate (“second diamond plate” col.8, line 58);
depositing a layer of seed metal on the top surface of the second substrate (coating with Ti, Pt or Au, col.9, lines 7-8);
bonding the first substrate onto the second substrate (col.9, lines 8-10);
etching at least one via in the first substrate (“penetrating hole” col.9, lines 12-13); and
filling the vias with a target metal to form target metal blocks in the first substrate (“filled with copper” col.9, line 13).
As to claim 17, in another interpretation, the second substrate comprises silicon (“polycrystalline Si base,” col.8, line 51), and the method further comprises removing the second substrate (“dissolved by acid” col.8, lines 55-56.)
As to claim 18, Yamamoto discloses that the method further comprises bonding the first substrate with the layer of seed metal on the second substrate (col.9, lines 8-10).
As to claims 10-11, Yamamoto discloses that the first substrate and the second substrate are made of diamond (“first diamond plate” and “second diamond plate” col.8, lines 56-58).
As to claim 13, Yamamoto discloses that the layer of seed metal is deposited on the surface of the second substrate using a physical vapor deposition process (“evaporation,” col.9, lines 6-8).
As to claim 14, Yamamoto discloses that the layer of seed metal is a layer of platinum (col.9, lines 6-8).
As to claim 15, Yamamoto discloses that the target metal is copper (col.9, line 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al (EP 697712 A1).
The discussion of Yamamoto from above is repeater here.
As to claim 12, Yamamoto discloses that the vias are etched in the first substrate by using the process described in Example 1 (col.9, lines 12-13), and Example 1 describes using a laser beam (col.8, lines 19-20). Yamamoto fails to disclose that the vias are etched by a BOSCH process. However, Yamamoto teaches that vias may be formed by etching, such as with oxygen or oxygen containing gas (col.6, lines 10-22) as a functionally equivalent technique to using a laser (col.5, lines 43-45). The oxygen etching process is, broadly interpreted, a BOSCH process or a chemical etching process. Yamamoto teaches that selective etching is useful because it provides for precise formation of vias (col. 7, lines 19-20). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the vias by a chemical etching process because Yamamoto teaches that it has the benefit of providing precise formation of vias, and because it is a functionally equivalent technique for forming vias and is expected to give the predictable result of a via suitable for an x-ray transmission target.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yun et al (US 2015/0092924 A1) is cited to methods of forming a transmission target and materials for the transmission target (Fig. 39A-39B,40). Yun et al (US 2016/0320320 A1) is cited to show materials for the target and substrate materials (Table 1). Tamura et al (US 2013/0195246 A1) is cited to show a transmission target with a target layer and an intermediate layer. Hamamatsu et al (EP 2293318 A1) is cited to show a focused ion beam (“FIB”) etch to form a hole and then to fill the hole with FIB-excited CVD for a target to generate x-rays.
/ANITA K ALANKO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713