DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to communication received on 8/27/24.
Election/Restriction
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-19, drawn to a method, classified in H10P14/6339.
II. Claim 20, drawn to an apparatus, classified in C23C16/0227.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions Groups I and Group II are related as process and apparatus for its practice. The inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process. (MPEP § 806.05(e)). In this case the apparatus of Group II is not necessarily limited to being used by the method of Group I and vice versa.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
The inventions have gained a separate status in the art.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Robert Clark on 8/28/26 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-19. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tois et al. US PGPub 2017/0352550 hereinafter TOIS in view of Wang et al. US Patent Number 11,972,940 hereinafter WANG.
As for claim 1, TOIS teaches “Processes are provided herein for deposition of organic films. Organic films can be deposited, including selective deposition on one surface of a substrate relative to a second surface of the substrate” (abstract, lines 1-4), i.e. A method for selectively depositing a layer of organic material on a substrate comprising a first surface and a second surface by a cyclic deposition process.
TOIS further teaches “In some embodiments, a substrate comprising a first surface and a second surface is provided” (paragraph 59, lines 1-2), i.e. the process comprising: providing a substrate in a reaction chamber.
TOIS further teaches “In some embodiments a first organic reactant is vaporized to form a first reactant vapor… The substrate is then exposed to the first reactant vapor and an organic film deposited,” (paragraph 59, lines 6-17), i.e. providing a first vapor-phase precursor in the reaction chamber.
TOIS teaches “In some embodiments the substrate is contacted with a second vapor phase precursor, or reactant, at block 13 for a second exposure period” (paragraph 65, lines 1-3), i.e. providing a second vapor-phase precursor in the reaction chamber.
TOIS further teaches “Organic films can be deposited, including selective deposition on one surface of a substrate relative to a second surface of the substrate” (abstract, lines 2-4), i.e. wherein the first and second vapor-phase precursors form the organic material selectively on the first surface relative to the second surface.
TOIS further teaches “In some embodiments, the reactant being vaporized comprises an organic precursor, such as an amine” (paragraph 59, lines 10-12).
TOIS is silent on wherein the first vapor-phase precursor comprises a triamine compound comprising three amine groups and at least three carbon atoms, wherein the amine groups are primary amines.
WANG teaches “Methods of selectively depositing a carbon-containing layer are described” (abstract, lines 1-2).
WANG further teaches “In one or more embodiments, the second precursor 110 may have a general formula R2----(Y)n wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 6, and R2 comprises one or more of an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an aryl, or aromatic group, and a cycloalkyl group. In one or more embodiments, R2 is independently selected from C1-20 alkyl. In other embodiments, R2 is from C1-12 alkyl. Yn comprises one or more of… an amino group” (column 10, lines 28-37), i.e. a range that overlaps with wherein the first vapor-phase precursor comprises a triamine compound comprising three amine groups and at least three carbon atoms, wherein the amine groups are primary amines. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
WANG further teaches “Without intending to be bound by theory, it is thought that 40 the second precursor 110 includes a reactive group that can form a covalent bond with a reactive group of the first precursor 106” (column 10, lines 39-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a range of compounds that overlaps with wherein the first vapor-phase precursor comprises a triamine compound comprising three amine groups and at least three carbon atoms, wherein the amine groups are primary amines in the process of TOIS because WANG teaches that such compounds can provide the necessary reactive functional groups to react with the other reactant in selective processes.
As for claim 2, TOIS teaches “For example, the second reactant can be an anhydride… or more particularly a dianhydride” (paragraph 84, lines 4-6), i.e. wherein the second vapor-phase precursor comprises a dianhydride.
As for claim 3, TOIS teaches “Various reactants can be used to deposit polyamide or polyimide films according to the processes described herein” (paragraph 102), i.e. wherein the organic material comprises a polyimide.
As for claim 4, TOIS teaches “In some embodiments, the polymer deposited is a polyamide… other polymeric forms or mixtures of the above materials” (paragraph 60, lines 3-7), i.e. wherein another polymer form of polyamide is polyamic acid such that wherein the organic material comprises a polyamic acid.
As for claim 5, TOIS teaches “In some embodiments an organic material is selectively deposited on a first metal oxide surface of a substrate relative to a second SiO2 surface” (paragraph 45, lines 1-3), i.e. wherein the second surface comprises an inorganic dielectric surface.
As for claim 6, TOIS teaches “In some embodiments an organic material is selectively deposited on a first metal oxide surface of a substrate relative to a second SiO2 surface” (paragraph 45, lines 1-3), i.e. wherein the second surface comprises silicon.
As for claim 7, TOIS teaches “In some embodiments an organic material is selectively deposited on a first metal oxide surface of a substrate relative to a second SiO2 surface” (paragraph 45, lines 1-3), i.e. wherein the second surface comprises SiO2.
As for claim 8, TOIS teaches “Selectivity, as measured by relative thicknesses on the different layers, of above about 50%” (abstract, lines 6-7), i.e. wherein the organic material is deposited on the first surface relative to the second surface with a selectivity of above about 50%.
As for claim 9, TOIS teaches “In some embodiments an organic material is selectively deposited on a first metal oxide surface of a substrate relative to a second SiO2 surface” (paragraph 45, lines 1-3), i.e. wherein the first surface comprises a metal oxide, metal nitride, elemental metal, or metallic surface.
As for claim 10, TOIS teaches “In some embodiment the first metal oxide surface may be, for example a WOx, HfOx, TiOx, AlOx or ZrOx surface” (Paragraph 45, lines 3-5), i.e. wherein the first surface comprises a metal selected from a group consisting of aluminum, copper, tungsten, cobalt, nickel, niobium, iron, molybdenum, indium, gallium, manganese, zinc, ruthenium and vanadium.
As for claim 11, TOIS is silent on the triamine.
WANG teaches “Methods of selectively depositing a carbon-containing layer are described” (abstract, lines 1-2).
WANG further teaches “In one or more embodiments, the second precursor 110 may have a general formula R2----(Y)n wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 6, and R2 comprises one or more of an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an aryl, or aromatic group, and a cycloalkyl group. In one or more embodiments, R2 is independently selected from C1-20 alkyl. In other embodiments, R2 is from C1-12 alkyl. Yn comprises one or more of… an amino group” (column 10, lines 28-37), i.e. a range that overlaps with wherein the triamine compound is a C3 to C 11 compound. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
WANG further teaches “Without intending to be bound by theory, it is thought that 40 the second precursor 110 includes a reactive group that can form a covalent bond with a reactive group of the first precursor 106” (column 10, lines 39-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a range of compounds that overlaps with wherein the triamine compound is a C3 to C 11 compound in the process of TOIS because WANG teaches that such compounds can provide the necessary reactive functional groups to react with the other reactant in selective processes.
As for claim 12, TOIS is silent on the triamine.
WANG teaches “Methods of selectively depositing a carbon-containing layer are described” (abstract, lines 1-2).
WANG further teaches “In one or more embodiments, the second precursor 110 may have a general formula R2----(Y)n wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 6, and R2 comprises one or more of an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an aryl, or aromatic group, and a cycloalkyl group. In one or more embodiments, R2 is independently selected from C1-20 alkyl. In other embodiments, R2 is from C1-12 alkyl. Yn comprises one or more of… an amino group” (column 10, lines 28-37), which encompasses a compound with three amine groups attaches to a C3 alkyl, i.e. Triaminopropane, i.e. wherein the triamine is a triaminopropane.
WANG further teaches “Without intending to be bound by theory, it is thought that 40 the second precursor 110 includes a reactive group that can form a covalent bond with a reactive group of the first precursor 106” (column 10, lines 39-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a range of compounds that encompasses wherein the triamine is a triaminopropane in the process of TOIS because WANG teaches that such compounds can provide the necessary reactive functional groups to react with the other reactant in selective processes.
As for claim 13, TOIS is silent on the triamine.
WANG teaches “Methods of selectively depositing a carbon-containing layer are described” (abstract, lines 1-2).
WANG further teaches “In one or more embodiments, the second precursor 110 may have a general formula R2----(Y)n wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 6, and R2 comprises one or more of an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an aryl, or aromatic group, and a cycloalkyl group. In one or more embodiments, R2 is independently selected from C1-20 alkyl. In other embodiments, R2 is from C1-12 alkyl. Yn comprises one or more of… an amino group” (column 10, lines 28-37), which encompasses a compound with three amine groups attaches to a C3 alkyl, i.e. a propane alkyl with three amino groups attaches i.e. propane-1,2,3-triamine, i.e. wherein the triamine compound is… propane-1,2,3-triamine.
WANG further teaches “Without intending to be bound by theory, it is thought that 40 the second precursor 110 includes a reactive group that can form a covalent bond with a reactive group of the first precursor 106” (column 10, lines 39-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a range of compounds that encompasses wherein the triamine compound is… propane-1,2,3-triamine in the process of TOIS because WANG teaches that such compounds can provide the necessary reactive functional groups to react with the other reactant in selective processes.
As for claim 14, Examiner notes that this claim requires that the triamine compound comprises a cis- or trans stereoisomer, or combination thereof.
Examiner notes that there is no requirement that stereoisomers be provided together, or that the compounds be provided separately, only that the compound have the property of being stereoisomer. With that in mind, TOIS is silent on the triamine.
WANG teaches “Methods of selectively depositing a carbon-containing layer are described” (abstract, lines 1-2).
WANG further teaches “In one or more embodiments, the second precursor 110 may have a general formula R2----(Y)n wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 6, and R2 comprises one or more of an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an aryl, or aromatic group, and a cycloalkyl group. In one or more embodiments, R2 is independently selected from C1-20 alkyl. In other embodiments, R2 is from C1-12 alkyl. Yn comprises one or more of… an amino group” (column 10, lines 28-37), which encompasses a compound with three amine groups attached to a cyclohexane, i.e. cyclohexane-1,3,5-triamine, which has stereoisomers (see evidence Stereoisomerism In Cyclohexane).
WANG further teaches “Without intending to be bound by theory, it is thought that 40 the second precursor 110 includes a reactive group that can form a covalent bond with a reactive group of the first precursor 106” (column 10, lines 39-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a range of compounds that encompasses wherein the triamine compound comprises a cis- or trans stereoisomer, or combination thereof in the process of TOIS because WANG teaches that such compounds can provide the necessary reactive functional groups to react with the other reactant in selective processes.
As for claim 15, TOIS teaches “In some embodiments a metal oxide surface is an oxidized surface of a metallic material. In some embodiments a metal oxide surface is created by oxidizing at least the surface of a metallic material using oxygen compound… oxygen atoms, plasma or radicals or mixtures thereof” (paragraph 41, lines 4-10), i.e. wherein the method comprises a preclean comprising a reduction and an oxidation step before depositing the organic material on the first surface of the substrate.
As for claim 16, TOIS teaches “Processes are provided herein for deposition of organic films. Organic films can be deposited, including selective deposition on one surface of a substrate relative to a second surface of the substrate” (abstract, lines 1-4), i.e. A method for selectively depositing a layer of organic material on a substrate comprising a first surface and a second surface by a cyclic deposition process.
TOIS further teaches “In some embodiments a first organic reactant is vaporized to form a first reactant vapor… The substrate is then exposed to the first reactant vapor and an organic film deposited,” (paragraph 59, lines 6-17), i.e. contacting the substrate with a first vapor-phase precursor.
TOIS teaches “In some embodiments the substrate is contacted with a second vapor phase precursor, or reactant, at block 13 for a second exposure period” (paragraph 65, lines 1-3), i.e. contacting the substrate with a second vapor-phase precursor.
TOIS further teaches “Organic films can be deposited, including selective deposition on one surface of a substrate relative to a second surface of the substrate” (abstract, lines 2-4), i.e. the first and second vapor-phase precursors form the organic material selectively on the first surface relative to the second surface.
TOIS further teaches “In some embodiments, the reactant being vaporized comprises an organic precursor, such as an amine” (paragraph 59, lines 10-12).
TOIS is silent on wherein the first vapor-phase precursor comprises a triamine compound comprising at least three carbon atoms wherein the amine groups are primary amines.
WANG teaches “Methods of selectively depositing a carbon-containing layer are described” (abstract, lines 1-2).
WANG further teaches “In one or more embodiments, the second precursor 110 may have a general formula R2----(Y)n wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 6, and R2 comprises one or more of an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an aryl, or aromatic group, and a cycloalkyl group. In one or more embodiments, R2 is independently selected from C1-20 alkyl. In other embodiments, R2 is from C1-12 alkyl. Yn comprises one or more of… an amino group” (column 10, lines 28-37), i.e. a range that overlaps with wherein the first vapor-phase precursor comprises a triamine compound comprising at least three carbon atoms wherein the amine groups are primary amines. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
WANG further teaches “Without intending to be bound by theory, it is thought that 40 the second precursor 110 includes a reactive group that can form a covalent bond with a reactive group of the first precursor 106” (column 10, lines 39-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a range of compounds that overlaps with wherein the first vapor-phase precursor comprises a triamine compound comprising at least three carbon atoms wherein the amine groups are primary amines in the process of TOIS because WANG teaches that such compounds can provide the necessary reactive functional groups to react with the other reactant in selective processes.
As for claim 17, TOIS teaches “Processes are provided herein for deposition of organic films. Organic films can be deposited, including selective deposition on one surface of a substrate relative to a second surface of the substrate” (abstract, lines 1-4), i.e. A method for selectively depositing a layer of organic material on a substrate comprising a first surface and a second surface by a cyclic deposition process.
TOIS further teaches “In some embodiments, a substrate comprising a first surface and a second surface is provided” (paragraph 59, lines 1-2), i.e. the process comprising: providing a substrate in a reaction chamber.
TOIS further teaches “In some embodiments a first organic reactant is vaporized to form a first reactant vapor… The substrate is then exposed to the first reactant vapor and an organic film deposited,” (paragraph 59, lines 6-17), i.e. providing a first vapor-phase precursor in the reaction chamber.
TOIS teaches “In some embodiments the substrate is contacted with a second vapor phase precursor, or reactant, at block 13 for a second exposure period” (paragraph 65, lines 1-3), i.e. providing a second vapor-phase precursor in the reaction chamber.
TOIS further teaches “Organic films can be deposited, including selective deposition on one surface of a substrate relative to a second surface of the substrate” (abstract, lines 2-4), i.e. wherein the first and second vapor-phase precursors form the organic material selectively on the first surface relative to the second surface.
TOIS further teaches “In some embodiments, the reactant being vaporized comprises an organic precursor, such as an amine” (paragraph 59, lines 10-12).
TOIS is silent on wherein the first vapor-phase precursor comprises a diamine compound having both amine groups bonded to a cyclic carbon backbone, or a backbone with one or more carbon-carbon double bonds or carbon-carbon triple bonds, or a combination thereof.
WANG teaches “Methods of selectively depositing a carbon-containing layer are described” (abstract, lines 1-2).
WANG further teaches “In one or more embodiments, the second precursor 110 may have a general formula R2----(Y)n wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 6, and R2 comprises one or more of an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an aryl, or aromatic group, and a cycloalkyl group. In one or more embodiments, R2 is independently selected from C1-20 alkyl. In other embodiments, R2 is from C1-12 alkyl. Yn comprises one or more of… an amino group” (column 10, lines 28-37), i.e. a range that overlaps with wherein the first vapor-phase precursor comprises a diamine compound having both amine groups bonded to a cyclic carbon backbone, or a backbone with one or more carbon-carbon double bonds or carbon-carbon triple bonds, or a combination thereof. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
WANG further teaches “Without intending to be bound by theory, it is thought that 40 the second precursor 110 includes a reactive group that can form a covalent bond with a reactive group of the first precursor 106” (column 10, lines 39-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a range of compounds that overlaps with wherein the first vapor-phase precursor comprises a diamine compound having both amine groups bonded to a cyclic carbon backbone, or a backbone with one or more carbon-carbon double bonds or carbon-carbon triple bonds, or a combination thereof in the process of TOIS because WANG teaches that such compounds can provide the necessary reactive functional groups to react with the other reactant in selective processes.
As for claim 18, TOIS is silent on the triamine.
WANG teaches “Methods of selectively depositing a carbon-containing layer are described” (abstract, lines 1-2).
WANG further teaches “In one or more embodiments, the second precursor 110 may have a general formula R2----(Y)n wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 6, and R2 comprises one or more of an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an aryl, or aromatic group, and a cycloalkyl group. In one or more embodiments, R2 is independently selected from C1-20 alkyl. In other embodiments, R2 is from C1-12 alkyl. Yn comprises one or more of… an amino group” (column 10, lines 28-37), i.e. a range the encompasses a cyclohexane with two amino groups attached, i.e. diaminocyclohexane.
WANG further teaches “Without intending to be bound by theory, it is thought that 40 the second precursor 110 includes a reactive group that can form a covalent bond with a reactive group of the first precursor 106” (column 10, lines 39-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a range of compounds that encompasses wherein the diamine comprises… diaminocyclohexane in the process of TOIS because WANG teaches that such compounds can provide the necessary reactive functional groups to react with the other reactant in selective processes.
As for claim 19, , TOIS teaches “Processes are provided herein for deposition of organic films. Organic films can be deposited, including selective deposition on one surface of a substrate relative to a second surface of the substrate” (abstract, lines 1-4), i.e. A method of selectively depositing an inorganic material on a second surface of a substrate relative to a first surface of the substrate by a cyclic deposition process, wherein the process comprises depositing a layer of organic material on the first surface.
TOIS further teaches “In some embodiments, a substrate comprising a first surface and a second surface is provided” (paragraph 59, lines 1-2), i.e. providing a substrate in a reaction chamber.
TOIS further teaches “In some embodiments a first organic reactant is vaporized to form a first reactant vapor… The substrate is then exposed to the first reactant vapor and an organic film deposited,” (paragraph 59, lines 6-17), i.e. providing a first vapor-phase precursor in the reaction chamber.
TOIS teaches “In some embodiments the substrate is contacted with a second vapor phase precursor, or reactant, at block 13 for a second exposure period” (paragraph 65, lines 1-3), i.e. providing a second vapor-phase precursor in the reaction chamber.
TOIS further teaches “Organic films can be deposited, including selective deposition on one surface of a substrate relative to a second surface of the substrate” (abstract, lines 2-4), i.e. wherein the first and second vapor-phase precursors form the organic material selectively on the first surface relative to the second surface.
TOIS further teaches “In some embodiments, the reactant being vaporized comprises an organic precursor, such as an amine” (paragraph 59, lines 10-12).
TOIS is silent on wherein the first vapor-phase precursor comprises a triamine compound comprising three primary amines and at least three carbon atoms.
WANG teaches “Methods of selectively depositing a carbon-containing layer are described” (abstract, lines 1-2).
WANG further teaches “In one or more embodiments, the second precursor 110 may have a general formula R2----(Y)n wherein n is an integer in a range of from 1 to 6, and R2 comprises one or more of an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an aryl, or aromatic group, and a cycloalkyl group. In one or more embodiments, R2 is independently selected from C1-20 alkyl. In other embodiments, R2 is from C1-12 alkyl. Yn comprises one or more of… an amino group” (column 10, lines 28-37), i.e. a range that overlaps with wherein the first vapor-phase precursor comprises a triamine compound comprising three primary amines and at least three carbon atoms. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d, 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
WANG further teaches “Without intending to be bound by theory, it is thought that 40 the second precursor 110 includes a reactive group that can form a covalent bond with a reactive group of the first precursor 106” (column 10, lines 39-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a range of compounds that overlaps with wherein the first vapor-phase precursor comprises a triamine compound comprising three primary amines and at least three carbon atoms in the process of TOIS because WANG teaches that such compounds can provide the necessary reactive functional groups to react with the other reactant in selective processes.
TOIS teaches “wherein the etch mask comprises a protection layer in a selective deposition process comprising selectively depositing a material on the second surface of the substrate relative to the etch mask” (claim 12), “In some embodiments a selectively deposited organic film may be used as a protection layer in a subsequent selective deposition process, such as a dielectric material selective deposition process” (paragraph 165, lines 1-4) and “the dielectrics have different compositions ( e.g., silicon, silicon nitride, carbon, silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, germanium oxide)” (paragraph 38, lines 18-20), i.e. depositing the inorganic material on the second surface.
Conclusion
/KRISTEN A DAGENAIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 1717