DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 18-19 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 18-19 are identical. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 9259275, claims 1-16 of 10206748, claims 1-13 of 10835331, claims 1-22 11304768, and claims 1-11 of 12114941. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims read on the application claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 4-6, it is unclear what the relationship between the control cables and tension members are with relation to each other. Are the control cables the same thing as tension members? Further clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 2-4, 6, 13-17, 21 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Madhani (US 5792135).
Regarding claim 2, Madhani discloses a surgical tool comprising: an elongate shaft having a proximal end and a distal end, wherein a longitudinal axis extends through the proximal end and the distal end (eg. Col. 3, Ln. 65- Col. 4, Ln. 16, Fig. 3, tubular support 24, Col. 5 Ln. 40-55); an end effector movably coupled to the distal end of the elongate shaft for selective rotation of the end effector relative to the elongate shaft around a first axis and a second axis, wherein the first axis is transverse to the longitudinal axis, wherein the second axis is transverse to each of the longitudinal axis and the first axis (eg. Col. 8, Ln. 8-17); four tension members extending along the elongate shaft, wherein each of the four tension members is coupled to the end effector (eg. Col. 8, Ln. 26-Col. 11, Ln. 10); and an actuation assembly disposed at the proximal end of the elongate shaft, wherein the actuation assembly is operable to actuate the four tension members to selectively rotate the end effector relative to the elongate shaft around the first axis and the second axis and rotate the elongate shaft relative to the actuation assembly (eg. multiple embodiments, Col. 8, Ln. 26-Col. 11, Ln. 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the embodiments of Madhani to have the cables twisting about in different directions to provide the predictable result of having more degrees of freedom and expanding articulation (eg. Col. 4, Ln. 15-50).
Regarding claim 3, Madhani discloses an intermediate member pivotally coupled with the elongate shaft to rotate relative to the elongate shaft around the first axis, wherein the end effector is pivotally coupled with the intermediate member to rotate relative to the intermediate member around the second axis (eg. Col. 5, Ln. 40-55).
Regarding claim 4, Madhani discloses a pair of control cables drivingly coupled with a cable articulated member of the end effector (eg. Col. 7, Ln. 45-63).
Regarding claim 6, Madhani discloses the cable articulated member of the end effector is configured for grasping tissue (eg. Col, 7 Ln. 63 – Col. 8, Ln. 7, graspers).
Regarding claim 13, Madhani discloses the intermediate member has an exterior width along one of the first axis and the second axis;the intermediate member has an exterior length along the other of the first axis and the second axis; and the exterior width is less than the exterior length so that the intermediate member has an elongate shape (eg. Col, 7 Ln. 63 – Col. 8, Ln. 7, it would have been obvious to have changed the size/shape of the part to achieve the desired shape of the same functional grasping tool, see MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 14, Madhani discloses the actuation assembly is configured to be mounted to a surgical robot (eg. Col. 2, Ln. 24-44, Col. 4, Ln. 40-50).
Regarding claim 15, Madhani discloses the actuation assembly comprises an end effector articulation mechanism drivingly coupled with the four tension members; the end effector articulation mechanism comprises a first capstan and a second capstan; the first capstan is drivingly coupled with a first diagonally opposed pair of the four tension members; and the second capstan is drivingly coupled with a second diagonally opposed pair of the four tension members (eg. Col. 8, Ln. 26-Col. 11, Ln. 10, one of ordinary skill to have implemented a known mechanism of antagonistic-pair drive arrangement to coordinate pitch/yaw with fewer drive elements).
Regarding claim 16, Madhani discloses the four tension members are intertwisted for one or more ranges of orientations of the elongate shaft relative to the actuation assembly. (eg. Col. 8, Ln. 26-Col. 11, Ln. 10, can be twisted as an obvious consequence of the shaft being rolled about the support axis).
Regarding claim 17, Madhani discloses the end effector articulation mechanism is back-drivable to accommodate reorientation of the end effector relative to the elongate shaft induced by forces applied to the end effector via contact with tissue (eg. Abstract, Col. 4, Ln. 42-50, Col. 5, Ln. 20-40, Col 5, Ln. 55 – Col. 6, Ln. 2).
Regarding claim 21, Madhani discloses each of the four tension members is under tension for all orientations of the end effector relative to the elongate shaft (eg. Col. 8, Ln. 26-Col. 11, Ln. 10).
Claim 5, 18-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Madhani (US 5792135) in view of Cooper (US 6817974 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Madhani discloses the invention of claim 4, but does not disclose the intermediate member comprises internal passages configured to constrain cross-sectional positions of the pair of control cables relative to the longitudinal axis.
Cooper teaches a medical instrument with a tendon actuated multi-disk wrist joint that has a tendon/cable passing through apertures in each adjacent vertebrae (eg. Col. 7, Ln. 49 – Col. 8, Ln. 5, Col. 12, Ln. 59 – Col. 13, Ln. 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of Madhani with the vertebrae setup as taught by Cooper to provide the predictable result of allowing the cable tension to remain constant during articulation.
Regarding claims 18-19, the combined invention of Madhani and Cooper discloses the invention of claim first axis and the second axis are non- intersecting (eg. Col. 5, Ln. 20-42, Col. 11, Ln. 60 – Col. 12, Ln. 5).
Regarding claim 20, the combined invention of Madhani and Cooper discloses the first axis and the second axis are separated by 2 mm or less (Eg. Col. 12, Ln. 59 – Col. 13, Ln. 21, one of ordinary skill would have been able to resize the parts as desired, see MPEP 2144.04).
Claim 7-8, 10-11 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Madhani (US 5792135) in view of Shelton (US 7766219 B2).
Regarding claim 7, Madhani discloses the invention of claim 3, but does not disclose a first drive shaft assembly that extends past the intermediate member on a first side of the intermediate member, wherein the actuation assembly is operable to selectively rotate the first drive shaft assembly relative to the elongate shaft to actuate a first shaft driven mechanism of the end effector.
Shelton teaches a cable tensioning surgical device that uses a main drive shaft 48 and shaft 50 that allows the secondary shaft 50 to rotate and allows end effectors to travel longitudinally along channel 22 (eg. Fig. 4-5, Col 7, Ln. 20-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of Madhani with the drive shaft as taught by Shelton to provide the predictable result of adding a high-force shaft driven end effector function.
Regarding claim 8, the combined invention of Madhani and Shelton discloses the first shaft driven mechanism of the end effector is configured for stapling and cutting tissue (. Fig. 4-5, Col 7, Ln. 20-65).
Regarding claim 10, the combined invention of Madhani and Shelton discloses a second drive shaft assembly that extends past the intermediate member on a second side of the intermediate member, wherein the actuation assembly is operable to selectively rotate the second drive shaft assembly relative to the elongate shaft to actuate a second shaft driven mechanism of the end effector,and wherein the second side of the intermediate member is opposite to the first side of the intermediate member (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill as a mere duplication of parts for the same function, See MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 11, the combined invention of Madhani and Shelton discloses the second shaft driven mechanism of the end effector is configured for clamping tissue (eg. Madhani, eg. Col, 7 Ln. 63 – Col. 8, Ln. 7, graspers).
Claims 9, 12 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Madhani (US 5792135) in view of Shelton (US 7766219 B2), further in view of Kirson (US 6203438 B1).
Regarding claim 9, the combined invention of Madhani and Shelton discloses the invention of claim 7, but does not disclose the first drive shaft assembly comprises a first drive shaft, a first coupling member, and a first driven shaft for all orientations of the end effector relative to the elongate shaft; and the first driven shaft is coupled with the first drive shaft via the first coupling member so that the first driven shaft rotates at the same rate of rotation as the first drive shaft for all orientations of the end effector relative to the elongate shaft.
Kirson teaches a coupling shaft that translates rotational motion from one shaft 12 to second shaft 14 while keeping angular velocities of the shafts equal at all times (eg. Col. 3, Ln. 60-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the invention of Madhani and Shelton with the constant-velocity coupling as taught by Kirson by substituting Shelton’s bevel transmission to provide the predictable result of yielding smooth, equal-rate torque transfer through the angled wrist for all orientations.
Regarding claim 12, the combined invention of Madhani, Shelton, and Kirson discloses the second drive shaft assembly comprises a second drive shaft, a second coupling member, and a second driven shaft for all orientations of the end effector relative to the elongate shaft; and the second driven shaft is coupled with the second drive shaft via the second coupling member so that the second driven shaft rotates at the same rate of rotation as the second drive shaft for all orientations of the end effector relative to the elongate shaft (eg. Kirson, Col. 3, Ln. 60-67).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J LAU/Examiner, Art Unit 3796