Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 20240414695 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a first apparatus (UE 115a of Fig. 6 and Fig. 8) comprising:
at least one processor (processor 802); and
at least one memory (memory 804) storing instructions (instructions 806) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first apparatus at least to:
receive, from a second apparatus, a first configuration for enabling relaying of a first wakeup signal transmitted by the second apparatus (UE 115a may receive the threshold value from the UE 115b and UE 115c via the request to monitor for the paging signal and/or the WUS at actions 602 and 603 respectively, [0065]); and
monitor, based on at least the first configuration, the first wakeup signal (UE 115a (e.g., the UE group leader) may monitor for the paging signal and/or the WUS signal associated with the UE 115b and/or the UE 115c (e.g., the UE group members) based on a sidelink signal quality associated with the UE 115a satisfying a threshold value, [0068]) relayed via a third apparatus (UE 115a may receive a paging signal and/or a WUS from the BS 105. The paging signal and/or WUS may be intended for the UE 115b, [0077]).
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches the first apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first configuration indicates at least one of: a first threshold strength for a measured strength of the first wakeup signal relayed via the third apparatus, or a second threshold strength for a measured strength of a second wakeup signal transmitted by the second apparatus without relaying (UE 115a may receive the threshold value from the UE 115b and UE 115c via the request to monitor for the paging signal and/or the WUS at actions 602 and 603 respectively, [0065]).
Regarding claim 3, Yang teaches the first apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the first apparatus to: based on the measured strength of the second wakeup signal being less than the second threshold strength for a duration of time, determine that the relaying of the first wakeup signal is enabled (When the sidelink signal quality associated with the UE 115b satisfies the threshold value, the signal quality between the UE 115a and the UE 115b may be suitable for the UE 115a to monitor for the paging signal and/or the WUS and transmit the paging signal and/or the WUS to the UE 115b, [0066]).
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches the first apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the first apparatus to: in accordance with determining, based on the first configuration, that the relaying of the first wakeup signal is enabled, transmit, to the second apparatus, a request for a configuration for the relaying of the first wakeup signal via the third apparatus (The UE 115b may transmit a request to the UE 115a to monitor for a paging signal and/or a WUS associated with the UE 115b, [0055]); receive, from the second apparatus, a second configuration for the relaying of the first wakeup signal via the third apparatus (UE 115a may transmit an indication to the UE 115b indicating whether the UE 115b satisfies the criteria for being a group member based on the determination at action, [0074]); and monitor, based on the second configuration, the first wakeup signal relayed via the third apparatus (UE 115a may monitor for the paging signal and/or the WUS associated with the UE 115b and/or the UE 115c based on the determination at action 606, [0076]).
Regarding claim 5, Yang teaches the first apparatus of claim 4, wherein the request for the configuration for the relaying of the first wakeup signal via the third apparatus is transmitted to the second apparatus via the third apparatus (At action 612, the UE 115a may receive a paging signal and/or a WUS from the BS, [0077]); and wherein the request includes a measurement report for a communication path with the third apparatus (the UE 115a may measure the sidelink signal quality based on communications from the UE 115b and/or the UE 115c, [0066]).
Regarding claim 8, Yang teaches the first apparatus of claims 4, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further cause the first apparatus to: transmit, to the third apparatus, an indication that the relaying of the first wakeup signal via the third apparatus is enabled (The request may include information regarding the paging signal and/or WUS, such as an indicator indicating a paging monitoring occasion 310 associated with the UE 115b, an indicator indicating a WUS monitoring occasion 320 associated with the UE 115b, a threshold value associated with a sidelink signal quality, and/or an identifier associated with the UE 115b, [0055]).
Regarding claim 9, Yang teaches the first apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further cause the first apparatus to: monitor a second wakeup signal from the second apparatus without relaying (UE 115a may monitor for the paging signal and/or the WUS associated with the UE 115b and/or the UE 115c based on the determination at action 606, [0076]).
Regarding claim 10, Yang teaches the first apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the first apparatus to: determine that both the first and second wakeup signals are to be monitored, based on at least one of: a measured strength of the first wakeup signal, a measured strength of the second wakeup signal, a battery level of the first apparatus, or an instruction from the second apparatus (The UE 115a may measure a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR), a reference signal received power (RSRP), and/or a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) associated with the sidelink communication from the UE 115b and UE 115c to the UE 115a. The UE 115a may compare the measured sidelink signal quality to the sidelink signal quality threshold value, [0067] and UE 115a (e.g., the UE group leader) may monitor for the paging signal and/or the WUS signal associated with the UE 115b and/or the UE 115c (e.g., the UE group members) based on a sidelink signal quality associated with the UE 115a satisfying a threshold value, [0068]).
Regarding claim 11, Yang teaches the first apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the first apparatus to: receive an indication of a paging early indication via the first wakeup signal and receive an indication of paging arrival via the second wakeup signal; or receive an indication of a paging early indication and paging arrival via the first wakeup signal and receive the indication of the paging early indication and the paging arrival via the first wakeup signal via the second wakeup signal (UE 115b may transmit the request to the UE 115a including information associated with the UE 115b's paging monitoring occasion 310 and/or WUS monitoring occasion 320. The information associated with the UE 115b's paging monitoring occasion 310 and/or WUS monitoring occasion 320 may include periodicity, for example DRX cycle 318, a WUS timing offset 340 e.g., a timing offset from the beginning of a DRX cycle 318, a paging timing offset 330 e.g., a timing offset from the beginning of a DRX cycle 318 and/or a time duration 350 of the UE 115b's paging monitoring occasion 310 e.g., time during which the UE 115 monitors for paging and/or a time duration 360 of WUS monitoring occasion 320 e.g., time during which the UE 115 monitors for a WUS, [0055]).
Regarding claim 12, Yang teaches the first apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further cause the first apparatus to: cease the monitoring of the first wakeup signal based on at least one condition being met, the at least one condition comprising at least one of: a condition that the second wakeup signal is decoded properly, or a condition that a measured strength of the second wakeup signal exceeds a third threshold strength (The UE 115a may not monitor for a paging signal and/or a WUS associated with the UE 115b and/or the UE 115c when the Uu signal quality associated with communications between the UE 115a and the BS 105 does not satisfy the threshold value (e.g., the measured signal quality is less than the threshold value, [0071]).
Regarding claim 13, Yang teaches the first apparatus of claim 9, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further cause the first apparatus to: based on a measured strength of the second wakeup signal exceeding a third threshold strength for a duration of time, transmit, to the second apparatus, a request to cease the monitoring of the first wakeup signal (The UE 115a may not monitor for a paging signal and/or a WUS associated with the UE 115b and/or the UE 115c when the Uu signal quality associated with communications between the UE 115a and the BS 105 does not satisfy the threshold value (e.g., the measured signal quality is less than the threshold value), [0071]; The request may include information regarding the paging signal and/or WUS, such as an indicator indicating a paging monitoring occasion 310 associated with the UE 115b, an indicator indicating a WUS monitoring occasion 320 associated with the UE 115b, a threshold value associated with a sidelink signal quality, [0055]); and one of: in response to receiving, from the second device, an indication that the monitoring of the first wakeup signal is to be ceased, cease the monitoring of the first wakeup signal; or in response to receiving, from the second device, an indication that the monitoring of the first wakeup signal is to be continued, continue the monitoring of the first wakeup signal (The UE 115a may not monitor for a paging signal and/or a WUS associated with the UE 115b and/or the UE 115c when the Uu signal quality associated with communications between the UE 115a and the BS 105 does not satisfy the threshold value (e.g., the measured signal quality is less than the threshold value), [0071]).
Regarding claim 14, Yang teaches a second apparatus (UE 115b of Fig. 6 and Fig. 8) comprising:
at least one processor (processor 802); and
at least one memory (memory 804) storing instructions (instructions 806) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the second apparatus at least to:
transmit, to a first apparatus, a first configuration (UE 115b may transmit a cooperative paging/WUS request to the UE 115a, [0063]) for enabling relaying of a first wakeup signal transmitted by the second apparatus (The UE group leader UE 115a may monitor for a paging signal and/or a WUS transmitted by BS 105 that is intended for the UE group member 115b and forward the paging signal and/or the WUS to the UE, [0063]); and
transmit the first wakeup signal via a third apparatus (The UE group leader UE 115a may monitor for a paging signal and/or a WUS transmitted by BS 105 that is intended for the UE group member 115b and forward the paging signal and/or the WUS to the UE, [0063]).
Regarding claim 15, Yang teaches the second apparatus of claim 14, wherein the first configuration indicates at least one of: a first threshold strength for a measured strength of the first wakeup signal relayed via the third apparatus, or a second threshold strength for a measured strength of a second wakeup signal transmitted by the second apparatus without relaying (UE 115a may receive the threshold value from the UE 115b and UE 115c via the request to monitor for the paging signal and/or the WUS at actions 602 and 603 respectively, [0065]).
Regarding claim 16, Yang teaches the second apparatus of claim 14, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the second apparatus to: receive, from the first apparatus, a request for a configuration for the relaying of the first wakeup signal via the third apparatus (The UE 115b may transmit a request to the UE 115a to monitor for a paging signal and/or a WUS associated with the UE 115b, [0055]); transmit, to the first apparatus, a second configuration for the relaying of the first wakeup signal via the third apparatus (UE 115a may transmit an indication to the UE 115b indicating whether the UE 115b satisfies the criteria for being a group member based on the determination at action, [0074]); and transmit, to the first apparatus, the first wakeup signal via the third apparatus (The UE group leader UE 115a may monitor for a paging signal and/or a WUS transmitted by BS 105 that is intended for the UE group member 115b and forward the paging signal and/or the WUS to the UE, [0063]).
Regarding claim 17, Yang teaches the second apparatus of claim 16, wherein the request for the configuration for the relaying of the first wakeup signal via the third apparatus is received from the first apparatus via the third apparatus (BS 105 may receive a request from the UE 115b to receive a paging signal associated with the UE 115b or a wakeup signal associated with the UE 115b from the UE 115a, [0085]); and/or wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further cause the second apparatus to: transmit, to the first apparatus, preferences for a plurality of discovery modes for establishment of the communication path between the first apparatus and the third apparatus.
Regarding claim 18, Yang teaches the second apparatus of claims 14, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further cause the second apparatus to: transmit a second wakeup signal to the first apparatus without relaying (The UE 115b may transmit a request to the UE 115a to monitor for a paging signal and/or a WUS associated with the UE 115b, [0055]); and one of: transmit an indication of a paging early indication via the first wakeup signal and transmit an indication of paging arrival via the second wakeup signal; or transmit an indication of a paging early indication and paging arrival via the first wakeup signal and transmit the indication of the paging early indication and the paging arrival via the second wakeup signal (UE 115b may transmit the request to the UE 115a including information associated with the UE 115b's paging monitoring occasion 310 and/or WUS monitoring occasion 320. The information associated with the UE 115b's paging monitoring occasion 310 and/or WUS monitoring occasion 320 may include periodicity, for example DRX cycle 318, a WUS timing offset 340 e.g., a timing offset from the beginning of a DRX cycle 318, a paging timing offset 330 e.g., a timing offset from the beginning of a DRX cycle 318 and/or a time duration 350 of the UE 115b's paging monitoring occasion 310 e.g., time during which the UE 115 monitors for paging and/or a time duration 360 of WUS monitoring occasion 320 e.g., time during which the UE 115 monitors for a WUS, [0055]).
Regarding claim 19, Yang teaches the second apparatus of claim 14, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further cause the second apparatus to: receive, from the first apparatus, a request to cease the monitoring of the first wakeup signal (The UE 115a may not monitor for a paging signal and/or a WUS associated with the UE 115b and/or the UE 115c when the Uu signal quality associated with communications between the UE 115a and the BS 105 does not satisfy the threshold value (e.g., the measured signal quality is less than the threshold value, [0071]; The request may include information regarding the paging signal and/or WUS, such as an indicator indicating a paging monitoring occasion 310 associated with the UE 115b, an indicator indicating a WUS monitoring occasion 320 associated with the UE 115b, a threshold value associated with a sidelink signal quality, [0055]); and transmit, to the first apparatus, at least one of: an indication that the monitoring of the first wakeup signal is to be ceased, or an indication that the monitoring of the first wakeup signal is to be continued (The UE 115a may not monitor for a paging signal and/or a WUS associated with the UE 115b and/or the UE 115c when the Uu signal quality associated with communications between the UE 115a and the BS 105 does not satisfy the threshold value (e.g., the measured signal quality is less than the threshold value, [0071]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20240414695 A1) in view of Gupta et al. (US 20180139695 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Yang teaches the first apparatus of claim 5.
However, Yang does not teach wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the first apparatus to: in accordance with determining, based on the first configuration, that the relaying of the first wakeup signal is enabled, establish, based on a discovery mode, the communication path with the third apparatus; and transmit, to the second apparatus, the request for the configuration for the relaying of the first wakeup signal via the communication path with the third apparatus.
In an analogous art, Gupta teaches wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor cause the first apparatus to: in accordance with determining, based on the first configuration, that the relaying of the first wakeup signal is enabled, establish, based on a discovery mode, the communication path with the third apparatus (A relay device (e.g., a UE 115) may indicate its wakeup cycle and PWU signal configurations in a discovery broadcast transmission. For example, UE 115-b may indicate to UE 115-a whether to transmit a PWU signal to UE 115-b prior to relaying traffic through it, [0076]; UE 115-e may additionally transmit a synchronization signal to UE 115-f during the PWU period. UE 115-f may perform a synchronization process based on the synchronization signal, [0084]); and transmit, to the second apparatus, the request for the configuration for the relaying of the first wakeup signal via the communication path with the third apparatus (UE 115-e may transmit a data message to UE 115-f. The transmission of the data message may be based on the transmission of the PWU signal or on receiving the discovery broadcast, [0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the WUS request of Yang with the discovery mode of Gupta to provide a method for retransmission at the MAC layer to improve link efficiency suggested, Gupta [0060].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20240414695 A1) in view of Gupta et al. (US 20180139695 A1) and further in view of Jiang et al. (CN 105827436 A).
Regarding claim 7, Yang as modified by Gupta teaches the first apparatus of claim 6.
However, Yang and Gupta do not teach wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further cause the first apparatus to: receive, from the second apparatus, preferences for a plurality of discovery modes; and select the discovery mode from the plurality of discovery modes based on the preferences.
In an analogous art, Jiang teaches wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further cause the first apparatus to: receive, from the second apparatus, preferences for a plurality of discovery modes (An active discovery module, configured to send wake-up signals and discovery messages, and accept response messages sent by passive sending modules of other discovery devices, wherein the discovery information contains one or more characteristic data, page 2); and select the discovery mode from the plurality of discovery modes based on the preferences (The mode selection module is respectively connected with the active discovery module and the passive discovery module, and is used for selecting the active discovery module or the passive discovery module to work, page 2; and The passive discovery module puts matching characteristic data in the response message, which can facilitate the other node to understand that it is interested in various social activities, and the information interaction is more flat, which is convenient for further classification and event planning, page 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the WUS Yang and Gupta with the discovery of Jiang to provide a method wherein the main radio module of its corresponding mobile terminal is in a sleep state most of the time, and will only be woken up when a good wakeup signal is received, so the function can be reduced as suggested, Jiang page 3 .
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20240414695 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20240292332 A1) .
Regarding claim 20, Yang teaches the second apparatus of claim 14.
However, Yang does not teach wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further cause the second apparatus to: receive, from the first apparatus, a measurement report including a measured strength of a second wakeup signal transmitted by the second apparatus without relaying and a measured strength of the first wakeup signal relayed via the third apparatus; and based on the measured strength of the second wakeup signal being less than a second threshold strength and the measured strength of the first wakeup signal being less than a first threshold strength, cause handover of the first apparatus from a current cell to a new cell.
In an analogous art, Li teaches wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor further cause the second apparatus to: receive, from the first apparatus, a measurement report including a measured strength of a second wakeup signal transmitted by the second apparatus without relaying and a measured strength of the first wakeup signal relayed via the third apparatus; and based on the measured strength of the second wakeup signal being less than a second threshold strength and the measured strength of the first wakeup signal being less than a first threshold strength, cause handover of the first apparatus from a current cell to a new cell (The fourth threshold may be broadcast by the base station, or configured by using dedicated signaling, or specified in a protocol. It should be understood that the fourth threshold may be a threshold for determining that the terminal switches from the doze state to the wake-up state, or a threshold for internal cell handover when it is considered that a cell in which the terminal device in the doze state is located is inconsistent with a cell in which the terminal device in the wake-up state is located, [0154]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the WUS Yang with the threshold of Li to provide a method for waking up a terminal device in a communication network, so that a probability that the terminal device misses important information, for example, a paging message, a system message, and a synchronization signal, can be reduced while still save power consumption of a terminal device, to balance power consumption and communication quality as suggested, Li [0006].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ryu et al. (US 20200260384 A1): A wireless device in an RRC connected state receives a radio resource control (RRC) message from a base station. The wireless device transitions from the RRC connected state to an RRC inactive station in response to the RRC message. The RRC message indicates an active time period in which the wireless device is reachable by paging. The wireless device monitors to receive a paging message during the active time period after the transitioning. The wireless device activates a mobile initiated communication only (MICO) mode in response to an expiration of the active time period. The wireless stops monitoring for the paging message in response to the expiration of the active time period.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641