DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/27/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) teaches a semiconductor module (semiconductor device A2, Figure 8, paragraph 0077), comprising: an insulated circuit board (supporting member 2, Figure 8, paragraph 0041) including an insulating plate (insulating substrate 21, Figure 8, paragraphs 0041-0043), a plurality of circuit pattern layers (observe-surface metal layer 22, Figure 8, paragraphs 0041 + 0044-0050) each disposed on a top surface (observe surface 211, Figure 8, paragraph 0043) of the insulating plate, and a heat dissipation plate (heat dissipating plate 71, Figure 17, paragraph 0123) disposed on a bottom surface (reverse surface 212, Figure 17, paragraphs 0043 + 0131) of the insulating plate; a wide-gap semiconductor chip (semiconductor element 11 + semiconductor element 12, Figure 8, paragraphs 0031-0040) disposed on a top surface of one of the plurality of circuit pattern layers via a first bonding material (conductive bonding member 110 & conductive bonding member 120, Figure 8, paragraphs 0032 & 0038); and a conductive member (connecting member 61, Figure 8, paragraphs 0077-0081) including a first bonding part (Figure 8), a first bent part (Figure 8), a beam part (Figure 8) extending continuously from the first bonding part via the first bent part, a second bent part (Figure 8) and a second bonding part (Figure 8) extending continuously from the beam part via the second bent part, wherein the first bonding part is connected to a top surface of the wide-gap semiconductor chip via a second bonding material (Figure 8, paragraph 0078), and the second bonding part is connected to a different one of the plurality of circuit pattern layers (Figure 8), adjacent to the one of the plurality of circuit pattern layers having the wide-gap semiconductor chip disposed thereon, as claimed.
Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) is silent to explicitly teach each of the plurality of circuit pattern layers having a thickness between 600 μm to 900 μm, the wide-gap semiconductor chip having a thickness of 50 μm to 120 μm, the first bonding part having a thickness between 0.1 mm to 0.8 mm, and the first bonding part having an area between 25% to 60% of the area of the top surface of the wide-gap semiconductor chip in a plan view of the semiconductor module. However, Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) does suggest the observe-surface metal layer, the semiconductor element, and the connecting members having a thickness (paragraph 0030) and the connecting members having an area that covers a portion of the semiconductor elements (Figure 10), such that where the general conditions of a claim are present, it is not inventive to find optimal or workable ranges through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for some one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) by having circuit pattern layers with a thickness between 600 μm to 900 μm , wide-gap semiconductor chips with a thickness between 50 μm to 120 μm, a first bonding part of a conductive member with a thickness between 0.1 mm to 0.8 mm and a first bonding part which covers 25% to 60% of the area of the top surface of the wide-gap semiconductor chips, per design requirements.
Regarding claim 2, Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) teaches the semiconductor module according to claim 1, as claimed. Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) further teaches wherein: the insulating plate is a ceramic plate (paragraph 0042) containing silicon nitride as a major component (paragraph 0042).
Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) is silent to explicitly teach the insulating plate having a thickness between 200 μm to 400 μm. However, Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) does suggest the insulating substrate having a thickness (paragraph 0030), such that where the general conditions of a claim are present, it is not inventive to find optimal or workable ranges through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for some one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the teachings of Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) by having an insulating plate with a thickness between 200 μm to 400 μm, per design requirements.
Regarding claim 5, Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) teaches the semiconductor module according to claim 1, as claimed. Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) further teaches wherein: the first bent part extends in a direction perpendicular to the first bonding part (Figure 8).
Regarding claim 6, Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) teaches the semiconductor module according to claim 1, as claimed. Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) further teaches wherein: the wide-gap semiconductor chip incorporates a field effect transistor and a diode electrically connected antiparallel to the field effect transistor (paragraphs 0031 + 0037).
Regarding claim 7, Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) teaches the semiconductor module according to claim 1, as claimed. Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) further teaches wherein: the first bonding material is a sintered material containing silver or copper as a major component (paragraphs 0032 & 0038).
Regarding claim 8, Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) teaches the semiconductor module according to claim 7, as claimed.
Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) is silent to explicitly teach wherein: the first bonding material has a thickness in a range of 10 μm to 300 μm. However, Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) does suggest the conductive bonding members having a thickness (paragraph 0030), such that where the general conditions of a claim are present, it is not inventive to find optimal or workable ranges through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for some one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the teachings of Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) by having an insulating plate with a thickness between 10 μm to 300 μm, per design requirements.
Regarding claim 9, Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) teaches the semiconductor module according to claim 1, as claimed. Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) further teaches wherein: the second bonding material on the wide-gap semiconductor chip is lead-free solder (paragraph 0078).
Regarding claim 10, Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) teaches the semiconductor module according to claim 9, as claimed.
Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) is silent to explicitly teach wherein: the second bonding material has a thickness in a range of 10 μm to 300 μm. However, Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) does suggest the conductive bonding members having a thickness (paragraph 0030), such that where the general conditions of a claim are present, it is not inventive to find optimal or workable ranges through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for some one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the teachings of Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) by having an insulating plate with a thickness between 10 μm to 300 μm, per design requirements.
Regarding claim 11, Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) teaches the semiconductor module according to claim 1, as claimed. Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) further teaches wherein: the second bonding material on the wide-gap semiconductor chip is a sintered material containing silver or copper as a major component (paragraph 0078).
Regarding claim 12, Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) teaches the semiconductor module according to claim 11, as claimed.
Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) is silent to explicitly teach wherein: the second bonding material has a thickness in a range of 10 μm to 300 μm. However, Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) does suggest the conductive bonding members having a thickness (paragraph 0030), such that where the general conditions of a claim are present, it is not inventive to find optimal or workable ranges through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for some one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the teachings of Hayashiguchi (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0254758A1) by having an insulating plate with a thickness between 10 μm to 300 μm, per design requirements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the combination of a first bent part having a height of 5 mm or less when measured from the bonding surface of the first bonding part to the top surface of the beam part, as claimed in claim 3.
The second bent part having a wider width than the first bent part, as claimed in claim 4.
Other Documents Considered Relevant
Murata (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0280555A1).
Conclusion
/KAREEM M MOHAMED-ALY/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898