DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the DRAM" in 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,080,373. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of Pat. ‘373 discloses a system comprising: a memory configured to store data for a host device, the memory comprising a plurality of regions; a plurality of signature generators, each signature generator associated with a respective region of the DRAM; and a controller configured to: receive, from the host device, a command; in response to receiving the command, read data from a first region of the memory; generate, using a first signature generator and based on the data read from the first region, a first signature; and store the first signature.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 of Pat. ‘373 discloses wherein the controller is further configured to select the first region based on information provided with the command.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 of Pat. ‘373 discloses wherein the information provided with the command is address information.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 of Pat. 373 discloses wherein the plurality of regions is a plurality of banks.
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 of Pat. ‘373 discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: receive, from the host device, data indicating a region of the memory for which the first signature is to be generated; wherein the data is read from the first region based on the data indicating the region.
Regarding claim 6, claim 6 of Pat. ‘373 discloses wherein the data indicating the region includes rows of memory to use in generating the first signature.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 of Pat. ‘373 discloses sense amplifiers configured to read bits in parallel from columns of a selected row in a memory array of the memory; and a row buffer configured to latch the bits read from the columns; wherein the data read from the first region includes the latched bits.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 of Pat. ‘373 discloses wherein the command requests the generation of the first signature.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 of Pat. ‘373 discloses wherein: updating the register comprises updating from a first value to a second value; the first value indicates that the first signature has not been generated; and the second value indicates that the first signature has been generated.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 of Pat. ‘373 discloses wherein the controller is further configured to receive, from the host device and prior to completion of generating the first signature, a second command to generate a second signature for a second region of the memory.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 of Pat. ‘373 discloses a system comprising: a memory; and a controller configured to: read data from each respective region of the memory; generate, using a respective signature generator and based on the data read from the respective region, a respective signature; and store each generated respective signature.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 of Pat. ‘373 discloses wherein the controller is further configured to generate a final signature based on at least two of the stored respective signatures.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 of Pat. ‘373 discloses wherein the controller is further configured to store the final signature in a register from which a host device can read the final signature.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 of Pat. ‘373 discloses wherein the final signature is stored in the register in response to receiving a command from the host device to generate the final signature.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 of Pat. ‘373 discloses further comprising one or more respective sense amplifiers associated with each respective region, wherein outputs from the respective sense amplifiers are used as inputs to the respective signature generator to generate the respective signature.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 of Pat. ‘373 discloses wherein the controller is further configured to set the register to a value indicating that a requested signature has not yet been generated.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 of Pat. ‘373 discloses wherein a host device reads at least one of the generated respective signatures in response to determining that the register has been updated.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 of Pat. ‘373 discloses a method comprising: reading data from regions of a memory; generating, using a respective signature generator for each region and based on the data read from the respective region, a respective signature; and storing each generated respective signature.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 of Pat. ‘373 discloses wherein the regions are banks of a dynamic random access memory.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 of Pat. ‘373 discloses receiving, from a host device, data indicating a region of the memory for which at least one signature is to be generated.
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,250,891. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of Pat. ‘891 discloses a system comprising: a memory configured to store data for a host device, the memory comprising a plurality of regions; a plurality of signature generators, each signature generator associated with a respective region of the DRAM; and a controller configured to: receive, from the host device, a command; in response to receiving the command, read data from a first region of the memory; generate, using a first signature generator and based on the data read from the first region, a first signature; and store the first signature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karouby (US Pub. 2015/0169901).
Regarding claims 11 and 18, Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 of Karouby discloses a system and a method comprising:
a memory [RAM 115, Fig. 1]; and
a controller [110, Fig. 1] configured to:
read data from each respective region of the memory [step 1030 in Fig. 10];
generate, using a respective signature generator and based on the data read from the respective region, a respective signature [step 940 in Fig. 9]; and
store each generated respective signature [step 950 in Fig. 9].
Regarding claim 12, Fig. 4 of Korouby discloses wherein the controller is further configured to generate a final signature [signature of the signatures] based on at least two of the stored respective signatures [S of S’s].
Regarding claim 13, Fig. 4 of Korouby discloses wherein the controller is further configured to store the final signature in a register from which a host device can read the final signature [stores in the section signature].
Regarding claim 14, Fig. 1 of Korouby discloses wherein the final signature is stored in the register in response to receiving a command from the host device [HOST INTERFACE] to generate the final signature.
Regarding claim 16, Fig. 1 of Korouby discloses wherein the controller is further configured to set the register to a value indicating that a requested signature has not yet been generated [as discloses in paragraph 0001, in order to determine if data has been tempered, a signature is generated. Therefore, indications of signature that has not been generated is inherent].
Regarding claim 17, Fig. 10 of Korouby discloses wherein a host device reads at least one of the generated respective signatures in response to determining that the register has been updated [step 1030].
Regarding claim 19, Fig. 3 of Korouby discloses wherein the regions are banks of a dynamic random access memory [each Section 1 to Section n can be considered bank].
Regarding claim 20, Fig. 9 of Korouby discloses receiving, from a host device, data indicating a region of the memory for which at least one signature is to be generated [step 940 and 950].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karouby (US Pub. 2015/0169901) in view of Minamimoto et al. (US Pub. 2015/0256344).
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 of Karouby discloses a system comprising:
a memory [RAM 115, Fig. 1] configured to store data for a host device [as discloses in paragraph 0045, multiple storage regions show in Fig. 3 can be storage RAM 115], the memory comprising a plurality of regions [Section 1 data to Section 2 data];
a plurality of signature generators [since there are multiple signatures, one for each section, multiple signature generators are inherent], each signature generator [signature] associated with a respective region [Section 1 data to Section n data, Fig. 3] of the DRAM; and
a controller [110, Fig. 1] configured to:
receive, from the host device, a command [as disclose in paragraphs 0024 and 0042, the host is in communication with the controller];
in response to receiving the command, read data from a first region of the memory [step 930 in Fig. 9];
generate, using a first signature generator and based on the data read from the first region, a first signature [step 940 in Fig. 9]; and
store the first signature [step 950 in Fig. 9].
Karouby discloses RAM, but does not specifically disclose DRAM. However, Fig. 2 of Minamimoto disclose a memory DRAM device that generates signature according to host command.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Minamimoto’s DRAM to the teachings of Karouby’s memory having RAM with signature generators such that Karouby’s memory device operate at faster speed according to Minamimoto’s teachings for the purpose of fast data operation.
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 1 and Fig. 3 of Karouby discloses wherein the controller [110, Fig. 1] is further configured to select the first region [one of region (Section 1 to Section n, Fig. 3] based on information provided with the command.
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 1 of Karouby discloses wherein the information provided with the command is address information [since each memory location is selected by address. It is inherent that the command is address information].
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 3 of Karouby discloses wherein the plurality of regions is a plurality of banks [each Section 1 to Section n can be considered a bank].
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 1 of Karouby discloses wherein the controller [110] is further configured to: receive, from the host device [HOST INTERFACE], data indicating a region of the memory [one of region Section 1 to Section n] for which the first signature is to be generated [one of signature of Section 1 to Section n]; wherein the data is read from the first region based on the data indicating the region.
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 3 of Karouby discloses wherein the data indicating the region includes rows of memory to use in generating the first signature [since signature is generated bases on data in the memory, it is inherent to include rows and columns of memory].
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 3 of Karouby discloses wherein the command requests the generation of the first signature [signature for one of Section 1 to Section n].
Regarding claim 9, as discloses in paragraph 0001, signatures are generated to determine of data has been tempered. Therefore, it is inherent that some region has generated signature and some region has not if data has been tampered. Therefore, it is inherent that the controller updating the register comprises updating from a first value to a second value; the first value indicates that the first signature has not been generated; and the second value indicates that the first signature has been generated.
Regarding claim 10, Fig. 1 of Karouby discloses wherein the controller [110] is further configured to receive, from the host device [HOST INTERFACE] and prior to completion of generating the first signature, a second command to generate a second signature for a second region of the memory [since hosts send commands to multiple regions to generate signatures, it is inherent that a second command to generate a second signature for a second region is prior to the completion of the first signature generation].
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karouby (US Pub. 2015/0169901) in view of Edwards et al. (US Pat. 7,225,373).
Regarding claim 7, Karouby in view of Minamimoto discloses all claimed invention, but does not specifically disclose one or more respective sense amplifiers associated with each respective region, wherein outputs from the respective sense amplifiers are used as inputs to the respective signature generator to generate the respective signature. However, Fig. 1A of Edwards discloses one or more respective sense amplifiers [103] associated with each respective region [111], wherein outputs from the respective sense amplifiers [103] are used as inputs to the respective signature generator [104] to generate the respective signature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Edward’s memory device having sense amplifier to the teachings of Karouby’s memory having RAM with signature generators such that Karouby’s memory device can read data according to Edward’s teachings for the purpose of determining data states of the signatures.
Conclusion
/ANTHAN TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825