DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/28/2024 and 4/24/2025 were received and placed in the record on file. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“current application control unit” in claims 1-9
“detection sensor configured to detect a displaced amount of the actuator” in claims 3 and 6
“projecting optical system configured to project a luminous flux to the subject eye while the air is being sprayed from the nozzle to the subject eye” in claim 8
“receiving optical system configured to receive reflected light of the luminous flux reflected at the subject eye and outputs an applanation signal while the air is being sprayed from the nozzle to the subject eye” in claim 8
The identified claim limitations identified as invoking 35 USC 112(f) will be interpreted as follows:
“current application control unit…”: described in paragraph [0074] as any control device and may be configured as firmware, software, and hardware or combination thereof; or equivalents thereof.
“detection sensor configured to detect a displaced amount of the actuator” described in paragraph [0074] as an angle detection sensor (element 34i) which detects position of the actuator via rotation angle of solenoid 34g, or equivalents thereof
“projecting optical system configured to project a luminous flux to the subject eye while the air is being sprayed from the nozzle to the subject eye” described in paragraph [0047]-[0051] as the optical elements for projecting light onto the eye, or equivalents thereof
“receiving optical system configured to receive reflected light of the luminous flux reflected at the subject eye and outputs an applanation signal while the air is being sprayed from the nozzle to the subject eye” described in paragraphs [0054]-[0058] as the optical elements for receiving light and determining applanation of the eye, or equivalents thereof
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yano et al (US 5,107,851).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 7-10; Yano discloses a contactless ophthalmotonometer, comprising:
a cylinder (elements 33);
a piston (elements 32) movably provided inside the cylinder (column 5, lines 38-44; figures 4 and 6);
an actuator (solenoid; element 31) configured to move the piston (elements 32) inside the cylinder (elements 33) with current applied to the actuator to compress air inside the cylinder with the piston (column 5, lines 38-44; figures 4 and 6);
a nozzle (element 34) in communication with the inside of the cylinder, the nozzle configured to spray the air compressed with the piston to a subject eye (column 5, lines 38-44; figures 4 and 6); and
a current application control unit (elements 54) configured to apply the current to the actuator (column 5, lines 1-28), wherein the current application control unit performs first application processing for applying the current of a first current value to the actuator and, when a predetermined switching condition is satisfied while the first application processing is being performed, the first application processing is switched to second application processing for applying the current of a second current value higher than the first current value to the actuator (wherein controller applies a first lower current application, and if applanation is not detecting in applied the pressure range, then system then switches so as to apply a second higher current application than the first to the solenoid in order to explore for applanation at a higher pressure range; column 5, lines 1-37, column 5, line 65 – column 6, line 51, column 7, lines 10-29; figures 3a-6).
Further regarding claim 2; Yano discloses the nozzle (element 34) is in communication with the inside of the cylinder through a chamber in communication with the inside of the cylinder (wherein element 33 can be identified as a cylinder part wherein the piston cannot reach [i.e. top portion of element 33] and a chamber part where the piston operates [lower portion of element 33]), the contactless ophthalmotonometer further comprises a pressure sensor (element 35) configured to detect pressure inside the chamber (column 5, lines 44-45), and the current application control unit determines whether the switching condition is satisfied or not based on whether the pressure detected by the pressure sensor achieves a predetermined pressure threshold (wherein MPU determines if the switching condition is satisfied if the a IOC is not within the lower measured pressure range [i.e. a predetermined pressure threshold being the upper bound of the range] and switches analog switch element 53 to apply a higher current to the solenoid element 1 to test with a higher pressure range; column 5, lines 1-37, column 5, line 65 – column 6, line 51, column 7, lines 10-29; figures 3a-6).
Further regarding claim 7; the current application control unit stops the second application processing when a defined period of time determined in advance passes from start of the first application processing (wherein the examiner notes Yano meets the BRI of stopping the second application a period of time determined in advance from the start of the first application processing in that Yano discloses the system automatically changes [step 103] and applies pressure at the higher pressure range using the MPU [step 104] and finishes the second application processing [step 106] when performed on a single eye, thus being the predetermined time it takes for the system to run the loop which is determined by the programming ahead of time).
Further regarding claim 8; Yano discloses a projecting optical system (combined element 45, 44, 39) configured to project a luminous flux to the subject eye while the air is being sprayed from the nozzle to the subject eye (column 5, lines 56-59); and a receiving optical system (combined elements 40, 46, 47) configured to receive reflected light of the luminous flux reflected at the subject eye and outputs an applanation signal while the air is being sprayed from the nozzle to the subject eye (column 5, line 59-63), wherein the current application control unit stops the second application processing when a peak of the applanation signal output from the receiving optical system is detected while the second application processing is being performed (wherein system stops applanation tests after a peak applanation signal is detected; column 6, lines 45-51 and column 7, lines 27-29).
Further regarding claim 9; Yano discloses the actuator (solenoid element 31) is a rotary actuator configured to cause the piston (element 32) to move inside the cylinder through a crank mechanism (element 2) (wherein examiner notes that although the 2nd embodiment in figures 4 and 6 does not show crank element 2, Yano discloses figure 3A as depicting the second embodiment, where figure 3a depicts the rotary solenoid element 1 which drives piston element 3 via crank element 2; see figure 3a).
Further regarding claim 10; Yano discloses a method for actuating a contactless ophthalmotonometer, the contactless ophthalmotonometer including:
a cylinder (elements 33);
a piston (elements 32) movably provided inside the cylinder (column 5, lines 38-44; figures 4 and 6);
an actuator (solenoid; element 31) configured to move the piston (elements 32) inside the cylinder (elements 33) with current applied to the actuator to compress air inside the cylinder with the piston (column 5, lines 38-44; figures 4 and 6);
a nozzle (element 34) in communication with the inside of the cylinder, the nozzle configured to spray the air compressed with the piston to a subject eye (column 5, lines 38-44; figures 4 and 6);
the method including:
performing first application processing for applying the current of a first current value to the actuator when the current is to be applied to the actuator (step of providing a first current value to the solenoid to apply a first lower pressure range; column 5, lines 1-37, column 5, line 65 – column 6, line 51, column 7, lines 10-29; figures 3a-6); and
switching the first application processing to second application processing for applying the current of a second current value higher than the first current value to the actuator when a predetermined switching condition is satisfied while the first application processing is being performed (step of switching to apply a second current value to the solenoid to apply a second higher pressure range when an applanation condition is not met in the lower applied pressure range; column 5, lines 1-37, column 5, line 65 – column 6, line 51, column 7, lines 10-29; figures 3a-6).
Claims 1, 3 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dobashi (US 2013/0331679 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 7-10; Dobashi discloses a contactless ophthalmotonometer, comprising:
a cylinder (element 43; figure 2);
a piston (element 40) movably provided inside the cylinder (paragraph [0045]; figure 2);
an actuator (element 42) configured to move the piston (element 40) inside the cylinder (element 43) with current applied to the actuator to compress air inside the cylinder with the piston (paragraphs [0045] and [0056]; figure 2);
a nozzle (element 22) in communication with the inside of the cylinder (via tube element 44), the nozzle configured to spray the air compressed with the piston to a subject eye (paragraph [0039]; figure 2); and
a current application control unit (elements 301 and 310) configured to apply the current to the actuator, wherein the current application control unit performs first application processing for applying the current of a first current value to the actuator and, when a predetermined switching condition is satisfied while the first application processing is being performed, the first application processing is switched to second application processing for applying the current of a second current value higher than the first current value to the actuator (wherein a minute current is applied to solenoid element 42 to move the piston element 40 to the desired starting position [i.e. predetermined switching condition] in step S100, and upon reaching the starting position, controller element 301 increases the solenoid drive current measure intraocular pressure by applanation of the eye in step S101; paragraphs [0082]-[0083]; figure 8).
Further regarding claim 3; Dobashi discloses a detection sensor (element 47) configured to detect a displaced amount of the actuator (wherein position of dog element 46 inherently detects the position of the actuator), wherein the current application control unit determines whether the switching condition is satisfied or not based on whether the displaced amount detected by the detection sensor achieves a predetermined displaced amount threshold (wherein current application control unit determines switching condition is satisfied when detection switch 47 detects that the piston is in the correction location in order to increase drive current and test intraocular pressure; paragraphs [0046]-[0047] and [0082]-[0083]; figures 6a-c and 8).
Further regarding claim 7; Dobashi discloses the current application control unit stops the second application processing when a defined period of time determined in advance passes from start of the first application processing (wherein the current is only applied to drive the solenoid for a predetermined period of time in situations where the eye does not experience applanation, i.e. when the IOC is more than 30, the system stops applying current and resets to do another test, thus meeting the BRI as the controller includes a situation where the second application processing is stopped a defined period of time from the start of the first application processing; paragraphs [0082]-[0089]; figure 8).
Further regarding claim 8; Dobashi discloses a projecting optical system (elements 37, 36, 25) configured to project a luminous flux to the subject eye while the air is being sprayed from the nozzle to the subject eye; and a receiving optical system (elements 34, 33, 32 and 31) configured to receive reflected light of the luminous flux reflected at the subject eye and outputs an applanation signal while the air is being sprayed from the nozzle to the subject eye, wherein the current application control unit stops the second application processing when a peak of the applanation signal output from the receiving optical system is detected while the second application processing is being performed (wherein drive current to solenoid is interrupted when the corneal shape changing signal measured by optical system is at its first maximum value; paragraphs [0058]-[0059]; figure 5 and 12)
Further regarding claim 9; Dobashi discloses the actuator is a rotary actuator (element 42) configured to cause the piston (element 40) to move inside the cylinder (element 43) through a crank mechanism (element 41) (paragraphs [0045] and [0055]; figures 2, 4a-c, 6a-c).
Further regarding claim 10; Dobashi discloses a cylinder (element 43; figure 2);
a piston (element 40) movably provided inside the cylinder (paragraph [0045]; figure 2);
an actuator (element 42) configured to move the piston (element 40) inside the cylinder (element 43) with current applied to the actuator to compress air inside the cylinder with the piston (paragraphs [0045] and [0056]; figure 2);
a nozzle (element 22) in communication with the inside of the cylinder (via tube element 44), the nozzle configured to spray the air compressed with the piston to a subject eye (paragraph [0039]; figure 2); and
the method including:
performing first application processing for applying the current of a first current value to the actuator when the current is to be applied to the actuator (applies minute current to get piston into desired position; step S100; paragraph [0082]); and
switching the first application processing to second application processing for applying the current of a second current value higher than the first current value to the actuator when a predetermined switching condition is satisfied while the first application processing is being performed (switching to measurement mode and increasing the drive current to drive the piston to blow air into the eye in order to measure IOC; step S101; paragraph [0083]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yano as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Hideshima (US 4,996,990).
Yano is described in the rejection of claim 1 and 2 above; however Yano does not explicitly disclose the current application control unit increases the second current value in a stepwise manner while the second application processing is being performed.
Hideshima teaches a similar non-contact tonometer which blows air into the eye using a current controller to drive a solenoid to move a piston within a cylinder to drive air out of a nozzle to applanate the eye wherein the system wherein the current control unit can increase the current value in a stepwise manner in order to compensate for changes in the compression chamber and ensure the correct pressure/force is expelled from the nozzle (column 4, line 39 – column 5, line 31; figure 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Yano’s tonometer and current application control unit to include compensation circuitry that causes the increase of the current value in a stepwise manner while measuring intraocular pressure as taught by Hideshima in order to compensate for any changes/irregularities in the compression chamber and ensure proper pressure application.
Further regarding claim 5; Yano discloses the claim limitations of claim 5 as described in the rejection of claim 2 above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the Yano/Hideshima combination would also include the same features for controlling current application to the second current value in a stepwise manner in accordance with an increase in pressure detected by a pressure sensor.
Claims 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dobashi as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Hideshima.
Dobashi is described in the rejection of claims 1 and 3 above; however, Dobashi does not explicitly disclose the current application control unit increases the second current value in a stepwise manner while the second application processing is being performed.
Hideshima teaches a similar non-contact tonometer which blows air into the eye using a current controller to drive a solenoid to move a piston within a cylinder to drive air out of a nozzle to applanate the eye wherein the system wherein the current control unit can increase the current value in a stepwise manner in order to compensate for changes in the compression chamber and ensure the correct pressure/force is expelled from the nozzle (column 4, line 39 – column 5, line 31; figure 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Dobashi’s tonometer and current application control unit to include compensation circuitry that causes the increase of the current value in a stepwise manner while measuring intraocular pressure as taught by Hideshima in order to compensate for any changes/irregularities in the compression chamber and ensure proper pressure application.
Further regarding claim 6; Dobashi discloses the claim limitations of claim 6 as described in the rejection of claim 3 above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the Dobashi/Hideshima combination would also include the same features for controlling current application in a stepwise manner accordance with an increase in the displaced amount detected by the detection sensor while the second application processing is being performed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 6,159,148 to Luce; discloses a non-contact tonometer having non-linear pressure ramp.
US 5,947,898 to Suzuki et al; discloses a non-contact type tonometer.
US 2022/0095916 A1 to Ishikura et al; discloses a ophthalmologic apparatus.
US 2014/0257076 A1 to Shimozato; discloses a non-contact ophthalmologic apparatus and control method for the same.
/ADAM J EISEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791