DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 – 8, 10, 12, 14 and 16 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB (GB 554333).
Regarding Claim 1, GB discloses a seal cartridge (15, figs 1 and 2) comprising:
a first side surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below);
a second side surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), opposite to the first side surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below); a circumferential inner surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below) extending from the first side surface to the second side surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), the circumferential inner surface having a first seal-receiving portion ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), adjacent to the first side surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), a second seal-receiving portion ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), adjacent to the second side surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), and a protrusion portion ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below) between the first seal-receiving portion and the second seal-receiving portion ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below); and at least one grease passage (37) having one opening (36) on the first side surface and another opening (opening at 16) on the protrusion portion of the circumferential inner surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below).
Regarding Claim 2, GB discloses the seal cartridge, wherein the at least one grease passage includes two grease passages, the two grease passages being diametrically opposite to one another relative to a center of the seal cartridge (plurality of seals with passages diametrically opposite to one another, fig 1).
Regarding Claim 4, GB discloses the seal cartridge, further comprising one or more blind holes (31) formed in the second side surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), the one or more blind holes being configured to align with protrusions of a portion of a transmission system for proper alignment of the seal cartridge (one or more blind holes 31 being configured to align with protrusions of a portion of a transmission system for proper alignment of the seal cartridge).
Regarding Claim 6, GB discloses the seal cartridge, further comprising a radially extending, disc-shaped securing flange (17) defined, in part, by the first side surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below).
Regarding Claim 7, GB discloses a seal cartridge assembly of a sealing system (figs 1 and 2), the seal cartridge assembly comprising: a seal cartridge (15) having:
a first side surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below);
a second side surface, opposite to the first side surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below); a circumferential inner surface extending from the first side surface to the second side surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), the circumferential inner surface having a first seal-receiving portion ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), adjacent to the first side surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), a second seal-receiving portion ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), adjacent to the second side surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), and a protrusion portion between the first seal-receiving portion and the second seal-receiving portion ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below); and at least one grease passage (37) having one opening (36) on the first side surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below) and another opening (opening at 16) on the protrusion portion of the circumferential inner surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below); a first seal provided within the first seal-receiving portion of the circumferential inner surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below); and a second seal provided within the second seal-receiving portion the circumferential inner surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below).
Regarding Claim 8, GB discloses the seal cartridge assembly, wherein the first seal includes one grease sealing lip and the second seal includes two or more grease sealing lips ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below).
Regarding Claim 10, GB discloses the seal cartridge assembly, wherein an angle of a grease side surface of the one grease sealing lip of the first seal relative to a longitudinal axis is greater than an angle of a grease side surface of each of the two or more grease sealing lips of the second seal (angle of a grease side surface of the one grease sealing lip of the first seal relative to a longitudinal axis is greater than an angle of a grease side surface of each of the two or more grease sealing lips of the second seal as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below).
Regarding Claim 12, GB discloses the seal cartridge assembly, wherein the at least one grease passage includes two grease passages, the two grease passages being diametrically opposite to one another relative to a center of the seal cartridge (plurality of seals with passages diametrically opposite to one another, fig 1).
Regarding Claim 14, GB discloses the seal cartridge assembly, further comprising one or more blind holes (31), formed in the second side surface, the one or more blind holes being configured to align with protrusions of a portion of a transmission system for proper alignment of the seal cartridge (one or more blind holes 31 being configured to align with protrusions of a portion of a transmission system for proper alignment of the seal cartridge).
Regarding Claim 16, GB discloses the seal cartridge assembly, wherein the seal cartridge further has a radially extending, disc-shaped securing flange (17) defined, in part, by the first side surface (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below).
Regarding Claim 17, GB discloses the seal cartridge assembly, wherein the first seal is a dust excluder seal (first seal configured to exclude dust) and the second seal is a main seal (second seal configured to seal the shaft).
Regarding Claim 18, GB discloses a method of using a seal cartridge assembly for a cylindrical shaft (figs 1 and 2), the seal cartridge assembly including a seal cartridge having: a first side surface (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), a second side surface (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), opposite to the first side surface (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), a circumferential inner surface extending from the first side surface to the second side surface (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), the circumferential inner surface having a first seal-receiving portion, adjacent to the first side surface (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), a second seal-receiving portion, adjacent to the second side surface (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), and a protrusion portion between the first seal-receiving portion and the second seal-receiving portion (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), and at least one grease passage (37) having one opening (36) on the first side surface and another opening on the protrusion portion of the circumferential inner surface (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), the seal cartridge assembly further including a first seal provided within the first seal-receiving portion of the circumferential inner surface (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), and a second seal provided within the second seal-receiving portion of the circumferential inner surface (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), the method comprising: placing the seal cartridge, the first seal, and the second seal onto the cylindrical shaft (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), thereby sealing a first side of the cylindrical shaft and a second side of the cylindrical shaft (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below) and forming a greasing area (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below) between the circumferential inner surface of the seal cartridge, the first seal, the second seal, and the cylindrical shaft (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below); and supplying grease to the greasing area via the at least one grease passage (grease via 36, 37, 38 as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), the supplying the grease including expelling contents of the greasing area towards and around the first seal (grease towards the first seal as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), toward the first side of the cylindrical shaft (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), and thereby replacing the contents of the greasing area with the supplied grease (supplied grease through 36 as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below).
Regarding Claim 19, GB discloses the method, further comprising a step of installing the first seal and the second seal in the seal cartridge (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), wherein the first seal and the second seal are arranged in a back-to-back configuration (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB alone.
Regarding Claim 3, GB discloses the seal cartridge.
GB does not disclose wherein a maximum diameter of the at least one grease passage is about 8 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the maximum diameter limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, to provide adequate flow of grease to the seal assembly. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 13, GB discloses the seal cartridge assembly.
GB does not disclose wherein a maximum diameter of the at least one grease passage is about 8 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the maximum diameter limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, to provide adequate flow of grease to the seal assembly. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 5, 9, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB in view of Jordan (U.S. Patent # 10508740).
Regarding Claim 5, GB discloses the seal cartridge.
GB does not disclose wherein a diameter of the first seal-receiving portion is greater than a diameter of the second seal-receiving portion, and the diameter of the second seal-receiving portion is greater than a diameter of the protrusion portion.
However, Jordan teaches wherein a diameter of the first seal-receiving portion is greater than a diameter of the second seal-receiving portion (diameter of first receiving portion of 3 at left 5, fig 1b greater than that of second receiving portion of 3 at right 5, fig 1b), and the diameter of the second seal-receiving portion is greater than a diameter of the protrusion portion ( diameter of the second seal-receiving portion of 3 at right 5 is greater than a diameter of the protrusion portion of 3, between 5 and 5, fig 1b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diameter of the first seal-receiving portion of GB with that of Jordan with a reasonable expectation of success so that the different diameters of the seal receiving portions provide lip seals with different sizes that accommodate vibrations of the shaft.
Regarding Claim 9, GB discloses the seal cartridge assembly.
GB does not disclose wherein a surface area of a grease side surface of the one grease sealing lip of the first seal is greater than a surface area of a grease side surface of each of the two or more grease sealing lips of the second seal.
However, Jordan teaches wherein a surface area of a grease side surface of the one grease sealing lip of the first seal is greater than a surface area of a grease side surface of each of the two or more grease sealing lips of the second seal (surface area of a grease side surface of the one grease sealing lip of the first seal 5 on the left, is greater than a surface area of a grease side surface of the second seal 5 on the right, fig 1b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diameter of the first seal-receiving portion of GB with that of Jordan with a reasonable expectation of success so that the different diameters of the seal receiving portions provide lip seals with different sizes and different sealing surface areas that accommodate vibrations of the shaft.
The combination of GB and Jordan discloses wherein a surface area of a grease side surface of the one grease sealing lip of the first seal is greater than a surface area of a grease side surface of each of the two or more grease sealing lips of the second seal (surface area of a grease side surface of the one grease sealing lip of the first seal 5 on the left, is greater than a surface area of a grease side surface of each of the second seal 5 on the right, fig 1b , similar to the two or more grease sealing lips of the second seal of GB).
Regarding Claim 15, GB discloses the seal cartridge assembly.
GB does not disclose wherein a diameter of the first portion is greater than a diameter of the second portion, and the diameter of the second portion is greater than a diameter of the protrusion portion.
However, Jordan teaches wherein a diameter of the first portion is greater than a diameter of the second portion (diameter of first portion of 3 at left 5, fig 1b greater than that of second portion of 3 at right 5, fig 1b), and the diameter of the second portion is greater than a diameter of the protrusion portion ( diameter of the second portion of 3 at right 5 is greater than a diameter of the protrusion portion of 3, between 5 and 5, fig 1b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diameter of the first portion of GB with that of Jordan with a reasonable expectation of success so that the different diameters of the seal receiving portions provide lip seals with different sizes that accommodate vibrations of the shaft.
Regarding Claim 20, GB discloses the method, wherein the first seal includes one grease sealing lip (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below) and the second seal includes two or more grease sealing lips (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below), and wherein an angle of a grease side surface of the one grease sealing lip of the first seal relative to a longitudinal axis is greater than an angle of a grease side surface of each of the two or more grease sealing lips of the second seal (as seen in examiner annotated fig 2 below).
GB does not disclose wherein a surface area of a grease side surface of the one grease sealing lip of the first seal is greater than a surface area of a grease side surface of each of the two or more grease sealing lips of the second seal.
However, Jordan teaches wherein a surface area of a grease side surface of the one grease sealing lip of the first seal is greater than a surface area of a grease side surface of each of the two or more grease sealing lips of the second seal (surface area of a grease side surface of the one grease sealing lip of the first seal 5 on the left, is greater than a surface area of a grease side surface of the second seal 5 on the right, fig 1b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diameter of the first seal-receiving portion of GB with that of Jordan with a reasonable expectation of success so that the different diameters of the seal receiving portions provide lip seals with different sizes and different sealing surface areas that accommodate vibrations of the shaft.
The combination of GB and Jordan discloses wherein a surface area of a grease side surface of the one grease sealing lip of the first seal is greater than a surface area of a grease side surface of each of the two or more grease sealing lips of the second seal (surface area of a grease side surface of the one grease sealing lip of the first seal 5 on the left, is greater than a surface area of a grease side surface of each of the second seal 5 on the right, fig 1b , similar to the two or more grease sealing lips of the second seal of GB).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB in view of Tsiberidis (U.S. Patent # 9604509).
Regarding Claim 11, GB discloses the seal cartridge assembly.
GB does not disclose wherein only the second seal includes a garter spring.
However, Tsiberidis teaches wherein only the second seal includes a garter spring (54a in the seal 36a, fig 3a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the diameter of the first seal-receiving portion of GB with that of Jordan with a reasonable expectation of success so that the second seal is pressed by a garter spring against the shaft.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/L. SUSMITHA KONERU/Examiner, Art Unit 3675